RIVE Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: RIVE’s unique 360-degree shooter/platformer hybrid lets you choreograph a ‘dance of destruction’. It feels like the explosive games of yore, pumping megapixels like it’s 2016.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
RIVE - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Sep 20, 2016
    80
    It is demanding but RIVE also knows how to reward your effort. Brutal and intensive in its action, this is a remarkable shoot'em up with classical heart.
  2. Sep 26, 2016
    80
    RIVE is a fun, albeit really challenging blend of space shooter and platformer. The intense challenge early on might turn off less experienced players, but those who want a great challenge should enjoy it. Just get used to having blue-colored drones explode in your face quite a bit.
  3. Oct 13, 2016
    80
    What on the first sight may seem as a common shooter is actually a show of all the good things that not only the genre classics can offer. Humor is occasionally shot blindly, but the game deserves every penny of its fair price.
  4. Sep 24, 2016
    78
    RIVE is a remarkable shooter/platform hybrid for anyone seeking a fun but very demanding challenge. Before playing, arm yourself with patience, remove fragile items near you, put talcum powder on your hands and... good luck.
  5. Sep 16, 2016
    70
    It’s a real shame RIVE suffered technical issues, because if it didn’t, I would have loved this game and been willing to give it a high score. I just can’t score it high in its current state, it would be a disservice to you the reader, no matter how much I would love it if it hadn’t been for its issues.
  6. Sep 20, 2016
    65
    It’s a side-scrolling shooter with stock parts that I don’t foresee leaving a mark on the genre, but is at least worth a spin if you’ve got the patience for it and a thirst for a major challenge.
  7. CD-Action
    Jan 12, 2017
    60
    I have nothing against tough games but if instead of satisfaction after overcoming a challenge I’m rewarded with a feeling of relief and humiliating gratitude for stopping the torture for a while – something went wrong. In my opinion Rive’s designers failed to distinguish what’s reasonably challenging from what’s unfair. [13/2016, p.59]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Sep 14, 2016
    10
    I consider Rive to be the best 2d action game I have ever played. The game seems so incredibly polished and the soundtrack is veryI consider Rive to be the best 2d action game I have ever played. The game seems so incredibly polished and the soundtrack is very appropriate to keep the excitement going. The difficulty of this game is insane but then again I didn't realize I could do an armor upgrade at first. I think the company behind it Two Tribes did a very good job with this title and I look forward to it becoming a popular game. Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2016
    10
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAPNy2_PpDc

    Its sad to know that the studio making this game is shutting down, absolute genius of a game.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAPNy2_PpDc

    Its sad to know that the studio making this game is shutting down, absolute genius of a game. Its like one of those space shooters, then switches over to master blaster (1+2) and if you dont remember that retro game then i guess metal slug with a super tank. Then you got the beautiful modern graphics on top with modern physics systems. If your in the mood for a modern retro shooter then you cant go wrong with this.
    Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2016
    9
    Gameplay is spot-on for the type of game it was made out to be. I really enjoyed this one from the gameplay to the graphics, to the music. NoGameplay is spot-on for the type of game it was made out to be. I really enjoyed this one from the gameplay to the graphics, to the music. No performance issues, super optimized game. Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2016
    8
    RIVE è un gioco un po' particolare, è uno sparattutto a scorrimento laterale, pubblicato da Two Tribes, gli stessi sviluppatori del simpaticoRIVE è un gioco un po' particolare, è uno sparattutto a scorrimento laterale, pubblicato da Two Tribes, gli stessi sviluppatori del simpatico Toki Tori. In RIVE però, non dovrete soltanto sparare, ma anche hackerare alcuni sistemi di sicurezza, al fine di compiere la vostra missione.

    Chi siamo?

    Innanzi tutto ci ritroveremo nei panni di Roughshot, un astronauta che, intrappolato all'interno di una astronave, si trova all'interno di un robot. Ovviamente il vostro scopo scopo è quello di scappare, affrontando i nemici, senza farvi uccidere.
    La storia è abbastanza semplice e lineare e diciamo che non è il punto focale di questo gioco, sebbene, a tratti, sia anche divertente, soprattutto grazie ad alcune battute che ci vengono proposte.

    Gameplay

    Come già accennato, il gioco è essenzialmente uno sparatutto twin-stick a scorrimento laterale, che alterna anche momenti di hackeraggio nei confronti di sistemi di sicurezza e di altri robot. E' possibile infatti hackerare tre tipi di robot differenti: medico, torretta e smashbot.
    Il primo, ovviamente, una volta hackerato vi seguirà fornendovi la vita ogni qual volta ne avrete bisogno, consumando piano piano la propria, fino a distruggersi quando non ne possiede più. Il secondo invece funziona esattamente come una seconda arma da fuoco e per finire, il terzo, come si può intuire dal nome, distrugge quanto si trova davanti!
    Come accennato però, non hakererete soltanto altri robot, ma vi trovetere anche ad utilizzare queste vostre abilità per sbloccare porte e interruttori; l'unica pecca di ciò è che fondamentalmente, non dovrete fare nulla, vi basterà selezionare la modalità "hacker", puntare verso ciò che vorrete hackerare e il gioco sarà fatto!
    Seppure limitato nelle dimensioni, il gioco non risulta affatto noiso, in quanto non si presenta sempre uguale; verranno alternate infatti sequenze a fravità zero, ambienti sott'acqua, scorrimento in verticale e sequenze in cui dovrete correre e scappare. Il titolo, nella sua semplicità si presenta quindi abbbastanza variegato e questo lo rende abbastanza divertente. Certo, lo scopo principale è quello di avanza e sparare ai nemici, ma l'alternarsi di sequenze sempre varie lo portano a non essere monotono e noioso.
    Inoltre, vi sarà possibile fare l'upgrade del vostro robot-tank, tutto questo grazie all'acquisizione dei bulloni, ottenuti distruggendo i vostri nemici. Potrete scegliere fra due upgrade "salute", due "Range boost", per raccogliere i bulloni più lontani, e fino a quattro armi diverse: Fucile da caccia, Missili, Mine e Electrowave.

    Per quanto concerne invece la difficoltà, essa è abbastanza equilibrata e spesso anche abbastanza facile, sebbene, durante le battaglie con i boss o in alcune sequenze, è facile morire diverse volte. E' da considerare che, avendo il gioco in preview, ho potuto giocare la prima parte soltanto in modalità difficle e molto spesso mi è capitato di morire poichè i nemici erano numerosi e i miei danni verso di loro non erano così influenti, nonostante ciò, una volta presa la mano, non è stato difficile completare quelle sequenze.

    Comparto tecnico: grafica e suono

    Nonostante la "semplicità" del gioco, gli sviluppatori hanno fatto un egregio lavoro per quello che riguarda la parte più tecnica. Graficamente il titolo è davvero molto godibile, sia in fattore di impatto visivo, sia per la cura degli ambienti; questi sono sempre molto ricchi e variegati, curati nei dettagli spaziano tra sezioni subacquee, a livelli di lava o nello spazio, tutti ricchi di robot unici da affrontare. E, nonostante abbiamo a che fare con un indie, c'è da sottolineare anche la perfetta ottimizzazione che permette di giocare in modo assolutamente fluido, senza alcun calo di frame, neanche nelle situazioni più ricche di nemici e questo è assolutamente uno degli aspetti più importanti che permette la massima godibilità del titolo.

    Per quanto riguarda l'aspetto sonoro anche qui, nessun aspetto negativo, anzi, musiche e suoni sono abbastanza piacevoli e accompagnano bene il gioco.

    Inoltre il gioco ha una buona longevità, in quanto, completata la main story, è possibile rigiocarla attraverso due modalità, che ricordano un po' quelle dei classici di un tempo, "Single-Credit mode", ovvero si parte con una sola vita e, se si muore, si perde, e "Speedrun mode" che ovviamente consiste nel completarlo nel minor tempo possibile.
    Inoltre, la versione completa presenta anche moltissimo obbiettivi da completare che renderà il gioco abbastanza "competitivo" e vi spingerà a farci sempre qualche partita!

    In breve: A mio avviso RIVE si presenta globalmente come un ottimo titolo, ben studiato e divertente. Sicuramente tutti gli appassionati degli sparatutto twin-stick andranno matti per questo titolo in quanto possiede le giuste carte per essere apprezzato. Tuttavia, se siete alla ricerca di un gioco in cui risolvere veri e propri rompicapi, fate attenzione, non è questo il gioco adatto.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2017
    7
    I really did not expect much at all from this game, but it was surprisingly good! The controls were great and felt super responsive, and whileI really did not expect much at all from this game, but it was surprisingly good! The controls were great and felt super responsive, and while the plot was super cliche, it felt super good to just shoot up a bunch of robots. Expand
  6. May 8, 2018
    0
    This game does not even work on the PC, please do not buy this game, the developer does not respond at all to issues.

Trailers