RiME Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 152 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story of a boy who must use his wits and ingenuity to survive - and ultimately escape from - a mysterious island and a terrible curse.

    An end, and a new beginning. A strange island with a sinister secret, and an open-world adventure with a difference. As a boy who finds he is key
    The story of a boy who must use his wits and ingenuity to survive - and ultimately escape from - a mysterious island and a terrible curse.

    An end, and a new beginning.

    A strange island with a sinister secret, and an open-world adventure with a difference. As a boy who finds he is key to solving a series of ancient puzzles, you'll use an enigmatic artefact to manipulate your environment and even time itself.

    Thanks to the innovative control offered by the DUALSHOCK 4 controller, you'll find that light, sound and touch are all essential in your bid to escape the island.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
RiME - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 30, 2017
    90
    Rime is gorgeous, gentle and sad journey through a strange land. Let it wash over you. [Issue#263, p.51]
  2. May 25, 2017
    90
    After such a long and troubled development, many feared that RiME would be a failure, but Tequila Works proved that there can be light at the end of the tunnel. With peculiar storytelling, varied puzzles, well-crafted platforming elements and gorgeous presentation, RiME can rival with the unique beauty of Team ICO's games.
  3. Jun 12, 2017
    90
    RiME is the essence of the Mediterranean soul, with its joys and its toils. Tequila Works is making a name for high quality art direction and aesthetic value, delivering a short but deeply emotional experience with its latest release.
  4. May 25, 2017
    80
    Rime never strays too far from the “indie” trappings of ambiguous narrative, mysterious puzzles in a mysterious land, and a young protagonist incapable of fighting, but it delivers a meaningful and satisfying finale that shook me in a way I was not expecting.
  5. 80
    RiME is a wonderful experience filled with both light-hearted excitement and touching emotional moments. It invokes the old cliché, “I laughed, I cried,” but, of course, that doesn’t do justice to the amount of effort it took to coordinate the vivid yet dreamlike artwork, the fun and easygoing gameplay, and the dramatic musical score. It’s unfortunate that the graphics can be choppy and the movement can be finicky. Otherwise — especially if you value aesthetics over fun — this is an incredibly satisfying title.
  6. Aug 14, 2017
    70
    A little more story and gameplay variety would have filled out its generous play time better, but there is plenty of reason for both puzzle and platforming fans to enjoy RiME.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 24, 2017
    60
    Magic, wonderfully sounding and looking, yet just a decent and plain puzzle platformer. Unlike the genre icons, it will entertain you, but you will not remember it for a long time. [Issue#274]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Apr 15, 2018
    10
    I'm at a loss why Steam responds to certain games with absolutely overwhelming support, and then lets other games like Fossil Echo or Papo andI'm at a loss why Steam responds to certain games with absolutely overwhelming support, and then lets other games like Fossil Echo or Papo and Yo just sit there. Seems like the arthouse crowd is sometimes too lazy to buy anything on this platform, and some people have absurd expectations with budget titles, which is a shame because games like this deserve better sales.

    Rime is an amazing experience. It's as simple as that. I played this on PS4, and all I can say is the graphics are even better here, and the FPS is a solid 60 on my 1070/2600K setup with 1080p. Anything more and you might run into some troubles without better hardware.

    It's totally acceptable that this game wears its inspiration on its sleeves, and yet who cares when it all comes together this well? Miyazaki films, Joaquín Sorolla paintings, and the games Journey and Ico come to mind. This world is so profoundly lovely and attractive that I can basically overlook almost any flaws with the game.

    The gameplay experience is actually soothing and fun to me, and I enjoy a very wide variety of games and difficulties across genres. No, you aren't going to be challenged like some SMB platformer or a PUBG gun game. It's not meant to be that way. It wouldn't even work that way. This is a relaxing puzzle game that swings toward the easier side, but it makes up for it with a decent amount of collectibles, and the game never overstays its welcome.

    The graphics and world here are like some amalgamation of a Miyazaki film, Wind Waker, and ABZU/Ico. Honestly, I wasn't sure I was going to be impressed by their world, as there is limited interaction, but it is actually a breathtaking accomplishment. I am injecting SMAA at 1080p and the image quality is fantastic. While not overly detailed the bloomy resonance of the island recalls games like Ico and Shadow of the Colossus in tone to the point you really got to congratulate the team of 18 people in Spain that made this over the years. It was a struggle, but what a diamond that struggle birthed. There is just something wonderful about running around a deserted place that has no equivalency in the modern world.

    I cannot help but love this thing. It's too charming to hate, too pretty to leave behind, and overall the experience is something that the whole family can enjoy. You would think there would be a bigger audience for such an indie, but with time more and more people will find this gem as it releases on all the platforms.

    Anyone looking for a beautiful world spanning day and night that wants to solve a few puzzles and gaze at some gorgeous visuals is in for a treat here. Some of the collectibles are hidden fairly well and will take some logical thinking to collect. It's all very peaceful and heartwarming. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  2. Jun 1, 2017
    10
    This game is both beautiful and heartbreaking. I actually cried at the ending. Graphically, it looks amazing running in 2160p at 60 fps.This game is both beautiful and heartbreaking. I actually cried at the ending. Graphically, it looks amazing running in 2160p at 60 fps. I'm running it on a 980 ti. If you max out the settings on the game it's going to run very slowly. The Unreal Engine 4 requires a powerful GPU, that's the just the reality of it. Even the PS4 Pro version is only running in 1080p at 30 fps. The best thing to do is turn the shadows to low, that will give you a HUGE frame rate boost, and turn resolution scaling to 75%. Using the resolution scaling the game looked better and had a better frame rate than when I was running it in 1800p. There are stilling going to be frame rate drops in big open areas on high settings unless you're running on a 1080ti, but that happens in all games with big areas and long draw distances--just look at The Last Guardian. After beating the game I did mess around with the settings a bit and found that by turning screen space reflections to low(not even sure what that does, I didn't notice a difference), setting anistropic filtering to x2, AA to FXAA, turning off depth of field, using my video card to force fast vsync, and setting the resolution to 1917p at 75% scaling I was able to get an almost solid 60 fps. I probably would have played it with those settings if I had known that would work.

    The game can be beaten in 6 hours, although if you take time to explore it thoroughly and get all the items it could take 10-12 hours. Getting the optional items will unlock the true ending. Priced at $30 it's a good deal, especially considering how beautiful the game looks graphically. Exploring will also give you subtle hints to what is actually happening in the world, otherwise the big secret revealed in the last level may seem to come kind of out of nowhere.

    The game borrows from games like Ico and Journey. Gameplay wise it feels quite similar to Ico. Honestly, after the somewhat disappointing The Last Guardian, this is a nice Ico-style game. I thought the puzzles where the right difficulty. I don't particularly care for puzzle games that require you to resort to a walkthrough 20 times to beat it. I only had to use a walkthrough twice, although some puzzles did take a while for me to figure out. Also, a lot of the game is just about wandering around and admiring the beautiful environments, while you listen to the game's amazing soundtrack. The puzzles don't get in the way of this.

    All and all, it's an amazing game and well worth a purchase. This is also one of the best looking games out there in 4k, despite the frame rate drops in open areas. The heartbreaking story, superb soundtrack, and gorgeous environments all make for a memorable experience.
    Expand
  3. May 26, 2017
    10
    Absolutely enjoying its overall vibe. The sounds, the gorgeous music, the outstanding art and the puzzle pacing. This game sets you in a moodAbsolutely enjoying its overall vibe. The sounds, the gorgeous music, the outstanding art and the puzzle pacing. This game sets you in a mood that only few other games can, and that's a very rare thing these days. Expand
  4. May 31, 2019
    8
    It's short, beautiful, has nice music and just an good and relaxing adventure. I liked it on a par with other similar games such as 'Abzu',It's short, beautiful, has nice music and just an good and relaxing adventure. I liked it on a par with other similar games such as 'Abzu', 'Journey', 'Flower', 'LIMBO' and 'INSIDE'.

    Thank you, Epic Games for free opportunity to play it.
    Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2017
    7
    I won't bring up the senseless FPS issues. I have a powerful gaming PC and am having the same problems as everyone else on here. This is not aI won't bring up the senseless FPS issues. I have a powerful gaming PC and am having the same problems as everyone else on here. This is not a good port, it seems.

    RIME is the kind of game that plays on your nostalgia; it includes elements from most of the following (there's a reason I'm taking the time to list these):

    - first and foremost, TeamIco's first game, "ICO," from the PlayStation age
    - then, in no particular order, games like The Legend of Zelda, Oceanhorn, Submerged, Journey, Never Alone, Lost in Shadow, The Unfinished Swan, and Papo & Yo
    - finally, if you are a fan of the soundtracks of both Journey and Princess Mononoke, you will recognize a few homages to the respective composers of the two; however, I do not believe this was purposeful

    On to the actual game and why I gave it a 7.

    Without spoilers, I'll lay it out. Remember those games I just mentioned? RIME does them all... just okay. It wishes to be so much of all those things, that it does not know what it wants to be.

    There are beautiful moments in which the music matches an opening in a wall, a bright light, much like "Journey;" then there are moments where the music doesn't do much or becomes repetitive, despite your just having achieved something in-game.

    There are moments where the game makes a puzzle unnecessarily difficult, and just when you think, "Oh! Awesome puzzle, like the ones in Zelda," it totally lets you down when you realize all you have to do is press a button (I played with gamepad).

    There are moments when you think, "Wow! This game moves like ICO, but upgraded to the 21st century!" And then the damn kid gets stuck on a piece of wood that has supposedly been destroyed, at a crucial moment (if you played, you know what I mean), and the ICO frustrations resurface.

    Finally, because I don't want to keep going, the music is pretty; very, very pretty. But that's about it. It doesn't grab you the way Journey's music does; it also doesn't do Joe Hisaishi's (Ghibli) simplicity well - the composer simply does not know how to use certain chords (I'm a musician, that's why I notice).

    Should everyone with an itch for good indie games play this? Yes. Should you wait for the price to drop? Yes, because the FPS sure are having no trouble dropping. If you have a PS4, should you buy PC version? Only if PC version drops to $9.99, otherwise, play it on PS4; I hear it does better there.

    All in all, a decent game, though just as disappointing - in the end - as last year's The Last Guardian and Bound, which fall under the same genre and have similar issues. The formula is starting to stink, and is being weighed down by porting issues, development process (they all take too long), and mechanics issues... not to mention, low sales. Maybe it's time to give these games a rest and wait for another Shadow of the Colossus, whose issue's could be easily overlooked because everything else was great?
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2018
    7
    La primera mitad de 2017, tenía como objetivo dos juegos de Tequila Works, Por un lado "RIME" y por el otro "Sexy Brutale". Amigo de losLa primera mitad de 2017, tenía como objetivo dos juegos de Tequila Works, Por un lado "RIME" y por el otro "Sexy Brutale". Amigo de los juegos "bonitos" como soy, esperaba con más ganas el primero. Compré los dos prácticamente de salida, y la realidad fue diferente a lo que habría imaginado. Rime, sin ser un mal juego, no acabó de convencerme, mientras que por lo contrario, esa maravillosa jugabilidad, su original historia, la buena banda sonora... de "Sexy Brutale", me convenció de que estaba ante un buen juego. En el caso de Rime, pese a que todo parecía y parece, hecho para que me gustase muchísimo más, acabó por hacérseme increíblemente largo Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2019
    0
    In config you must limit to 30fps or gpu burn. Ignore other graphic options.
    Bad port.

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers