Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. May 1, 2020
    90
    Resident Evil 3 is a stellar remake of a survival-horror classic that honors the past, while updating the game with contemporary graphics and controls.
  2. Apr 7, 2020
    90
    A move to Racoon City wouldn't be the best choice right now. Resident Evil 3 is everything that you wanted from the game the first time around. Rooted in the same claustrophobic alleyways of the first incarnation, this return to a classic manages to enhance the original while edging in its own direction.
  3. Apr 3, 2020
    90
    Overall, Resident Evil 3 is a wonderful continuation of Capcom’s latest remake efforts. Although its just-okay multiplayer mode falls short of the bar set by its magnificent single-player campaign, the latter does such a good job at balancing 2020 gameplay and a classic Resident Evil tone that I recommend it without reservations. Hopefully, we’ll see more classic games in Capcom’s library remade with such finesse and loving care – along with some new games, too.
  4. Apr 8, 2020
    86
    Resident Evil 3 retells the story of Jill's desperate escape from the doomed Raccoon City, using an intriguing plot and more fleshed out characters than the original. It falls short of the sheer amount of content its predecessors had, but it excels in moment to moment gameplay which it delivers in spades.
  5. Mar 30, 2020
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Mar 30, 2020
    84
    Resident Evil 3 is a really enjoyable action horror experience, but it’s shortcomings in longevity and replayability are too deep, keeping it away from reaching the status of true masterpiece.
  7. Apr 10, 2020
    80
    Resident Evil 3 is a decent horror-action game that falls short of the Resident Evil 2 standard.
  8. Apr 7, 2020
    80
    I want to make it clear that overall, I love this remake. In so many ways it hits the high notes of just what a Resident Evil remake should be, following last years remake of Resident Evil 2 and the nearly two-decade old remake of Resident Evil. It has horror, action, a refinement of the story, but along the way the things that have changed for the worse or been abandoned hurts the overall flavor. Missing a section in the campaign, removal of the Mercenaries mode and choice-scenes, and putting to rest a long debate about the canon ending of Resident Evil 3 by making only one ending this time around definitely work against it. It’s a game I can play time and time again, but unlike last year's Resident Evil 2 remake it’s more of a rough gem than a diamond.
  9. Apr 4, 2020
    80
    Resident Evil 3 is a different monster compared to last year release. While it lost some of his tetric atmosphere, a sense or urgency is gained in the form of Nemesis, a hulkin powerhose behind your heels. However, its short campaign, lack of replayability and forgettable multiplayer, will make this year Resident Evil a hard sell.
  10. Apr 2, 2020
    80
    While Resident Evil 3 remains in the shadow of the far superior Resident Evil 2, this reimagining of the action-oriented RE3: Nemesis manages to capture the series' best qualities and deliver an experience far more memorable than the original.
  11. Mar 30, 2020
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Mar 30, 2020
    80
    Despite Resistance isn’t the best companion for the campaign and that Nemesis is more scripted and foreseeable than I expected, Resistance 3 is a great adventure with plenty of action and scares.
  13. Mar 30, 2020
    80
    The Resident Evil 3 remake manages to take the core elements from the original and make them new again. The RE Engine also provides the right platform for extremely detailed facial animations and environments. Although this remake might run a rather linear course, don't let that deter you from jumping into this punchy, solid, action title that's extremely well-paced from start to finish. This is yet another example of Capcom taking an already great property and somehow making something new out of it while still respecting its own source material.
  14. Mar 30, 2020
    80
    Resident Evil 3’s remake might not be as surprising as REmake 2, but it is still a fun ride. If you loved the way REmake 2 used the survival horror formula, that same formula continues here with a cool multiplayer mode to boot. If you can forgive some tedious boss fights, a somewhat lacking Nemesis, and some monetization in Resistance, it’s got what we love about Resident Evil as a franchise.
  15. Mar 30, 2020
    80
    In the end, Resident Evil 3 is own nemesis, a remake that's enjoyable but seems a little shallow when compared to the innovations the RE3 that came before it brought to the table.
  16. Mar 30, 2020
    80
    Despite missing a few defining features of the original, Resident Evil 3 makes for a thrilling experience that I’m sure will be enjoyed by both veterans of the series and new fans alike.
  17. Mar 30, 2020
    80
    Resident Evil 3 is a mostly superb remake of a horror classic with many clever spins on the formula and fluid, enthralling gameplay. I just wish there was more of it.
  18. Apr 16, 2020
    75
    If you’re looking for the authentic Resident Evil experience, this is definitely not it. But if you have a Resident Evil itch that you just need to scratch, this could provide lots of hours of entertainment for you, even without the Resident Evil Resistance standalone experience. But at the end of the day, I’d rather just play the excellent Resident Evil 2 Remake, or even the original Resident Evil 3 on my old PS2 instead.
  19. Apr 13, 2020
    75
    Resident Evil 3 Remake has a lot of good action moments and it's one hell of a ride, but it kind of lost sight of what made the original game an all-time classic.
  20. Apr 6, 2020
    75
    Resident Evil 3's first minutes are absolutely stunning, then the game becomes way too normal, unable to push the boundaries of the classic survival horror genre or simply follow the solid steps of the previous remake.
  21. Apr 3, 2020
    75
    Fundamentally, Resident Evil 3 is two great chase scenes, four awesome boss fights, and a bunch of mediocre filler to make up the rest of the running time. It’s a magnificent, breathtaking ride the first time through, but once that initial ride is over, it becomes a competent zombie shooter and little else.
  22. Mar 30, 2020
    75
    Fans may not forgive some of the cuts made to the basic story, while newbies will enjoy an epic that is worth a look. Asymmetrical multiplayer mode struggles to convince.
  23. Game World Navigator Magazine
    May 21, 2020
    74
    Not only it doesn’t surpass RE2, it fails to even hit the same mark. In RE2, every act had you explore a rather large environment, search for clues and solve puzzles. In RE3, you just run down a corridor, blasting zombies and dodging scripted Nemesis attacks. [Issue#245, p.46]
  24. Apr 10, 2020
    70
    It's pretty obvious that this wasn't created by the confident, and steady hand that designed Resident Evil 2. Nevertheless, while nowhere near the quality of its predecessor, it remains a great survival horror game, worthy of the franchise it belongs to, with the only two flaws that are hard to stomach being how, the undisputed heart of the original, the pursuer known as Nemesis, is a bit of a major disappointment, and how you have to pay full price for something that feels more like an expansion.
  25. Mar 30, 2020
    70
    Capcom's latest is still one of the better entries to the series, but isn't quite sure if it wants to be po-faced and terrifying or a campy, blockbuster shooter.
  26. May 18, 2020
    66
    Unlike the remake of Resident Evil 2, this is a simple, straightforward blockbuster, short, colorful, and mindless. As for Resident Evil: Resistance, you will probably quit it after spending half an hour in this boring L4D clone.
  27. Apr 19, 2020
    60
    Part of how much you reap from Resident Evil 3 will be down to your nostalgia for the series, part of it will be if shooting the embodiment of a virus in the face with a rail-gun is just what you need right now.
  28. Mar 30, 2020
    60
    As much as one might bemoan Resident Evil 4’s use of quick-time events, the fact that playing Resident Evil 3 can make you pine for their return when all you’re doing is watching - is probably all you need to know. As a remake Resident Evil 3 is an impressive visual feat and another RE Engine showcase. It’s a shame then that the actual game portion wasn’t given the same overhaul.
  29. Mar 30, 2020
    58
    Resident Evil 3 is essentially a chain of action set-pieces, threaded together with a paper-thin story and a few too many cutscenes. This is the direction the series started to take post-Resident Evil 4, when it seriously lost its way and we ended up with the abysmal Resident Evil 6, and I'd hate to see that happen again.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 30, 2020
    Are my expectations tainted by Resident Evil 2? Absolutely, and I’m sure there are people who didn’t get on with that brand of survival horror, and who might fall in love with Resident Evil 3 and its more action-oriented pacing—or fell in love with it 20 years ago, and are looking to rediscover that feeling. It’s just not hooking me though. The linear level design, the combat focus, the cheap one-shot deaths (and annoying checkpoints), the omnipresent and omnipotent Nemesis—it’s like they made a game from all my least favorite aspects of Resident Evil 2. Turns out I was a fan of the classic Resident Evil formula this whole time, and only impeded by the tank controls. Now I too can join the legions of forum dwellers arguing about where Resident Evil lost its way, and how much action is “too much.”
  2. I liked it! More than I expected to like it. But at the same time, after six hours of it, I’ve had enough. The spider labyrinth was astonishing, but it’s not really a mess I’d get myself in twice, when the real joy was in escaping it. I could have spent more time finding secrets and backtracking for loot. And there’s certainly a huge replay potential to RE3 for completionists, and folks who are fond of difficulty challenges. But that ain’t me. I was precisely in the mood for a fairly linear, day-long series of setpieces, and that’s exactly what I got. If that’s what you want too, then the question is whether it’s worth £50 to you. Unless of course you also have pervasive fantasies about being smacked around by a wardrobe-sized bastard wrapped in bin liners, in which case this is a must-buy.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 788 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Apr 3, 2020
    1
    I just feel very disappointed, I grew up with this game. One of my favorites of all time.

    I didn't care about the price, but I understand the
    I just feel very disappointed, I grew up with this game. One of my favorites of all time.

    I didn't care about the price, but I understand the complain, it just too way short They cut like 40% of the original and add like 15% extra who nobody askedfor it.
    Just disappointed, sad really sad
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 3, 2020
    0
    4-5 hours gameplay
    Recycled
    Content cut Areas cut Enemies cut Puzzles cut Downgrade Scripted Cloned zombies Nemesis ruined This
    4-5 hours gameplay
    Recycled
    Content cut
    Areas cut
    Enemies cut
    Puzzles cut
    Downgrade
    Scripted
    Cloned zombies
    Nemesis ruined

    This game looks like a mediocre DLC from RE2.
    An offense to RE3 fans!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2020
    3
    If you evaluate the game as an ordinary evening shooter, then this is good, but if you evaluate the game as a resident - this is a completeIf you evaluate the game as an ordinary evening shooter, then this is good, but if you evaluate the game as a resident - this is a complete failure. The game takes place in a couple of hours, there are no puzzles in it, part of the locations were removed, The game itself and the narrative seem crumpled, you just run and shoot between the clips but even on the hardcore cartridges of the sea. This is more like a paid dlс to the second part. I am extremely disappointed Full Review »