Sid Meier's Civilization VI Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 84 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1065 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Civilization VI offers new ways to interact with your world, expand your empire across the map, advance your culture, and compete against history’s greatest leaders to build a civilization that will stand the test of time.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sid Meier's Civilization VI - First Look: Aztec
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 84
  2. Negative: 1 out of 84
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 12, 2016
    100
    Although it’s not without flaws, the sixth Civilization brings a lot of outstanding news and makes its mark into the history of the series as crucial point break to a slightly new form of a good old recipe. [Issue #269]
  2. Nov 3, 2016
    95
    This is an astounding game. Civilization has always been associated as the benchmark for strategy gaming, and Civilization VI is now at the peak. This is as good as it gets.
  3. Oct 26, 2016
    93
    An addictive strategy masterpiece. More freedom, personalization, complexity and meaningful choices than ever. The best things are an improved difficulty, different victory conditions, city management, historic characters and roles.
  4. Oct 24, 2016
    90
    Civ 6 has a few rough edges, but they’re pushed far into the periphery by spectacular strategic depth and intricate interlocking nuances. Any frustrations I experienced were immediately eclipsed by my desire to continue playing. Just one more turn, every turn, forever.
  5. Oct 26, 2016
    90
    Civ VI has improved upon nearly every system and mechanic in the game, at no real cost to the experience. It's the easiest Civ to play, but it's also the most complex Civ to date. There's enough default automation that you can ignore a lot of the minutia if you want, but micromanagers like myself will still have all the tedium they can dream of. There's nothing quite as satisfying as pillaging every single tile in an aggressive neighbor's civilization.
  6. Nov 1, 2016
    85
    Civilization 6 core gameplay has not changed. The additions the developer made only contribute to the excitement and challenge. Civilization 6 is a worthy successor to the franchise.
  7. Nov 2, 2016
    40
    It’s not my place to second guess game design. As you know, you go to Civilization with the game you have, not the game you might want or wish to have at a later time. But it is my place to note that when I go to Civilization, I’m looking for more than just a laid back single-player cities builder with the AI frittering idly in the margins. I cut my teeth on Sid Meier’s grand strategy without a brain-dead tactical layer drizzled over the top. I admire a lot of what Firaxis is doing to move on from the mess of Civilization V. They’re headed in the right direction, even if they are dragging a lot of baggage.

See all 91 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 250
  2. Negative: 94 out of 250
  1. Oct 21, 2016
    10
    This game Is honestly beautiful, at first I was a bit worried about how the new cartoonish style would flow in the game. Honestly it grows onThis game Is honestly beautiful, at first I was a bit worried about how the new cartoonish style would flow in the game. Honestly it grows on you quite quickly and it fits the game well, for a launch i would say this lives up to its predecessors, we already see a lot of features and there is a lot to do in this game without spoiling too much. The game flows great, costume game is fun as always with lots of options and factions to pick from. In conclusion I love it! Collapse
  2. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Have been playing Civilization since Civ2 and Civ6 is everything you could want from the series. Its coming of age incorporates the best ideasHave been playing Civilization since Civ2 and Civ6 is everything you could want from the series. Its coming of age incorporates the best ideas and advancements from previous games and is a recommended purchase for any 4X player. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2016
    9
    Some UI, balance and AI issues affect the gameplay in a significant way. That said, even in its current state, Civ 6 is a contender for bestSome UI, balance and AI issues affect the gameplay in a significant way. That said, even in its current state, Civ 6 is a contender for best game in the series.

    Having a blast playing with the district system, leader agendas, great people and the new eureka system. Those that enjoyed Civ 5 will love it from the start, and the experience will only get better with patches and DLCs in the coming months.

    Give it a try, it might not be a flawless game (yet), but there is potential for greatness here. One more turn is alive and well.
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2017
    6
    Six years after Civ 5, I wish this game were more of an improvement. It's nowhere close to the massive step forward from Civ 4 to 5. And whileSix years after Civ 5, I wish this game were more of an improvement. It's nowhere close to the massive step forward from Civ 4 to 5. And while some elements have improved, others feel lacking. I'm glad to see the return of the government system, but it feels underdeveloped, and the ability to simply swap out policy cards with no political blowback feels very out of place. You're ostensibly rewriting the social fabric of your civ, and yet it's just pick and choose. I'd like to see more penalties for switching, and some synergies with certain governments and policies. While I appreciate the faster pace, the maps seem much tighter, with almost no neutral ground left after the first 50 or so turns. The religion mechanic is mostly unchanged, and still feels like an afterthought, with little decision making beyond send-moar-missionaries. There's even less difference between great writers, artists, musicians now, which is a shame. This really just feels like another game released with missing content just to force the player to buy the expansion pack. The district system is more of a gimmick than a new mechanic, since having more districts doesn't allow multiple production queues or anything. The AI is still mystifying, with the computer proposing horribly one-sided deals and rejecting perfectly reasonable deals, and they seem to love declaring war on me even when I have a massive army/tech advantage. Diplomacy victory is gone, there's no economic victory. If it weren't for the wonky new graphical scheme, it would be hard to pick Civ 6 apart from a Civ 5 expansion. Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2016
    4
    I would like to say it is a step back from Civ V, but in the Civ series, a step back is strangely always a better game.
    This game is not
    I would like to say it is a step back from Civ V, but in the Civ series, a step back is strangely always a better game.
    This game is not better than Civ V, not to speak of Civ IV or III.
    Civ games are very complex and have an adult audience who like to go deep into the game mechanics to get the most out of every round.
    Who in the world thought this audience likes comic look?
    It is just awful.
    The leaders are very annoying and the comic-joke animation makes it even worse. Every second round the NPC factions want to speak with you. And with that comes the endless animation.
    The game design itself and the city spamming is just ridiculous. My best tactic until now, just spam settlers and settle everywhere. There is no negative side to expand stupidly. No world wide unrest, nothing.
    But the worst thing about this game is the KI. It is almost not existing. This game is way to easy, and boring.
    Maybe it is fun in multiplayer, but singleplayer this game is no fun at all.
    Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2016
    3
    Prepare to start scum at least 3x as often as in Civ 5. The importance of your start location to make the most of districts is completelyPrepare to start scum at least 3x as often as in Civ 5. The importance of your start location to make the most of districts is completely unbalanced at the moment. So to is the dependency on barbarians being turned on for several leaders to make the most of their early game abilities. This is a problem because now barbarians are even more numerous than before and combined with the game's already finicky capacity to give you a playable start with the more complex city mechanics it is effectively unplayable for anyone who cares about balance or multiplayer. The number of people who drop out of multiplayer matches by turn 30 is horrendous, far worse than Civ 5 ever was. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2018
    0
    Just dont buy this overpriced and uplayable game, please. They destroyed Civ game series with this awful game.

See all 250 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The 20 Best PC Games of 2016

    The 20 Best PC Games of 2016 Image
    Published: December 20, 2016
    We rank the highest-scoring computer games released during 2016.
  2. Best of October 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of October 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: October 31, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during October.
  3. Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames

    Fall Games Preview: 20 Most-Anticipated Videogames Image
    Published: September 12, 2016
    We profile the most noteworthy videogames scheduled for release between now and the end of the year.