Sam & Max Save the World Remastered Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Freelance Police are back in a remastered version of their first season of episodic adventure games, lovingly updated by a small group of the original developers with the blessing of Sam & Max creator Steve Purcell.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 2, 2020
    95
    Sam and Max Save the World looks as great as it sounds. With upgraded visuals, fresh jazzy music, remastered audio across the board, this is the best this game series has ever looked. Bring on Season 2, 3, and beyond.
  2. Dec 2, 2020
    90
    Skunkape have done a fantastic job of refining everything that needed to be updated but have left the prevailing spirit of Sam & Max Save The World untouched. For fans of the genre or for anyone who enjoys absurd irreverent humour, this is a ‘must play’ title that has the capacity to have you in fits of laughter.
  3. Dec 2, 2020
    90
    This is an easy release to recommend to anyone that loves a great adventure game that has been revamped for modern play, but maintains all of the timeless quality and charm it had originally.
  4. Dec 2, 2020
    85
    The remastering of Sam & Max Saves the World is a delightful return to the comedic antics of our crime fighting duo. Some jokes might not land and a lot of puzzles can feel too easy, but the duo’s wit has staying power. Add that with some catchy new tracks and a remastering that makes the game more stylish than less, and you have a proper return to form. If you never had a chance to play Sam and Max Save the World, this is the best way to experience one of Telltale’s first games.
  5. Jan 8, 2021
    80
    This remaster does not do much except adding some controller support, but it does amazing work on the visual and audio segments and just for that it deserves to be in your library even if you still have the original.
  6. Dec 23, 2020
    80
    Sporting improved visual and audio quality, the remastered Sam & Max Save the World lovingly updates the episodic classic, though a few tweaks and changes may leave it just shy of being the definitive version for some longtime fans of the original.
  7. Dec 2, 2020
    70
    Sam and Max Save the World Remastered is just as chuckle friendly as it was when it originally launched. Though some of the writing feels dated, and it's not as difficult as older adventure titles or as engaging as modern ones.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 11 out of 17
  1. Dec 12, 2020
    10
    I just finished playing Sam and max and is really a fun game if you actually want to play the game sure there are time when you get stuck inI just finished playing Sam and max and is really a fun game if you actually want to play the game sure there are time when you get stuck in an area but you will figure it out eventually I also heard about some censored line and Bosco's voice change from the original but to be honest does it really matter, some jokes are still funny and they probably censored the lines to keep the rated T and Bosco's voice doesn't change the game it's just changed so overall the game is really fun and great and I hope the season 2 and 3 also get remasters. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2020
    10
    I like this game because it seems like a mix of many games that I once played, for example cuphead (for the music) minecraft SM (for theI like this game because it seems like a mix of many games that I once played, for example cuphead (for the music) minecraft SM (for the dialogues with NPCs) and the saw puzzle games, it has good graphics, it has a very good soundtrack On top of that, it is relatively cheap and from what I saw it is long, I recommend it, and not only because they censor a joke, you have to give the game 1 rating Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2020
    9
    Absolutely beautiful remake of a fantastic game, and i cant wait to see more! Seeing the game like this is like playing it for the first timeAbsolutely beautiful remake of a fantastic game, and i cant wait to see more! Seeing the game like this is like playing it for the first time again, its superb. I love the new theme song that was composed for it as well, it really encompasses the feel of the franchise. My only gripe would be that playing on the Switch, it is sometimes hard to select the item you want to inspect, but thats mostly on me not wanting to use the touchscreen (listen i snack when i game and i dont want to smudge the screen). This remaster is am excellent experience that I've already reccomended to many of my friends and I'm very excited to see the other seasons get this treatment. I've seen others complain that some jokes were removed, but as someone who played the original version as well, it has no bearing on enjoyment and honestly i didn't notice they were gone until it was pointed out to me. Bosco's voice actor was replaced but honestly theres barely a difference, if you haven't played the originals in a while you might not even notice its not the same guy. Overall this remaster nails it, and I'd definitely give it a chance if you haven't already. Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2021
    1
    Unfortunately the developers decided to censor jokes and fire a voice actor simply because the actor didn't match the color of the character.Unfortunately the developers decided to censor jokes and fire a voice actor simply because the actor didn't match the color of the character.
    Wow, just wow.
    Expand
  5. Dec 4, 2020
    1
    despite having the source of EVERYTHING for the original game, the devs:

    >censored a bunch of jokes in the original game >literally
    despite having the source of EVERYTHING for the original game, the devs:

    >censored a bunch of jokes in the original game

    >literally removed an entire VA and replaced it with a last minute hackjob because muh blackface

    >devs continue to lie about it and pretend like nothing was censored, claiming that they don't even recall what they changed

    >devs double down and antagonize their consumer base for asking questions, creating a show on the steam forums

    >original game was removed from steam and you cannot buy it because it is given away with this subpar remaster

    just use yaaarrrrr methods to obtain and play the original game, and avoid this pozzed remaster
    Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2021
    0
    Excellent graphics, would of been an amazing remake... Ruined by pathetic "censorship" that didn't need to happen. Lines have been removedExcellent graphics, would of been an amazing remake... Ruined by pathetic "censorship" that didn't need to happen. Lines have been removed that was in the original and Bosco's voice actor has been changed due to color (Isn't that in itself racist?.) The guys doing this remake must be wrapped in bubble wrap, a bunch of softie's that get offended by such a thing as humor. Lets pray they don't release any more remasters, even if they do, count me out. Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2020
    0
    what was a good game has been ruined by woke ideology, censorship and voice actors change. stay away from this embarassment.

See all 17 User Reviews