Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 27, 2017
    88
    Rising Storm 2, like its predecessors, is a tight, realistic multiplayer shooter with a robust community of players and balanced asymmetrical gameplay that feels fair. The sound design creates a suspenseful atmosphere while the iconic rock music of the era sets you squarely in the time period. Graphically, the game is not the best looking title around, but it's good enough not to adversely affect one’s enjoyment of the action. While not exactly noob friendly, the community will help you get your swamp legs and, as a team-based game, you will have to communicate with others if you don’t want to simply be in the way. If you are looking for something more realistic than Call of Duty or Battlefield, but faster than Arma, look no further than Rising Storm 2. I will see you in my sights.
  2. Jun 28, 2017
    85
    Rising Storm 2: Vietnam is a remarkable continuation, fun and realistic.
  3. Jun 22, 2017
    85
    A fiery test of awareness, speed and accuracy which upholds the series' devotion to teamwork and authenticity, but doesn't nail the asymmetry of modern era combat.
  4. Jun 7, 2017
    85
    Rising Storm 2: Vietnam is a unique game that explores the territory between casual and simulation shooters while focusing on a brutal and gritty scene. The outcome is an addictive and refreshing shooter.
  5. Jun 24, 2017
    84
    If you like a multiplayer FPS where realism and tactic battle comes first, you should give this a try. Keep in mind it's very demanding, so make sure that you're ready for a challenge.
  6. Jun 8, 2017
    84
    A brilliant game that may turn away some beginners due to its steep learning curve, but stick with it and you’ll be rewarded with an intense squad-based shooter that gives Battlefield a run for its money. It also serves as a cheerful reminder to me that I’d be as useless in a real firefight as I have expected.
  7. Jun 9, 2017
    82
    Rough edges and thin map selection aside, Rising Storm 2 offers up an intense and immersive recreation of the Vietnam War that will thrill, terrify and occasionally infuriate anyone brave or patient enough to get past its initially steep learning curve.
  8. Jun 7, 2017
    82
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Aug 7, 2017
    80
    If you want to experience the "Vietnam trauma", play Rising Storm 2. This multiplayer action is almost tuned to the max and extremely nerve-wracking. Only if the authors would add more content.
  10. Aug 3, 2017
    80
    Rising Storm 2: Vietnam is an intense shooter that stresses teamwork over running-and-gunning. The chaos on the battlefield truly shows you what it's like to be under fire.
  11. Jul 25, 2017
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Jul 5, 2017
    80
    Rising Storm 2: Vietnam manages to carve itself a place in an already flourishing genre, all thanks to the semi-simulation war combat. The Vietnam War makes for a distinct battleground that has been smartly incorporated into the game’s mechanics, which bring slower paced matches with more emphasis on team work and survival combat than rushing out to be a solo war hero. Rising Storm 2: Vietnam is aimed at a specific group of first-person shooter fans who are lured by the prospect of an experience more closer to the realism spectrum, and by looking at the server browser, there seems to be enough players to give this game legs. If that sounds like something enjoyable, then I can see Rising Storm 2: Vietnam becoming the multiplayer shooter of 2017 for those people.
  13. Jun 29, 2017
    80
    If you can get your head around the concept that you are just a regular soldier… then you’ll find an incredibly unique experience in Rising Storm 2: Vietnam.
  14. 80
    In a market controlled by the Call of Duty, Counterstrike, and Battlefield franchises, Rising Storm 2: Vietnam is a breath of fresh, albeit hot and muggy air. Tripwire Interactive has yet again produced a stunning game that is surprisingly tactical in its gameplay mechanics, and brutal in its tone.
  15. Jun 2, 2017
    80
    Low content quantity and some roughness around the edges might keep this game from being a premier shooter of 2017, but it's still a wonderful breath of fresh air that has arrived just in-time for the Summer drought.
  16. 80
    Rising Storm 2: Vietnam hits a sweet spot between realism, fun, and required teamwork that few games do.
  17. Jun 9, 2017
    75
    Rising Storm 2: Vietnam is a unique and brutally realistic multiplayer shooter meant to showcase the ugliness and unpredictability of a notorious war. Although it may cause monitor-smashing rage quitting at times and won’t win any awards for eye candy, there’s nothing else out there that provides a more nuanced, visceral, and intense jungle or urban fighting experience. At only $25, it’s tough to turn it down. And hey, who doesn’t enjoy some Creedence Clearwater Revival?
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It’s not the most polished shooter but it does shine in all the right places, and it builds on the huge potential of Red Orchestra, which I loved. There are very few games that can match the feeling you get when you watch an artillery strike destroy a treeline and push up with your squad mates under the cover of smoke and deafening explosions.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 142
  2. Negative: 27 out of 142
  1. May 30, 2017
    10
    No comment , this is what battlefield was supposed to be. I s seams like i play Battlefield 2 again , this sensation is priceless. This is aNo comment , this is what battlefield was supposed to be. I s seams like i play Battlefield 2 again , this sensation is priceless. This is a relay good , and tactical FPS without a doubt.
    All my respect for tripwire & antimattergames.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2017
    6
    It's no where near as good as these guys are saying it is, it's not bad it's just "meh". Rising storm 2 is a bit more tactical than say BF1It's no where near as good as these guys are saying it is, it's not bad it's just "meh". Rising storm 2 is a bit more tactical than say BF1 but if you want tactical gameplay there are much better options available (Squad, Arma). Movement is clunky/stiff and you get stuck in hidden barriers at times. When I played I got the feeling that the maps are to small for the rifle mechanics, if that makes sense, I dunno. Some one said this game is balanced, it is not. As you might expect the balance is shifted towards the US.US rifles are easier to aim with (m16 VS AKs), air support is op, Americans are harder to spot in jungle areas (Gis are green NV are light brown against a jungle/green background) among other things. However, the sounds is where this game shines tho, bombardments, explosions and rifle fire (both distant and close) sound **** awesome! All that said, if you liked BF2:BC/vietnam or BF1 you will likely enjoy this. For 25$/250kr/25Eur you can do much worse, it's good for a few hours of fun. Full Review »
  3. May 30, 2017
    10
    This is the best Vietnam Era FPS I've ever played. It will remind you of BFBC: Vietnam and Battlefield: Vietnam but in hardcore mode. TheThis is the best Vietnam Era FPS I've ever played. It will remind you of BFBC: Vietnam and Battlefield: Vietnam but in hardcore mode. The music, the gun sounds, the yelling, captures how the Vietnam war must have been, the game play is incredible. It shows how much time and testing was put into this game too, the maps are perfectly balanced, the game play is immersive, your adrenaline will be pumping during each round. The guns do a realistic amount of damage; you'll be dropped off in the jungle by helicopter, looking for Charlie. Out of nowhere an ambush will light up the tree line with gunfire, dropping GI's like flies. Just when you feel like the enemy has the upper hand, a napalm strike will clear the battlefield and a epic battle ensues, my hands are still shaking from the last round I played. The price is right, there's no pay to play, it's the best FPS I've played in a very long time 10/10. See you in the jungle boys. I love the smell of napalm in the morning...smells like....Victory... Full Review »