Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Sep 29, 2022
    74
    Shovel Knight Dig is a fun little rogue-lite. While it took me over ten hours to beat, I know better, more rogue-lite skilled players will not need as much time. I did not encounter bugs or errors with my time; but more than a few of what felt like unfair deaths. The chaotic gameplay of Dig makes it hard to see how great the pixel art is at times, but being able to literally slow down the gameplay or adjust my health and damage output makes it easier to appreciate the visuals. I can see myself returning to Shovel Knight Dig in a few months just to give it another spin, but the overall replay did not entice me back immediately.
  2. Sep 27, 2022
    70
    Shovel Knight Dig is more Shovel Knight. The basic gameplay and boss fights are the stars of the show, and they more than make up for the ways that the game struggles in its capacity as a roguelite. It’s got a healthy supply of that just-one-more-attempt magic, which should serve folks hankering for more shovel-swinging action just fine. The irony remains that Shovel Knight Dig is just not exceptionally deep.
  3. Sep 22, 2022
    70
    Shovel Knight Dig punches above its spin-off weight class, even if its roguelike elements are a little modest.
  4. Sep 22, 2022
    70
    I had hoped that Dig would be an adventure on par with the original Shovel Knight, but instead, it feels like every bit the spin-off and side story that it is. It's certainly not a bad game, but fans for hoping for a more substantial adventure will have to dig a little deeper.
  5. Sep 29, 2022
    65
    For me Shovel Knight Dig is the blandest of all games starring the blue knight. It does everything decently as a 2D roguelike platformer but fails to impress in any way and I would only recommend it to those fans of Shovel Knight who have already played all previous entries to the franchise.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 22, 2022
    Compact and terrifying, this score-attack shooter feels like it's come from the future. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Sep 22, 2022
    Shovel Knight Dig doesn’t strike me as a game that’ll demand dozens of hours to see it through, but in a way, that’s part of the appeal. The game isn’t a pushover, but it’s not full of crap-your-pants moments that result in immediate and hair-pulling deaths like a Spelunky. It’s a lil’ gentler. But four hours or 40 hours, I’ll get there, because I need to see what’s at the bottom.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Sep 25, 2022
    0
    bad game, it's a disgrace to the original shovel knight, how they managed to destroy the core of the OG game is beyond my comprehension.
  2. Sep 27, 2022
    9
    Отличная игра. Если ожидаете от неё того же типа геймплея, что и в оригинальном лопатном рыцаре - проходите мимо. Это аркадный рогалик сОтличная игра. Если ожидаете от неё того же типа геймплея, что и в оригинальном лопатном рыцаре - проходите мимо. Это аркадный рогалик с основным движением сверху вниз, а не слева направо, как в оригинале. Некоторых механик из оригинала больше нет. Но я не могу назвать это минусом. Единственный возможный минус - это сложность игры. Но может я просто мало наиграл. И потом, сложность - понятие относительное. Кому-то будет в самый раз. Full Review »
  3. Sep 25, 2022
    0
    Good-
    The core Shovel Knight gameplay has aged like a fine fecal matter; The updated look manages to maintain shovel knights boring retro
    Good-
    The core Shovel Knight gameplay has aged like a fine fecal matter; The updated look manages to maintain shovel knights boring retro aesthetics while also going overboard; Simple minded progression mean big idiot like a whole lot.
    Bad- Music can get repetitive, because it sucks; Randomly-generated levels means the level design sucks too. Thoughts- Ultimate cheeseburger, however, Shovel Knight Dig manages to pull off just about everything that's terrible with modern games, but I'm an idiot so I love it.
    Full Review »