Sanctum (2011) Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 237 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sanctum is a First Person Shooter Tower Defense game where you take the role as Skye, an elite soldier sent out to protect her hometown, Elysion One from hordes of mysterious alien creatures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 1, 2011
    83
    It's an innovative and enjoyable experience and one that I lost myself in as time flew by.
  2. May 16, 2011
    80
    If you enjoy tower defense games, download the trial and give Sanctum a shot immediately - just don't expect the full package to keep you going for a while.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    80
    In short, it's a very good, highly flexible game marred only slightly by an occasionally inconsistent difficulty curve -- and for some people, the lack of narrative progression might put them off progressing through the single-player campaign. Despite these minor issues, however, Sanctum remains a high quality game which the developer remains committed to -- and at the price, it's a complete bargain.
  4. May 3, 2011
    73
    Loads of fun, and it's a decent buy at $14.99. While it could benefit from a wider range of weapons and environments, its engrossing and unusual gameplay makes it a safe bet for any dedicated tower defender.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    May 22, 2011
    70
    Despite some niggles, Sanctum is a solid PC debut for this indie dev. Recruit a friend and get ready to lose a few hours! [June 2011, p.66]
  6. May 2, 2011
    70
    Sanctum isn't for everyone, but for a dedicated pair of FPS/strategy-loving people in the same room, it's a damn fine choice for for a fun weekend of innovative tower defense.
  7. IGN
    May 25, 2011
    50
    Sanctum nicely upgrades Tower Defense genre but unfortunately doesn't dig much fun out of a good idea. [Issue#204]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 76
  2. Negative: 12 out of 76
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    A game I accidentally stumbled upon that mixed two of my favourite gametypes, FPS and Tower Defence. And in same box! Gameplay is reallyA game I accidentally stumbled upon that mixed two of my favourite gametypes, FPS and Tower Defence. And in same box! Gameplay is really smooth and intuitive, after playing 5 minute tutorial you are very much ready to kick some ass and chew bubble gum while at it but it does not take away from the complexity of the game that is the waves of enemies. Easy to learn, hard to master would be a perfect saying for this one.

    The waves of enemies, one of the most important factor of the game wouldn't mind some tweaking though. While the enemies themselves are diverse, you are usually grouped with two types at once only, and even then it can be repetitive of what kind of enemies approach.

    Maps are well built and forces one to think even at lower difficulties, which in this modern time and date is only a welcomed feature. And think you can as the game is divided into two phases, buying and battling ones, so there is no haste when you are building stuff. Overall, excellent game.
    Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    This game is mint! easily the best casual tower defense and FPS game out there, great soundtracks, decent graphics and addictive gameplay,This game is mint! easily the best casual tower defense and FPS game out there, great soundtracks, decent graphics and addictive gameplay, co-op on this game works very well and is fun with a good team Expand
  3. May 29, 2011
    10
    An amazingly fun first person shooter tower defense game that will take hours of your time away, especially when playing with friends. A oneAn amazingly fun first person shooter tower defense game that will take hours of your time away, especially when playing with friends. A one of a kind game! :) Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    A pretty decent job at merging FPS with tower defense. The monsters remind me of the psychotic LSD trip from Zeno Clash. Definitely a blastA pretty decent job at merging FPS with tower defense. The monsters remind me of the psychotic LSD trip from Zeno Clash. Definitely a blast when you are playing with friends who know what the hell they are doing. In all honesty, games like Monday Night Combat and Iron Grip do a better job at this genre, but there's definitely fun to be had here. In-game text-to-speech features some entertaining conversation pieces! Expand
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    7
    Pretty fun TD game. I love shooters and TD games so this fits right in. The combat feels smooth and the graphics are decent enough. The levelPretty fun TD game. I love shooters and TD games so this fits right in. The combat feels smooth and the graphics are decent enough. The level variety is also pretty good and none of the levels feel like they are just a repetition of a previous level. The only downside is that you have to buy the complete pack with all the DLCs if you want a complete game experience. Fortunately, that doesn't cost much more than the base game. Expand
  6. May 11, 2012
    6
    Sanctum combines the classic tower defense game with FPS co-op. The players will build a maze on a map and construct guns of various typesSanctum combines the classic tower defense game with FPS co-op. The players will build a maze on a map and construct guns of various types with various abilities. When the players are ready the spawns start - waves of different monsters will be incoming and the players will have to rely on their weapons and the deployed turrets to kill them and stop them from getting through the maze. When monsters die the players make money, which can be used to upgrade guns or existing turrets or build new ones.

    The game is quite well executed (very few bugs) and the design is thought through and relies heavily on the normal tower defense games. The weapons are neat-looking, works as you expect them to work - you have three of them, a sniper, an assault rifle with grenades and a freezing gun that'll slow monsters. There is a certain variation of maps, but I never felt much of a change when switching between them - as you build the maze yourself, the maps will mostly just provide obstacles for the maze you would like to build. The game, however, got somewhat dull for me rather quickly. The incoming monsters don't offer much variation - the spawn order is random, so sometimes the only thing that can really threaten you is a spawn composed of 3 groups of the same type: as you have been dealing with varied threats you have made maze for varied incoming, so when a full spawn of flyers (that can only be shot by certain types of turrets) for instance show up, your turrets for shooting at the ground will be useless. Therefore the best investment is a high level gun, which turns the game more into a shooter than a builder. Also - maybe it's just my personal shortcomings, but I have a hard time getting beyond a fair percentage of the monsters looking like genitals.

    In Sanctum I never get the "tower defense" experience of leaning back and watching your awesome killing zone at work as I constantly had to rush around killing the monsters that slipped through your maze. Turrets can NOT handle stuff on their own and will gladly fire away at the front of a monster that can only be wounded from behind or pumping hundreds of rounds of lead into the belly of someone who only takes damage from head shots. It's up to you to stop the enemies that will need accurate shots, and after a number of games I was sorely tired of trying to get "head" shots on the wobbly beings with balls on top of their necks. Did I mention that most of the monsters look like genitals?

    Anyhow, Sanctum is a very well executed game that will be immensely funny at first but get rather boring in the long run. If you have some friends who're keen on co-op playing it will be a good purchase though.
    Expand
  7. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    They removed the scoring system and leaderboards for levels in the same patch which makes the game have no replay value. There's much betterThey removed the scoring system and leaderboards for levels in the same patch which makes the game have no replay value. There's much better tower defense games to get. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews