Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 12, 2018
    90
    While it’s a bit creaky around the edges at times, Sairento VR‘s ninja action is truly fantastic when it gets moving. Hopping from wall to wall while picking off headshots then diving to earth in a slide that ends in decapitation feels amazing, as does holding the high ground and raining arrows down for stealth kills. You can pull out the guns and go in blazing or pick your way carefully and be sneaky, although once one enemy has seen you, all enemies always know where you are so you need to be ready if things go wrong. There’s a huge amount of depth in its gameplay and every moment can be dealt with in whatever way makes you happiest. Dive in with the sword, dual-wield pistols, break out the sniper rifle, toss kunai around or machine-gun everything that moves. If you can combine speed, grace and firepower, there’s not an enemy out there that can stand against your ninja might.
  2. Feb 5, 2018
    90
    Overall, Sairento VR is an absolute hit. Any shortcomings I pointed out are the result of my desire for it to reach its potential, not for any level of defect. The team has been tightly engaged with the Steam and Reddit community, and they’ve taken that feedback seriously. The result is a game that feels more complete, and in a more finished and polished state, than nearly any game in the current VR space. Put simply, Sairento VR is a must-have.
  3. Feb 5, 2018
    90
    Sariento VR is one of the most impressive VR titles in many ways. From the technical standpoint, with the graphics and engine stability, to the movement system (which is a pure thrill) right through to the sounds of the weaponry, which really make everything come to life. There are a few titles that mix some of the acrobatic movement and bullet-time mechanics separately but none have combined them so well and in such a complete package. This is one of the first VR titles on the market that could be reasonably described as a true AAA VR experience, with an addictive gameplay loop of missions offering plenty of rewards and a voiced campaign. Best of all, it might be a first class title but developer Mixed Realms has delivered on a budget price of £22.99. For VR owners, this is a must buy.
  4. Jun 28, 2019
    80
    Sairento VR deserves enormous recognition for its excellent gameplay loop and extensive replay value.
  5. Mar 5, 2018
    80
    Overall, Sairento VR is a fun experience and one that is far more complete than most VR gaming experiences out there. With it you get a good story, fantastic gameplay mechanic design and a good set of multi-tiered levels to use those mechanics in. This is more than just a gimmicky, short experience, which most VR games slip under these days, as it is a bright spot in a sea of VR shipwrecks.
  6. Feb 5, 2018
    80
    In the end though it all comes down to how much time and enjoyment you’ll get out of Sairento VR and rest assured it’ll be plenty. If Mixed Realms hadn’t managed to nail down the movement system then Sairento VR could’ve been just another FPS with a myriad of options. Instead, Sairento VR is one of the best free flowing combat titles available for VR headsets, showcasing how far development of VR locomotion has come.
  7. Feb 5, 2018
    80
    Campaign needs some work and there are some bad bugs, but for the most part Sairento VR is a blast to play. Play with a friend and enjoy some great ninja action in VR.
  8. Jan 17, 2018
    80
    Even with its flaws, Sairento VR‘s brand of cyberninja action makes it one of the most unique and refreshing shooters to date.
  9. Feb 17, 2018
    78
    Action is at the center of experience and represents a successful mix of furious movements, blood, bullets and sparks. Unfortunately, the title stumbles on a glance stylistically uninteresting and technically far from exceptional.
  10. Feb 8, 2018
    70
    Overall, Sairento VR is a solid VR game, it may not have the polish of some AAA VR titles but that’s to be expected as Mixed Realms are a tiny indie studio which is probably why bugs have slipped through the net. This is a game that will challenge your VR skills, the weapons respond well and the movement is excellent which is a huge plus in VR. Despite its flaws, Sairento VR is definitely worth checking out if you’re looking for some fast-paced VR action.
  11. Feb 7, 2018
    60
    Sairento VR is a game with a ton of stuff to do and some really fun core gameplay elements, but it just doesn’t feel like it all comes together well in the end. There’s a lack of meaningful depth, some glaring repetition, and a general lack of polish that holds this action-packed romp from truly achieving VR greatness.
  12. Feb 5, 2018
    60
    I wasn’t expecting to have a good time playing Sairento VR because of all the movement, but once I’d gotten used to it I really enjoyed the over the top action. Even though it was just because of the ease of slaughtering enemies mindlessly, doing so in VR really helped with its appeal. It’s by no means perfect, with some structural and technical issues getting in the way of the fun, but from a small studio making a relatively ambitious VR title, they could have done a whole lot worse.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 42
  2. Negative: 8 out of 42
  1. Jan 10, 2017
    9
    This is VR's "Matrix Jump Program"
    First time players will be blown away.
    Cyberpunk badass ninja FPS RPG slice and dice em up with guns
    This is VR's "Matrix Jump Program"
    First time players will be blown away.

    Cyberpunk badass ninja FPS RPG slice and dice em up with guns and bullet time. Short on story but a hell of a lot of fun.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 6, 2018
    10
    Not only is this my favorite game to play in VR... but Mixed Realms Studio should be recognized as most inspiring and cutting edge developersNot only is this my favorite game to play in VR... but Mixed Realms Studio should be recognized as most inspiring and cutting edge developers of the year. I would say I am a fan, but that would sell short how I really feel... like family. Virtual Reality is really just beginning to scratch the surface of how we can game together so everyone is a pioneer at the time in VR life... so for these awesome men and women to not only take a plunge into the unknown of VR, but to make this game on their first full attempt at a AAA Title is mind boggling. The jump system, the slow motion, the running on walls, the sounds, visuals, and immersion are letting you experience a world of danger and excitement without any danger. To think this is only their FIRST attempt at this, is almost unreal. It might seem I'm talking more about the team at Mixed Realms than the actual game, but that only because I want to relay what you really get with this game. You get a small independent team with less resources, less (wo)man power, and yet no shortage of heart or listening. Making for a HUGE team. They have told everyone they are still going to tweak small things and add content here and there to the now finished version of the game... and we have no reason to see them not fulfill those intentions after everything they did with the gamers in Early Access.

    For me and my family at VR Playland they delivered an amazing experience and if you missed out on the early access of Sairento, no worries. Play it now and if you enjoy it we suggest you definitely join any future rides the Mixed Realm family decides to make into the journey of Virtual Reality. Thank you guys and gals truly for your hard work, dedication, unbridled respect, and the most incredible Ninja experience ever had for loving hearts who don't want to be ACTUAL Ninja Assassins :P
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2017
    10
    for an early access game on steam, this VR title throws a lot of heavy punches! i thought the locomotion (jumps, dashes and double jumps)for an early access game on steam, this VR title throws a lot of heavy punches! i thought the locomotion (jumps, dashes and double jumps) would turn me into a walking vomit blender within seconds but surprisingly, it didn't. in fact, i enjoyed it so much that if only i could, i would practically jump about all throughout the game if not for the 'focus' recharge. that's saying a lot considering my motion sickness is towards the really bad side; i can't even look at my phone while in a moving car.

    the double jump feature and movie-like slowmo mechanics are executed beautifully and really throw me into a badass, gun-slinging, katana-yielding ninja mode. the visual concept is very interesting and quite unique (mix of futuristic and traditional japanese elements) but i think the overall graphics can be better in terms of lighting and effects. it would also be great if players can see the main character, maybe at the main menu in the dojo?

    having said that, i'm definitely looking forward to the full launch because the devs are promising some pretty awesome updates and are quite responsive to feedback and comments from the community. my favorite vr game as of the moment!
    Full Review »