User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 145
  2. Negative: 52 out of 145

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2016
    8
    A charming game with lots of personality. If you liked games like Remember Me or Mirror's Edge, then you'll like this one. Interesting story and alien world setting. The gameplay is a mix of third person shooter with some light open-world exploration and RPG leveling and crafting. The movement system features jet boots, which allows for interesting movement and traversal. Overall I foundA charming game with lots of personality. If you liked games like Remember Me or Mirror's Edge, then you'll like this one. Interesting story and alien world setting. The gameplay is a mix of third person shooter with some light open-world exploration and RPG leveling and crafting. The movement system features jet boots, which allows for interesting movement and traversal. Overall I found the gameplay to be OK, but it gets a bit repetitive with the limited attack options. The PC version of the game is functional but is clearly a console port. There's almost no graphical options and there are some bugs with binding actions to certain keys. The game is also only available on the Windows 10 store. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2016
    8
    Fun world and snappy controls. The combat is fun, though simple, and the modding of robots is pretty cool, though linear. It has a story that is presented with some mystery at first and many puzzles. I am not a huge fan of some of the style, and the UI could have been a bit better but overall its a good game.
  3. Sep 19, 2016
    9
    Muy buen Juego, es lo que los Gamers de antaño necesitamos, no entiendo las chiticas, supongo por no dejar caer tan fuerte a PS4.

    No duden en comprarlo, aparte esta rebajado.
  4. Sep 14, 2016
    8
    GENERAL IMPRESSIONS:
    Reviews are funny things - so subjective and hard to fathom when they are contrary to your own view point. Recore is suffering from a lack of objectivity. While it can be wonky at times for controls and suffers from HORRIBLE load times, the game is, never the less solid. Its more about exploration, platforming and movement and timing than it is about shooting and
    GENERAL IMPRESSIONS:
    Reviews are funny things - so subjective and hard to fathom when they are contrary to your own view point. Recore is suffering from a lack of objectivity. While it can be wonky at times for controls and suffers from HORRIBLE load times, the game is, never the less solid. Its more about exploration, platforming and movement and timing than it is about shooting and combat. The core system is fun and the corebots are well developed. Its a semi open world that works well with a decent story line. Music is appropriate for a game that relies heavily on the open world, providing ambient immersion through low to no music and punctuating climatic moments with appropriate score. It is not, however, a soundtrack to go looking for. When you compare this to other lack luster recent releases, (No Man's Sky for example) its amazing that its critic score is LOWER than most incomplete and semi broken releases.

    TLDNR; Recore is at its heart an exploration and platforming game with movement and timing based combat thrown in to break up the primary core game play. If you like open worldish games with fun things to do, you should consider trying it. Because the combat is less about shooting skill, if you are looking for a story driven shooter than I would move on - but if you like platforming and exploration in an openish world you may want to consider getting it or renting it (if on console). Its hard to recommend as a purchase in its launch condition considering the LONG AND INEXCUSABLE load times and occasionally wonky controls. So I would say rent or borrow if possible unless you know its the sort of game you will enjoy. Its also appropriate for a wide age range, which is admirable considering the abundance of adult oriented games that are heavily represented in this release cycle.

    TECHNICAL: Recore suffers from long load times (some up to more than 2 minutes), occasional frame rate drops and wonky controls and camera reactions. The number of load screens destroys the pacing and immersion and if anything should be addressed by the developer, as soon as possible, it would be fixing the load times.

    GRAPHICS: Ranges from acceptable and colorful to muddy textures bland graphic fidelity. Overall its okay but nothing to get excited about.

    SOUND: Ambient noise, weapons and bots are done well enough to flesh out the world.

    SOUNDTRACK: Music is not very prominent but is used to good effect for enhancing immersion and to punctuate climatic moments. It is otherwise unremarkable and is not something that would be worth pursuing for game music enthusiasts.

    VOICE ACTING: Serviceable voice acting is provided with some deliveries being on the mark while others are slightly cringe worthy.

    GAME PLAY: While the color coding and corebot variety is a fun addition, it is a well developed platformer with some fun exploration. Combat is serviceable although there are some odd RNG and difficulty spikes thrown in at times that jar with the rest of the game. Controls and camera reaction can be wonky at times leading to frustration, especially when factoring in the LONG load times. This is particularly problematic when you need to repeat difficult boss encounters and have to wait in some cases over 2 minutes for the stage to load. These load times are also random as the stages that are loading are not overly complex. Instead it shows a lack optimization and quality control for base programming.

    STORY: The story is decent but not horribly original or thought provoking. Its standard sci-fi world colonization fare. Its written well enough but suffers at times from poor voice acting.

    MULTIPLAYER: N/A

    REPLAY VALUE: Recore has relatively low replay value. If you like time challenges you may want to re-run some of the traversal rush dungeons, but otherwise a single thorough play through will pretty much exhaust what the game has to offer.

    VALUE PROPOSITION: This is a game that will appeal to a very specific player base. Its a solid but well worn path that it follows with little innovation and unfortunately is hampered by technical flaws that break up the immersion and the pacing of the game with occasional highly frustrating control and camera responses and odd difficulty spikes that are then exacerbated by the long load times. I would suggest that unless you know that this is the type of game that you really enjoy, I would avoid purchasing it until the load times and other technical issues are resolved. If you plan to play it on console this would be a good game to rent for a long weekend.

    PERSONAL SCORE: 75% out of 100. A solid, basic game with room for improvement. Seems that it was rushed to hit a specific release window (not much to compete with at this time) instead of being well honed and polished, which is a shame.
    Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2016
    8
    "technical issues aside,ReCore delivers fast paced action platforming with a unique twist,a nice art style, and clever ideas, even though the final act is a bit poorly designed"

    75%
  6. Sep 19, 2016
    9
    Jak 3 and Metroid Prime got together for a spot of tea, and this beautiful gem came out. Although the release of this game was rushed a bit, resulting in some unfortunate technical issues (what else is new), the old-school style gameplay more than makes up for these bugs. This is the sort of game that reminds me of why I got into gaming, and gives me hope that there are still developersJak 3 and Metroid Prime got together for a spot of tea, and this beautiful gem came out. Although the release of this game was rushed a bit, resulting in some unfortunate technical issues (what else is new), the old-school style gameplay more than makes up for these bugs. This is the sort of game that reminds me of why I got into gaming, and gives me hope that there are still developers out there that remember the glory of the PS2/GC era.
    If $40 is too much money for you (it is worth that price), make sure to watch this game and pick it up later for less. Don't let yourself miss this one.
    Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2016
    8
    While I have only put around 3 hours into the game. I have enjoyed very minute of it. From the great voice acting to the neat sound effects, thus far the game has proven that sometimes a smaller game can be almost better than a blockbuster. I have not seen any of the load time issues many have complained about. In terms of game length, as I said I'm only a couple hours into it. But theWhile I have only put around 3 hours into the game. I have enjoyed very minute of it. From the great voice acting to the neat sound effects, thus far the game has proven that sometimes a smaller game can be almost better than a blockbuster. I have not seen any of the load time issues many have complained about. In terms of game length, as I said I'm only a couple hours into it. But the replay of it seems strong to me. Expand
  8. Sep 20, 2016
    9
    + Game runs great
    + Controls actually are amazing for a platformer
    + Robots
    + Needs a sequel

    + / - 'Optional' Cores, the game makes sure you visit everything
    + / - Cliffhanger

    - Bad spawns when doing 'dungeons'. Sometimes you get pushed back into the same thing you died off.
  9. Sep 14, 2016
    10
    Ignore the 'professional' review sites.
    Once again we have clear evidence how out of touch these sad little 'journalists' are incredibly out of touch with what makes a good game.
    This is wonderfully polished for a non major studio. It looks gorgeous - the story is pleasant and amusing. Platforming, movement and combat is fun and the core game mechanics are great. This game takes you
    Ignore the 'professional' review sites.
    Once again we have clear evidence how out of touch these sad little 'journalists' are incredibly out of touch with what makes a good game.

    This is wonderfully polished for a non major studio. It looks gorgeous - the story is pleasant and amusing. Platforming, movement and combat is fun and the core game mechanics are great.

    This game takes you back to some of the glory days of gaming as it successfully mixes multiple genres into an incredibly satisfying package that rewards exploration and collection.

    I can't stop smiling while i play this.
    Expand
  10. Sep 18, 2016
    6
    Stay away from this garbage at all costs!

    Cons: * Serious performance issues with stuttering and freezes even on systems better than recommended. * Graphics ranging from awesome to utter garbage (very inconsistent) * If you die during a puzzle you often re-spawn in bad spots just to instantly die again. * You are constantly forced to backtrack to find "optional" cores in order to
    Stay away from this garbage at all costs!

    Cons:

    * Serious performance issues with stuttering and freezes even on systems better than recommended.
    * Graphics ranging from awesome to utter garbage (very inconsistent)
    * If you die during a puzzle you often re-spawn in bad spots just to instantly die again.
    * You are constantly forced to backtrack to find "optional" cores in order to progress the main story.
    * Glitches, glitches glitches. Ranging from screen flicker during loading screens to models popping in/out to animation issues and missing sounds and beyond. I'm surprised how it made it through certification in its current state as you literary can't play 10 minutes without encountering some (often graphical) glitch.

    Pros:

    * The "grappling-hook" mechanic is cool.

    Verdict:

    Cool idea but extremely poorly executed. 4/10.
    Expand
  11. Sep 16, 2016
    5
    Recore starts well with a good mystery to solve and an entertaining gameplay. After the first hour, you start to realize that it makes little sense to waste time fighting and you start to accelerate to complete the story. But the game seems to hate, like many others who advances too fast and the solution are the power cores. Basically, the game forces you to collect a minimum of 45 ofRecore starts well with a good mystery to solve and an entertaining gameplay. After the first hour, you start to realize that it makes little sense to waste time fighting and you start to accelerate to complete the story. But the game seems to hate, like many others who advances too fast and the solution are the power cores. Basically, the game forces you to collect a minimum of 45 of these cores to complete the story. While this is not a problem, given the repetitive combat, this task becomes quite heavy. The reward after having gone through the ordeal is a disappointing end (not bad).

    Good atmosphere, great idea for the plot but not as well executed as I expected, quickly repetitive gameplay, change the parts to your robots is very easily forgotten after try it and enhance them with the colored cores (red, blue, yellow, etc), happen to focus on one of the robots and nothing more.
    Expand
  12. Feb 15, 2017
    0
    Puta que jogo desgraçado! cheguei até o final quase vomitando... no começo achei legal.. mas fica muito muito chato! o combate é chato! não aparece as conquista na tela do pc, se minimizar muito o jogo da pau... depois q o bixo voador entrei dentro da terra varias vezes! jogo XATO MUITO XATO DESGRAÇADO E CARO! NAO COMPRA ESSA PORRA
    !
  13. Apr 2, 2017
    0
    1. windows 10 only
    2. Bad tech. visualization quality
    3. poor optimization
    4. poor Art
    5. story ....
    6. Gameplay .....
    7. Uncomfortable PC controls
    8. Emulated and not Ported
    9. Miner Denuvo
  14. Nov 25, 2016
    9
    The game runs on my surface.... and its not deserving of all the negative scores its getting sooo im giving it a 9 even though its more of an 8. But the exploration is great and with a future free dlc coming up for 20 dollars during this black friday. Its at its perfect price
  15. Dec 1, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very funny from minute 1, don't believe in mob-press is a cheap, funny, great gameplay and amazing game.
    very very long time without have a game who i like so much
    Recommended purchase
    Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2016
    5
    I can't say much about this game. It doesn't have any bugs or problems but on the other hand it doesn't have anything that would make this game distinct from the others.
  17. Jul 17, 2017
    8
    There’s very clearly a fantastic game trying to break free here, and while it clearly shines through in the gameplay, the abundance of glitches and performance issues really hold it back from reaching its full potential.
  18. Nov 1, 2017
    5
    What started as something engaging with plenty of character quickly became repetitive and frustrating. Some more variety in enemies or weapons would have been very welcome here as well as some improved pc controls. The loading times and poor performance also hold this title back from being something special. Ultimately there's nothing here that hasn't been done better before in other gamesWhat started as something engaging with plenty of character quickly became repetitive and frustrating. Some more variety in enemies or weapons would have been very welcome here as well as some improved pc controls. The loading times and poor performance also hold this title back from being something special. Ultimately there's nothing here that hasn't been done better before in other games and with the technical issues it's hard to be positive about this game. Expand
  19. Apr 17, 2018
    10
    I like this game, every moment and level inspire to continue to the end. very good
  20. Mar 8, 2019
    8
    One thing i noticed is if you use the autolock button your enemies, they dodge all the time, but if you dont use it they never seem to dodge. It almost feels like it was supposed to make the game easier, but all it does is inform your target your looking at him, so he gets ready to dodge your shots.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. CD-Action
    Dec 12, 2016
    70
    The biggest obstacle on ReCore’s path to greatness is the uneven pacing of the campaign. First couple of hours, when the game gradually unveils its secrets, are almost perfect, but then it becomes unnecessarily hard and the story gets watered down too much. [12/2016, p.44]
  2. Dec 1, 2016
    60
    For all of its missteps, it's hard to get too angry at ReCore. The platforming and combat are so good that it's hard not wishing a better game surrounded them. For those with a fair amount of patience, it's worth playing just to see the strongest aspects. For everyone else, it's best to just shake your head, move on, and wonder what could have been.
  3. Nov 1, 2016
    40
    Starts with so much promise, but eventually becomes an experience as barren as the desert it's set in. [Issue#256, p.61]