Resident Evil 6 Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 6 is the sixth installment in the series. With 4 unique, yet overlapping story threads, each with their own pair of protagonists for either solo or co-op play, both offline and online, not only does Resident Evil 6 deliver different perspectives and play styles but, with theResident Evil 6 is the sixth installment in the series. With 4 unique, yet overlapping story threads, each with their own pair of protagonists for either solo or co-op play, both offline and online, not only does Resident Evil 6 deliver different perspectives and play styles but, with the introduction of the innovative Crossover mechanic players are be able to team up and share the horror with others. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Resident Evil 6 - Comic-Con 2012 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    85
    Fans looking to scratch the survival horror itch will likely still not come away impressed by the direction the series has taken. Resident Evil has become more of an action-horror game; a change I have welcomed with open arms.
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    80
    It's as long, intense and replayable as the console version, but there are few additions to this one. Still, if you didn't play it when it was first released, and if you don't mind the new path the series has taken, RE 6 is a great option.
  3. Feb 4, 2014
    80
    Perhaps it's still too experimental and difficult than the sixth entry in a series ought to be, but despite everything, RE6 offers top-tier cinematic action and series-high storytelling. For fans who've yet to try it, the PC version is the right choice.
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    70
    What we have here is an incredibly long, incredibly flawed, and yet paradoxically engaging experience.
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    Resident Evil 6 is a long and funny cooperative action game, but you have to overlook the outdated gameplay and level design to fully appreciate it.
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    67
    Resident Evil 6 PC is arguably the definitive version of the game – best graphics, all-inclusive, best multiplayer backbone – and obviously worthy of a playthrough if you’re PC-only gamer. However, if you played the console version last year (our review here), it’s probably not worth double-dipping and it still handles best on a controller.
  7. PC Gamer
    May 21, 2013
    45
    An apocalyptic disappointment that never rises above mediocrity, but often sinks into tedium. [July 2013, p.72]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 86 out of 224
  2. Negative: 83 out of 224
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I played enough of this game to recommend it to you. There's everything to love and nothing to hate. If we consider the last trilogy, ResidentI played enough of this game to recommend it to you. There's everything to love and nothing to hate. If we consider the last trilogy, Resident Evil from 4 to 6 this is easily the best of them all, the culmination of the action Capcom offers. You can do all sort of new moves which are awesome, you can slide, dodge, land on your back and shoot from the ground (which can be done when enemies drop you too), you can fight in melee with combos or switching to a melee weapon. I really like the fluidity of the game and it's even more fun with a friend. The coop of this game is great, you are not helpless per sé, you can counter enemies' grapples, you can even "stand up" for yourself if you survive long enough in a down state, but, of course, it's a lot easier if there's a team mate helping you out but that may not be always possible due to tactics gone wrong or levels where you have to stay apart for some time.
    There is much to explore, some campaigns have more exploration than others, graphics are really good for my standards (which may be low since I don't really care) and it goes at 60 fps even if the benchmark told me it would go at 20-30. The campaigns are a great idea, different enemies, different characters, different playstyles and it's a hard game too! I play at Professional difficulty, invested 23 hours in the game right now and I'm something as halfway through (I'm doing chapter 3 with Chris now after doing 3 chapters with Jake and Leon). I really can't find anything wrong with this game, it gives me the challenge I seek, the adrenaline, the fear (the fear of dying but there are some jumps too), the gameplay is perfect as I see it, this was much more than I anticipated, I'll definitely play this multiple times. I'm giving it a 10 because as I said before, I can't find much wrong with it and I didn't have such fun with an action game for a while.
    Expand
  2. Mar 18, 2019
    10
    Two word ... Great Game. every thing about the game is good, story line , gameplay, all the 4 campaign. i totaly love it.
  3. Jun 8, 2017
    9
    Resident Evil 6 is a game that came to make everybody happy. Leon campaign has a lot of puzzles, Chris campaign has more shooting parts, AdaResident Evil 6 is a game that came to make everybody happy. Leon campaign has a lot of puzzles, Chris campaign has more shooting parts, Ada has an adventure campaign and at least I don't know the good on Jake's campaign, really, this doesn't change the history at all. The best thing on this game is that you can fire while moving. PC port is better than RE4 UHE, there is no FPS issues, no bugs and almost none FPS drop. If you want to play this game go ahead, i'll hope for you to enjoy. Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2013
    6
    Resident Evil 4 made revolution moving the serie from horror-running to action, and RE5 almost crossed that line between "great" and "just aResident Evil 4 made revolution moving the serie from horror-running to action, and RE5 almost crossed that line between "great" and "just a shooter". Well, RE 6 is all about shooting. User interface is worse than ever, and invisible walls makes the game very linear without even a little hope to turn somewhere... but you just run trough this huge corridor most part of the game.
    But still it's not as bad as it could be. And having good parents always gives you a point or two.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    The best advice I can give if you are going to play this RE6 is start with the Leon missions. Play the missions in the order they appear,The best advice I can give if you are going to play this RE6 is start with the Leon missions. Play the missions in the order they appear, Chris second, and so on. I thought you chose one character and played the whole game with that person and skill set. I chose Ada, and it was incredibly difficult with hardly any ammo. Sheer desperation made me mention how hard it was in a forum, and I was told start with Leon.

    The game is cram packed full of cut-scenes. These can be long or short. The short ones are on average about every two minutes. It constantly pulls control away from the player. It might just be that a the ground rocks, but then you lose control the camera sways, the character wobbles. Then you have to press your control keys again to get it going again. There are parts of the game where it happens less, then there parts when it's non-stop. There are even times when it takes camera angle control from you and expects you to carry on.

    Over-all though the controls are bad. It is a constant wrangle to maintain control. When you get to a ledge, you can't just jump up it. You have to wait for it to say 'space', then you can press space and jump up. Nearly everything is controlled in this way throughout. Endless, endless pressing keys.

    That brings you onto the quick-time-event. Non-stop weird button mashing that has nothing to do with normal control. It's Ok to an extent, but even the most patient person gets annoyed. You're thinking, "what is that for".

    Then onto how difficult it can be. There is one part I recall. 3rd Chris chapter, you have to run across a load of boats and moorings. You have to make it in time. Checkpoints make you repeat it until you get it right. I can not tell you how bad that whole event was. I was screaming. (Not the only time I was screaming in this game either.)

    5/10 is generous, but I don't quite think it's a 4/10. It's strong points are that sometimes the combat is great. The sets can be OK, but mostly they are dim lit. The cathedral chapter in the Leon campaign is just epic. If only they had made the whole game like that.

    The bosses are just unbelievable annoying. The Leon boss just keeps coming back, and I was sick of the sight of it, and sick of shooting it. Completely stupid method to kill it. I had to search online to find out how. What they have done though is build up the difficulty in each campaign as you get closer to the last. It doesn't feel like built up action. It feels like catastrophic insulting garbage from the developers, and you want blood as compensation. They try to make it a huge experience but falls flat on it's face by kicking you in the teeth non-stop.

    Falling over is something that happens a lot with your character. Endless boom, flat on your back. It's noisy a lot. In fact they should have called it - 'Boom, flat on your back'. I honestly don't know if I can finish it. I have given it a good go. RE5 I sold unfinished as well.
    Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2013
    3
    This game wanted to be good, but it has the same crappy camera angle the series has had since RE4 and alot of scenes where one mistake and youThis game wanted to be good, but it has the same crappy camera angle the series has had since RE4 and alot of scenes where one mistake and you die, usually caused by the camera or terrible controls. Not worth the cost. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2018
    0
    Worst official RE ever made! Just a retarded, cinematic and qte sh*t that carries a big title. If you're a fan of classic RE game, just stay away!

See all 224 User Reviews