Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Dec 3, 2015
    70
    A decent debut project Double Damage Games. Rebel Galaxy is engaging and creates a great atmosphere, but the repeatability kicks in a little too early.
  2. Oct 28, 2015
    70
    Rebel Galaxy’s combat can be a lot of fun, but there's little depth and a lot of repetition.
  3. Oct 22, 2015
    70
    Rebel Galaxy is a robust trek through the stars, even if it is bogged down by a heavy reliance on repetition and a weak narrative. A host of systems that are all built to generate organic emergent moments, no matter what your play style, make Rebel Galaxy one of this year’s biggest surprises.
  4. CD-Action
    Feb 4, 2016
    65
    Bland story, repetitive quests and overall lack of depth made me feel like I was wasting my time. [01/2016, p.55]
  5. Dec 2, 2015
    60
    For those who just want to spend plenty of hours going around showing other ships who's boss, Rebel Galaxy is an ideal proposition. However, those looking for anything particularly substantial in other aspects are unlikely to find much depth lying in wait. Considering the size of its development team, Double Damage Games has found a good, if nowhere near universal, amount of appeal.
  6. Nov 6, 2015
    60
    The game isn't deep or diverse enough to justify the 20-plus hours players can expect to invest before reaching the end. A tighter, narrower scope would have elevated Rebel Galaxy beyond being the sort of mild distraction derived from marathoning a TV show.
  7. Oct 22, 2015
    60
    It doesn’t really do a lot more than what Elite achieved over 30 years ago, but this is a fun and accessible, if rather repetitive, space trading game.
  8. Oct 26, 2015
    57
    The basic structure of a space sim is there, but while you grind for hours to make your ship better and better, you'll feel that something is missing, and that's the originality of gameplay solutions that can make a game really stand out.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. What is a fair critique is that, ultimately, none of it matters very much. As I said, the state of your ship is what keeps you going. You fight more to earn more to buy more. In this way it is a very transparent game. But also a repetitive one, and overall, a mixed bag.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 114
  2. Negative: 16 out of 114
  1. Oct 22, 2015
    8
    Imagine they made a Firefly videogame, and that videogame was an unholy fusion of FTL, Mass Effect's space flight bits and the naval combatImagine they made a Firefly videogame, and that videogame was an unholy fusion of FTL, Mass Effect's space flight bits and the naval combat from AC: Black Flag.

    I really like it, it's not particularly complex but it's fun to fly around trading, smuggling and fighting other ships. I can't vouch for story quality but if you want something inexpensive that you can get lost in for a while I fully recommend it.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 24, 2015
    7
    It's a 2D version of freelancer, essentially, and apparently designed to be played with a 360 controller. Several things impressed me aboutIt's a 2D version of freelancer, essentially, and apparently designed to be played with a 360 controller. Several things impressed me about it:

    * The music. This is probably the first thing you'll notice. Bluegrass and rock and roll. This game has by far one of the better soundtracks I've experienced in a game.

    * The characters you interact with are fully animated and lip sync the dialog.

    * The encounters and NPC activity are procedurally generated without feeling totally random. Events can occur which change the behavior of NPCs and introduce new random encounters. In my view the variety of the NPC activity is better than Freelancer's was.

    The downs:

    * The controls are weird. You can steer while in warp, so in order to prevent you from crashing into things, the game limits your cruise velocity when you are near an object, similar to what happens in Elite: Dangerous. It tells you when it's doing it, but unlike Elite, it's not always obvious why it's doing this or how to avoid it, leading to frustration when you're trying to maneuver in a fight, overtake a convoy, or transit to an outpost. Also, since the game is designed for a controller, it tends to reuse the same buttons for totally different things, like the acceleration button being used for scooping loot if you hold it down.

    * Although you only move in 2D, your enemies don't. Fighter class vessels fly above and below the plane
    of your movement, making it hard to track them even with turrents.

    * The map isn't available everywhere you would expect it to be, like when you're docked in a station.

    * Broadsides are a lot less useful than you would expect.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant, the storyline is hilarious, the missions are fun, the environment sucks you into it. I love thatThis game is absolutely brilliant, the storyline is hilarious, the missions are fun, the environment sucks you into it. I love that everything is completely open world and its up to how you choose to play it, you can be whatever you want to be, e.g pirate, trader, a do-gooder, bounty hunter, etc. Your ship is totally upgradable in so many ways. I wasnt sure about the 2.5D plane because I am a bit of a space sim enthusiast (with my own HOTAS and everything) but it works so well, and I just take Rebel Galaxy for what it is which is a great action packed Space Arcade game. At $20 its a steal! 10/10 Full Review »