User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 5 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 14, 2013
    9
    An amazingly addictive, beautiful, and unique asteroid shooter with some Rpg upgrade elements.

    The good: Zany story, with many fun, geeky physics references. Tons of upgrades and full control of your button layouts. The art and music are a large step above most 2D space shooters. Many ship styles with actual differences in play. The bad. It takes quite a while to unlock the
    An amazingly addictive, beautiful, and unique asteroid shooter with some Rpg upgrade elements.

    The good:
    Zany story, with many fun, geeky physics references.
    Tons of upgrades and full control of your button layouts.
    The art and music are a large step above most 2D space shooters.
    Many ship styles with actual differences in play.

    The bad.
    It takes quite a while to unlock the ability to change ships, mod them, and have access to the store or research. (But you'll be making plenty of money before you do at least. It does also teach you the ship classes.)
    The Upgrade interface is fairly clunky, but manageable.
    The research is done in real time or with Plex, the game's currency, and the research only unlocks plans in the store. (Yeah, you must buy them once you research them...)

    The bottom line:
    This has kept me happily shooting away all weekend and shows no signs of stopping. It's minor flaws don't hurt it one bit. This is a thoroughly fun game that you NEED to get if you ever enjoyed Beat Hazard, Altitude, or any asteroid style 2D shooter.
    (Note: I've only played the single player so far.)
    Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    The quality of the visuals (be sure to turn up the graphics sliders in the options) nuanced weapons and inertial method of ship control make this game special. You dont steer your ship, you constantly try to out-steer space. You dont shoot rockets at enemies, you shoot at space and hope they connect.

    Im playing on easy because im relatively new to space shooters. The last one i played
    The quality of the visuals (be sure to turn up the graphics sliders in the options) nuanced weapons and inertial method of ship control make this game special. You dont steer your ship, you constantly try to out-steer space. You dont shoot rockets at enemies, you shoot at space and hope they connect.

    Im playing on easy because im relatively new to space shooters. The last one i played was 'The Galactic Plague' for amstrad 64, back in the eighties. Time to see whats changed...
    Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    Ring runner is a space shooter in which you can customize almost every atom of your ship, and the ability's range from summoning a comet from another dimension to throwing your enemy's into the terrain. It is a nice looking game with good graphics and randomly generated backgrounds. It has 20+ hours of great story driven campaign that will keep you playing for hours. the multiplayer hasRing runner is a space shooter in which you can customize almost every atom of your ship, and the ability's range from summoning a comet from another dimension to throwing your enemy's into the terrain. It is a nice looking game with good graphics and randomly generated backgrounds. It has 20+ hours of great story driven campaign that will keep you playing for hours. the multiplayer has multiple gamemodes that range from gladiator mode which is a one on one deathmatch to a league of legends style battle. it has a few bug's and crashes occasional but other than that it is a great game Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2013
    9
    This is a very fun and engaging little shooter. Think N+ meets asteroids and geometry wars PLUS a huge story mode and ship customizing.

    For $8-10 this game is a must buy if you have any interest in the genre.
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    I watch your game at The Next Game Boss and I was impressed by it. Its huge space, the choices and gameplay was really fun and I hope that you will think of doing a DLC for this game or maybe even a second game like: Ring Runner 2.
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    5
    I really like Asteroids and Cosmic Rift type games (top down space shooters) and this one does a lot of things well but has a number faults to its name. Without going into detail I'll say the game is pretty heavily single player campaign driven (it has a very inactive or dead multiplayer) and the single player campaign felt a little tedious and not rewarding to me. Reading or skipping aI really like Asteroids and Cosmic Rift type games (top down space shooters) and this one does a lot of things well but has a number faults to its name. Without going into detail I'll say the game is pretty heavily single player campaign driven (it has a very inactive or dead multiplayer) and the single player campaign felt a little tedious and not rewarding to me. Reading or skipping a bunch of dialogue text, then off to the next waypoint to kill or pick something up. I can't really motivate myself to get through it.

    As you play you unlock a bunch of stuff and money, and the ability to research new stuff. All of this you can use on different ships to customize them. Sounds all very cool but it didn't feel very intuitive. When I went in there I didn't really know whats what, or whats better than the other 20 upgrades I have. When I did take my customized ship out for a spin it was 10 times worse then the default one provided for me so that was a little disappointing.

    I never really felt like I was improving my ship or accomplishing anything as I went through the campaign. Also, give me reverse thrusters please. Navigating in a 0 gravity environment when you can only thrust forward is a pain.
    Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2015
    10
    An amazing game. They really undersold it on the steam page, when I was looking at it there I was expecting another standard arcade-style shooting game. But the story is beautiful, the customization is a huge feature (They say "dozens of ships", there are 57), and multiplayer could be amazing if more people were active. Deserves much more popularity. If you like sci-fi stories, excitingAn amazing game. They really undersold it on the steam page, when I was looking at it there I was expecting another standard arcade-style shooting game. But the story is beautiful, the customization is a huge feature (They say "dozens of ships", there are 57), and multiplayer could be amazing if more people were active. Deserves much more popularity. If you like sci-fi stories, exciting combat, or even just the customization, this is a good game for you. Expand
  8. Jun 22, 2016
    10
    Ring Runner: Flight of the Sages is the definition of an underrated gem- didn't even have a steam release at launch. I found it on Good Old Games a couple of years ago, having never heard of it prior to the day of its launch. A mere ten dollars, I gambled on it and it payed off in spades. It's a lovingly crafted 2D, top-down space shooter with some heavy rpg elements. At the center of theRing Runner: Flight of the Sages is the definition of an underrated gem- didn't even have a steam release at launch. I found it on Good Old Games a couple of years ago, having never heard of it prior to the day of its launch. A mere ten dollars, I gambled on it and it payed off in spades. It's a lovingly crafted 2D, top-down space shooter with some heavy rpg elements. At the center of the experience is a brilliantly written campaign full of twists and dry humor about a distant future. In a universe ruled by a powerful central government across many galaxies, there are beings with the power to rewrite reality at the subatomic level, known as sages. The government views these individuals as a threat, of course, and has a standing capture or kill bounty on their heads. But what does this have to do with you? You don't have a clue, as you have no memory before waking up in a creepy medical lab with a sarcastic AI named Nero stuck in your head. From the moment you escape the lab and the exploding space station it's in to the very end, Ring Runner offers a compelling, fast paced and tactically diverse gameplay experience, including about sixty different ship hulls across five distinct ship classes and grouped by power level into five tiers: Arsenals are slow and powerful, with rocket and missile weapons, deployable mines and turrets, and defensive abilities. Casters are space-wizards with gravity and space-time manipulation and specialized energy weapons, Fighters are fast and maneuverable with powerful fixed-forward laser cannons, movement abilities and build up a lot of waste heat, but they can weaponize it and cause enemy ships to overheat. Grapplers take a page from Outlaw Star, with aggressive "jousting" abilties, melee weapons and grapple tethers. Rogues are sneaky, using cloaking, decoys and apply "gemini beacons" to enemies which can be exploited for damage and crowd control effects. There are a number of hulls that are hybrids of two or even three classes, and a special set of "Duo" ships that allow for two player local coop, with one player steering the ship and another operating an independent turret. Each class also has passive "veterancy" bonuses earned in-game for getting kill streaks, but reset if you get blown up. There are hundreds of different components, allowing you to customize your loadout to an intense degree: power supply, engine, shields, heat dispersion, auxiliary drives, utility systems, weapons, and class equipment. You have twelve possible ability slots in-game, as well as a "sage power" ultimate slot such as slowing down time, and an extra directional ability slot that uses the mouse or right stick. However, you need not fill ALL these slots with weapons and abilities, as there are a range of passive items that multiply the power of your active abilities, but use the same slots. Early in the campaign you use a fixed setup while you learn the controls and the nuances of each ship class, but eventually you gain access to the research lab and hangar to purchase new parts and reconfigure your setup. You can also buy a number of prebuilt configurations that are all viable endgame setups and can provide inspiration for your custom ships. There's also a wide variety of cooperative and versus multiplayer modes. The former includes wave survival, a boss rush style "gladiator" mode, zombie mode, team-based "attack their base and defend yours" spire mode, and a moba-flavored "Space Defense League" mode that includes things like minions, neutral bosses and buffs, but without the ♥♥♥♥♥iness of a typical moba. In any game mode, including the campaign, you earn "plex" to spend on researching and purchasing new ship hulls and parts from the lab, which act as a sort of experience meter: reaching certain net worth milestones unlocks new prebuilt ships. Add to this a beautiful backgrounds and visual effects, fully-functional Newtonian physics, an excellent, atmospheric soundtrack, and steam workshop support so that you can share your ship setups with others, and you have a recipe for a game that is, I think, one in a million. If you enjoy space shooters or action rpgs of any kind, you cannot afford to miss Ring Runner. There's even a novel! I should get around to reading that... Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Feb 24, 2014
    70
    If you can come to grips with the controls and the rather unhelpful upgrading UI, Ring Runner can be a very rewarding experience. [March 2014, p.59]
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    60
    Ring Runner is fun, different and challenging – but unfortunately it lacks a little accessibility.
  3. Jan 27, 2014
    85
    Ring Runner: Flight of the Sages is inspiring both for its unique concept and for being a great example of what can come from a successful Kickstarter campaign.