Sam & Max Save the World Remastered Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Freelance Police are back in a remastered version of their first season of episodic adventure games, lovingly updated by a small group of the original developers with the blessing of Sam & Max creator Steve Purcell.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 2, 2020
    95
    Sam and Max Save the World looks as great as it sounds. With upgraded visuals, fresh jazzy music, remastered audio across the board, this is the best this game series has ever looked. Bring on Season 2, 3, and beyond.
  2. Dec 2, 2020
    90
    Skunkape have done a fantastic job of refining everything that needed to be updated but have left the prevailing spirit of Sam & Max Save The World untouched. For fans of the genre or for anyone who enjoys absurd irreverent humour, this is a ‘must play’ title that has the capacity to have you in fits of laughter.
  3. Dec 2, 2020
    90
    This is an easy release to recommend to anyone that loves a great adventure game that has been revamped for modern play, but maintains all of the timeless quality and charm it had originally.
  4. Dec 2, 2020
    85
    The remastering of Sam & Max Saves the World is a delightful return to the comedic antics of our crime fighting duo. Some jokes might not land and a lot of puzzles can feel too easy, but the duo’s wit has staying power. Add that with some catchy new tracks and a remastering that makes the game more stylish than less, and you have a proper return to form. If you never had a chance to play Sam and Max Save the World, this is the best way to experience one of Telltale’s first games.
  5. Jan 8, 2021
    80
    This remaster does not do much except adding some controller support, but it does amazing work on the visual and audio segments and just for that it deserves to be in your library even if you still have the original.
  6. Dec 23, 2020
    80
    Sporting improved visual and audio quality, the remastered Sam & Max Save the World lovingly updates the episodic classic, though a few tweaks and changes may leave it just shy of being the definitive version for some longtime fans of the original.
  7. Dec 2, 2020
    70
    Sam and Max Save the World Remastered is just as chuckle friendly as it was when it originally launched. Though some of the writing feels dated, and it's not as difficult as older adventure titles or as engaging as modern ones.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 12 out of 24
  1. Dec 12, 2020
    10
    I just finished playing Sam and max and is really a fun game if you actually want to play the game sure there are time when you get stuck inI just finished playing Sam and max and is really a fun game if you actually want to play the game sure there are time when you get stuck in an area but you will figure it out eventually I also heard about some censored line and Bosco's voice change from the original but to be honest does it really matter, some jokes are still funny and they probably censored the lines to keep the rated T and Bosco's voice doesn't change the game it's just changed so overall the game is really fun and great and I hope the season 2 and 3 also get remasters. Expand
  2. Jan 2, 2021
    10
    Very beautiful remake and I like it. Vycg7cgidyfyfyfyfyfyfyfyfyfufyfufyfugkfugugufugug
  3. Jan 16, 2021
    9
    Don't listen to the trolls on here. This game is amazing! I hope Skunkape is able to remaster the other two Sam & Max games!
  4. Dec 6, 2020
    2
    Far from epic ,its just weird gameplay with low prodction value , this and the other 3d games didnt need a remaster best be forgotten
  5. Dec 8, 2021
    0
    Imagine South Park got censored. That's this game in a nutshell. A once great game ruined by the new modern cancer known as "politicalImagine South Park got censored. That's this game in a nutshell. A once great game ruined by the new modern cancer known as "political correctness".

    Don't waste your money on this. Get the originals. I wouldn't recommend this if this was free.
    Expand
  6. Dec 29, 2020
    0
    They have ruined a perfect game. The remaster looks amazing, the sound update from the heavily compressed original is great. But, I can notThey have ruined a perfect game. The remaster looks amazing, the sound update from the heavily compressed original is great. But, I can not abide the censorship, nor can I accept the idea of changing jokes because somebody may get offended. I also dislike the new voice actor for Bosco. He is atrocious! He sounds worse than me trying to do a voice over, and I absolutely suck at it!

    I went into details on the multiple reasons why they have decided to censor a lot of the jokes on these three videos:

    I go through all the offensive stuff on the comic, and show footage of "offensive" content from season 1 before the refund, proving that the developers never cared about the Sam and Max

    I simply can not accept this. I have to say, unfortunately, that I will request a refund. Maybe Skunkape can learn to respect the original material, and keep the game as is, or stop remastering absolute classics like Sam & Max games.

    Based on their responses in regards to the Voice Overs, and censored content, I will now refuse to buy season 2 and season 3, if they ever get remastered by them.

    They need to learn that censorship, even if it is 0.1% of the content is bad. And changing the voice of a character because the actor doesn't look like the character he is playing is even worse.

    Look on youtrube for these videos to show the cut content, and evidence of who or how Sam and Max really are and act:

    Part 1: "Sam & Max Remaster Game Censored And Deep Dive Into Some Of The Reasons"
    Part 2: "Sam & Max Remaster Censorship Update: Debunking Some Of Jake Rodkin Arguments For Censoring The Game"
    Part 3: "Skunkape Came Clear With Why They Censored Bosco And Proving Them Wrong With The Comic"

    If you have time to watch only one, watch PART 3.
    Expand
  7. Dec 6, 2020
    0
    The devs, led by controversial social justice warrior Jake Rodkin, maliciously went out of their way to ruthlessly censor the script of any ofThe devs, led by controversial social justice warrior Jake Rodkin, maliciously went out of their way to ruthlessly censor the script of any of it's irreverent charm, which is commonly claimed to be the primary appeal of the classic 90's series "Sam & Max"

    This remaster, which was meant to be a love letter to both the source material and longtime fans, is simply yet another victim of modern day oppressions culture. Everything is offensive. Everything is racist. Nothing is fun.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews