Rebel Galaxy Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rebel Galaxy is a swashbuckling space adventure, with action-packed combat, exploration, discovery, trade, and “negotiation” with outlandish denizens at the edge of the known universe.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rebel Galaxy - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Oct 19, 2015
    90
    Rebel Galaxy is clearly designed to appeal to those who played and loved Elite and Freelancer when they were popular but I suspect that the game also has the potential to attract classic RPG lovers who are looking for something more than classic fantasy.
  2. Oct 20, 2015
    84
    A well-made space action exploration game with solid visuals and sound and an explosively fun combat system. Its non-story driven content gets repetitive after a while but you will be thoroughly entertained until then.
  3. Oct 15, 2015
    80
    Rebel Galaxy scratches the Freelancer itch that went untreated for over a decade.
  4. Nov 17, 2015
    80
    Rebel Galaxy is shallow but really compelling and immersive space combat and trading game.
  5. Nov 16, 2015
    75
    Rebel Galaxy appears complicated out of the gate, but it hits a steady pace after some acclimating to the ship controls and menu-based features like upgrade shops and the commodity market. The progression loop of grinding out missions, earning credits to beef up your ship, then taking it back out again is fun, but the mission design felt too familiar to keep me hooked for the long haul.
  6. Dec 3, 2015
    70
    A decent debut project Double Damage Games. Rebel Galaxy is engaging and creates a great atmosphere, but the repeatability kicks in a little too early.
  7. Oct 26, 2015
    57
    The basic structure of a space sim is there, but while you grind for hours to make your ship better and better, you'll feel that something is missing, and that's the originality of gameplay solutions that can make a game really stand out.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    This game is absolutely brilliant, the storyline is hilarious, the missions are fun, the environment sucks you into it. I love thatThis game is absolutely brilliant, the storyline is hilarious, the missions are fun, the environment sucks you into it. I love that everything is completely open world and its up to how you choose to play it, you can be whatever you want to be, e.g pirate, trader, a do-gooder, bounty hunter, etc. Your ship is totally upgradable in so many ways. I wasnt sure about the 2.5D plane because I am a bit of a space sim enthusiast (with my own HOTAS and everything) but it works so well, and I just take Rebel Galaxy for what it is which is a great action packed Space Arcade game. At $20 its a steal! 10/10 Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2016
    9
    A Firefly in a video game, if Firefly was more space combat oriented.

    Excellent space simulator with RPG elements, vast variation in both
    A Firefly in a video game, if Firefly was more space combat oriented.

    Excellent space simulator with RPG elements, vast variation in both spaceships and their weapons, can fit all play-styles from slow well-armed destroyers to versatile frigates. Has one of the best soundtracks I've ever heard in a game - a combination of Classic Rock and Bluegrass. Only downside is players can move only in two dimensions while all the NPCs move in three.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2015
    9
    Love this game, I must say the first 10 hours I played though I did not. That was because I tried to race through max all my weapons andLove this game, I must say the first 10 hours I played though I did not. That was because I tried to race through max all my weapons and bully and grind my way through that was not fun.

    I restarted took my time planned how my character was going to be {played like a Pirate) and have absolutely loved this game. The developers did a great job with this game the first game I can remember hoping they release a bunch of DLC for it.

    If you want a fun space sim this is it, it is really good from soundtrack to depth to gameplay, I dont really like the new dumbed down games that appeal to everyone but this one has enough meat on its bones to justify 20 bucks and 100 hours of gameplay, sit back and enjoy.
    Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2019
    8
    Good game!
    Travel by the universe smashing the enemies, trading and contemplating the scenario, it's quite relaxing.
    Please select your
    Good game!
    Travel by the universe smashing the enemies, trading and contemplating the scenario, it's quite relaxing.
    Please select your favorite songs on pre definitions, the experience is superb in that way.
    Expand
  5. Oct 24, 2015
    8
    I've only played this for a few hours, and whilst it's not mind-blowing, it's still pretty good.

    The Good: Good set of resolutions to
    I've only played this for a few hours, and whilst it's not mind-blowing, it's still pretty good.

    The Good:

    Good set of resolutions to launch with, can play it on my 1080 secondary display, or my 1600x900 pc display.
    Excellent graphics. Everything is really well pieced together, making good use of various light effects and shading, even the explosions are pretty neat.
    Uncomplicated gameplay controls
    Challenging missions of varying degrees of difficulty so nobody misses out on the fun and progression is always possible at some point in the future if a mission is too hard.
    The music is pretty cool, and you can even set it up to use your own music, which I think was a neat addition to the game's settings.

    The Bad:
    Arguably the main issue here is that of all the directions a vehicle capable of flight, terrestrial or space, is that it should be able to go up as well as down. Here we have a game that lets you go forward, left and right. That's about it. It really knackers the experience. This could probably be a decent offline contender for Elite if more effort were put into the obvious things like this. But they missed out on it.
    I have no idea why. It seems like everywhere you go, you're just traversing along a road that bends when you want to turn and goes straight when you want to go straight. It feels lacklustre, boring and could easily add to the challenge of getting from one place to the next, or even make the combat sequences more interesting.

    Sometimes travel is a bit slow, even with boosting and warping - it will take patience and probably a lot of coffee sometimes to get through a fair amount of gameplay in this one. - although there are trainers that allow for 10x an increase in speed using warp - but that's not exactly playing the game as it was intended to be played.

    That music can get a bit tedious. Thank the lord for the mute button.

    Despite it's shortfalls, it's still a damn fine game that certainly looks pleasing to the eye when you get underway with it. Make the most of the graphic settings - they're easily played on mid-range PCs with half a decent graphics card, and it's smooth as a baby's bum when you're using an i5 or i7 processor too.
    It's worth getting, for sure.
    Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2016
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Too many random encounters and repetitive missions keep this from being a very good game. You can't go from A to B without running into pirates and the 2D combat just isn't that engaging. A great value once it hits the $10 price point.... Expand
  7. May 1, 2019
    1
    It compares to maybe the first version of that starpoint series, don't believe anyone who says its like freelancer or privateer that's just shameful

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers