Samurai Shodown Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SAMURAI SHODOWN has enjoyed worldwide success as a blade-wielding fighting game series since its first release in 1993. 11 years have passed since the last series installment, and it is now time for SAMURAI SHODOWN to return in a brand-new game featuring high-end visuals and gameplay!SAMURAI SHODOWN has enjoyed worldwide success as a blade-wielding fighting game series since its first release in 1993. 11 years have passed since the last series installment, and it is now time for SAMURAI SHODOWN to return in a brand-new game featuring high-end visuals and gameplay! Faithfully reproducing the game mechanics and atmosphere that contributed to the success of the series, SAMURAI SHODOWN includes a revolutionary feature that learns from players game actions and patterns in order to create CPU-controlled "ghost" characters. With a story set one year before the very first installment, a diverse cast of returning and new characters cross paths in order to fulfill their destinies!

    * SAMURAI SHODOWN is faithful to the series' roots by delivering the same tense and exhilarating battles that it has always been known for.

    * Using the power of UNREAL® ENGINE 4 the series is able to achieve a level of detail and graphical quality like never before.

    * Using revolutionary Deep Learning AI, the game will learn from player tactics and create Ghost characters which players around the globe can share and fight against.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Samurai Shodown - Return Of A Legend Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jun 25, 2020
    91
    Samurai Showdown is a unique fighter in a world where many games in the genre can feel similar. The slower pace/high damage fighting system is a joy to master and provides players of all skill levels the feeling that they are always in the match, no matter how bad things are going. This, along with a huge range of entertaining fighters, smooth as silk gameplay and a solid PC port means this is a game that fighting fans should at the very least check out.
  2. Jun 26, 2020
    87
    Samurai Shodown (2019) still feels like the game it was when it was released on the console last year. The gameplay is sharp and the essence of the classic series is still very much intact, including its unforgiving brutal nature. The big upgrade with this release is the visuals, which look much sharper on PC than on consoles.
  3. Jun 24, 2020
    85
    Samurai Shodown is the reboot the saga needed and one of the best modern fighting games. It has what is needed to become a competitive title on a par with the best games in the genre. It doesn't have much content for those who enjoy single player, but it has a solid base and a balanced and original combat system.
  4. Jun 15, 2020
    75
    Samurai Shodown delivers an intense, compelling gameplay and offers some really nice characters, but in terms of content the game is a bit poor and the netcode is not smooth as we expected.
  5. Jun 22, 2020
    71
    Samurai Shodown is another worthy entrant into the PC world of beat’em ups. The reasonably short story that plays out is lacklustre, but the action - particularly when playing against others – more than makes up for it. The playing poster isn’t huge, but it does allow for more familiarity with each of the combatants and their skills. With a simple control scheme, some wonderfully vibrant settings and an array of game modes, Samurai Shodown does most things right. Now, if you will excuse me, I’m heading back to the dojo to kick some more ass.
  6. Dec 16, 2019
    70
    It's a glint from the gilded age of SNK. Snappy, easy to learn controls, nice tempo, no endless combos, plenty of time to think and react. Hardcore fans will enjoy familiar moves, but will balk at tons of paid DLC and dated visuals.
  7. Jun 18, 2020
    70
    Samurai Shodown is a breath of fresh air to the series, because of its choice to make the battles more of a duel and not a button mashing frenzy – and I respect that. With each character feeling different enough to make your mind race with possibilities of offensive and defensive strategies, it almost fails because of the timing system.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Sep 2, 2020
    8
    The game itself is really nice, and kind of stays true to the original series, that had it's ups and downs, so have to say this is one of theThe game itself is really nice, and kind of stays true to the original series, that had it's ups and downs, so have to say this is one of the better, if not the best in the entire series, and is quite a welcome revival of the game. The single player don't really have much to offer outside training mode, as the boss in the story is an uninteresting sponge, and the multiplayer suffers a bit from the netcode.

    Season passes were decent at best (season 3 is not out yet at the time of writing) but gotta keep the money coming in somehow)
    Guest chars are never welcome to the series imo, as long as OG'a as Gen-an are left out.. and no matter how much they got for adding Warden and the boring bunny into the game, it weren't enough to justify it (unless it made a season pass 3 possible, and even in that case it's bordering on prostitution)
    It could've been a 9, but currently is an 8.
    Worth the money for any fan of the series.. that is willing to pull down their pants for Epic one time, just don't make it a habit!

    The PC launch, not version, were horrible on the other hand!
    One year after the consoles ..and on Epic to finish off the disaster.. as if it weren't enough that it got released on Stadia before Epic. One can refund the game, but not the season passes, as they are considered my the monkeys at Epic as' consumables' and used when bought.. Wake up Epic! Everyone already hates you.. teach your apes to read! You're not bullying the normal 12 year old Fortnight kids here!
    Expand
  2. Jun 25, 2020
    7
    The pc port is the best version of the game! Very well done but not as good as SoulCalibur
  3. Nov 16, 2020
    5
    I am new to the series and my favourite fighting game is Street fighter 4. The first issue I have with thte game is the graphics. I dont knowI am new to the series and my favourite fighting game is Street fighter 4. The first issue I have with thte game is the graphics. I dont know if it is due to the console porting but the textures oscillate between beautiful to omg they forgot to modify them. The gameplay was meh... I try the stoory mode after 15mn I was bored to death. Online: could not find anyone. => ask forr a refund Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2021
    5
    They didn't adapt controls to keyboard.
    What i mean? In MK 11 you can toggle diagonal input (half or fourth circule). You can't do it here.
    They didn't adapt controls to keyboard.
    What i mean? In MK 11 you can toggle diagonal input (half or fourth circule). You can't do it here.
    Diagonal input isn't very performable on keyboard.

    Refund.
    I will wait 75% discount. The game isn't worth its money.

    5.0
    Is it me or SS V sp is better than this one?
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2020
    1
    Epic yikes Epic yikes Epic yikes Epic yikes Epic yikes Epic yikes Epic yikes