User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 435 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 435

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 3, 2013
    7
    Resident Evil Revelations is a third person shooter. Resident Evil Revelations suffered from boring underwater sections and below standard graphics. But Resident Evil Revelations' flaws do not take away from all of the good things it has to offer, including a great raid mode, some horror elements, good combat, and lots of great moments in the game.
  2. Jun 9, 2013
    5
    Why 5? Because it is a mix of pros and cons.

    Pros: 1. Original horror feeling like resident evil 1 to 3 AND NO MORE STUPID QTE FREQUENT CUTSCENE! 2. The creatures are much more nasty than RE 6, and look like those born from the result of biohazard (Finally no more stupid gun-firing fly-like creature in RE6) 3. better plot than RE6 4. some more interesting puzzle solving like those
    Why 5? Because it is a mix of pros and cons.

    Pros:
    1. Original horror feeling like resident evil 1 to 3 AND NO MORE STUPID QTE FREQUENT CUTSCENE!
    2. The creatures are much more nasty than RE 6, and look like those born from the result of biohazard (Finally no more stupid gun-firing fly-like creature in RE6)
    3. better plot than RE6
    4. some more interesting puzzle solving like those in RE 1 to 3
    5. less linear path like those in RE 5 & 6
    6. a nice "scanner" to play around, at least something new

    Cons:
    1. poor port and crappy control, esp. mouse sensitivity issue
    2. poor texture quality due to NDS port
    3. useless partner due to poor AI and they deal ZERO damage to enemy
    4. enemy just ignore your partner, and target at you, what a shame
    5. in urgent situation, you are still advised to use the scanner to find goodies, that just break the atmosphere
    6. low diversity of enemy types, too boring
    Expand
  3. May 24, 2013
    6
    As the series fan since first RE i had to get this one, but is it really a return to the series "roots" as some press says no,it have nothing to do with first games.Revelations is still a linear shooter with very bad story (this one have probably the worst dialogs in the series),the only difference is some very limited exploration elements here and there.Graphic is good for a smallAs the series fan since first RE i had to get this one, but is it really a return to the series "roots" as some press says no,it have nothing to do with first games.Revelations is still a linear shooter with very bad story (this one have probably the worst dialogs in the series),the only difference is some very limited exploration elements here and there.Graphic is good for a small console port and i didn't had any big problems with controls them selfs, however combat is pain when there are more monsters on the screen there are times when i felt like i am playing serious sam and that's a pure chaos with typical for resident evil shooting mechanic.
    There are few things i actually liked like monster design witch fits here well.Also i liked boss fights for providing some challenge.
    Resident Evil: Revelations is good for 3ds port, but painful combat,identity crisis (it's not either a horror or a pure shooter),and weak story line even for resident evil title (terrible dialogues drag it down.Also there is no coop campaign this time.

    Only for series fans

    ps.Big for Capcom for listening to fans and taking efforts to port this game.
    Expand
  4. May 25, 2013
    6
    At short ,
    This game is more of the same the old formula with a different look and new gadgets ,i don't care for the graphics or the raid mode, the scare rate is 0/10,The story was industrial RE.
    Bottom line It has been done already.
  5. Jun 6, 2013
    6
    This is more like resident evil series than RE6. Graphics are very bad, i don't mind. Much interesting method in this game is the story. No sprint (no needed). Bad dodging. The dialog is awful. Add some puzzle (easy puzzle). There is a slight variety of monsters. Add some upgrade for weapons
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    This game is generally very well created. It has unique setting. Player is pitted into the ghost ship, with enemies crawling around every corner and behind every door. It sets up the intense and unsettling atmosphere and claustrophobic elements that comes from game's setting also helps intensifying atmosphere of game. One downside of this is, that this game tries to put some variety inThis game is generally very well created. It has unique setting. Player is pitted into the ghost ship, with enemies crawling around every corner and behind every door. It sets up the intense and unsettling atmosphere and claustrophobic elements that comes from game's setting also helps intensifying atmosphere of game. One downside of this is, that this game tries to put some variety in gaming by shifting the game's perspective to that of someone else. That includes someone in snowy mountain, the office building under siege, etc. Although all levels are quite well designed, it never struck me as strong as the haunted ship.

    Unlike the previous Resident Evil series where action overthrew the very fundamental the horror out of window, this game quite succeeds in its attempt to balance the horror and the action. There are a lot of weapons to help you survive, but you never feel completely prepared for encounter with enemies. This also adds nice intensity to general feel of game.

    However, this game's story is completely detached from original storyline, which might throw off some Resident Evil fan. Well, this can be forgiven as story isn't much of big deal in Resident Evil games. However, what I can't forgive is the graphic. Although things looks ok generally, the texture looks like it just crawled from 2008. Although graphic isn't much of concern when you're trying survive, I expected it to be on par with games currently out there.

    I can't help but feeling this game is like B-rated horror movie. Although there are certainly some good traits about this game, I don't think this is worth full game price, even more so considering this is originally 3DS game. Survival horror (or action) fans will guaranteed to find enjoyment in this game, but I'd wait until price drops.
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2013
    6
    This game is nothing like the original Resident Evil games. For the first few chapters (the chapters last about 20 minutes at a time) the game has a little bit of backtracking on an empty ship, then it turns into pretty hardcore action straight onto the end. It feels like a pint-sized version of Resident Evil 5. There is some backtracking included, but only after clearing out rooms filledThis game is nothing like the original Resident Evil games. For the first few chapters (the chapters last about 20 minutes at a time) the game has a little bit of backtracking on an empty ship, then it turns into pretty hardcore action straight onto the end. It feels like a pint-sized version of Resident Evil 5. There is some backtracking included, but only after clearing out rooms filled with ooze. At that point, the ship is so uninteresting the backtracking just wastes time since there are zero interesting puzzles, just finding keys.

    There are times this feels like a kiddie game despite the overly sexual Jessica and a tiny bit of cursing because of silly anime style side characters and the weak gore factor. There is blood spurting and splashing, but you can't even get decapitated and the enemies melt into puddles of ooze. To be expected being original made for a kid's handheld console.

    After finishing the game, I have to say this is the weakest ending to a Resident Evil game ever. Good thing it wasn't a part of the main series.

    Emotions usually run high at game launches and people only want to listen to what they want to hear, but I'll say this game isn't worth full sticker price. It plays like a slightly enhanced mobile game and not the HD remake you would be expecting. There are some genuinely thrilling moments (this is an action game, not scary like survival horror), but overall I'm a bit disappointed.
    Expand
  8. May 21, 2013
    5
    What about getting a new graphic motor? What about the mouse sensibility? What about local coop mode?

    I really think they are using all the same game that started on RE5 on all these news games, please... INNOVATE!

    5/10
  9. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    Resident Evil Revelations is a very strange game, to me. Allow me to get the negatives out of the way first :

    At first, I hated it with a passion. All of the good things from the recent, modern Resident Evil games were gone. Upon hitting an enemy, they seldom react, if ever. You would end up emptying entire clips into an enemy only for them to go through a pre-baked death animation
    Resident Evil Revelations is a very strange game, to me. Allow me to get the negatives out of the way first :

    At first, I hated it with a passion. All of the good things from the recent, modern Resident Evil games were gone. Upon hitting an enemy, they seldom react, if ever. You would end up emptying entire clips into an enemy only for them to go through a pre-baked death animation once their invisible health bar reached zero. The ability to dodge or perform context actions is virtually gone. The only time you can perform a context attack is when the random number roller decides you have triggered a 'stun state' on the enemy, at which point you move close, then hold down the action button, and release to perform a close combat attack. While that sounds similar to recent games, your character is simply stood still in a random pose while they 'charge up damage' for release, and just looks dumb in all honesty. The new dodging mechanic is atrocious. You have to position yourself directly in the way of the attack, and then flick forwards on the controller (if using the USB XBOX360 controller) to dodge. If your timing is even slightly off, you will naturally get hit. The problem? The game doesn't prompt you when the 'flick now to dodge' period is, and the only area to trigger it is often in the dumbest location to be, often directly in front of the enemy.

    Now, this said? It isn't that bad of a game. The mechanics can be frustrating as hell, but the game quickly grows on you. Once you discard any notion of playing a 'modern' Resident Evil game, it gets better (albeit with weak bullet-sponging action for a shooter). You have to pay more attention to how you move, so that you don't allow yourself to become cornered or open to certain kinds of attack (there is a 'standard' enemy that has a slow ranged attack). You have to pay more attention to your ammo, be wary of your health, and weigh up how to engage the enemy or whether to just retreat. Granted, I was playing on one difficulty above normal, so I imagine the standard experience is quite tame, perhaps even boring.

    The story is a usual hammy Resident Evil affair, but one that feels strangely non-canon given how little mention it gets elsewhere in the series, despite how huge of an event the story would have been in the Resident Evil world (and the formation of the BSAA). Despite the gameplay change, after my first two bitter chapters where I was still hung up on modern RE games, I really got into it, and felt compelled to keep playing to see how it all turns out. The story is a bit messy, with the focus jumping between various groups of characters, but otherwise pretty solid if you don't mind the usual dramatic action tropes. Though as per usual RE writing, there was one supremely aggravatingly poorly written character, the typical random sex-appeal female who makes everything about "do you have a crush on me?" "are you trying to ask me out?" "why won't this guy take my hint?". Thanks for making every one of your players roll their eyes with the force of a tornado, guys. Thankfully Jill provides a stoic, highly effective and mission-focused female lead that squarely flips off all the usual bimbo qualities in favour of being a straight-up field agent. Chris is also less of a complete meathead here too, and when he finally gets to stand beside Jill as a support character, you finally get an "IT'S GO TIME" echo of the original Resident Evils. Parker, the new support character, is suprisingly likeable for a goofball. His sense of humour is not so overdone that he doesn't know when to shut up and put on his game face, and he actually has a bit of depth to him rather than being a slightly chubby comic relief guy. He actually feels like somebody you want to have covering your back, y'know?

    The lack of a sprint and dodge function was a bit vexing at first, and the lack of combat reactions really betrayed this game, but overall it's an enjoyable experience if you can just let go of the AAA-style modern REs. It won't be for everyone though, so I would suggest downloading the demo before you purchase. Also, it is worth noting that this is a port of a portable console game, with a little re-working on visuals. Even then, the visuals are not exactly superb. There are some beautiful little details here and there, but the lower-poly enemy models are very noticeable.

    I like that they are trying to give their fans a more nostalgic flavour, but I don't think they needed to discard the positives they learned from their newer games. Some of the enemy designs are excellent, while others are quite lacking. Gotta give those concept dudes some real credit for what they replaced the standard zombies with!

    Unless you only enjoyed the modern ones, if you are a Resident Evil fan, consider my rating at a +1.
    If you aren't a fan of the series, I would subtract one or maybe even two.
    I can see this being a real marmite game, you'd either love it or hate it.
    Expand
  10. Feb 19, 2014
    5
    This was a major step backwards from RE6 in virtually every category. I expected much better from the latest of the Resident Evil franchise. I am certain that if they had wanted to do a better job with this game, they could and would have. I'm just glad I got it while it was on sale..
  11. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    This is a good game, that accomplishes the prerequisites for a Resident Evil game. It is far from the best Resident Evil games, but still is a enjoyable game. The organization in episodes is a good idea that make the story more interesting. The ship Queen Zenobia is a good location for the plot, but the game sometimes is repetitive and the enemies are boring. If you like Resident EvilThis is a good game, that accomplishes the prerequisites for a Resident Evil game. It is far from the best Resident Evil games, but still is a enjoyable game. The organization in episodes is a good idea that make the story more interesting. The ship Queen Zenobia is a good location for the plot, but the game sometimes is repetitive and the enemies are boring. If you like Resident Evil series you will like Revelations, but this game does not give a millionth of the fear and the satisfaction that the old Residents gave to us. Expand
  12. Jun 20, 2013
    5
    In regards to the PC version of this game, not only is it falsely advertized stating "improved visuals", but the mouselook control was put into this engine via hackjob and it just feels like something that's been forced out of a handheld and onto computers.... oh yeah; right. It is.

    Taking the game from its stereoscopic 3D original and downgrading it to monoscopic 2D without even
    In regards to the PC version of this game, not only is it falsely advertized stating "improved visuals", but the mouselook control was put into this engine via hackjob and it just feels like something that's been forced out of a handheld and onto computers.... oh yeah; right. It is.

    Taking the game from its stereoscopic 3D original and downgrading it to monoscopic 2D without even building the option to enable 3D if one has the hardware is a gigantic downgrade. I don't care how many more polygons you render, how many more colors the palette can actively use it's garbage because the depth perception or even the option to have it has been removed. To me, having loved the 3DS version this was a gigantic letdown that tore 40% of what the game had to offer away from the experience.

    What's really a letdown about the downgrade to monoscopic 2D here is this is a desperate move by Capcom to cash in over their failed Resident Evil 6 release. It's turning out to be more of a slap in the face to the gamer than anything else. It's been rushed, downgraded and it's essentially the very same game with nothing new to offer.
    Expand
  13. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    Po takiej sobie 5 i 6 oraz po FATALNYM Raccon City, fani potrzebowali Revelations. Dziękuje Capcomowi że przypomniał sobie jak powinien wyglądać prawdziwy survival-horror. Świetny klimat, wciągająca fabuła i model starych Resident Evilów, co by chcieć więcej? No właśnie, graczom nigdy nie dogodzisz. Myślę że Capcom spokojnie mógł pozwolić sobie na lepszą grafikę(mówię głównie o PC), nawetPo takiej sobie 5 i 6 oraz po FATALNYM Raccon City, fani potrzebowali Revelations. Dziękuje Capcomowi że przypomniał sobie jak powinien wyglądać prawdziwy survival-horror. Świetny klimat, wciągająca fabuła i model starych Resident Evilów, co by chcieć więcej? No właśnie, graczom nigdy nie dogodzisz. Myślę że Capcom spokojnie mógł pozwolić sobie na lepszą grafikę(mówię głównie o PC), nawet jeśli ma to nawiązywać do starych Resident Evilów, czy nawet że jest to port z DS. Do tego twórcy dodali parę misji bez klimatu, a przecież to chyba jest najważniejsze w RE. Misje ze zwykłym strzelaniem to co prawda nie klapa, ale nie tego oczekiwaliśmy. Myślę też że sam Reveletions mógłby być ogólnie lepiej zrobiony. Większość elementów była już zawarta w starych Resident Evilach, więc nie ma dużego sensu grać w to a nie uruchomić np. 4 czy 3. Myślę jednak że każdy szanowany się fan tej horrorowej serii, powinien chodź spróbować zagrać. Moja ocena 7/10 Expand
  14. Apr 20, 2014
    6
    True to the original series, taking with it all of the good AND bad of Resident Evil's roots. The game's graphics are good if not enjoyable while the game mechanics remain perfect in-terms of harmonizing classic Resident Evil combat restrictions with modern demands. On the other hand, if you plan on playing this game with your 360 controller or a gamepad then be warned, the controls willTrue to the original series, taking with it all of the good AND bad of Resident Evil's roots. The game's graphics are good if not enjoyable while the game mechanics remain perfect in-terms of harmonizing classic Resident Evil combat restrictions with modern demands. On the other hand, if you plan on playing this game with your 360 controller or a gamepad then be warned, the controls will start to feel way too clunky. In-fact, the controls will get so clunky that you'll most likely end up giving up the thought of putting in any effort into aiming/combat which brings us to the game's main flaws. After completing a couple chapters, you start to realize very soon that your lazy shooting/fleeing will be compensated for at the end of every chapter by being reimbursed (either in the form as playing a different character or being in a different scenario). Although the aforementioned gripe may seem contrary to the original Resident Evil ways, the game makes up for this by creating the same creepy/mysterious atmosphere through its main storyline by introducing us to various shady organizations, their relations to specific incidents, and through its various levels/maps. A noteworthy trait to mention now would also be the maps which usually tend to be more creepy/exploration oriented in design (true to the series' roots) as opposed to the more open, combat-intuitive worlds Capcom is steadily introducing (whether they are good or not is up to you). Finally, the longer and longer you lead yourself to playing this game, the more and more focused becomes the game's biggest design flaw: It's overly campy and sometimes outright retarded dialogue. Beautiful and almost original (I know I've gone too far calling a Resident Evil scenario Original) moments are utterly crushed into mere dust particles, nay, faint traces of what was once matter, by the horrid dialogue scripts of the main characters. What first starts off as an easy to ignore flaw/tribute to resident evil 1 (depending on your perspective), quickly starts to turn into a cranial syringe penetrating through the outter layers of your brain the further you progress in the story. The campy dialogue literally starts to slowly transform into utter retardation. A sample quote from episode 2: Jessica says to Chris, "It's freezing!". Chris replies, "You should've worn your thermal underwear". Brace yourselves folks, because that's only the second chapter. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2017
    6
    I'd give this one a very soft recommendation to hardcore Resident Evil fans only.

    Bland enemy design, stiff animations, clunky controls, hilariously bad script and serviceable voice acting all prevent Revelations from being anything other than just OK, a decent way to kill a few hours if bought at a bargain basement price, I would only recommend it at £5 or less due to the overall
    I'd give this one a very soft recommendation to hardcore Resident Evil fans only.

    Bland enemy design, stiff animations, clunky controls, hilariously bad script and serviceable voice acting all prevent Revelations from being anything other than just OK, a decent way to kill a few hours if bought at a bargain basement price, I would only recommend it at £5 or less due to the overall quality and short length (took me 5 hours). The one saving grace is the combat, although a bit clunky it's still a lot of fun to shoot monsters, however generic they may be, plus I've been a fan of Resident Evil and the characters for years which helped keep me playing.
    Expand
  16. May 22, 2017
    5
    One of the worst Resident Evil games... It was meant for the 3ds with its small screen you would not notice the bad gameplay that much. But when playing it on PC it bad and specially the controls. The shooting is gimmic and has no feeling.
  17. May 30, 2016
    7
    A decent Resident Evil game.

    The graphics look a bit cheap compared to the other numbering titles.

    Story and game play is that what you are used from a Resident Evil game.
  18. Sep 23, 2017
    6
    Resident Evil Revelations retrieves some of the horror atmosphere that other games like Resident Evil 5 or 6 lost, the ghraphics are not the best but they are decents. Unfortunately the boring plot and strange enemies don´t help this game, I didn´t feel this game as a Resident Evil in spite of having some of the most mythical characters like Jill Valentine and Chris Redfield. It is not theResident Evil Revelations retrieves some of the horror atmosphere that other games like Resident Evil 5 or 6 lost, the ghraphics are not the best but they are decents. Unfortunately the boring plot and strange enemies don´t help this game, I didn´t feel this game as a Resident Evil in spite of having some of the most mythical characters like Jill Valentine and Chris Redfield. It is not the franchise's worst game, but it is far from being one of the best. Expand
  19. Jan 27, 2017
    7
    After the action-packed Resident Evil 5, Resident Evil Revelations looks back to the series' roots for an experience that many old-school fans will recognize. Revelations adapts the pre-rendered titles' defining traits to the modern RE, bringing back the series' name to a more grounded state, and actually knows what it wants to be this time: a survival-horror game that focuses on theAfter the action-packed Resident Evil 5, Resident Evil Revelations looks back to the series' roots for an experience that many old-school fans will recognize. Revelations adapts the pre-rendered titles' defining traits to the modern RE, bringing back the series' name to a more grounded state, and actually knows what it wants to be this time: a survival-horror game that focuses on the atmosphere. Revelations reinforces this in the earlier hours of the campaign, where the player is greeted by distant eerie sounds, dark corridors, and the occasional jump scare that's done so effectively due to tension build-up. Some of the scariest parts of the game are the paths leading to the bosses because you can hear their cries echoing the hallways, either laughing from the thrill of the hunt or desperately crying for help. The tension does slow down during the latter half of the game, but the way leading there has been consistent in tone and quality.

    Revelations uses an episodic structure to move the plot forward. This was done by the developers because "the game needed to be suitable for playing on portable hardware,"[web.archive.org] regarding the the original 3DS release. The 12 episodes featured in the game contain different scenarios from the perspective of three playable characters and their partners, all contributing small pieces of information and some backstory for the grand finale. While the game starts and ends exactly how a Resident Evil fan expects it too, this has got to be the most complicated series entry to date because there are a lot of character motivations to factor in, and the most important plot points are shown so poorly, with little explanation on why things happened the way they happened; Revelations isn't as straightforward as the games before it so some time is needed to fully grasp the story.

    Overall, a good game and a great entry to the RE franchise. It retains the B-movie feel that the rest of the series is known for, and the gameplay combines the best of both worlds to deliver a solid experience. Definitely a must-have for the RE fan.

    And there you have it.
    Expand
  20. Dec 8, 2017
    7
    Good game would recommend if your a fan of the series, nothing mind blowing here its a standard resi game i enjoyed a lot. maybe worth picking for a newcomer on the cheap.
  21. Oct 12, 2018
    7
    While the story (poorly structured) keeps the attention all the time, it is a cliché already in this saga. It does not even surprise at this point.
    Appearance of a new virus (again).
    Characters like Jill Valentine have a lot of value in a story that is only decent.

    Decent gameplay. It is no longer surprising and needs urgent changes.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    Revelation has some flaws - an imperfect controlling system, some short and too easy levels and really stupid story moments, that are typical for the Resident Evil series. Still, despite all this, the new RE is a great game. Episodic formula works great with telling a large, multithreaded story, the game has some real horror, great boss fights and a new game mode. It's definitely worth your time.
  2. May 27, 2013
    80
    Just like the zombies that the Resident Evil brand was built on, Revelations proves that there might be life after death (or at least severe downward spiral) after all.
  3. May 23, 2013
    85
    Porting Revelations to make it readily available to millions of gamers was a smart move by Capcom, but if you have played the 3DS version already then there is nothing new here for you. For everyone else, Capcom has done console and PC gamers a favor in providing a thrilling and riveting addition to this truly evil series.