Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1644 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Your death won’t come easily. Enter the world of late 1500s Sengoku Japan; a brutal, bloody period of constant life-and-death conflict. As tensions rise, a compelling new story unfolds amongst the chaos. Introducing Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, a dark and twisted new gameplay experienceYour death won’t come easily. Enter the world of late 1500s Sengoku Japan; a brutal, bloody period of constant life-and-death conflict. As tensions rise, a compelling new story unfolds amongst the chaos. Introducing Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice, a dark and twisted new gameplay experience developed by the renowned team at FromSoftware and published by Activision. Directed by Hidetaka Miyazaki, Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a third-person, action-adventure game with RPG elements. The single-player game puts players in the protagonist role of a hard-hearted warrior whose mission is to rescue his master, a young lord, and exact revenge on his arch nemesis. As “Sekiro,” or the “one-armed wolf,” players discover the many ways to strategically approach combat and engage enemies. [Activision] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice - Bloody Combat Inside Senpou Temple
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Mar 29, 2019
    100
    The combat system is fantastic and innovative, hellishly difficult, but its humiliation and battle are incredibly fulfilling. Sekiro looks great, moves great, and the design environment and levels are phenomenal.
  2. Mar 31, 2019
    95
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is a magical journey and an experience like no other for every fan of Japanese culture and intense video games. Master Miyazaki did it again.
  3. Apr 5, 2019
    92
    It is a game that will be more to the taste of Bloodborne players than Dark Souls players, but if you enjoy tough yet rewarding gameplay, and an interesting world exploration, filled with scenery and intermittent boss fights, Sekiro will be for you.
  4. Mar 28, 2019
    90
    Boasting the best swordfighting in the business, Sekiro is a game of rare but deserved self-assurance. You’ll despair as it breaks you down, but then you’ll exult as it builds you up. It’s a journey like little else in gaming, and if you’re up for the challenge, you absolutely have to play it.
  5. A new gift from the Software company to the game world.
  6. Mar 21, 2019
    85
    Doubt no more: From Sekiro is a true From Software game, demanding and technical. Despite its not-so-inspired stealth sequences, Sekiro rewards the player each step he/she takes, with visceral sword-fighting and gorgeous landscapes.
  7. Apr 20, 2019
    70
    Jumping off Dark Souls, FromSoftware removed all the best components of its hit series in order to make Sekiro. It's a decent slasher if you like honing reflexes or breaking bricks with your forehead. More casual players will quickly get bored, though.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 76 out of 367
  1. Jan 18, 2020
    10
    I this this is the best game in the world after Dying Light and The Witcher 3
  2. Mar 26, 2019
    10
    This game is a perfect 10. I have spent upwards of 700+ hours playing From Software titles and within 10 hours of playing Sekiro I alreadyThis game is a perfect 10. I have spent upwards of 700+ hours playing From Software titles and within 10 hours of playing Sekiro I already knew just how special this game truly is. It's much of the same but yet so different. Sekiro's story and gameplay are a little more direct than previous From Software titles but they still don't hold your hand and guide you through everything. Concepts like the Dragonrot leave you wondering how your actions can impact the ending (if at all). Some of the mini boss fights were as challenging as boss fights from other games and my first actual encounters with main bosses were exhilarating experiences. The posture system in the game really adds an amazing dynamic to the combat that I find to be a refreshing change. Overall, the game is beautiful and fluid, the combat system rewards stealth and patience but still offers avenues for people who like to play more aggressive, and the story is exactly what I've come to expect with a From Software title. 10/10 - highly recommend to anyone that doesnt have anger management issues and temper problems :D Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2019
    10
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice: Dark Souls the Anime is an excellent game with exceptional, finely tuned combat and great level design that lets itSekiro: Shadows Die Twice: Dark Souls the Anime is an excellent game with exceptional, finely tuned combat and great level design that lets it stand above the rest of From Software's already outstanding catalouge. 10/10 Expand
  4. Oct 4, 2019
    9
    Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an addictive yet challenging and unforgiving journey of clashed swords, gigantic monsters and spilled blood,Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice is an addictive yet challenging and unforgiving journey of clashed swords, gigantic monsters and spilled blood, although sometimes it comes with some unfair camera angles. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2019
    8
    This game was an epic adventure for me. It's meant to be difficult so I won't criticize it for that. But what really made this blade dull wasThis game was an epic adventure for me. It's meant to be difficult so I won't criticize it for that. But what really made this blade dull was the performance. I'm sure I have a competent PC - GTX 1050 4GB, i5 7th gen, 1080p screen, you could try guessing the rest of the specs. But even at the lowest settings and resolution I couldn't touch 60fps. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2019
    5
    Pros:
    -Decent Graphics
    -Good voice acting Cons -Artificial Difficulty -Strange Hitboxes -Low enemy variety -Jerky movement coupled with
    Pros:
    -Decent Graphics
    -Good voice acting
    Cons
    -Artificial Difficulty
    -Strange Hitboxes
    -Low enemy variety
    -Jerky movement coupled with strange animations
    Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2019
    0
    This game is not good at all and it has a bad storyline and also I did not expect that poor from from software.

See all 367 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.