Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jun 15, 2021
    100
    Roguebook has everything it needs to set the genre on fire. A gorgeous visual feast, combat as deep and challenging as any CCG, rewarding roguelike mechanics - it has it all. If you're a fan of the genre, this one is quickly setting up to be a GOTY contender.
  2. Jul 1, 2021
    90
    Really it comes down to this; if you like deck-builders or ever have, you should give Roguebook a chance. Tainted Grail: Conquest isn’t for everyone and I knew that right away, even if I loved that game in its own way. Roguebook is one that everyone with even a passing interest should try. You may get your ass kicked but I doubt you’ll regret it.
  3. Jun 23, 2021
    90
    I am a sucker for this very type roguelike deck building game, and in RogueBook I have found a worthy successor to my favorite in the space, Slay the Spire. While I might think Slay the Spire has that edge on the given mechanics and strategies of a single run, I believe RogueBook excels at world building, game progression, and re-playablity as new power-ups, characters, cards, map items, and challenges are unlocked not just on every run but especially after successfully completing the core game. Each is excellent, each game deserves to be enjoyed. To prefer one over the other is to prefer chocolate syrup over caramel, but in both you are treated to a delicious dessert of fun and strategic gaming.
  4. Jun 22, 2021
    90
    Honestly, I have very little criticism for Roguebook. You can feel the inspiration from earlier deck-builders, but it’s very much its own thing. Unique combat mechanics, gorgeous visuals, and addicting exploration make for a roguelike deck-builder that’s polished and keeps you going back for more.
  5. Jun 23, 2021
    88
    Roguebook is a solid game with strong Card battle elements with a twist of RPG, and a slice of tabletop mixed in. Who would have thought it would be so addictive? I should have known, with company names Abrakam and Nacon, which already sound like prescription drugs. Yea, I am now thoroughly addicted to Rougebook.
  6. CD-Action
    Sep 1, 2021
    85
    I like a lot about Roguebook: the combat system that gives you loads of possibilities despite being simple; revealing the map through "painting” it with brushes and ink that you find along the way; enhancing your cards with crystals that modify their effects. You just feel it’s not a debut project but a very solid game created by developers who have card-based gameplay down to a science. [09/2021, p.50]
  7. Jul 19, 2021
    85
    It’s easy to think that the run-based deckbuilder genre has been entirely tapped out, but Roguebook counters that notion in an instant. Though its broader narrative and post-game balance may be a little thin, everything else between these pages is incredibly rich and satisfying. By combining the elegance of tabletop map exploration with a thoughtful evolution of deckbuilding mechanics, Abrakam and Richard Garfield have found a match made for the history books.
  8. Jul 16, 2021
    80
    Roguebook is an interesting deckbuilder that does a lot of things well. It doesn’t do a great deal that feels new and exciting, but there are flashes of brilliance here and there.
  9. Jul 12, 2021
    80
    Roguebook is a very classic card-based rogue-lite that is also very solid. The gameplay is quite free and the sense of progression is great.
  10. Jul 5, 2021
    80
    Roguebook follows the success formula of other toppers in this crossover of genres such as Slay the spire and Monster train. Don't be fooled by the simple graphics. Under the hood is a layered role-playing game with plenty of room for personalization, allowing you to create your own play style. The game is not revolutionary but it is rock solid, especially for this soft price.
  11. Jun 25, 2021
    80
    Like other great roguelikes, the more of Roguebook you play, the more you want to play. Each death is simply a nudge to continue; to assess your strategy and try something new. Exploring the game’s world is a joy, and combat is easy to get to grips with while still being deep and engaging. There’s a lot to love here, all wrapped up in a package of sumptuous art.
  12. Jun 17, 2021
    80
    Roguebook is a competent game, both a good and a bad thing to be in the crowded rogue and card game spaces. For a newcomer, this is a solid entry-point, with engaging battles, a good long-term progression, and an interesting way to explore. For someone who has played the obvious inspirations the ink-linked ideas are not innovative enough. The team at Abrakam was too conservative in its approach. The game needs more weirdness and more tweaks to the battle formula to stand out. If they get the chance to create another Roguebook experience they need to take the good bones of this game and then push the entire genre forward in some way.
  13. Jun 17, 2021
    80
    Roguebook is a game that will feel crushingly familiar at first, but reveals itself to be more nuanced and interesting the more you play it. It's definitely a fun game, and while it feels like there have been more original roguelike deckbuilders recently, Roguebook is still good fun, and there's enough here to keep you going for a long time if it clicks with you.
  14. Jun 16, 2021
    80
    If you have the patience, Roguebook is an interesting adventure, worth exploring. Players will be treated to a multifaceted strategy title, that keeps you guessing constantly. Why not have them deal you a hand?
  15. Jun 15, 2021
    80
    Roguebook is a refreshing take on traditional card games. With its original map and combat mechanics, it delivers engaging roguelike elements that keep things interesting run after run. While the game might not contain the world’s most ground-breaking story, card game aficionados are sure to find something to their liking in this Faeria-themed release.
  16. Jun 21, 2021
    78
    Roguebook stands out from the pack on a few qualities, but it's not a must-play.
  17. Jul 8, 2021
    75
    The latest in a series of games trying to find the next winning iteration of the roguelike deckbuilding genre, Roguebook has all the character and charm it needs to avoid being just another Slay the Spire clone. Introducing fresh and interesting new mechanics it proves to be a good addition to the genre, but not quite an amazing one.
  18. Jun 16, 2021
    71
    If you’re looking for something new to play and are a fan of roguelike card games, then you’ll probably have a good time with Roguebook. It’s a fun game and does a solid job of being what it is – when it works that is. However, if you’re looking for the next big genre-defying roguelike then you might be a bit disappointed as Roguebook isn’t really that. It is a good game, just not an incredible one and maybe that’s enough.
  19. Jul 14, 2021
    70
    Roguebook’s positional gameplay makes for a really fun combat puzzle, but the downside of the two hero system is that player strategy feels less focused than the best the genre has to offer. I enjoyed trying to combine hero abilities in unexpected ways, but the bespoke hero mechanics often weren’t compelling enough to really elevate that. Even so, Roguebook is an entertaining new take on the deck-builder genre, and its new ideas and lovingly realised world make it well worth a look.
  20. Jun 28, 2021
    70
    Roguebook is, as the name may have already told you, a rouge-like deckbuilding game situated in the World of Faeria. Despite treading old ground, Roguebook does a lot of things right and different. Sadly, there is just too little of it to entertain for more than a few hours. Some technical hiccups also downgrade the experience.
  21. Jun 15, 2021
    70
    Errors aside, though, Roguebook is still an exceptionally fun experience. It's a very good deckbuilding game hiding within an innovative take on roguelike play, and the charm of its characters and the accessibility of its difficulty will go a long way in compelling people to give it a try. A deeper story, more variety in levels and characters, and some crucial bug fixes would go a long way in giving Roguebook long-lasting appeal, but it's still well-worth checking out for fans of either roguelikes or deckbuilders - as long as they can stomach a few crashes and don't mind a bit of an easier experience than they may be used to.
  22. 65
    The pull of “just one more run” is the heart of roguelikes, but lacking even that makes Roguebook little more than just a distraction from better games. Like the junk food you eat between real meals or while bored, it’s enjoyable at times, but will ultimately leave you hungry for something more substantial.
  23. Jun 22, 2021
    60
    Roguebook layers lots of complex systems on top of each other, which is sadly a double-edged sword as you feel simultaneously powerful and also completely out of control. It’s a classic case of adding a few too many ideas into an already stuffed experience, until the experience is more akin to a buffet than a tightly presented three-course meal.
  24. Aug 23, 2021
    50
    To be clear, this is actually really fun and interesting, but at this point it was not ready for release. There are far too many literal game-breaking bugs and errors that freeze RogueBook solid. The second level alone took over 10 reloads to beat. With some patches and balances though, this game could easy be a recommended to CCG or strategy players.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 6 out of 15
  1. Jul 22, 2022
    10
    Поставил бы 8, но из-за плохих отзывов хочу помочь рейтингу. Игра годная. красочный фентезийный визуал, интересная механика прохождение поПоставил бы 8, но из-за плохих отзывов хочу помочь рейтингу. Игра годная. красочный фентезийный визуал, интересная механика прохождение по уровню, возможность играть разными пулами героев (от этого зависит тактика прохождения), ну и не простая сложность. Играл в неё когда был ранний доступ, наиграл часов 50, с релизом добавились новые карты, герой, играть стало интереснее. Не знаю почему товарищи сверху ожидают от игры сюжета и жалуются на баланс: игра с не большим бюджетом, это раз, и ожидать мега закрученного интереснющего сюжета ,по мне, странно (тем более в мире картонок, где упор идёт на механику, почти во всех знакомых мне играх) и ожидать баланс в рогалике где один раз тебе выпадает всё, второй раз ничего, это два - такова механика многих рогаликов ( и опять-же, учитывая что это картонка, где фактор "топ дек" во много является решающим). Короче, не смотрите на двойки школьников вверху, игра годная, любителям картонок рекомендую - затянет и спать не отпустит :) Full Review »
  2. Jan 28, 2022
    10
    I am big fan of deck building games, I have about 500 hours on slay the spire and I must say that Roguebook is very good game. I like theI am big fan of deck building games, I have about 500 hours on slay the spire and I must say that Roguebook is very good game. I like the exploration map. Also not right, that there are no options for making solid deck. After a few runs, I am on epilog 3. And I love every minute of playing. . Full Review »
  3. Nov 8, 2021
    9
    To try it is to adopt it, one of the best deck building game, Richard Garfield work with the devs of Faeria to develop a wonderfull card andTo try it is to adopt it, one of the best deck building game, Richard Garfield work with the devs of Faeria to develop a wonderfull card and adventure game Full Review »