Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 16, 2021
    100
    Sherlock Holmes Chapter One is gorgeous in graphics, with in-depth gameplay mechanics, and a deep, emotional story about mental health and trauma compile it into the masterpiece that it is.
  2. Nov 16, 2021
    90
    Well-written dialogue and central plot, clever cases to be investigated, equally clever humorous touches balanced by some genuinely dark elements, extensive customization of the difficulty to prevent any notion of hand-holding, always coupled with the gorgeous isle of Cordona and touches of familiar Sherlock lore. Regardless of the genre one chooses to place it in, Sherlock Holmes Chapter One is a really good, perhaps even excellent game.
  3. Nov 15, 2021
    85
    This is easily my favourite game of the year. I haven’t been this captivated by Holmes since I began reading the original works by Doyle.
  4. Nov 15, 2021
    85
    Sherlock Holmes Chapter One is one of the very best series installments, thanks to a great story powered by solid writing, charming characters, varied cases, and new open-world gameplay mechanics that fit incredibly well. While some of these mechanics do require a little tweaking, such as combat, Chapter One is a very solid game that no fan of the series or adventure games should pass on.
  5. Dec 2, 2021
    83
    As an innovative work, Sherlock Holmes Chapter One still has some problems, but it doesn't have much to criticize in terms of overall gameplay and storyline. In the category of "Detective and Mystery Solving", such a game is rare for the players today.
  6. Nov 15, 2021
    83
    In Chapter One we don't puzzle as intensely as in Crimes and Punishment, but we sink into Holmes' world more seamlessly than ever.
  7. Nov 22, 2021
    81
    The PC version of Sherlock Holmes Chapter One avoids the frame drops and other glitches that some PS5 owners experienced with the console release, and gives us a fairly good detective game, with several culprits to find in a beautifully crafted turistic island. Fans of Sherlock Holmes might discover a quite different hero from the one they are accustomed to, but the overall experience of Chapter One is absolutely pleasant.
  8. Nov 30, 2021
    80
    Sherlock Holmes: Chapter One is the best detective game from Frogwares. It blends the open world of The Sinking City and an emotional story of a young genius and adds the beautiful environment of the city of Cordona. My only wish for next time? Get rid of the combat.
  9. Nov 26, 2021
    80
    The doors of Sherlock’s decrepit, abandoned family manor unlock for him as he remembers more, slowly piecing together what happened to his mother. You can populate this place with paintings, furniture and possessions, filling out its character and history, a decent metaphor for your progress through the story and the game. This is a lively world, with wonderful smaller mysteries and an overarching story that brings you closer to its famous main character and his personal history. While there are some technical issues, and the game understandably lacks the glossy polish of bigger-budget titles, this is nonetheless something that I’ve been wanting for a long time: a properly open-world interactive detective story.
  10. Nov 16, 2021
    80
    Despite some rough edges, Sherlock Holmes: Chapter One has its heart in the right place. Frogwares is taking the classic Sherlock mythos and spinning off some impressive original work here. The story is well-presented, with the partnership between Sherlock and Jon particularly pleasant. Other cases show some interesting new puzzle types that I have not yet seen before. Whilst the two strengths of this title are separate, which annoys me somewhat, it’s the annoyance I feel when a game is a few decisions short of me showering it in unqualified praise. As it stands, Sherlock Holmes: Chapter One is a standard-setter for open-world mystery games.
  11. Nov 15, 2021
    80
    An island full of riveting mysteries, stuck with some truly awful and jarring combat.
  12. Nov 15, 2021
    80
    With a strong narrative and exceptional investigation mechanics, Sherlock Holmes Chapter One manages to one-up its predecessors. Sadly, it also doesn't reach its full potential, though we can hope that future titles are more in-depth.
  13. Nov 15, 2021
    80
    The strength of Frogwares previous works is retained within more ambitious, freeform packaging. Sherlock Holmes: Chapter One can be abrasive, both in gameplay terms and in its depiction of an iconic character, but it offers such rich and rewarding depth to its detective drama that it’s much easier to accept.
  14. Nov 15, 2021
    75
    For its ambitious prequel, Frogwares relied on an open world that enjoys a rather generous scope for a wide range of surveys. These also give the game a very solid lifespan. On the other hand, the proposal proves difficult to measure up on a technical level, with slowdowns, rigid animations and clipping in support. More engaging in its second part, Sherlock Holmes: Chapter One offers progressive dynamism and a commendable conclusion. The heart of the adventure lies in its clues to be connected and the accusations to be made, which follow a pattern of investigation which, however, runs out of steam too quickly.
  15. Nov 29, 2021
    72
    While not perfect, Sherlock Holmes: Chapter One provided an incredibly entertaining and challenging experience that detective fans, especially Sherlock Holmes fans, will be happy to experience.
  16. Nov 17, 2021
    71
    The shift of the series to an open world formula is a bit of a missed opportunity, but as a detective adventure Sherlock Holmes: Chapter One works well both in terms of writing and gameplay.
  17. Nov 19, 2021
    70
    Sherlock Holmes: Chapter One is a very good detective game. It gives us the illusion of being a true master detective. The game world is a great alternative to London. Sadly, there’s one serious flaw: Chapter One is too easy with barely any real puzzles around. However, it’s still a must-have for any fan of Sherlock Holmes, if only to see how the young Holmes became the Detective we all love.
  18. Nov 17, 2021
    70
    Frogwares tries to do a bit too much and there a some annoying bugs left, but this new entry in the franchise still offers some interesting innovations for the fans, and becomes a great entry to discover Sherlock Holmes' video game adventures.
  19. 70
    On one hand, there are aspects that are brilliant and can fill you with great satisfaction when every piece of the puzzle falls into place. On the other hand, when the immersion is broken by obnoxious or random ways of finding the next clue, you’ll find your enjoyment of each case diminished.
  20. Nov 22, 2021
    65
    Sherlock Holmes Chapter One satisfies the need for an immersive detective simulator but fails to provide a conclusive result that shows the truth behind some of its mysteries.
  21. Nov 15, 2021
    40
    Sherlock Holmes Chapter One takes the series in a completely opposite direction of its predecessors, souring its potential in favor of adding gameplay elements that pad runtime and take away from the investigations. Fans of the series may find some joy in getting to experience the original content or solving clues the hard way, but I was certainly not one of them.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sherlock Holmes Chapter One is somehow both the best game that I have ever played while also being as smart as a bag of rocks. What happened to Mrs Holmes is, on many levels, best left unsaid, but it is almost exactly a literal view of that Charlie Day conspiracy board image: a complex web of clues and plotting that is impressive in its execution, yet embedded with idiocy. It is the silliest thing I have ever loved and enjoyed; the best thing I have ever ridiculed. I wish it every success while also hoping that it is screencapped in a million joke tweets. I cannot wait to finish all the side cases I have left over, and I will laugh at every two out of three of them. I cannot explain it more than this, reader. Which is why I am not a real detective. And also why Sherlock Holmes isn't, either.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 53
  2. Negative: 12 out of 53
  1. Nov 17, 2021
    10
    Just my favorite game ever: great story, interesting characters. I feel being a real detective.
  2. Nov 17, 2021
    10
    Fantastic writing, interesting search system, beautiful graphics, movement, and the open world! Enjoying every movement of Sherry). The bestFantastic writing, interesting search system, beautiful graphics, movement, and the open world! Enjoying every movement of Sherry). The best of Frogwares Sherlock series. Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2021
    9
    It's good for what it is . Quests are a lot of fun. Though technical issues and some gameplay mechanics are outdated or plain ineffective.