User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 72
  2. Negative: 7 out of 72
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ZikasA.
    Mar 15, 2003
    10
    A very good game-especially in multiplayer.
  2. JakasS.
    Dec 14, 2005
    10
    The game is a blast. The visuals are amazing and the story really well thought out. Multiplayer is phenomenal.
  3. Dec 24, 2015
    10
    This is one of my favorite game from my childhood days. I remember playing it on LAN at the gaming club with my friends, I remember playing in from home on 30kbps Dial Up all weekend nights with pings around 300. This is by far the best multiplayer melee game I have played. These days there are great alternatives like Chivalry, but this 3rd person game mechanics are just so well done thatThis is one of my favorite game from my childhood days. I remember playing it on LAN at the gaming club with my friends, I remember playing in from home on 30kbps Dial Up all weekend nights with pings around 300. This is by far the best multiplayer melee game I have played. These days there are great alternatives like Chivalry, but this 3rd person game mechanics are just so well done that I can't help but compare everything else to it. The dodging coming from it's Unreal Engine coupled with precise hit detection makes it the most skill based melee combat I've seen, without crazy combos you have to remember and be quick enough to perform - you just need to swing your weapon through your opponent's body and try to avoid their blade. And you can also throw a huge hammer at their heads. These days I suggest Rune Classic re-release on Steam, but Rune Gold from the old days is also great. That is due to Halls of Valhalla multiplayer expansion which is, in my opinion, better in terms of fighting mechanics, than the original and they are not compatible (Rune Classic is compatible with both versions and incorporates both mechanics, you should really get it, preferably with your friends to play together as player base is pretty small these days). Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2018
    8
    Отличная игра для порубить мечом и попасть в Вальгаллу, в незаезженном сеттинге скандинавской мифологии.
  5. Feb 11, 2019
    9
    Amazing game for its time. It gave you a lot of freedom, lots of different ways to play (not one super weapon but lots of good weapons). Multiplayer was a blast as well.
  6. Feb 26, 2020
    9
    Decapitating zombies from hell with a Viking long sword. F. Yeah. Good game for its time, lengthy too.
  7. Mar 12, 2016
    8
    this game left a very positive impression on me playing it as a teenager...how well it stood the test of time...hard to tell...but it was great fun..single and multi
  8. Nov 19, 2019
    9
    Loved this game back in 2000 :)
    One of the best action adventure games in history.
    Hope they make some kind of remake :)
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Norse mythology provides plenty of story and imagery to this 3D action game.
  2. Too long and uninspiring to hold your attention. The game would have been far more entertaining with half as many levels. More can be better...but only if it's good.
  3. A surreal Viking-inspired experience that turns itself into is a somewhat simple hack 'n slash action game, but a very, very fun one, at that.