Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 70
    So while SD Gundam G Generation Cross Days may not be for everyone, I would definitely recommend it to fans of the series and fans of turned based tactics. With all of the series and side stories available to play, not to mention the sheer number of available units, there is more than enough to keep you busy for a long while... and this is just the start. This one has a season pass, and the promise of adding even more suggests that this game may well become a hobby in its own right.
  2. Dec 9, 2019
    70
    SD Gundam G Generation Cross Rays is a solid turn-based strategy game with many different campaigns, but the series and characters included are not the most popular ones.
  3. Dec 3, 2019
    70
    It’s a bit of an odd title, but one that should be relished by Gundam diehards and fans of more casual turn-based strategy alike. Now, if Bandai Namco can start cutting through some of the licensing nightmare so we can get a full Western release of a proper Super Robot Wars title, we’ll be well on our way to a gaming paradise.
  4. Jan 3, 2020
    60
    This game’s high potential is squandered by poor localization and presentation. I could let it go with that usual “fans are gonna love it” cliché, but fans don’t deserve such a badly explained game. It’s like getting a beautiful model kit as a present, with only a hammer to assemble it.
  5. Dec 13, 2019
    60
    It's a game that fans of the series will still most likely enjoy, but outside of that fandom others might find it tough going. Its presentation in cut scenes may make up for a lot of flaws, but those who prioritise gameplay mechanics over story will find their attention draining fast.
  6. Dec 18, 2019
    50
    I found the game very enjoyable in short game-play sessions. The drawn-out missions did play a part in the playability of the game but as luck would have it, I am such a huge Gundam fan I stuck with it. This title does feature Partial Controller support but as the interactions were limited, I found using the mouse and keyboard quicker and more fluid.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jun 7, 2021
    8
    Cross Rays is a solid tactical RPG. The graphics are decent and the soundtrack is excellent. The UI could use more streamlining. CustomizationCross Rays is a solid tactical RPG. The graphics are decent and the soundtrack is excellent. The UI could use more streamlining. Customization options are excellent and the unlocking of new mobile suits and pilots is addicting. Cross Rays stays true to the source material.

    However, I find it odd that the Universal Century (UC) timeline was not included and that there is no 2560 x 1440 (2K) screen resolution support for 1440P gaming rigs. Also, several of the missions crash when undoing a step for your mobile suit and some of them are too long lasting up to a hour overstaying their welcome.

    Overall, Cross Rays is a fun and addicting tactical RPG and a love letter to Gundam fans! Thank you Bandai Namco for bringing Cross Rays to the West!
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 8, 2020
    10
    It good i have lots of fun playing this games the ost is good you shod buy it.
  3. Dec 28, 2019
    1
    I have been a huge fan of Gundam and the G Generation Series since the PS1.

    This game barely improves on the last game (Genesis) and does
    I have been a huge fan of Gundam and the G Generation Series since the PS1.

    This game barely improves on the last game (Genesis) and does not take advantage of the current generation console's features/power. The game's design is poor and offers nothing more than old games from previous generations of consoles.

    The visuals are very unappealing and performs very poorly. Gameplay is poor and just throws bodies at you. There isn't anything challenging about it once you get decent upgrades on your team. It also fails to provide good Quality-Of-Life functions for users that typical Turn Based Strategies games offer.

    There is no reason why this game does not bundle any of the UC series - there isn't nothing technological stopping this from being a DLC for Genesis or to have it all included in this game.

    Save yourself some money and buy a used PS1/2 and a copy of G Generation F.

    If you want something else to play on current gen consoles, play Gundam Vs or Super Robot Wars.

    Tom Create (Developer) is really taking the piss with fans or does not understand video games.
    Full Review »