User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 202 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 202

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HobarW
    Nov 23, 2009
    6
    Very steep learning curve for this game, expect to be killed almost instantly, over and over. Also, the lack of weapon variety is pretty disappointing. The control system could be substantially better, as well.
  2. DavidW
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Very creative, original, intense FPS. The 360 degrees of movement makes the game infinitely complex -- it's easy to feel underwhelmed by the lack of the usual 50 weapons we've all come to expect; but this is the brilliance of Shattered Horizon: It's simple, yet the well runs deep. The game proves to be highly replayable and engrossing for many, many hours. Probably one of Very creative, original, intense FPS. The 360 degrees of movement makes the game infinitely complex -- it's easy to feel underwhelmed by the lack of the usual 50 weapons we've all come to expect; but this is the brilliance of Shattered Horizon: It's simple, yet the well runs deep. The game proves to be highly replayable and engrossing for many, many hours. Probably one of the underrated games of 2009. Pick up a copy now! Expand
  3. daveM
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    a unique and fun game. I would give it a ~10 dollar value but I'm kind of stingy (got it for 5$ from steam sale). Its a very basic shooter in terms of weapons but the real art of the game comes in the 0 G combat arenas. Graphically great, concept great, just enough game modes to keep me occupied, Wish there were slightly more elaborate levels and wpns to add little more depth to the game.
  4. JacobV
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Shattered Horizon is a really fun game, at a cheap price. After just half an hour, i was having so much fun floating around in space, shooting people. I haven't seen any bugs yet either.
  5. AllenL
    Nov 30, 2009
    5
    this is a unfinished game. first this game is ment to be in 1020 by 780. not really supportive of anything else. second. i see only one real weapon. and its auto only. the controls are a pain and its multiplayer only. grafix are top but the game play isnt. i like a game with a plot.
  6. LoganD
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    I'm not sure where Patrick is getting some of his facts from but this game does indeed have Anti-Cheat running - VAC - so servers are protected quite well. As for the single weapon loadout - while it doesn't match most FPS games where your holding 10 different ones - it is rather realistic for the setting. You're already in a cumbersome space suit so handling weapons in I'm not sure where Patrick is getting some of his facts from but this game does indeed have Anti-Cheat running - VAC - so servers are protected quite well. As for the single weapon loadout - while it doesn't match most FPS games where your holding 10 different ones - it is rather realistic for the setting. You're already in a cumbersome space suit so handling weapons in zero g wouldn't be feasible. The single multi-functional weapon makes a great deal more sense. The gun isn't stuck on full auto either, in all the matches I've played so far in the game players prefer doing burst fire for accuracy rather than hold down the mouse everytime they want to shoot something. I did like the three grenade types that are linked to the rifle - ICE MPR EMP - as they add some interesting tactics to the mix. Fire and EMP onto a point to disable and detach players from the ground then toss in an MPR to throw them clear of the point still disabled. One thing I wish was covered a bit better would be that you can hold the button to 'charge' the grenades so to speak to detonate at longer distances, most new players just tab the button and so they go off within 10m. One thing I have been amazed to see is that Futuremark has been wonderful in talking daily with their playerbase and running a Beta 'Arconauts' program to test out their free DLC's before release. There have been a few patches so far that include almost 90% player's ideas & issues from the game. Voice support will be added in the next patch so that should help those coming from other FPS titles where that is standard - I know I myself was thrown off by the chat only communication. I would rate the game a 9/10 as its well done and is doing something unique rather than following the age old formulas for an FPS title; however, the dedication they have to their community and actually taking and implementing user feedback makes this game a perfect 10/10 in my eyes. If they keep at it all the problems and missing components will be fixed and the game will be quite wonderful to play both competitively and casually. Expand
  7. jamila
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    Great game, very innovative. Awesome gameplay. One of the best community support ever. Give credit to FM, they really give their best on this project. With furhter DLC coming up, it is on par with TF2 and other big fps games. Recommend it to anyone that likes space and FPS, best combo ever
  8. Brian
    Dec 3, 2009
    10
    It really is a great game and this is a game thats just getting started. It will take a while for a larger player base to join in but even now it is already growing at a very steady pace. Sure there might not be a massive variety of levels or anything but again this is a game in its infancy. They already are working on several new amazing features to add loads of excitement and additional It really is a great game and this is a game thats just getting started. It will take a while for a larger player base to join in but even now it is already growing at a very steady pace. Sure there might not be a massive variety of levels or anything but again this is a game in its infancy. They already are working on several new amazing features to add loads of excitement and additional gameplay. If you enjoyed games like Counter Strike and Team Fortress, then this is really a game you should pick up. A few people I know have said its almost like Counter Strike in Zero G. Expand
  9. KevinB
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    It is awesome! I have herd it called the next counter strike. It's like a combination of CS, COD, and Moonraker.
  10. MarkoG
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    This, for sure, is one of my favorite games. The controls are extremely simple to learn, unless you are a hardcore fps gamer that plays 8 hours a day. I personally think that having only 1 gun is magic. Having lots of guns and mods can be totally daunting and there are certain combinations that are extremely overpowered(Im looking at YOU, CoD MW2.) Having only 4 maps is a slight This, for sure, is one of my favorite games. The controls are extremely simple to learn, unless you are a hardcore fps gamer that plays 8 hours a day. I personally think that having only 1 gun is magic. Having lots of guns and mods can be totally daunting and there are certain combinations that are extremely overpowered(Im looking at YOU, CoD MW2.) Having only 4 maps is a slight dis-advantage, but after playing for a couple hours, just flip upside down and it is a whole new map! I enjoy the game having such high requirments. Basically everyones computer dosn't suck and there is minimal lag. I also like to just somtimes stop, and look out into space, the graphics are amazing. Plus if you have any suggestions, they have an open, active forum you can post on. If Futuremark studios just opened some modding options, it would complete the game for me. This title is extremely original and innovative. I would say a must own if your computer can play it. Expand
  11. NickA.
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Original. Simple. Executed to near perfection. Most exciting player mobility since Tribes. A child from the Space Age - who dreamed about being an astronaut - would never forgive you for not trying this virtual-space cops v. robbers.
  12. DavidM
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    A awesome and incredibly immersive game, extremely well done by a passionated team and it shows. Some criticize the game's lack of content (including maps). While understanding the frustration of a CS player to have only 4 maps too chose for, you must play to realize that a 3D 6DOF map has nothing to do with a classic 3D 4DOF map : The possibilities are huge! After a month playing on A awesome and incredibly immersive game, extremely well done by a passionated team and it shows. Some criticize the game's lack of content (including maps). While understanding the frustration of a CS player to have only 4 maps too chose for, you must play to realize that a 3D 6DOF map has nothing to do with a classic 3D 4DOF map : The possibilities are huge! After a month playing on the same 4 maps, I discover every day new routes or cool spots. Game's intense shadows contrasts and silent mode add another additional dimension to gameplay: stealth and that makes the map more complicated. Furthermore, additional content will be offered free to the community I give 10 to this game because it brings into play all that I ever dreamed with a perfect realization. Finally something new in the world of FPS ! Expand
  13. RossD
    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    Great game! I was skeptical when I first got it, especially when I noticed there was no single player. However, even with the learning curve, I was hooked within 5 minutes. Note that this game does take a long time to learn. It's not your normal FPS and there are a LOT of things you will have to rethink, like not holding W to go forward as you can be stealthy and drift. The freedom Great game! I was skeptical when I first got it, especially when I noticed there was no single player. However, even with the learning curve, I was hooked within 5 minutes. Note that this game does take a long time to learn. It's not your normal FPS and there are a LOT of things you will have to rethink, like not holding W to go forward as you can be stealthy and drift. The freedom of movement and looking makes for a interesting experience too, and, you guessed it, more learning. But don't let the originality stop you from getting this game, it really is great. Also, on a side note, Futuremark Games has the best support in the gaming industry HANDS DOWN! Just go look through the forums and you will see how active the devs are in answering questions and releasing updates to satisfy requests. Expand
  14. FrazerS
    Nov 25, 2009
    5
    Lack of in-game voice chat and selectable weapons makes what would have been a good game simply mediocre. Every MP FPS that I play heavily relies on voice chat for team and inter-team communication. Sure, 3rd party team chat apps work - but then the isolation feature with "silent running" is defeated. The developers stated that this was "not a priority". I wonder if it was really because Lack of in-game voice chat and selectable weapons makes what would have been a good game simply mediocre. Every MP FPS that I play heavily relies on voice chat for team and inter-team communication. Sure, 3rd party team chat apps work - but then the isolation feature with "silent running" is defeated. The developers stated that this was "not a priority". I wonder if it was really because they could not figure out how to do it in the first place, Expand
  15. WesleyG
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    I think this game is the perfect choice for someone who likes to feel their skill plays a part in their success. With free roam over the entire area rather than just walking on the ground as any usual FPS, you get far more ability to evade, snipe and just whoop some spatial but. I think knowing how skilled some people are, given a few days of game play to get used to the controls I think I think this game is the perfect choice for someone who likes to feel their skill plays a part in their success. With free roam over the entire area rather than just walking on the ground as any usual FPS, you get far more ability to evade, snipe and just whoop some spatial but. I think knowing how skilled some people are, given a few days of game play to get used to the controls I think some people will find it quite the challenging and testing experience to play. Perfect for people who do NOT want to be babied into having things so simple a 2 years old could play them. Develop skills and use them... Prove how good you really are. Expand
  16. pauls
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    This game is really fun, it has a sharp learning curve and quite honestly, I stink at it, but I enjoy the visuals while my brains are getting spilled to vacuum. I've been waiting for years for a space shooter like this.
  17. PatrickM
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    Feels like a beta game to me. I like how this game allows you to move freely about. The extra dimension gives you alot more flexibility when planning a strategy, and the graphics are awesome. It breaks the mold when it comes to strategy, but feels like all other fps innovations (and some basics) that have happened over the years were thrown out the window. I like how theyve made the Feels like a beta game to me. I like how this game allows you to move freely about. The extra dimension gives you alot more flexibility when planning a strategy, and the graphics are awesome. It breaks the mold when it comes to strategy, but feels like all other fps innovations (and some basics) that have happened over the years were thrown out the window. I like how theyve made the controls easy to use but hard to master, but this just may be a side-effect of the 'full' 3d implementation (ability to move freely on all axes). It was frustrating at first but i finally got used to it. Though i do believe they should add a tips screen or 'gasp' some tutorials to make it a bit easier for ppl to grasp. The lack of different classes was kind of refreshing, everybody has the same kit. And choosing what your team needs vs whats fun is not an issue like it can be in some other games. But when the 1 weapon you do have sucks it is a bit disappointing. The weapon is stuck in full auto, except for when you are using the scope, then it fires 10 round bursts. And the scope is lackluster at best (no zoom just a scope). I hope they update this in a later patch. The games lack of any anti-cheat also was an unwelcome occourence. Not that i like programs like punkbuster running all the time (which i dont) but in this case id rather have it be there. This game is still pretty small (only 5-6 servers full last weekend) and its hard to just avoid them. And i have yet to see any server admins to issue the banhammer. Ill give it an 9 for what it is right now, all that it really needs it a bit of polish, and none of the issues are all that great in the scope of things. And id rather support an indie developer with a good idea, than keep throwin money at studios that keep making the same cookie cutter game over and over again. Expand
  18. Nov 6, 2010
    9
    A fun little game. First of all, the game is truly beautiful, and it cam seem so lonely if you turn your suit system off, leaving you with a silent emptiness. It has a fair amount of balance but it'd pretty hard to get a skillful kill. Has a bit of a learning curve but in the end, it's a blast. Maybe the only thing that's missing is HAL 9000!
  19. Mar 3, 2011
    9
    Worth every cent, love total freedom of movement and gfx are awesome, replay value is getting better because of bots and awesome new friends.

    Just hope that they will continue supporting game.
  20. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    When I first bought Shattered Horizon, it was awesome looking, but limited. I would have given it a seven or eight. I liked the idea of it more than actually playing it, so I didn't play that much.

    Since then, Newmark has continued to add features and refine it. Originally, each astronaut had an assault rifle, grenade launcher, and ice pick. Then they added sniper rifle, SMG, MG, and
    When I first bought Shattered Horizon, it was awesome looking, but limited. I would have given it a seven or eight. I liked the idea of it more than actually playing it, so I didn't play that much.

    Since then, Newmark has continued to add features and refine it. Originally, each astronaut had an assault rifle, grenade launcher, and ice pick. Then they added sniper rifle, SMG, MG, and shotgun. That was great, but I still got my butt kicked every single time. The other multiplayer players were a lot better than me. Playing was more fun, but kind of humiliating.

    One day, I noticed they had added bots to multiplayer servers. These were bots I could actually kill. I could go to an unpopulated bot server and actually play at my level. Recently, late March 2011, they just added single player versus bots for all gametypes. This is great because now I can practice on my own without repetitive death syndrome (RDS) kicking in.

    FPS in three dimensions is kind of a new thing. It takes getting used to. The ability to groom with single player is great. The only reason I have not given this a ten is because full keymapping is not yet implemented. That is to say that I cannot map certain actions to certain punctuation keys like semi-colon or apostrophe. If you have a more standard preference like WASD, this will not be a problem. However, all mine center around comma and period as left and right strafe, low on the keyboard. Low on the keyboard because I am a Tyrannosaurus Rex and I have tiny arms, you know.

    The game is very sharp-looking. The amount of music is limited, but quite amazing and perfect for the game. I think the theme is very memorable. The levels are okay. I'm not a big fan of the idea of the moon having exploded, but that's a decent enough excuse for gobs of asteroids and twisted space stations orbiting Earth.

    The rendering of Earth is beautiful and underscores our insignificance in the grand scheme of things. Looking down on our "big blue marble," we are filled with wonder and the desire for peace for all mankind. It was our nobler qualities that brought us up here to receive this gravely important understanding. But then a command is barked in your ear, and you are reminded of your objective as the enemy closes in.
    Expand
  21. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Despite the screams of anguish of certain melodramatic reviewers, this actually works very well on 64-bit Windows 7, if you have reasonably powerful hardware, so don't let that fear deter you from trying this excellent competitive shooter. This is only a team death match game, and it does that extremely well. The recently added single-player mode is a great way to practice your navigation,Despite the screams of anguish of certain melodramatic reviewers, this actually works very well on 64-bit Windows 7, if you have reasonably powerful hardware, so don't let that fear deter you from trying this excellent competitive shooter. This is only a team death match game, and it does that extremely well. The recently added single-player mode is a great way to practice your navigation, shooting, and avoidance skills. You'll need all the practice you can get because this game is all about skill and tactics. You don't get overpowering space bazookas and area of effect weapons. You have to be able to aim and you have to be able to do it as you're drifting in space and turning along three axes. And you need to be aware of your environment because the enemy can sneak up on you from any direction, including above or below you, and there are plenty of places where they can hide. It would be interesting to see this game expanded to have more roles, like the usual medics and engineers, or to add things like mines or defensive structures, or lockable doors/gates, etc., but the game is suspenseful and frantic enough that you don't really miss them when you're in the fray. The game is worth having just for the ambiance of the space combat. I don't know of any other game that gives you this, and the bar is set pretty high for anyone who wants to compete on this level. Expand
  22. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice idea for a game, but it lacks content and community. Servers are empty and it gets very boring fighting bots all time. From a cheap sale its worth trying out. Expand
  23. AdrianVB
    Dec 18, 2009
    4
    I played this game for about 2 weeks after release day, and the player count has been steadily falling. Any positive points I could give it are soon taken away when you realize the developers have no interest in keeping it alive. Sure the graphics are pretty and the space idea is neat, but the game has so little content that it basically killed itself. I also find it silly that it takes I played this game for about 2 weeks after release day, and the player count has been steadily falling. Any positive points I could give it are soon taken away when you realize the developers have no interest in keeping it alive. Sure the graphics are pretty and the space idea is neat, but the game has so little content that it basically killed itself. I also find it silly that it takes roughly 30 bullets to kill a person, while a melee can kill in one swipe. The community is also full of immature little kids and teamkillers. Expand
  24. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    The realistic graphics six-degrees of freedom and addictive game play are what makes this game great. The only down side is the lack of players due to the need for a good graphics card and a strong computer. With the recent additions of new weapons the game is becoming more and more expansive and some say that a story mode is on the way. Even with the small down sides this is stillThe realistic graphics six-degrees of freedom and addictive game play are what makes this game great. The only down side is the lack of players due to the need for a good graphics card and a strong computer. With the recent additions of new weapons the game is becoming more and more expansive and some say that a story mode is on the way. Even with the small down sides this is still arguably the best multi-player first-person shooter in video gaming history. Expand
  25. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    Shattered Horizon is a multi-player shooter that has lost its critical mass of players. The remaining experts will instantly ream any newcomers, and there isn't a single player campaign to practice, so the game is pretty much dead. My first impression was that Shattered Horizon should have been a Quake or Half-Life mod, and that I would rather be playing a Quake or Half-Life mod.
  26. Nov 5, 2011
    0
    Windows 7 users beware, this is a totally useless program. I was looking forward to playing this, and it won't even play on my laptop! Worthless, and the game designers are quite aware most users are running Windows 7 and most are running 64bit! C'mon! I would give this trash a negative ZERO, but they just don't let you rate it that low. Most usually why steam had it on sale!
  27. Oct 13, 2012
    8
    I've never actually played this so I gave it a score of it's current user average so as not to skew its score. I am just wondering how an SMG is supposed to be fired in a weightless atmosphere? Since every action has an opposite and equal reaction, wouldn't this result in your body being recoiled backwards with the same force as the bullet?
  28. Aug 31, 2013
    8
    Beautiful, beautiful graphics, familiar counter strike sort of gameplay, innovative environmental mechanics. Wish they'd included a 40min mini-campaign with it and, as of 2013, practically no people on the servers. Hope the game resurrects itself with the advent of Oculus Rift and such.
  29. JeremyH
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    the multiplayer is great. I mean it would be better if there were more guns. The maps are fun, but maybe a campaign be good.
  30. GeoffreyP
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    I participated in the beta of this game. I had loved the concept, and thought it was one that was long overdue. However, as much as I think they implemented a good system for maneuvering around in zero-g, and the graphics looked good. It suffered from some serious problems. The largest issue was that there are two types of game, a couple variations on control point maps (attack/defend, I participated in the beta of this game. I had loved the concept, and thought it was one that was long overdue. However, as much as I think they implemented a good system for maneuvering around in zero-g, and the graphics looked good. It suffered from some serious problems. The largest issue was that there are two types of game, a couple variations on control point maps (attack/defend, everyone trying to capture all points) and what is essentially a deathmatch mode. These were really limiting I felt. I thought, that the novelty of the zero-g element was that, something of a novelty. While I thought it was important for someone to execute something like this, I felt it didn't make for a whole game. It needed something campaign-y or something to prevent it from being run of the mill in other ways. The fact that the game modes are so limited really sort of ruins what is otherwise really excellent. Perhaps with further updates, more game modes, or something genuinely novel in terms of gameplay, something that compliments the neat quality of zero-g and the beautiful vistas in the game (pun not intended), it will turn into a great game. If they ever offer a demo I reccomend trying it, or a free weekend at steam I'd definitely take a look if you have a directx 10 system that can run it. It is relatively inexpensive at 20.00USD, so it's not too big a bite to buy it, but I'm not sure I'll play it that much, even with the beta testers discount I felt as though the money may not have been well spent. It's fun to play briefly...and lays a groundwork for something really cool. Hopefully the potential will be realized. Expand
  31. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    This game has a lot of reviews referring to pre-patch versions, there is a nice array of diverse weaponry now. All have pros and cons. Also several new maps have been added, making the tech demo this game released as a coherent, complete game a year later. It works flawlessly on windows vista and 7, any reports of unplayability on 7 should be long since rectified, unless they run outdatedThis game has a lot of reviews referring to pre-patch versions, there is a nice array of diverse weaponry now. All have pros and cons. Also several new maps have been added, making the tech demo this game released as a coherent, complete game a year later. It works flawlessly on windows vista and 7, any reports of unplayability on 7 should be long since rectified, unless they run outdated drivers. The graphics are rediculously good even by late 2011 standards, completely AAA sound and video, the only thing this game lacks is an online player base. I play in the PST timezone (california) and there is rarely more than one server of players on after 8-9pm. During the day there are some great matches I just wish there were more going on. They have also added a bot system to make single player practice feasible during multiplayer downtime. They have varying difficulties and aim pretty well, almost too well, but their static objectives kinda remind you you're playing alone. Expand
  32. May 18, 2011
    7
    Zero G capture the flag first person shooter. Somewhat fun once you get your keyboard controls squared away. The default setup is difficult if not impossible to not get sea sick. Expect a few rounds of disorientation until you figure it out. Regardless, no online players make this a game to avoid.
  33. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    For what it offers, Shattered Horizon is actually quite good. The controls (though in need of a little tweaking) are relatively well thought out and flow nicely with the 360 degree environment. While it does take a bit of a learning curve, it's pretty easy to get the hang of as long as you aren't lagging graphically. It does take a pretty heavy toll on slightly older cards, but still runsFor what it offers, Shattered Horizon is actually quite good. The controls (though in need of a little tweaking) are relatively well thought out and flow nicely with the 360 degree environment. While it does take a bit of a learning curve, it's pretty easy to get the hang of as long as you aren't lagging graphically. It does take a pretty heavy toll on slightly older cards, but still runs beautifully at maximum settings with newer variants. The small number of maps does make it feel a bit like a demo, but it's got enough substance there to warrant spending 5 or 10 bucks to get it on sale (It's been featured several times in Steam's Christmas and summer sales).

    Overall it isn't as complex or full-featured as Battlefield or Team Fortress, but it's still quite nicely done and should bring decent players a lot of casual fun.
    Expand
  34. Jun 10, 2014
    6
    Tal vez no sea un gran juego pero sí que la propuesta es muy interesante, es una de las primeras veces que he sentido la sensación de estar en el espacio de verdad y tener que gestionar las 3D reales en un FPS. Vale la pena probarlo, aunque sea prestado.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    80
    Thanks to it numerous upgrades, zero-g shooter is an excellent game nowadays. Pity that no one plays it any more. [June 2011]
  2. PC Games (Russia)
    Mar 21, 2011
    65
    For all its achievements, Shattered Horizon is too small and limited to fall in love with. [Apr 2011, p.103]
  3. It's very thrilling for a short time, but the limited amount of weapons and levels will bring you back down to earth quite fast. It's still a dynamic and action-packed shooter with great graphics, but doesn't offer much in the long term.