Shadow of the Tomb Raider Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 955 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Experience Lara Croft's defining moment as she becomes the Tomb Raider. In Shadow of the Tomb Raider, Lara must master a deadly jungle, overcome terrifying tombs, and persevere through her darkest hour. As she races to save the world from a Maya apocalypse, Lara will ultimately be forgedExperience Lara Croft's defining moment as she becomes the Tomb Raider. In Shadow of the Tomb Raider, Lara must master a deadly jungle, overcome terrifying tombs, and persevere through her darkest hour. As she races to save the world from a Maya apocalypse, Lara will ultimately be forged into the Tomb Raider she is destined to be.

    FEATURES:

    * Survive and Thrive In the Deadliest Place on Earth: Master an unforgiving jungle setting in order to survive. Explore underwater environments filled with crevasses and deep tunnel systems.

    * Become One With the Jungle: Outgunned and outnumbered, Lara must use the jungle to her advantage. Strike suddenly and disappear like a jaguar, use mud as camouflage, and instill fear in enemies to sow chaos.

    * Discover Dark and Brutal Tombs: Tombs are more terrifying than ever before, requiring advanced traversal techniques to reach them, and once inside they are filled with deadly puzzles.

    * Uncover Living History: Discover a hidden city and explore the biggest hub space ever found in a Tomb Raider game.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Shadow Of The Tomb Raider – PC Technology Trailer | Gamescom 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Sep 10, 2018
    100
    If Uncharted rose to fame with weapons it stole from washed-out Tomb Raider (before its reboot), Shadow of the Tomb Raider grabs them back, making it visually and gameplaywise the most essential action-adventure you can imagine. It not only builds upon the series legacy, it goes to its roots and successfully brings back the exploration that we were busy not to even notice was missing while tackling through many exciting action set pieces of the previous games. Doing so, Shadow of the Tomb Raider is the most poignant entry in the long series since the very first game.
  2. Sep 10, 2018
    90
    There is a noticeable emphasis on the narrative. Although Shadow of the Tomb Raider modifies what we've grown accustomed to within the franchise, the change of pace is welcomed. You'll find pockets of open-world to explore, with tons of side-quests and interactions with NPCs. Don't expect guns-a-blazin', but do expect getting more than you bargained for from this Tomb Raider experience.
  3. Sep 24, 2018
    90
    Some of the physics could have been better, but overall, it’s going to probably be one of the most beautiful games in 2018. It would be interesting to see where the story goes from here. Shadow of the Tomb Raider is the highlight of the series, and topping it will be difficult.
  4. 80
    Despite some frame-rate stutters, slight audio-visual desyncs, and the occasional bad texture rendering, Shadow of the Tomb Raider is eerie, challenging, thoughtful, compelling, and downright fun.
  5. Oct 9, 2018
    75
    The new Tomb Raider shows Lara Croft as an empty character that has nothing inside.
  6. Shadow of the Tomb Raider doesn't have much to offer compared to the recent games. However, if you are a fan of the Tomb Raider series, you will enjoy it.
  7. Oct 11, 2018
    20
    Tomb Raider was personal because it was personal. But now it’s come full circle to yet another vapid videogame character muddling through bad writing, rote familiar gameplay, and fewer features than the last time. Wake me when the next reboot is here.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 250
  1. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Amazing game. Playing on hardest difficulty is so fun.
    -story is better
    -tombs are better -graphics are better -Everything is better than
    Amazing game. Playing on hardest difficulty is so fun.
    -story is better
    -tombs are better
    -graphics are better
    -Everything is better than previous 2 games.

    Best of the trilogy!
    Expand
  2. Aug 7, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A better and dark conclusion to lara's journey, totally worth it. The New Game plus is totally worth it and personally gives the players a good start everytime they start a new game. 10/10 Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2020
    9
    Good graphics
    Great sounds
    Great story
    I think it is a masterpiece
  4. Apr 15, 2019
    7
    As much as I played and enjoyed these games, I hope they stop with the contradictory neurotic tough girl with the bow, and her endless, now,As much as I played and enjoyed these games, I hope they stop with the contradictory neurotic tough girl with the bow, and her endless, now, not at all an origin story, and a million conceits for why she loses her gear and has to construct bows. A person who climbs a mountain dangles from cliffs and takes multiple gunshot wounds does not suddenly break down in tears and give up. Crafting and gear is fun, but there's no reason to always start from stratch.

    I want the bad arse with the mansion, the classy accent and the dual pistols back. I've enjoyed these games, but if this is the story of 'how she became to tomb raider', and it's over: can we have the actual tomb raider now?

    Also, stop with the endless cutscenes, give the players some meaningful choices, and get rid of those damned time trials (every other mechanic is great, but those are grindy and annoying).

    Cinematic is nice, and your story telling is nice (although the overall plot was very similar to the 2nd game), but often with cinematic games it feels like you are just watching a movie with challenges inbetween. Like the things you do have no impact. I enjoyed the story telling it was good, but I grow very tired of games where the player makes no real difference to the game. You have skills, crafting, dialogue, storytelling: Why not go the full hog, make the next one an adventure RPG with meaningful choices, and dialogue options?-
    Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2018
    6
    You can't just change graphics assets and sell it again. Don't become second Bethesda. Yes, there is RTX, but so what? No good gameplay, noYou can't just change graphics assets and sell it again. Don't become second Bethesda. Yes, there is RTX, but so what? No good gameplay, no good story, there isn't anything "Good". Before buying please, reconsider buying something else. This should be just a DLC to the second new Lara. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2019
    6
    Really sad what they did ... Was missed the chance to close the series with party ... I wanted to know the name of the crazy who turned aReally sad what they did ... Was missed the chance to close the series with party ... I wanted to know the name of the crazy who turned a shooting game into exploitation ... Crazy ... Expand
  7. Dec 25, 2020
    0
    This is not only the worst Lara Croft game this game is the one of the worst games I played in years. It is basically a walking simulator.

See all 250 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall

    The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall Image
    Published: August 29, 2018
    Preview over 20 of the most-anticipated video games arriving this fall, including Red Dead Redemption 2, Spider-Man, Fallout 76, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, and more.