Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 22, 2022
    100
    Shovel Knight Dig isn’t just a cash-in on the series’ popularity. It’s a game that stands on its own merits as a worthy prequel to the original. The titular hero’s moveset translates perfectly to a more vertical orientation, and Nitrome’s bite-sized level design makes full use of Yacht Club’s well-established gameplay style. The 16-bit-style visuals and music are an absolute treat, especially for fans of the series, and the roguelike elements present a nice sense of progression and replayability. Shovel Knight Dig might not be the exact sequel that fans have been clamoring for, but it’s the next best thing.
  2. Sep 23, 2022
    90
    Shovel Knight Dig, while far from being the furthest departure from the franchise’s classic gameplay, still manages to be a unique experience thanks to the unique twist of having to use a platforming move set to make progress by traversing vertical space. The Shovel Knight gameplay is still as crisp as ever, and Shovel Knight Dig’s story and progression systems do a great job of staying out of the way, and ultimately encouraging you to try one more run.
  3. Sep 22, 2022
    90
    Shovel Knight Dig is the perfect first roguelike, packed full of that tasty Shovel Knight gameplay we all know and love.
  4. Sep 22, 2022
    90
    Small complaints aside, Shovel Knight Dig is still a fantastic game. It deftly mixes Shovel Knight mechanics with rogue-like elements, to create a game that's more than the sum of its parts.
  5. Sep 22, 2022
    86
    Shovel Knigh Dig is another success in the universe of created by Yacht Club Games, a roguelite that, without straying too far from the formula of the genre and what we have seen in other Shovel games, manages to give it a twist to make it feel fresh. And it succeeds. Guaranteed joy for lovers of the most agile and casual roguelite.
  6. Sep 22, 2022
    85
    Shovel Knight Dig manages to marry a lot of the best parts of the roguelite genre with the quirks of the Shovel Knight series.
  7. Sep 29, 2022
    80
    Because most of my eight hours with Dig were spent spelunking through stages leading down, I rarely had to think about the game’s roguelite efforts. I spent most of my time playing through beautiful stages to the tune of chippy synth tunes, fascinated with how far Nitrome and Yacht Club were able to stretch the “dig” aspect of this game. Perhaps the roguelite nature of Dig will play a bigger role in my post-game excavations because I’m rearing to jump back in to discover all of its secrets. Even if it doesn’t, though, I know I still have at least a few more hours of great Shovel Knight gameplay ahead of me and in the world of platforming, that’s a treasure worth digging up.
  8. Sep 28, 2022
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  9. Sep 26, 2022
    80
    Shovel Knight Dig is definitely worth playing for both platformer and roguelike fans. The twist on the Shovel Knight formula makes Shovel Knight Dig feel fresh, despite the mostly unchanged controls from the original. The fair random elements and generous meta-progression make it a good entry point for platformer fans unfamiliar with roguelikes, whereas hardcore roguelike fans can enjoy the tough bosses and challenges required to get the True Ending. Although the main campaign may seem rather brief, it’s a blast while it lasts, and an easy recommendation.
  10. Sep 23, 2022
    80
    Shovel Knight Dig is a wonderful melding of the mechanics and feel of Shovel Knight and the ever evolving roguelite genre. It stumbles a bit on its roguelite progression mechanics, and its a bit on the short side, but none of that stops Shovel Knight Dig from being a blast to play.
  11. Sep 22, 2022
    80
    While not packed with content, Shovel Knight Dig is rich in quality. Charming pixel artwork combined with excellent level chunks and tight gameplay make it well worth the hours spent.
  12. Sep 22, 2022
    80
    The original retro platformer was tough-as-nails at parts, but all the more rewarding for it. Shovel Knight Dig takes everything that was great about that game and pulls it apart, reshaping it into something new that's just as compelling and hard to put down.
  13. Sep 29, 2022
    74
    Shovel Knight Dig is a fun little rogue-lite. While it took me over ten hours to beat, I know better, more rogue-lite skilled players will not need as much time. I did not encounter bugs or errors with my time; but more than a few of what felt like unfair deaths. The chaotic gameplay of Dig makes it hard to see how great the pixel art is at times, but being able to literally slow down the gameplay or adjust my health and damage output makes it easier to appreciate the visuals. I can see myself returning to Shovel Knight Dig in a few months just to give it another spin, but the overall replay did not entice me back immediately.
  14. Sep 27, 2022
    70
    Shovel Knight Dig is more Shovel Knight. The basic gameplay and boss fights are the stars of the show, and they more than make up for the ways that the game struggles in its capacity as a roguelite. It’s got a healthy supply of that just-one-more-attempt magic, which should serve folks hankering for more shovel-swinging action just fine. The irony remains that Shovel Knight Dig is just not exceptionally deep.
  15. Sep 22, 2022
    70
    Shovel Knight Dig punches above its spin-off weight class, even if its roguelike elements are a little modest.
  16. Sep 22, 2022
    70
    I had hoped that Dig would be an adventure on par with the original Shovel Knight, but instead, it feels like every bit the spin-off and side story that it is. It's certainly not a bad game, but fans for hoping for a more substantial adventure will have to dig a little deeper.
  17. Sep 29, 2022
    65
    For me Shovel Knight Dig is the blandest of all games starring the blue knight. It does everything decently as a 2D roguelike platformer but fails to impress in any way and I would only recommend it to those fans of Shovel Knight who have already played all previous entries to the franchise.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 22, 2022
    Compact and terrifying, this score-attack shooter feels like it's come from the future. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Sep 22, 2022
    Shovel Knight Dig doesn’t strike me as a game that’ll demand dozens of hours to see it through, but in a way, that’s part of the appeal. The game isn’t a pushover, but it’s not full of crap-your-pants moments that result in immediate and hair-pulling deaths like a Spelunky. It’s a lil’ gentler. But four hours or 40 hours, I’ll get there, because I need to see what’s at the bottom.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Sep 25, 2022
    0
    bad game, it's a disgrace to the original shovel knight, how they managed to destroy the core of the OG game is beyond my comprehension.
  2. Sep 27, 2022
    9
    Отличная игра. Если ожидаете от неё того же типа геймплея, что и в оригинальном лопатном рыцаре - проходите мимо. Это аркадный рогалик сОтличная игра. Если ожидаете от неё того же типа геймплея, что и в оригинальном лопатном рыцаре - проходите мимо. Это аркадный рогалик с основным движением сверху вниз, а не слева направо, как в оригинале. Некоторых механик из оригинала больше нет. Но я не могу назвать это минусом. Единственный возможный минус - это сложность игры. Но может я просто мало наиграл. И потом, сложность - понятие относительное. Кому-то будет в самый раз. Full Review »
  3. Sep 25, 2022
    0
    Good-
    The core Shovel Knight gameplay has aged like a fine fecal matter; The updated look manages to maintain shovel knights boring retro
    Good-
    The core Shovel Knight gameplay has aged like a fine fecal matter; The updated look manages to maintain shovel knights boring retro aesthetics while also going overboard; Simple minded progression mean big idiot like a whole lot.
    Bad- Music can get repetitive, because it sucks; Randomly-generated levels means the level design sucks too. Thoughts- Ultimate cheeseburger, however, Shovel Knight Dig manages to pull off just about everything that's terrible with modern games, but I'm an idiot so I love it.
    Full Review »