Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jun 29, 2021
    74
    Exceptional action spectacle with grandiose drawings and environments, extremely bizarre monsters and teen drama.
  2. Jun 24, 2021
    70
    Even though the plot devolves into a trope-filled sludge pool by the end, I don’t feel like Scarlet Nexus was a waste of time. Yes, the excitement of combat begins to taper off towards the end of Scarlet Nexus’s twenty-odd-hour runtime--and the areas in the final stretch of the game feel overly long--but I had a good deal of fun mixing up my SAS abilities, crushing enemies in my Brain Field, and watching my team have a video game tournament at our base to settle an argument over living space boundaries. It might not be a new pinnacle of action-game storytelling, but Scarlet Nexus is still plenty of fun in the right places.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 17, 2022
    60
    Scarlet Nexus is its own worse enemy. Bandai Namco is trying to fill game's own shoes with engaging fights and JRPG style story narative, but fails to deliver them in a proper way and especially with consistency. And don't try to play the game with keyboard, you do need a controller.
  4. Jun 25, 2021
    60
    Bandai Namco's latest falls disappointingly short outside of the thrills and spills of its excellent battle system, but your mileage may vary depending on your fondness for anime.
  5. Jun 23, 2021
    50
    Who’s to say what the real, developer-side cause is for Scarlet Nexus’ failings. What was already a mammoth undertaking in crafting a competent-enough hack-and-slash action game that could muscle its way into the spotlight, Bandai Namco’s latest in-house creation is not just inadequate in appeasing long-time fans of the genre, but worse, comes across ignorant of its own player’s time.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Scarlet Nexus is a decent game of two parts, and both have weaknesses. The combat is swish, stylish and usually competent, but there are too many foibles that stop it from feeling like a truly great RPG. The story is vibrant YA dystopian fiction that goes JRPG-cuckoo (in a good, laugh-out-loud way) at the 15 hour mark. But the plot has more holes than a chain-link fence. Why do people on opposing sides of a civil war keep brain-texting each other to make small talk? Why does nobody bring up the very significant murder that occured earlier in the story?
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 121
  2. Negative: 18 out of 121
  1. Jun 26, 2021
    10
    A wonderful plot and gameplay that captivated me for many hours. The only negative that closes all of the above is the narrative that isA wonderful plot and gameplay that captivated me for many hours. The only negative that closes all of the above is the narrative that is present in the game. Full Review »
  2. Jul 14, 2021
    6
    Not that great. Definitely not worth full price and it shocks me how people are rating this. It's honestly one of the most mediocre games I'veNot that great. Definitely not worth full price and it shocks me how people are rating this. It's honestly one of the most mediocre games I've played in virtually every aspect and it's downright terrible in some ways.

    I think people have lowered their standards for "Anime Games" out of subconscious frustration that "Anime Games" usually end up being substandard or almost outright cashcrabs.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 28, 2021
    6
    Si eres otaku te va a mamar.
    Si te gustan los juegos con personajes complejos, historias bien construidas con jiros argumentales únicos e
    Si eres otaku te va a mamar.
    Si te gustan los juegos con personajes complejos, historias bien construidas con jiros argumentales únicos e impresionantes es garantizado que este juego no es lo que buscas, aquí te encontraras con personajes planos incapaces de expresar un sentimiento distinto al que tienen por defecto, una trama extremadamente predecible y diálogos tan sosos que solo puedes pensar en moler a golpes a los personajes, en cuanto a jugabilidad está bien, nada nuevo bajo el sol, combos sencillos y movimientos especiales. En el aspecto grafico se nota mas pulido que otras entregas de bandai.
    La única razón de peso que tengo para terminarlo es que ya lo compre y no lo puedo devolver.
    Full Review »