Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Sep 22, 2020
    90
    Röki, like a good fairy tale, is an enchanting experience that melts the time away. Adventure gamers may find it a little less challenging than they’d prefer, but this makes the game more accessible to younger gamers without it devolving into a children’s game. It’s easy to recommend to anyone who wants to get lost in a good story set in a magical world.
  2. Aug 5, 2020
    90
    Röki is a brilliant and emotional adventure that will appeal to all lovers of adventure games and well-told stories in general. The mature themes are handled in such a wonderfully appropriate way that it would make a perfect family game, and I loved the time I spent with Tove. Rather than a flatpack indentikit product, this is a game that has all the hallmarks of true artisanal craft and skill.
  3. 90
    As the first showing for Polygon Treehouse, Röki is an incredible first impression. While it doesn’t innovate much within the genre itself, it excels in the areas that matter, and it absolutely delivers the kind of experience you would be looking for from an adventure game.
  4. Jul 31, 2020
    90
    On its surface, Röki delightfully explores a rarely visited branch of Scandinavian folklore, but delve deeper into this thoroughly charming fantasy adventure and you’ll find a beautifully told, emotionally engaging narrative that’s sure to resonate with players of all ages.
  5. Jul 22, 2020
    90
    With its heartfelt story, loveable characters and unique setting, Röki is a special game. Its adventure will keep you enthralled from start to finish.
  6. Jul 22, 2020
    85
    Röki is challenging and captivating during each moment of gameplay. The narrative flows naturally alongside the puzzles, and the world acts as a beautiful set-piece that begs to be explored. Direction and backtracking can bring the pacing down a bit in the later parts, but the conclusion makes every obstacle worth it.
  7. Aug 19, 2020
    83
    An atmospheric journey into Scandinavian fairy tales with loads of interesting puzzles. If only the story about the siblings Lars and Tove would have been giving more space to flourish...
  8. Jul 27, 2020
    82
    For those who find puzzle games interesting but the point-and-click genre a little dull, this is a fantastic middle ground that you will happily get lost in.
  9. CD-Action
    Oct 15, 2020
    80
    With its engaging story steeped in Scandinavian folklore, varied and satisfying puzzles, unique art direction, and terrific audio, Roki is a real treat for every fan of the frosty North. [10/2020, p.87]
  10. Aug 26, 2020
    80
    Röki is like a sort of an evolution of the point and click genre, an adventure game far less overelaborate but still interesting and intriguing, only in a different, more accessible way which heavily lean on exploration. A journey of discovery and at the same time an intimate story and a folklore's tale.
  11. Aug 23, 2020
    80
    Roki’s story is dark, but also manages to bring with it the right amount of heart. The setting is also top-notch and the puzzles are a lot of fun. There are some minor things that don’t work as good as they should, especially the quest system and the item management, but they don’t change the fact that Roki succeeds in what it does.
  12. Aug 23, 2020
    80
    As an adventure game Roki doesn't have much repeatability values, and some modern gamers might ignore it due to its 20$ price tag, but if you are willing to spend around 10 hours solving puzzles and stuff, Roki is probably a very good option for you.
  13. Aug 18, 2020
    80
    Roki is undoubtedly one of the most engrossing games of the year. While the gameplay may at times contradict its perfectly nuanced story, it’s often easy to overlook and be swept away on a magical adventure full of mystery, heart and tragedy.
  14. Aug 4, 2020
    80
    A beautiful story set in a rich world based in Norse myths, with just the right amount of challenge.
  15. Aug 3, 2020
    80
    Röki is a beautiful tale of love, loss and friendship, taking the player on an emotional journey through a fairytale forest inspired by Scandinavian folklore. If you enjoy challenging puzzles, engaging narratives and collectible-hunting, this is the game for you - but do be warned that the ending may leave you feeling a little underwhelmed.
  16. Jul 24, 2020
    80
    I may not know much about Jotun or tomtes, but I can say for certain that Roki is one of the most magical experiences you can have this year.
  17. 80
    By the end of the game, I felt invested in the characters to the point that I couldn’t help but get emotional when a catharsis occurs. Röki features a perfect feel-good story, with lighthearted characters that are easy to identify with and invest in. The world is so well-thought-out, and the way that the game guides the player throughout the story is an extremely welcome escape from the uncertainty of the real-world in our current pandemic times. I fully recommend getting lost in this beautiful world with Tove.
  18. Jul 22, 2020
    80
    With around a 10-hour runtime – although your mileage may differ depending how quickly you deal with the game’s tougher puzzles – Röki is a delight from start to finish. It’s hard to put down; its story and characters encapsulate you in their magical world right from the get-go. As you play, it’s hard to shake the feeling that you’ve uncovered something really special; and considering Röki is the first game from Polygon Treehouse, it leaves me very excited to see what comes next.
  19. Jul 22, 2020
    80
    Across the board, Roki therefore has a cohesion that propels it above most other indie adventure games. This can make or break even the most well-funded of game projects, and the fact that Roki's gameplay, story, and art style all interlink so effortlessly means that it is a joy to play and unravel.
  20. Aug 14, 2020
    78
    Overall Röki is a thoroughly modern take on the Point and Click genre, adding the ability to highlight intractable objects really gives anyone the ability to play and enjoy this game.
  21. Aug 24, 2020
    75
    Röki’s castle segment isn’t catastrophic, but it delivered far less in narrative impact and far more in adventure-game twitchiness than the forest, which was almost perfect. In the woods, Röki is a delight, blending whimsy and sorrow into a splendid modern adventure. In the castle, it is simply ordinary, and as a result of these two unbalanced halves, Röki never quite delivers on its early promise.
  22. Aug 17, 2020
    75
    At 10 to 12 hours, Röki is a substantial adventure that avoids some of the typical pitfalls of the genre. While there is a fair bit of backtracking, puzzles feel naturally entwined with the story as it unfolds, with significant new elements that change things up just when it’s needed. Meanwhile, the nature of where this story goes effectively draws you closer to this family’s struggles, taking it beyond a simple fable. It’s a small game with a lot of heart.
  23. Jul 29, 2020
    75
    Röki is the heartfelt story of a family divided, and a lesson about trust, family, and strength. It preserves the magic and message of the folk tales it draws inspiration from.
  24. Jul 22, 2020
    75
    Röki tells a compelling story about what remains of an unfortunate family using a typical dark fairy tale tone. It is a classic adventure game with a modern twist and an amazing art design.
  25. Edge Magazine
    Aug 13, 2020
    70
    A gentle joy in a horrible year - a window upon a parallel world that makes life seem a little kinder in our own. [Issue#349, p.100]
  26. Aug 10, 2020
    70
    Röki is a wonderful and artistic journey that will satisfy point & click lovers but it feels a bit too easy, we would've welcomed harder puzzles that are more satisfying.
  27. Aug 3, 2020
    70
    Roki starts off as a straightforward narrative-focused adventure, and while it looks the part, the game is more of a traditional puzzle title, with a few of the typical downfalls of the genre.
  28. Aug 3, 2020
    70
    Röki is a heartwarming adventure, that relies on its beautiful art design to offer a traditional point & click experience.
  29. Jul 23, 2020
    70
    If you really can’t stand puzzle games like this, then Röki is not going to be what changes your mind… but I definitely encourage you to take a look at it. This one will use your time in a rewarding way. And I had a blast with it.
  30. Aug 18, 2020
    60
    Röki is a lovely game with strong characters and a fun, whimsical story. It shakes up its genres enough to be unique, but doesn't try to fix what isn't broken, and doesn't push itself past what it sets out to accomplish. Environment and creature designs are superb, while their human counterparts (of which there are very few anyway) leave a little more to be desired. It's a game just about anybody can pick up, play, and be immersed in a world they're likely not too familiar with, unless they grew up with the folklore this draws inspiration from. A few graphical glitches crop up here and there, but otherwise this is a solid and a fun adventure filled with puzzles, action, and intrigue.
  31. Jul 31, 2020
    60
    While Röki doesn’t do anything particularly new or interesting, it does present a gorgeous world and introduces those unfamiliar with many myths and legends to learn more about.
  32. Jul 29, 2020
    60
    It is the striking cel-shaded design, though, that elevates Röki just above games such as Year Walk, which is similarly inspired by Scandinavian folklore. The design enhances minor artistic details – whether it’s snow glistening on a treetop or a hostile character’s imposing shadow – to create a more involving experience. Röki’s pleasing aesthetics are well-matched by an absorbing story that always keeps you on your guard.
  33. Jul 22, 2020
    60
    Röki pretends to be smarter - and more emotional - than it really is. As hard as it tries to impress and touch, it left me feeling as if I had eaten a plate of stale pickled herrings. Röki has gameplay and pacing issues but the biggest annoyance is that the lovable character you will play as has not been given any humanly worth beyond her obsessive mission. Maybe I take things too emotionally but overall, when reaching the unfortunately cliched ending after 14 hours of playing, I felt I could have spent that time better. While I enjoyed the game in parts and admired its enchanting look, it left a sour taste in my mouth.
  34. Jul 22, 2020
    40
    Irritating though they may be, few of these problems would be insurmountable in the face of an engaging narrative. But like countless other pretty games trading on emotion, Röki drones on about feelings, namely grief—all of it documented in Tove’s illustrated journal, and complete with occasional asides about Dead Mom or Sad Dad. Repressed memories, shadow selves, and mysterious environmental sicknesses rear their tired heads. Beyond the trappings of Scandinavian myth, there’s precious little to set Röki apart in an already overcrowded space.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 23, 2020
    Folklore powers a heartfelt game of exploration and empathy. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. It is a game of surprising depth, and while Röki’s point and click backbone may prevent it from delivering the constant, one-two gut punches we saw in the likes of Edith Finch, this is certainly one of the closest attempts at capturing its mechanics-led story structure I’ve seen since. I thought Röki was going to be a cute and throwaway little puzzle game with a light adventure wrapping, but Polygon Treehouse have gone so much further, and so much deeper than I was expecting. Like all great folklore stories, there is a quiet devastation lurking beneath Röki’s picturebook world, elevating this mythic tale of gods and monsters into the pantheon of all-time adventure game greats. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Aug 10, 2020
    0
    can't rebind controls. unacceptable.
    only autosave? unacceptable.

    learn how to properly wirte games for pc.
  2. Jul 26, 2020
    10
    TL;DR: A modern spin on classic point and click adventures. Cute character design and animations. Storywise, imagine the film Labyrinth withTL;DR: A modern spin on classic point and click adventures. Cute character design and animations. Storywise, imagine the film Labyrinth with Scandinavian folklore. Wonderful Nordic fairytale soundtrack.

    From the very first scene, Röki gets you into a beautiful and stylized version of Scandinavia. Every area is full of small details, from little animals running around to magical creatures, that make the whole place alive. Add its calm and wonderful soundtrack (that I will buy apart to listen to again while I work xD), and you feel you're really exploring a forest from a Nordic fairytale world.

    The controls are smart, making comfortable to use a controller on a game that is half 3D exploration half point and click adventure. The puzzles are here and there, most you'll go through like a breeze, a few will make you scratch you head until you get an eureka moment, but all of them are logical, which is the most important thing on a game like this.

    Obviously you won't find in this kind of game, specially from an indie studio, the length of an RPG, but I must say it probably lasted almost double of what I expected, so I'm gladly surprised by that. And... I left behind some badges and collectibles, so I will give it another go sometime soon.

    All in all, if you like point and click adventures and magical worlds, totally recommended.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 2, 2020
    10
    A wonderful point&click adventure game set in Norse folklore. I had an amazing time playing it (and re-playing it :D). The puzzles, quests,A wonderful point&click adventure game set in Norse folklore. I had an amazing time playing it (and re-playing it :D). The puzzles, quests, the background story, the graphics, the music... everything was great and added to a very good experience. Full Review »