Resident Evil 6 Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 992 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 6 is the sixth installment in the series. With 4 unique, yet overlapping story threads, each with their own pair of protagonists for either solo or co-op play, both offline and online, not only does Resident Evil 6 deliver different perspectives and play styles but, with theResident Evil 6 is the sixth installment in the series. With 4 unique, yet overlapping story threads, each with their own pair of protagonists for either solo or co-op play, both offline and online, not only does Resident Evil 6 deliver different perspectives and play styles but, with the introduction of the innovative Crossover mechanic players are be able to team up and share the horror with others. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Resident Evil 6 - Comic-Con 2012 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    85
    Fans looking to scratch the survival horror itch will likely still not come away impressed by the direction the series has taken. Resident Evil has become more of an action-horror game; a change I have welcomed with open arms.
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    80
    It's as long, intense and replayable as the console version, but there are few additions to this one. Still, if you didn't play it when it was first released, and if you don't mind the new path the series has taken, RE 6 is a great option.
  3. Feb 4, 2014
    80
    Perhaps it's still too experimental and difficult than the sixth entry in a series ought to be, but despite everything, RE6 offers top-tier cinematic action and series-high storytelling. For fans who've yet to try it, the PC version is the right choice.
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    70
    What we have here is an incredibly long, incredibly flawed, and yet paradoxically engaging experience.
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    Resident Evil 6 is a long and funny cooperative action game, but you have to overlook the outdated gameplay and level design to fully appreciate it.
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    67
    Resident Evil 6 PC is arguably the definitive version of the game – best graphics, all-inclusive, best multiplayer backbone – and obviously worthy of a playthrough if you’re PC-only gamer. However, if you played the console version last year (our review here), it’s probably not worth double-dipping and it still handles best on a controller.
  7. PC Gamer
    May 21, 2013
    45
    An apocalyptic disappointment that never rises above mediocrity, but often sinks into tedium. [July 2013, p.72]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 187
  2. Negative: 70 out of 187
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I played enough of this game to recommend it to you. There's everything to love and nothing to hate. If we consider the last trilogy, ResidentI played enough of this game to recommend it to you. There's everything to love and nothing to hate. If we consider the last trilogy, Resident Evil from 4 to 6 this is easily the best of them all, the culmination of the action Capcom offers. You can do all sort of new moves which are awesome, you can slide, dodge, land on your back and shoot from the ground (which can be done when enemies drop you too), you can fight in melee with combos or switching to a melee weapon. I really like the fluidity of the game and it's even more fun with a friend. The coop of this game is great, you are not helpless per sé, you can counter enemies' grapples, you can even "stand up" for yourself if you survive long enough in a down state, but, of course, it's a lot easier if there's a team mate helping you out but that may not be always possible due to tactics gone wrong or levels where you have to stay apart for some time.
    There is much to explore, some campaigns have more exploration than others, graphics are really good for my standards (which may be low since I don't really care) and it goes at 60 fps even if the benchmark told me it would go at 20-30. The campaigns are a great idea, different enemies, different characters, different playstyles and it's a hard game too! I play at Professional difficulty, invested 23 hours in the game right now and I'm something as halfway through (I'm doing chapter 3 with Chris now after doing 3 chapters with Jake and Leon). I really can't find anything wrong with this game, it gives me the challenge I seek, the adrenaline, the fear (the fear of dying but there are some jumps too), the gameplay is perfect as I see it, this was much more than I anticipated, I'll definitely play this multiple times. I'm giving it a 10 because as I said before, I can't find much wrong with it and I didn't have such fun with an action game for a while.
    Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2018
    10
    wow ! what a fantastic game graphics are awesome and the gameplay is super fun the environment and the dark makes it a great horror and actionwow ! what a fantastic game graphics are awesome and the gameplay is super fun the environment and the dark makes it a great horror and action shooter game with hand to hand fight I played RE 4 and RE 5 but this is in an other level despite the negative reviews i HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2018
    9
    The gameplay is fun, the story is good. The only problem I encountered was the rather confusing camera.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    I have very mixed feelings with regards to Resident Evil 6; on one side it was a solid action shooter and on the other it was dragged out,I have very mixed feelings with regards to Resident Evil 6; on one side it was a solid action shooter and on the other it was dragged out, lacked any real horror aspect, contained unnecessary amounts of QTE’s and generally held your hand a little to much… The game does look fantastic and it’s very flashy, but the game is built as a series of battle arenas with corridors between them… I really do miss the exploration and re-visitation aspect that the games used to have… This game also has four separate campaigns which (too me) all felt to closely tied together meaning you often killed the same bosses from a different perceptive and felt like a easy way to extend the length of there game… It seriously is a jack of all trades and master of none… However, I can recommend this if you want a shooter, but this made all the same mistakes as Resident Evil 5; plus a few more… Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2014
    5
    The best advice I can give if you are going to play this RE6 is start with the Leon missions. Play the missions in the order they appear,The best advice I can give if you are going to play this RE6 is start with the Leon missions. Play the missions in the order they appear, Chris second, and so on. I thought you chose one character and played the whole game with that person and skill set. I chose Ada, and it was incredibly difficult with hardly any ammo. Sheer desperation made me mention how hard it was in a forum, and I was told start with Leon.

    The game is cram packed full of cut-scenes. These can be long or short. The short ones are on average about every two minutes. It constantly pulls control away from the player. It might just be that a the ground rocks, but then you lose control the camera sways, the character wobbles. Then you have to press your control keys again to get it going again. There are parts of the game where it happens less, then there parts when it's non-stop. There are even times when it takes camera angle control from you and expects you to carry on.

    Over-all though the controls are bad. It is a constant wrangle to maintain control. When you get to a ledge, you can't just jump up it. You have to wait for it to say 'space', then you can press space and jump up. Nearly everything is controlled in this way throughout. Endless, endless pressing keys.

    That brings you onto the quick-time-event. Non-stop weird button mashing that has nothing to do with normal control. It's Ok to an extent, but even the most patient person gets annoyed. You're thinking, "what is that for".

    Then onto how difficult it can be. There is one part I recall. 3rd Chris chapter, you have to run across a load of boats and moorings. You have to make it in time. Checkpoints make you repeat it until you get it right. I can not tell you how bad that whole event was. I was screaming. (Not the only time I was screaming in this game either.)

    5/10 is generous, but I don't quite think it's a 4/10. It's strong points are that sometimes the combat is great. The sets can be OK, but mostly they are dim lit. The cathedral chapter in the Leon campaign is just epic. If only they had made the whole game like that.

    The bosses are just unbelievable annoying. The Leon boss just keeps coming back, and I was sick of the sight of it, and sick of shooting it. Completely stupid method to kill it. I had to search online to find out how. What they have done though is build up the difficulty in each campaign as you get closer to the last. It doesn't feel like built up action. It feels like catastrophic insulting garbage from the developers, and you want blood as compensation. They try to make it a huge experience but falls flat on it's face by kicking you in the teeth non-stop.

    Falling over is something that happens a lot with your character. Endless boom, flat on your back. It's noisy a lot. In fact they should have called it - 'Boom, flat on your back'. I honestly don't know if I can finish it. I have given it a good go. RE5 I sold unfinished as well.
    Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    Resident Evil 6 was yet another blow to Capcom's reputation. This thing was AWFUL! It reeks of poor porting but I'm sure they've patchedResident Evil 6 was yet another blow to Capcom's reputation. This thing was AWFUL! It reeks of poor porting but I'm sure they've patched things but I'm never going to find out because I'll never touch this again. EVER! I don't even wanna do this review but I feel obligated to. BTW this game is not horror at all. It's pure action. As many explosions happen in this... it's just... yeah.

    If it had a decent story I'd talk about it but right now I'm still trying to figure out what I just played and why I played it. Maybe it's because I paid money for this turd. It's extremely generic. Bad guys are at it again. Go stop them. No idea how they got their resources or who the bad guy really is I'm still confused about a lot.

    I only remember the characters that were in Resident Evil 1 2 and 3. Beyond that I don't know who the hell was in this and nor will I ever be able to recall them. The voice acting was poor, their impact was poor, the overall placement of them was poor.

    Well the game has decent graphics and visuals so I gotta give them credit for that. The zombies and monsters were really well detailed. Only everything was exploding everywhere. Just like an American action film. Can't figure out good plot? Blow everything the hell up! There were at times polygon errors. One time Ada's dressed stretched into the ground, my gun disappeared, and I fell through the level a few times.

    Gameplay was just polished RE4. Nothing new or something to talk about. It handles really well and overall it was great feeling. The controls on PC were a tad wonky at times like I said with poor porting and what not. It has multiplayer? I don't know. I was so disgusted after the campaign I uninstalled it quick.

    This game presented little challenge. I had no problem beating this game on... what was the highest difficulty at the start? We'll just say Very Hard. Ammo was barely enough so it has some prretty good challenge there.

    Would I recommend this game. NO!
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2015
    0
    Literally the worst game I have ever played that I expected to like. I couldn't justify spending time finishing it. Contains every badLiterally the worst game I have ever played that I expected to like. I couldn't justify spending time finishing it. Contains every bad design decision ever made packed into one game. The game stands of an example of what not to do when making a game for every possible game-play design decision. It would be a much better use of your time to just watch the game on YouTube if you're desperate to experience this train-wreck.

    If you buy this game you will experience:
    Quick Time Events. Thousands of Quick Time Events.
    So much repetition. Sparse checkpoints in areas riddled with instant deaths.
    Forced stealth segments in a non stealth game.
    Enemy invincibility frames for common enemies
    Failure to save in coop on D/C, which will occur regardless of internet quality (I was on LAN).
    Camera grabs during critical game play moments, many times killing you. Movement during critical sequences is often trial and error.
    Coop being unplayable due to said camera grabs focusing on the other character.
    Clunky UI. A combination of mouse and keyboard input is often required even for simple things.
    Inventory management hell, in an otherwise action oriented game.
    Shaky mouse cross-hair with mouse aiming.

    This game is more frustrating than fun. If you must play it, do yourself a favor and turn off quick time events. You will find enough other "content" to sate your masochism.
    Expand

See all 187 User Reviews