Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Oct 19, 2015
    90
    Rebel Galaxy is clearly designed to appeal to those who played and loved Elite and Freelancer when they were popular but I suspect that the game also has the potential to attract classic RPG lovers who are looking for something more than classic fantasy.
  2. Oct 28, 2015
    88
    Rebel Galaxy is one of the best space games released in some time, both in terms of its vast content and that its low price that won't break your wallet.
  3. Oct 26, 2015
    85
    The physics might not simulate space very well, but I see that as more of a creative liberty taken to make the rest of the mechanics much more enjoyable. The broadside battles between capitol ships make the combat feel epic, and I’m excited to see what more the devs can do either with this game or their next.
  4. Oct 20, 2015
    84
    A well-made space action exploration game with solid visuals and sound and an explosively fun combat system. Its non-story driven content gets repetitive after a while but you will be thoroughly entertained until then.
  5. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 11, 2015
    82
    Minimalistic controls. Huge freedom of choice. Loads of fun. The only time something isn’t happening in Rebel Galaxy is when you pause it to go brew another cup of tea. [Issue#203, p.78]
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 3, 2015
    80
    The galaxy may be a bit empty, but there's still a lot to love about Rebel Galaxy. [Dec 2015, p.64]
  7. Nov 17, 2015
    80
    Rebel Galaxy is shallow but really compelling and immersive space combat and trading game.
  8. Nov 10, 2015
    80
    If I was going to compare, Rebel Galaxy is this genres Burnout going up against the “Elite” behemoth that is Gran Turismo.
  9. Nov 4, 2015
    80
    Great shoot-outs, freedom of choices and a lot of creative work in the hangar make the Galaxy Rebel interesting option for of space activities and simulation lovers.
  10. Nov 3, 2015
    80
    Rebel Galaxy offers an exciting, if streamlined experience of commanding a large spaceship with a heavy focus on combat. It doesn't do much with the story beyond inviting you into its universe, but the gameplay, Western-inspired setting and procedurally generated nature will keep you playing for many hours.
  11. Oct 23, 2015
    80
    Eschewing complex 3D flight models for whiskey and galactic broadsides, Rebel Galaxy takes the traditional space trading model, dresses it in spurs, and sets it loose on a frontier that’s dynamic, dangerous and unashamedly fun.
  12. Oct 22, 2015
    80
    Light on content but heavy on freedom, Rebel Galaxy is a charming romp through a frontier brimming with choices to make.
  13. Oct 20, 2015
    80
    Rebel Galaxy is a stupendous effort from a small development team. Somewhat limited in the scope, the game shines in combat, ship progression and production values.
  14. Oct 16, 2015
    80
    While it's not as deep as it first appears, fun and fast naval-style combat and a vast explorable galaxy made me want to try out each of its different styles of captaining, and kept me happily blasting away.
  15. Oct 15, 2015
    80
    Rebel Galaxy scratches the Freelancer itch that went untreated for over a decade.
  16. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 3, 2016
    78
    Rebel Galaxy is an open world Freelancer-like with capital ship combat and a universe that looks more alive than it really is. The gameplay was fun enough, visuals good enough, audio epic and the story interesting enough to keep me well entertained for the duration. [Jan 2016]
  17. Nov 20, 2015
    75
    With its impressive ballistic action (albeit on a 2D plane) and the constant search for better equipment this mixture of games like Drox Operative, VoidExpanse, Assassin’s Creed Black Flag and of course Elite: Dangerous is a pleasant surprise in the overgrowing indie market.
  18. Nov 16, 2015
    75
    Rebel Galaxy appears complicated out of the gate, but it hits a steady pace after some acclimating to the ship controls and menu-based features like upgrade shops and the commodity market. The progression loop of grinding out missions, earning credits to beef up your ship, then taking it back out again is fun, but the mission design felt too familiar to keep me hooked for the long haul.
  19. Nov 5, 2015
    75
    Rebel Galaxy has a ton of style and an incredible atmosphere that captures the weird little subgenre of space western to wonderful effect. But its repetitive combat and focus on trucking across the galaxy means that it’s not as exciting as it could be. There’s a lot to like, but you’ve got to work for it.
  20. Oct 27, 2015
    75
    A fun solo venture, but it won’t suck out thousands of your hours.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. What is a fair critique is that, ultimately, none of it matters very much. As I said, the state of your ship is what keeps you going. You fight more to earn more to buy more. In this way it is a very transparent game. But also a repetitive one, and overall, a mixed bag.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 114
  2. Negative: 16 out of 114
  1. Oct 22, 2015
    8
    Imagine they made a Firefly videogame, and that videogame was an unholy fusion of FTL, Mass Effect's space flight bits and the naval combatImagine they made a Firefly videogame, and that videogame was an unholy fusion of FTL, Mass Effect's space flight bits and the naval combat from AC: Black Flag.

    I really like it, it's not particularly complex but it's fun to fly around trading, smuggling and fighting other ships. I can't vouch for story quality but if you want something inexpensive that you can get lost in for a while I fully recommend it.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 24, 2015
    7
    It's a 2D version of freelancer, essentially, and apparently designed to be played with a 360 controller. Several things impressed me aboutIt's a 2D version of freelancer, essentially, and apparently designed to be played with a 360 controller. Several things impressed me about it:

    * The music. This is probably the first thing you'll notice. Bluegrass and rock and roll. This game has by far one of the better soundtracks I've experienced in a game.

    * The characters you interact with are fully animated and lip sync the dialog.

    * The encounters and NPC activity are procedurally generated without feeling totally random. Events can occur which change the behavior of NPCs and introduce new random encounters. In my view the variety of the NPC activity is better than Freelancer's was.

    The downs:

    * The controls are weird. You can steer while in warp, so in order to prevent you from crashing into things, the game limits your cruise velocity when you are near an object, similar to what happens in Elite: Dangerous. It tells you when it's doing it, but unlike Elite, it's not always obvious why it's doing this or how to avoid it, leading to frustration when you're trying to maneuver in a fight, overtake a convoy, or transit to an outpost. Also, since the game is designed for a controller, it tends to reuse the same buttons for totally different things, like the acceleration button being used for scooping loot if you hold it down.

    * Although you only move in 2D, your enemies don't. Fighter class vessels fly above and below the plane
    of your movement, making it hard to track them even with turrents.

    * The map isn't available everywhere you would expect it to be, like when you're docked in a station.

    * Broadsides are a lot less useful than you would expect.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant, the storyline is hilarious, the missions are fun, the environment sucks you into it. I love thatThis game is absolutely brilliant, the storyline is hilarious, the missions are fun, the environment sucks you into it. I love that everything is completely open world and its up to how you choose to play it, you can be whatever you want to be, e.g pirate, trader, a do-gooder, bounty hunter, etc. Your ship is totally upgradable in so many ways. I wasnt sure about the 2.5D plane because I am a bit of a space sim enthusiast (with my own HOTAS and everything) but it works so well, and I just take Rebel Galaxy for what it is which is a great action packed Space Arcade game. At $20 its a steal! 10/10 Full Review »