Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 90
    Rebel Galaxy Outlaw, like the first, is a single-player only affair, which might disappoint some. It shouldn’t, though. There are easily tens of hours worth of adventure in just a single playthrough. With the ability to take different paths, replayability is high. Outlaw improves on an already great game in all the right ways and the result is the best open-space adventure in years.
  2. Aug 14, 2019
    85
    I can’t say enough good things about Rebel Galaxy Outlaw. It’s a sucker punch aimed at all the bloated, morbidly obese space sims out on the market today. Yes, there’s room for them, too. But Outlaw distills the ‘90s space-combat and trading sim into a great-looking, great-playing game for a new generation.
  3. Aug 17, 2019
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Aug 13, 2019
    80
    The combat is fast, frenetic and consistently challenging, although that challenge can sometimes feel impossible without stepping back and grinding out some progress elsewhere, which quickly gets frustrating. Thankfully the core of the game--its combat, trading, and space flight--are all superb and had me launching into the stars for many hours of galactic trading and explosive firefights.
  5. Aug 12, 2019
    80
    Rebel Galaxy Outlaw is a very successful throwback to the days of dogfighting games like Star Wars: X-Wing and Wing Commander: Privateer. It smartly updates the gameplay with optional assists that make it a snap to jump in and get right to the most satisfying parts of the action. This open area of space we’re free to defend or exploit is full of side activities (including a crazy ship-painting tool), and those blunt the inherent repetition of fighter-vs-fighter combat scenarios. And the story – while definitely padded out more than it needs to be – is suitably small-scale and personal for a mercenary/smuggler type like Juno Markev.
  6. Aug 8, 2019
    80
    You also have to give the developers a lot of credit for how much fan service and configurability they've put into the game.
  7. Aug 9, 2019
    77
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Aug 15, 2019
    75
    Rebel Galaxy Outlaw brings a smaller scope and simplified controls to a sometimes intimidating genre, watering down the grandeur of spaceflight, but making it more fun and accessible at the same time. Its repetitive missions and sparse narrative weigh it down, but its fantastically engaging dogfights make it an easy recommendation.
  9. 70
    For a game set in space, Rebel Galaxy Outlaw is rich in atmosphere. While some activities are a bit of a letdown, there's a lot of gratification in cashing in a hefty profit from a lengthy space-truckin' session.
  10. Aug 13, 2019
    70
    Rebel Galaxy Outlaw successfully builds upon the first game by introducing an entirely new combat system. This change is a major step forward, and it shows that the developers are putting their resources towards bettering this series. Overall, the rich RPG mechanics mixed with classic space flight make for some deep and engaging gameplay.
  11. Aug 13, 2019
    70
    Rebel Galaxy Outlaw is a fresh coat of paint on a genre on a tired genre. While it's fun enough to play, though, other games have already revolutionised what this game seeks to improve upon.
  12. Aug 12, 2019
    70
    Juno’s journey through the Dodge Sector left me wanting more, and I hope that the post-launch mod support allows fans to fill some of the void I felt while playing the game. For $29.99 I think the game is a great value, and I’ve paid a lot more for a lot less in the past.
  13. Aug 12, 2019
    70
    In one sentence, Rebel Galaxy Outlaw is much-improved over the first game, originally released in 2015. The essence of these two games is ship combat against a backdrop of a space western. Outlaw improves confrontations by offering a third camera axis, and by deepening ship improvements. Although the writing is disappointing, both the ease with which fights are handled and the atmosphere — which reminds us of Borderlands but without the cynicism — mean we had a great time taking down nasty space pirates.
  14. Aug 11, 2019
    70
    Anyone who likes the idea of being a bounty hunter in space will enjoy their time with Rebel Galaxy Outlaw. Just don’t expect the casino to blow you away.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. With a bit more depth to the worldbuilding, and a bit more time spent on the dialogue and storyline, this game could have been an absolute gem on the narrative side.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 21 out of 56
  1. Aug 13, 2019
    10
    I am really enjoying this game. It seems to put the focus on fun, rather than super-realism. I like fun. I like blowing things up. There'sI am really enjoying this game. It seems to put the focus on fun, rather than super-realism. I like fun. I like blowing things up. There's lots of explosions. The voice acting is pretty decent too. The one liners when fighting people are pretty great!
    One of my favorite games growing up was Wing Commander: Privateer. If you played that and enjoyed it at all, you owe it to yourself to check this game out!
    If you want a super realistic space sim, with a super dynamic economy, rendering the entire mikly way.... this isn't it.
    If you want to have fun blowing stuff up in space while rocking out to a great soundtrack, this is definitely it.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 14, 2019
    4
    Launched with abysmal keyboard and mouse controls, and apparently a slew of flight stick issues. I cannot put into words how awful theLaunched with abysmal keyboard and mouse controls, and apparently a slew of flight stick issues. I cannot put into words how awful the keyboard and mouse controls are. For a game selling itself as a continuation of '90s space flight sims, they sure did **** all research into good control schemes.

    The gameplay itself is what you expect of the genre, if a bit shallow. For example you can't actually dock, you can only approach stations and press 'E'. Missions consist of flying to a purple or yellow icon by pressing 'E', and then either pressing 'E' again, or clicking on enemies until they die. Sometimes you press 'E' again to loot. There is a reason it only costs $30. Your money is probably better spent on other games, unless you really want to play it for some reason. No Man's Sky is on sale for $30 right now and if you don't have it yet you'll get way more out of it.

    if it wasn't for the horrendous controls I would give it a 6 or 7. I wanted to like this game, I really did, but it is so damn half baked, with incorrect keybind prompts popping up, no "up one menu" key, really strange mouse controls in certain menus, and so on. Be highly dubious of anyone giving it a 10. I could see someone who played it with a controller with no expectations of a flight sim giving it an 8 at the most, which is what the professional critics seem to have averaged on.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 13, 2019
    4
    Bought the game for space combat but found the controls to be pretty bad. The combat is based around an auto follow / auto aim setup. Mouse isBought the game for space combat but found the controls to be pretty bad. The combat is based around an auto follow / auto aim setup. Mouse is essentially unplayable. My HOTAS which i typically use for these games also controlled incredibly bad. The gamepad is the only thing that works well for this game. If you don't like playing on pad and find hold button to follow/lock on unappealing I would just avoid this game entirely. It could probably be a middling score if it weren't for the show stopper of bad controls. Full Review »