Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 19, 2017
    100
    Yes, Rez Infinite is somewhat short, with an initial playthough possibly taking around a couple of hours, but you’ll enjoy (or should enjoy) every minute of it. So much so you’ll probably keep replaying it, improving your score, evolving your character and just taking in the whole spectacle. In answer to the first paragraph’s question about whether Oculus Rift and HTC Vive owners should be excited about Rez Infinite’s release, this is one VR videogame that should be in your library.
  2. Aug 15, 2017
    100
    It's the classic on-rails shooter with style, and all the extras from each iteration since the original. It's also about half the cost of its release back in the day, and I would have gladly paid $50 to have this in my Steam library. As I mentioned, this is a game which I will always be collecting as it releases on each platform. Now that the game is available on Steam it feels like the culmination of what Rez will achieve. This version will always be with you as long as you have a computer, and I find that incredibly satisfying.
  3. Aug 15, 2017
    90
    When played in VR mode, Rez Infinite soon becomes one of the most compelling arguments for the existence of the format. And Area X? Well, it just gives us hope that a sequel will eventually be made that well and truly blows our tiny minds.
  4. Aug 9, 2017
    90
    Rez Infinite continues to be a magical experience, and the PC version proves to be the best version of the game yet thanks to new control schemes and native support for 4K capable monitors.
  5. Aug 15, 2017
    88
    Like having a drunken conversation with a friend who really loves music, but it's a videogame and good.
  6. Aug 14, 2017
    83
    Rez is an on-rails shooter that shines due to its unique auditory and visual design. Rez has aged well, and the added immersion of VR makes a great game even better.
  7. Sep 18, 2017
    70
    Rez Infinite is an artistic pearl in which the audiovisual effects outshine the core gaming entertainment. But players who know what to expect will not be disappointed.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 9, 2017
    The classic game runs efficiently on lower-specced machines, owing to its low-poly aesthetic, while the game's newer "Area X" zone will run fine at 1080p with some settings turned down on weaker systems. Should you have CPU and GPU overhead to work with, you can turn on updated 4K-friendly textures (yes, this game has some), full-blast anti-aliasing, and some serious super-sampling. As in, up to 250 percent. In the original game, I cranked this all the way up to a 9,600 x 5,400 resolution without a single stutter on my 1080 Ti rig!

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 8 out of 39
  1. Dec 19, 2018
    10
    I don't understand why can't I see a list of games that I've rated on this site. Why do I have to write a review for a game to show in my games list?
  2. Sep 5, 2020
    0
    Never forget, never forgive!

    #BoycottEnhance #BoycottTetris #FTetsuyaMizuguchi #FtheEpicGamesStore #FEpicGames #FUnrealEngine
    Never forget, never forgive!

    #BoycottEnhance
    #BoycottTetris
    #FTetsuyaMizuguchi
    #FtheEpicGamesStore
    #FEpicGames
    #FUnrealEngine
    #Source2ForLife
    #FTencent
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 21, 2018
    8
    Rez Infinite doesn't feel like an on-rail shooter at all. It's beautiful and relaxing, especially modern Area-X level.

    P.S. I didn't play
    Rez Infinite doesn't feel like an on-rail shooter at all. It's beautiful and relaxing, especially modern Area-X level.

    P.S. I didn't play the original Rez so my opinion is not influenced by any nostalgia)
    Full Review »