User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2022
    0
    bad game, it's a disgrace to the original shovel knight, how they managed to destroy the core of the OG game is beyond my comprehension.
  2. Sep 25, 2022
    0
    Good-
    The core Shovel Knight gameplay has aged like a fine fecal matter; The updated look manages to maintain shovel knights boring retro aesthetics while also going overboard; Simple minded progression mean big idiot like a whole lot.
    Bad- Music can get repetitive, because it sucks; Randomly-generated levels means the level design sucks too. Thoughts- Ultimate cheeseburger, however,
    Good-
    The core Shovel Knight gameplay has aged like a fine fecal matter; The updated look manages to maintain shovel knights boring retro aesthetics while also going overboard; Simple minded progression mean big idiot like a whole lot.
    Bad- Music can get repetitive, because it sucks; Randomly-generated levels means the level design sucks too. Thoughts- Ultimate cheeseburger, however, Shovel Knight Dig manages to pull off just about everything that's terrible with modern games, but I'm an idiot so I love it.
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2022
    9
    Good-
    The core Shovel Knight gameplay has aged like fine wine; The updated look manages to maintain Shovel Knight’s aesthetics without going overboard; Simple progression and story mean more time to actually play the game.
    Bad- Music can get repetitive; Randomly-generated levels mean less overall challenge. Thoughts- Ultimately, however, Shovel Knight Dig manages to pull off just
    Good-
    The core Shovel Knight gameplay has aged like fine wine; The updated look manages to maintain Shovel Knight’s aesthetics without going overboard; Simple progression and story mean more time to actually play the game.

    Bad-
    Music can get repetitive; Randomly-generated levels mean less overall challenge.

    Thoughts-
    Ultimately, however, Shovel Knight Dig manages to pull off just about everything it was going for. The new roguelite gameplay loop works quite well with the protagonist’s limited-but-adaptable move set, and the game does as much as it can to engender the “one more run” mindset. It doesn’t bog you down with an overly-complex story or complicated progression systems. All it really wants you to do is dig downwards, and have fun doing it.
    Expand
  4. Sep 25, 2022
    6
    Good game with a bit more replayability than the OG, but that means it's not curated and a bit less fun.
  5. Sep 27, 2022
    9
    Отличная игра. Если ожидаете от неё того же типа геймплея, что и в оригинальном лопатном рыцаре - проходите мимо. Это аркадный рогалик с основным движением сверху вниз, а не слева направо, как в оригинале. Некоторых механик из оригинала больше нет. Но я не могу назвать это минусом. Единственный возможный минус - это сложность игры. Но может я просто мало наиграл. И потом, сложность -Отличная игра. Если ожидаете от неё того же типа геймплея, что и в оригинальном лопатном рыцаре - проходите мимо. Это аркадный рогалик с основным движением сверху вниз, а не слева направо, как в оригинале. Некоторых механик из оригинала больше нет. Но я не могу назвать это минусом. Единственный возможный минус - это сложность игры. Но может я просто мало наиграл. И потом, сложность - понятие относительное. Кому-то будет в самый раз. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 29, 2022
    80
    Because most of my eight hours with Dig were spent spelunking through stages leading down, I rarely had to think about the game’s roguelite efforts. I spent most of my time playing through beautiful stages to the tune of chippy synth tunes, fascinated with how far Nitrome and Yacht Club were able to stretch the “dig” aspect of this game. Perhaps the roguelite nature of Dig will play a bigger role in my post-game excavations because I’m rearing to jump back in to discover all of its secrets. Even if it doesn’t, though, I know I still have at least a few more hours of great Shovel Knight gameplay ahead of me and in the world of platforming, that’s a treasure worth digging up.
  2. Sep 29, 2022
    65
    For me Shovel Knight Dig is the blandest of all games starring the blue knight. It does everything decently as a 2D roguelike platformer but fails to impress in any way and I would only recommend it to those fans of Shovel Knight who have already played all previous entries to the franchise.
  3. Sep 29, 2022
    74
    Shovel Knight Dig is a fun little rogue-lite. While it took me over ten hours to beat, I know better, more rogue-lite skilled players will not need as much time. I did not encounter bugs or errors with my time; but more than a few of what felt like unfair deaths. The chaotic gameplay of Dig makes it hard to see how great the pixel art is at times, but being able to literally slow down the gameplay or adjust my health and damage output makes it easier to appreciate the visuals. I can see myself returning to Shovel Knight Dig in a few months just to give it another spin, but the overall replay did not entice me back immediately.