Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 8, 2017
    100
    Robo Recall is an almost perfect VR arcade experience. The only downside is that the cost of entry for Oculus Rift and Touch – even with a new lower price of £598 – is still too high for many, when you include the cost of the PC needed to run it. But that’s not the game’s fault.
  2. Games Master UK
    Jun 6, 2017
    89
    It's a ridiculous reason to get into VR, but the Hollywood levels of joy here are off the charts. [May 2017, p.80]
  3. Mar 12, 2017
    88
    Robo Recall doesn’t feel like a tech demo or minuscule offering of a promising concept. It’s the only VR game I’ve walked away from thinking I was satisfied with the amount and variety of content available. Its brand of action is unique and entertaining, and I haven’t played anything like it before. Robo Recall isn’t just a great VR game. It’s a great action game, period.
  4. Jul 29, 2017
    85
    Robo Recall is one of the most frantic, kinetic, satisfying, and challenging games of bullet ballet available in VR today. It harkens back to headier days of blue skies, tight gameplay loops, and arcade purity. You could argue that it’s a little content light, but you can’t argue with the price, so we turn to the modding community to see where they can take us next. [Tested with Oculus Rift]
  5. Apr 11, 2017
    85
    Robo Recall's few flaws just feed into the notion that I want more of it. I'm sure it cost a pretty penny for Epic to develop, and with the install base right now of VR, it may not even fully pay off. But if more deep-pocket developers are able to take risks like this and make more of these pushes, we might see VR hitting the mainstream yet.
  6. Mar 2, 2017
    85
    Robo Recall is an excellent demonstration of what a VR shooter can be on Oculus Touch. Thanks to highly physical action and tons of options for smashing a bunch of great-looking robots with both magically replenishing guns and your bare hands, the three available maps feel like plenty.
  7. Jan 2, 2018
    83
    Sweaty showpiece shooter for Virtual Reality that impresses with graphic splendor and high immersion and precision.
  8. May 29, 2019
    80
    Another of Quest’s most important launch titles, this has long been championed as one of the best first person shooters for VR headsets. At heart it’s a fairly simple wave-based shooter, in some ways a modern day interpretation of dual-stick shooters such as Robotron: 2084 and Smash T.V. You’ve got two pistols and a heavy weapon and have to mow down hordes of malfunctioning robots, but somehow it’s a lot stranger than you’d imagine.
  9. Mar 31, 2017
    80
    The fight against the robots is not as intense as Superhot VR – but the highscore hunt is catered remarkably well to suit VR needs and a technical masterpiece with accurate roomscale tracking. Content is limited, though.
  10. Apr 23, 2017
    75
    Those frantic moments of shooting action are so thrilling that you are just swept up in it. But after several instances of such moments, the thrill dies and the barebones story and light humor doesn’t elevate the game enough in a meaningful way. You may not have the endurance to keep playing to beat your highscores, earn more stars, and upgrade your weapons — enabling you to beat your highscores and begin the process all over again. But even if you aren’t in the game for the long haul, the initial trip of ~3 hours is quite a ride worth taking.
  11. Mar 26, 2017
    75
    This game feels like a game from an alternative reality. It's a 90s light gun shooter in virtual reality. The basic game is short, but the action is intense and very much worth playing over and over again.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Robo Recall makes me a frantic cyclone of destruction, the force of my mechanical slaughter matched only by my sheer ineptitude whenever I try to teleport. It’s a party, basically, mixing the accuracy of lightgun shooting with the physicality of Wii gaming.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 6 out of 30
  1. Mar 8, 2017
    10
    Controls are incredibly smooth and really bolster the experience. From pulling out a shotgun to teleporting behind enemy lines, theControls are incredibly smooth and really bolster the experience. From pulling out a shotgun to teleporting behind enemy lines, the transitions are seamless. Action is snappy and responsive; rending limbs from enemies and firing guns are immensely satisfying. Robo Recall sets the standard for VR. Full Review »
  2. Mar 3, 2017
    10
    This game is awesome. The graphics are the most clear and crisp of any other VR game. The gameplay doesn't dissapoint, this game is nuts! IThis game is awesome. The graphics are the most clear and crisp of any other VR game. The gameplay doesn't dissapoint, this game is nuts! I discover a new cool thing every time I play. Last play session I discovered I could shoot hoops with the basketball in one of the levels. The level of polish is incredible!! The menu system is also really cool and easy to use, easily the best out of all the other VR games I played. This game is a must have if you like VR. Full Review »
  3. Mar 3, 2017
    10
    Combat feels great, very smooth overall with a great action feel. Movement with the teleportation feels natural (in a front facing setup).Combat feels great, very smooth overall with a great action feel. Movement with the teleportation feels natural (in a front facing setup). Very humorous with an arcade game feel. Enemies are very interactive.

    Personally, it's my favorite VR experience so far
    Full Review »