Rain World Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of a nomadic slugcat, both predator and prey in a broken ecosystem. Grab your spear and brave the industrial wastes, hunting enough food to survive, but be wary— other, bigger creatures have the same plan... and slugcats look delicious.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
PlayStation Store - PLAY Collective Weekly Releases - Spring 2017
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 28, 2017
    90
    Any player in search of a real platforming challenge should be playing Rain World. It can be brutal at times and it has its quirks, but it will keep you coming back. Plus, it has a Slugcat.
  2. Mar 27, 2017
    80
    Few will see the more remote corners of Rain World’s relentlessly dire stretch, but those who do are unlikely to forget the experience.
  3. Jun 5, 2017
    80
    An impressive bestiary of rogue DNA horrors, a charismatic hero and a huge world to explore. This is enough to forgive Rain World for a few weird design choices and at times wonky jumping mechanics.
  4. Mar 30, 2017
    65
    Rain World could have been one of the best independent titles of this year, but risky design choices have just backfired here, causing it to be a missed chance, no matter how good some of the ideas that it brings to the table.
  5. May 23, 2017
    62
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. With its pretty visuals and cute protagonist, Rain World seems like an interesting experience at first sight. But after a while, it crushes under its repetitive game mechanics.
  7. Mar 27, 2017
    50
    I never felt properly equipped to discover, to improve. With core systems opaque and unnecessarily limited, all I ever felt equipped to do in Rain World was fail.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Apr 26, 2019
    10
    I love it.
    I love post-apocaliptic, heavy atmosphere
    I love detailed pixel-art graphic I love design of enemies and learning their
    I love it.
    I love post-apocaliptic, heavy atmosphere
    I love detailed pixel-art graphic
    I love design of enemies and learning their weaknesses
    I love gameplay loop of "eat and don't be eaten" and surviving in this harsh world

    If you have a few bucks, I highly recomend it

    P.S
    It's hard game, Prepare To Die
    Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ***SMALL SPOILERS AHEAD***

    My experience with Rain World has been that of being a creature that is lower on the food chain, and wonderfully so!
    It is truly fascinating to explore this dark and twisted world. Every time you find a new creature it's such a delight! A very scary delight, as you don't always have an idea what said creature/creatures do. Some are friendly, some will just straight up murder you.

    The easiest one to avoid are the obvious ones. Don't walk straight up to that big green lizard who's snapping their massive jaws against you. Just climb away on a pole away from the danger. Wait, what's this, a purple lizard? Ok, just climb to safety again, except the purple lizard can climb poles, run!

    Then you have the more snake-like enemies, not in the literal worm sense (sort of is though, in this example), but the ones who ambush you when you least expect it. Imagine you're just parkouring around trying to get to the next part of the room; when all of a sudden the pole you just vaulted to grabs you and multiple small graspers spread out from the whole thing pulling you closer to the "pole". In a flash it has dragged you down to it's chamber and proceeds to eat you; its slugcat lunch. I can't help myself from sitting there with a massive grin on my face after such occurrences.

    With a dynamic music system, the game tries to warn you when creatures are close. It may start off with a couple of hi-hats, giving you a sinister feeling. Then you enter a room and see no creature in particular, but the music has ramped up. Hmm... Shouldn't there be a creature in this room? Before you know it a camouflaged lizard shoots its tongue at you from across the room and barely misses. The music ramps up even more and is now an enthralling, yet terrifying war beat, and you jolt away to safety. With adrenaline flowing through your tiny slugcat body, you ready your spear and throw it at the lizard and hit its head. The spear gets deflected by its hard skull and it comes hurdling back at you and land in front of you again, the lizard obviously stunned and dumbfounded. Quickly it gathers itself and prepares for another attack, but you're not as lucky this time, and its long tongue grabs you with its sticky end. Panicking you manage to grab your spear on the route to certain doom, but this time you manage to throw it at its body. The lizard jolts in pain and releases its firm grasp.

    Instincts take over; and you frantically pull the spear out of its body and you stab it again... And again and again, until your rage comes to an end, and the lizard spazzez out one last time as its life force is drained, leaving it limp and colorless on the ground. A moment of silences passes, until you jump up and down like a monkey triumphantly celebrating your successful defense, as if you are the greatest god damn creature this world has ever conjured.

    2 minutes later a massive bird like creature swoops down from above and murders you before you can get your wits back from its terrifying presence. You think to yourself: "Looks like I have even bigger beasts to master," and you're back to your the same humble slugcat self you were before you killed the camo lizard.

    This game is truly a masterpiece. It barely has any narrative, but the world- and creature design is so on point that it tells you things implicitly, much like Dark Souls. The game really fascinates me and makes me want to learn more about all the nooks and crannies it has to offer.
    Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2017
    10
    This is the most ingenious and inventive game of this generation. People that don't like it are simply too bound to conventional gaming. It'sThis is the most ingenious and inventive game of this generation. People that don't like it are simply too bound to conventional gaming. It's intelligent, challenging and awesome. I have played it through, and if you have done that aso, you know exactly what I mean Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2020
    10
    This game is unforgiving. It can feel like you hit brick walls at times. Some parts feel unfair and it explains only basics in the beginning,This game is unforgiving. It can feel like you hit brick walls at times. Some parts feel unfair and it explains only basics in the beginning, leaving you to figure the rest out... and yet that's what makes it worth every penny; remove any of the difficulty and you don't have Rain World.

    This game certainly isn't for everyone, and requires a lot of patience; this is the hardest, and yet most simplistic in rules, survival game I've played so far. It's a wonderful combination of exploration and survival, and it certainly rewards you with noticeably-different zones with their own challenges to overcome. It's brought out my curiosity and its art, music, storytelling, and overall world feel so immersive. Its world is HUGE, and I applaud the visual artists and level designers for taking so much time.

    The enemy designs are distinct and they each have their own abilities. Mastering slugcat's slipperiness and relying on your own will to adventure will come to you. Experiment. Try to eat anything you can find. Encourage risks. This game will reward you when playing around with the tools given to you; the knowledge you have is worth learning.

    Bugs are small, by the way; hadn't noticed them when playing around.
    Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2019
    10
    The only survival game where you cant just craft shіt and build antroposphere in order to protect yourself , and forced to adapt and learnThe only survival game where you cant just craft shіt and build antroposphere in order to protect yourself , and forced to adapt and learn your environment to survive.
    The most unique survival action-platformer i ever played in terms of artstyle , gameplay , movement , lore and plot.
    Beware - difficulty level somewhere near Real Life ™ , and there will be minimum handholding besides sometimes "inescapable" encounters (later in game you'll learn how easily some creatures can be avoided), so dont be shy to play as Monk if you have troubles embracing it's difficulty.
    Also , creature spawning is not random , they move through level as they want , but they always spawn in their "hibernation chambers".
    Expand
  6. Jun 6, 2018
    10
    An absolute beautiful world to explore and survive in. Its such a great feeling to play with the environment and experiment with things to seeAn absolute beautiful world to explore and survive in. Its such a great feeling to play with the environment and experiment with things to see what works and what doesn't. the only real gripes i have with the game is how sluggish slugcat controls (pun definitely intended), and the karma system. Expand
  7. Apr 7, 2017
    0
    This game could have been incredible. The art and style are top notch, the game itself is horrible. I was really excited for this game, butThis game could have been incredible. The art and style are top notch, the game itself is horrible. I was really excited for this game, but it's such a huge disappointment. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews