Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. May 24, 2020
    80
    There are remasters and then there are remasters. Some companies would have just taken Saints Row: The Third, tweaked the lighting a little, bundled it with all of its DLC and shoved it out on current-gen consoles with an improved resolution and called it a day. With Saints Row: The Third Remastered, however, Sperasoft and Volition have pretty much improved every single asset and implemented graphical features that make it stand shoulder-to-shoulder with the prettiest open world games available right now. This is still Saints Row: The Third – which is to say that it’s one of the most enjoyable open-world games ever made – only now it looks and plays better then ever.
  2. May 22, 2020
    80
    This Genki-sized update is more than just a polish job, it’s the whole enchilada. With visual upgrades and a dash of physics improvements, it’s sure to draw any Saints Row fan in all over again. Now we’ve just gotta get rid of the Genki-sized bugs.
  3. May 25, 2020
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. May 21, 2020
    70
    Flawed but fun, Saints Row: The Third Remastered brings back its ridiculously addictive formula to keep long-time fans and new players entertained for many hours. Sadly, it's a bit rough around the edges, and in no way comparable to a number of modern-day titles from the same genre.
  5. 70
    I may have wanted more out of Saints Row: The Third Remastered, but it's still as much a blast to play today as it was in 2011, and now it's prettier to boot. Grumbles aside, what more could I ask for?
  6. May 21, 2020
    70
    The “Saints Row The Third” part of Saints Row The Third Remastered is good. The “Remastered” part...not as much.
  7. May 21, 2020
    67
    Stuck in the past, Saints Row 3 still offers a lot of fun, you just have to look past some pretty dated humour to find it.
  8. May 25, 2020
    65
    The remastered version of Saints Row: The Third feels like a wasted opportunity. If in addition to dealing with the technical aspect, Sperasoft would hve polished the playable experience a bit, updated the AI and solved the most obvious problems, perhaps it would have been worth revisiting it 9 years later.
  9. May 21, 2020
    60
    Saints Row: The Third time travels to 2020 with a solid remaster. This is the same game you remember from 2011, with all of the DLC and content packs along for the ride. Developer Sperasoft has redone some of the models, especially with regards to the vehicles, and added an all-new, more realistic lighting engine. Unfortunately, it still doesn't quite measure up to the original PC release, and all the bugs of the original are still here. Still, Saints Row: The Third is a wonderful experience despite all its flaws, and that remains true of this remaster release.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 21, 2020
    Saints Row: The Third Remastered does a trillion stupid things, and everything is deliberately over the top, but it’s so much fun that I never dwell on the the parts that might otherwise make me uncomfortable, because it is fully, beautifully committed to its absurdity. It punches up, it punches down, and it punches every which way except at me, because me? I’m cool. [Polygon Recommends]
  2. It’s just the content, I suppose, that doesn’t charm me any more. It was like playing the FPS version of a top down ARPG like Diablo or Wolcen. Yeah, I’ll shoot the waves of oncoming enemies. No, I don’t particularly need to know why. I’ll do it again in another mission in a minute. Blah blah blah, strip club, blah blah blah, chop shop. Oh Saints Row. It is not you that have changed, but I.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 8 out of 23
  1. May 23, 2020
    10
    i forgot how games could be good. Mission variety is amazing, graphics are great, cant believe low score
  2. May 23, 2020
    10
    Not sure if my opinion is somewhat biased but I loved this game when it first came out in 2011. Although not as great as the first game on 360Not sure if my opinion is somewhat biased but I loved this game when it first came out in 2011. Although not as great as the first game on 360 it was fantastic game on PC. Funny enough I gave the original another go a few months ago to see how it held up and was a little disappointed how outdated it was. Lo and behold a remaster came along! Long story short, if you loved to original you'll love the remaster. It's the same old fun gameplay with updated visuals. It's actually a proper remaster. Thumbs up! Full Review »
  3. May 24, 2020
    10
    Superb remaster, same fluid gameplay of original with really nice work on updated character models and lighting. Same great game just looksSuperb remaster, same fluid gameplay of original with really nice work on updated character models and lighting. Same great game just looks way better. Full Review »