Rage 2 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 521 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dive headfirst into a dystopian world devoid of society, law, and order. RAGE 2 brings together two studio powerhouses Avalanche Studios, masters of open world insanity, and id Software, the gods of the first-person shooter to deliver a carnival of carnage where you can go anywhere, shootDive headfirst into a dystopian world devoid of society, law, and order. RAGE 2 brings together two studio powerhouses Avalanche Studios, masters of open world insanity, and id Software, the gods of the first-person shooter to deliver a carnival of carnage where you can go anywhere, shoot anything, and explode everything.

    THE LAST RANGER
    Bring the pain using a collection of upgradable weapons, devastating Nanotrite powers, and Overdrive, the ability to push your guns beyond their mechanical limits.

    PEDAL TO THE METAL
    From monster trucks to gyrocopters, use an assortment of rugged and wasteland-ready vehicles to speed across the badlands. If you see it, you can drive it.

    FACTIONS & FOES
    Fight against ferocious factions for control of the wasteland, each featuring a rogue's gallery of madmen, mutants, and monsters hungry for blood.

    THE WASTELAND AWAITS
    Seamlessly traverse a vast and varied landscape, from lush jungles and treacherous swamps to sun-scorched deserts in your pursuit of The Authority. The wasteland is massive, and you've got the arsenal to fight for every inch.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rage 2 - Official Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. May 20, 2019
    90
    Since we took our first steps in Avalanche Studios' post-apocalypse, we have had a hard time putting the control aside. The combination of an open world, mutant freaks and super powers is too entertaining, actually far above our expectations. Along with the eminent control and the dynamic battles, it makes Rage 2 one of the year's most addictive titles to date.
  2. May 13, 2019
    82
    RAGE 2 is a frantic, mad and satisfying FPS, with tons of possibilities to play and kill enemies and with a very rich endgame.
  3. May 13, 2019
    80
    When the game isn’t getting in the way of what it really, truly wants to do, you’re high on your own reward and all the nuttier for it. You might even say you’re filled with a compelling sort of rage, too.
  4. May 13, 2019
    75
    RAGE 2 delivers an absolutely stunning shooter experience, with nice weapons and powers to unlock, but it's also really short for an open world game, way too easy at medium difficulty and not so fun when it comes time to drive across the map.
  5. May 14, 2019
    75
    Rage 2 could have been so much more. The gun action feels and looks awesome, but the world in which it all happens is just too flat and the story doesn't help either.
  6. May 13, 2019
    70
    The pace of id and Avalanche’s FPS is neutered by a dull open world and thin story but, in an unbridled whirlwind of gruesome gibs, you probably won’t care.
  7. May 13, 2019
    50
    Rage 2's brilliant shooting fails to make up for its shortcomings everywhere else. Because even though there's fun to be had in the Wasteland, the shooting fails to keep me wanting more after not too many hours of gameplay. And when that happens, the lackluster story, the shallow characters and the repetitive mission systems all reveal what a bland experience this really is.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 161
  2. Negative: 53 out of 161
  1. May 13, 2019
    10
    Pra mim é um Doom Open World, curti o game é divertido é legal, gostei dos gráficos e das armas, a historia é simples , mas comprei o jogoPra mim é um Doom Open World, curti o game é divertido é legal, gostei dos gráficos e das armas, a historia é simples , mas comprei o jogo pela diversão e não pela historia , pra mim foi uma otima compra pois curto jogos FPS raiz. Essa pequena resenha é para os BR's os gringos que vão toma no cu. Expand
  2. May 20, 2019
    10
    Awesome game. The combat is classic id, while the open world is this massive desert with huge canyon walls, and covered in places to get intoAwesome game. The combat is classic id, while the open world is this massive desert with huge canyon walls, and covered in places to get into fights. Nightmare is a perfect challenge for an id fan. I was skeptical of Avalanche but this game is excellent. Don't miss out. Expand
  3. May 20, 2019
    9
    I really like the game, as shooter it's just a bomb! Great graphics and a very immersive world. One of best games recently on par withI really like the game, as shooter it's just a bomb! Great graphics and a very immersive world. One of best games recently on par with FarCry5. A story could be a bit more elaborate, hence 9 (not 10). Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2019
    6
    This game is a bit disappointing. It could be a great game but certain things are making it only average. For me those things were:
    1.
    This game is a bit disappointing. It could be a great game but certain things are making it only average. For me those things were:
    1. Weapons hidden around the map and getting next weapon not related to the story. In fact I finished the game with only 4 weapons as I couldn't find more.
    2. Driving is one of the key things to do in this game but the whole driving model, physics and damage model are very poor. It is not a pleasure to drive in this game. Seriously that kind of driving model in 2019? Even games which are 20 years old now did better.
    3. Dull and predictable story line
    4. Lots of upgrades are pointless and don't really give you any advantage. Upgrade system is overly complicated. Important upgrades like health increase can be bought in special place but throughout the whole game I could only afford to buy one upgrade which gave me 5% more health. Same with vehicle, I could only afford to upgrade most of things after I have finished main story line. What is the point of it. Seriously?
    5. Game is quite repetitive and many quests are the same but in different place.

    What rescue this title is combat system which is great. Gives you a lot of satisfaction to massacre another wave of enemies.

    Bottom line:
    If you got the game as a gift yeah it is worth playing but don't waste your hard earned money for it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2019
    5
    It's missing the good story from Doom and the gameplay is meh meh, is like Far cry looter and outpost crap. Rage 1 at least was a realIt's missing the good story from Doom and the gameplay is meh meh, is like Far cry looter and outpost crap. Rage 1 at least was a real wasteland and had an identity. This game don't. And that is the problem, average game good shooting. No real ending. Expand
  6. May 18, 2019
    3
    rage 2 отменная дрысня. Какие нахрен яркие цвета и мыльное мыльцо? Вы там что курите?
  7. Jun 7, 2019
    0
    The game starts out fairly okay, shortly after you realize everything is pretty much the same as far as content goes and you are justThe game starts out fairly okay, shortly after you realize everything is pretty much the same as far as content goes and you are just repeating events everywhere. The world is designed to have the player drive around more or less as a filler to add more time to how long it takes the player to beat the game.

    The story is relatively boring and lack luster even on Nightmare difficulty I had no issues with feeling out gunned. I did however find myself getting so bored and tired of feeling like "Didn't I just do this" every time I did a new mission that I uninstalled the game half way through and will never bother with it again.
    Expand

See all 161 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.