User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 229 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 229

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2022
    3
    Графика дерьмовая даже для своего времени. Когда я хочу поставить в настройках ограничение на 144 ФПС, а не 60, то игра зависает. На самом деле лок почему-то стоит на 30. Игра нестрашная, больше криповая. Выглядит очень криво.
  2. Nov 18, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Silent Hill: Homecoming,im rating 10/10 love the silent hill games best game ever made. Love sh1, sh2, sh3, sh4 remake this games. Pls Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2021
    3
    Вторичная бездушная страшилка, выпущенная под брендом некогда великой серии. Все стилистические решения основаны исключительно на том фильме по СХ 2006 года. Никакого уникального видения и интересных идей у разработчиков не было. Зато у них был набор глупых и не нужных механик, типа ни на что не влияющих вариантов выбора в диалогах. Или унылой боевой системы с перекатами, котораяВторичная бездушная страшилка, выпущенная под брендом некогда великой серии. Все стилистические решения основаны исключительно на том фильме по СХ 2006 года. Никакого уникального видения и интересных идей у разработчиков не было. Зато у них был набор глупых и не нужных механик, типа ни на что не влияющих вариантов выбора в диалогах. Или унылой боевой системы с перекатами, которая заставляет всё время забывать, что тут вроде хоррор должен быть.

    Возможно эту игру можно было бы с натяжкой назвать посредственностью, но всё портит отвратительный порт на ПК, полный багов и вылетов. Каждый раз после смерти персонажа приходилось перезапускать игру, потому что увороты просто переставали работать. Ну и конечно вишенка на торте - концовка НЛО в этой игре не секретная и её можно случайно получить при первом прохождении.
    Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2021
    5
    Who let an american put a finger on the franchise.
  5. Jun 1, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unplayable on PC . If this game was playable the score would be way higher .

    Only few minutes into the game and framerates were dropping .

    Anytime you alt-tab your game instantly closes .

    There are patches online that can help reduce the problems but it still didn't help enough to make
    it playable .

    Technically this isn't a spoiler review because this was only a few minutes into the game but still there is a jumpscare at the very start of the game when you are walking down a hallway .

    The body pops down from the ceiling .
    The problem is that the game is so poorly optimized for PC that the body starts to glitch out and freeze and making the game stutter .

    Upon coming close to the body , the body hilariously whacks my character to the side and glitching through a wall and then proceeding to fall out of the map and die .
    Early into the game there is combat and you fight with a knife .

    I'll give Double Helix a thumbs up though for the intensity in the fights . The enemies aren't slow-paced and are fast in attacking . It definitely makes the game a lot more intense in a different way .

    The combat is fun but it is ruined by the stuttering and frame rate drops .
    However there is a part of the combat which isn't fun .
    You cannot attack an enemy until you are locked on ,
    The combat is somewhat tedious as in the original Silent Hill titles , you didn't have to lock on
    to an enemy .

    You can also roll while fighting and it isn't very useful when the game is stuttering .
    The game could easily be a 6.5 and more . Above average as an interesting story with cool combat but it is ruined sadly .

    Hopefully Silent Hill : Homecoming works well on the other platforms like Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 . I am unware of the state of this game for the other platforms .

    *To Long Didn't Read* = The PC version of Silent Hill : Homecoming is a disaster .
    Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2021
    6
    It's a decent game in it's own right. A decent combat system and a good story, whilst also having lackluster puzzles and not enough atmospshere and horror, like Silent Hill 1-3. And an absolutely horrendous PC version with major problems, although they are fixable. An enjoyable game in my book but not captivating.
  7. Oct 4, 2020
    4
    Хрен с ним с отвратительным управлением и убогим портом на пк, к управлению привыкнуть можно.
    Но такого количество багов я давно не видал, игра постоянно багует, пару раз вылетала, но ладно, хрен с этим тоже.
    Игра просто отвратительна сама по себе, враги это просто какой-то адовый пиздeц, в них нужно внести просто миллион урона, порой урон не проходит, зато по вам урон проходит всегда,
    Хрен с ним с отвратительным управлением и убогим портом на пк, к управлению привыкнуть можно.
    Но такого количество багов я давно не видал, игра постоянно багует, пару раз вылетала, но ладно, хрен с этим тоже.
    Игра просто отвратительна сама по себе, враги это просто какой-то адовый пиздeц, в них нужно внести просто миллион урона, порой урон не проходит, зато по вам урон проходит всегда, даже когда враг очевидно по вам не попал. Особенно доставили "игольщики" которые доджат стрелковое оружие и отбивают пули аки Вергилий из Devil May Cry. И при этом я далеко не казуал, я не ною со сложности в играх, но когда эта сложность вызвана корявостью игры и багами - это хyевая сложность.
    Игра оставляет крайне спорные впечатления, скорее негативные,
    Expand
  8. Jul 17, 2020
    4
    Como juego de SH es bastante bueno en todos los aspectos, pero como varios otros de la saga en PC es horrible de jugar, sobretodo en equipos modernos que son casi injugables.
  9. Jul 1, 2020
    8
    The Silent Hill game that brought me back to horror. I beg to differ and say I actually enjoyed playing this one despite the flaws.
  10. Dec 30, 2019
    0
    best game ever i play this game so much but it crash but this game is the good silent hill game
  11. Jan 27, 2019
    8
    Nice own atmosphere, good graphic and monsters, the story is not bad, but disbalanced savepoints, bad gameplay and some bugs make it just middle game + (Russian localization is incredible crappy)
  12. Jun 21, 2018
    6
    SHH is not a bad game. To my disappointment, it's just not worthy to be called Silent Hill because it lacks the athmosphere and the grandesse of its prequels. I found it in no way scary, but it may be my personal fault.
  13. Sep 15, 2016
    6
    What I love about Silent Hill is the story lines and ambience... I love this iteration for those reasons as well... What I do not enjoy is when a game becomes so difficult that it becomes all about finger dexterity. When I got to the police station, the axe-headed beasts were simply too much. After many hours trying to kill them, I had to simply quit trying. I wish there were an easierWhat I love about Silent Hill is the story lines and ambience... I love this iteration for those reasons as well... What I do not enjoy is when a game becomes so difficult that it becomes all about finger dexterity. When I got to the police station, the axe-headed beasts were simply too much. After many hours trying to kill them, I had to simply quit trying. I wish there were an easier setting for those of us who are more into exploring and solving puzzles, as with the earlier Silent Hill games. If Homecoming had such a difficulty setting, I would have given this one a 10 out of 10. Expand
  14. Aug 2, 2016
    4
    Worst Silent Hill game ever made. The main reason of why this game is so bad is because of the terrible gameplay mechanics and the poorly designed controls, and the PC version is even worst, the first time i could not believe that the controls started acting differently as they were configured. Then after I managed to get a controller to play this garbage I was suprised of how BAD theWorst Silent Hill game ever made. The main reason of why this game is so bad is because of the terrible gameplay mechanics and the poorly designed controls, and the PC version is even worst, the first time i could not believe that the controls started acting differently as they were configured. Then after I managed to get a controller to play this garbage I was suprised of how BAD the combat is in this game. Shepperd is supposed to be an ex marine, but he moves like a tired old man and he fights like a kid. Enemies are way too annoying and they never miss a single hit unless you are very lucky, this game is focused in action instead of suspense and horror itself. The first puzzles are easy and the whole atmosphere is good, and they managed to retain the basic horror aspects of the game, but where the **** is the creepy and sad music? The characters are so lame and boring, the places are repetitive as hell and the enemies are always spawning from predictable locations, it doesn't scare the players that way. Also the enemy design is repetitive and boring, the enemy has always advantage in combat and the attacks are so cheap and lame, some exectuion animations are decent but others are a complete joke, like 2 frames of animation, it is THAT terrible.
    At the end of the day, you will want to throw this game to the trash, where it belongs, it is a ocmplete disaster and i don't reccomend buying it unless you collect silent hill games or you are a fan of the series.
    After Team Silent left, Double Helix made a mess with this game, I doubt that they even tested this crap.
    I am giving this game an extra point just because it's a silent hill game that retains the atmosphere.
    4/10
    Expand
  15. Mar 7, 2016
    5
    I strongly suggest staying away from this game for fans of the series and other gamers alike.
    Plot is weak, characters are never developed, gameplay takes the weakest parts of original games and adds broken combat mechanics, graphics at times nice, mostly looks bland and generic and multiple endings are just an excuse. Overall I can say it's a lackluster experience and you can avoid it
    I strongly suggest staying away from this game for fans of the series and other gamers alike.
    Plot is weak, characters are never developed, gameplay takes the weakest parts of original games and adds broken combat mechanics, graphics at times nice, mostly looks bland and generic and multiple endings are just an excuse. Overall I can say it's a lackluster experience and you can avoid it without missing anything. For me it was just the last silenthill I've beaten as a chore.
    Expand
  16. Nov 9, 2015
    1
    A terrible port of a mediocre horror game that marked the moment Silent Hill truly jumped the shark as a franchise.

    While a few faint glimmers of hope remain in the music and boss design, the overall mood and feel of the game is nothing like classic Silent Hill games and it completely fails to create any sort of tension or compelling narrative. A greater emphasis on combat removes the
    A terrible port of a mediocre horror game that marked the moment Silent Hill truly jumped the shark as a franchise.

    While a few faint glimmers of hope remain in the music and boss design, the overall mood and feel of the game is nothing like classic Silent Hill games and it completely fails to create any sort of tension or compelling narrative. A greater emphasis on combat removes the horror from the equation, and the combat itself is awkward and jittery. Not to mention, the starting knife attacks so quickly it can stunlock almost every enemy in the game and makes every other melee weapon useless.

    And this is all assuming you can actually get it running. Especially on newer systems, you're likely not to be able to launch the game at all without some fiddling. And if you do, expect a lack of video options and weird performance issues or visual glitches all around, as well as frequent crashes. It's a messy version of a game that was already a mess, and yet somehow they still feel fine charging $40 for it.

    If you're eyeing this one during a sale in hopes of one last little gasp of Silent Hill to satisfy your craving, just don't. You'd be wasting your money and your time on a game that is an amateurish, embarrassing shadow of those that came before it. It's not scary, it's not fun, and it's not interesting or well-written, failing to give any reason to justify its existence.
    Expand
  17. Oct 26, 2015
    8
    I didn't want to write a review until I finished the game 100%. Well this game was a huge surprise to me since I had only seen bad reviews and critics about it for years but after playing it myself all I can say is the game is not bad at all. The PC port is crap for sure but once I made it work with patching and modding the game is very enjoyable. Not the best SH game but a genuine SH gameI didn't want to write a review until I finished the game 100%. Well this game was a huge surprise to me since I had only seen bad reviews and critics about it for years but after playing it myself all I can say is the game is not bad at all. The PC port is crap for sure but once I made it work with patching and modding the game is very enjoyable. Not the best SH game but a genuine SH game in the end. Graphics are fine they look ok for a 2008 game althought they don't captue the essence of SH all that well 9/10. The music sound and voice acting are all fine but once again they are not as scary as other SH games 8/10. The gameplay and controls are very awkward and take time to get used to them, it was very frustrating at first and this can be a turndown for many not to mention all the button mashing when fighting any monster or boss so thats a 7/10. The story of this game was really it's good point. hadn't seen such a great story since SH2 very good story worthy of a movie 10/10. Last appeal 8/10 the game is great and has good graphics and a great story but the broken controls and fighting style are a huge turn down not to mention it doesn't have many riddles or puzzels and when it does they are those slide square kinda ones. The sounds and graphics don't capture the essence of Silent Hill all that well either, besides that great game 8/10 RECOMMENDED for any true Silent Hill fan and horror lover. THE PC PORT is BAD btw but CAN BE FIXED WITH PATCHING AND MODS. Expand
  18. Jul 8, 2015
    10
    Even if it reminds me the newest resident evil games, this game manages to capture the atmosphere of the old silent hill games into a new, more dynamic perspective.
  19. Jan 7, 2015
    2
    Di-a-boli-cal.

    Slow, so slow it's unbelievable. Controls horrendous. Graphics pathetic. This is my first SH game and I hate it. I have nearly finished chapter six and I have still only have two hours game play on the clock. Pointless useless notes left lying around to read. Oh thanks for telling things are fine now in that note. I don't know who you are or why stuff was bad before. I
    Di-a-boli-cal.

    Slow, so slow it's unbelievable. Controls horrendous. Graphics pathetic.

    This is my first SH game and I hate it. I have nearly finished chapter six and I have still only have two hours game play on the clock. Pointless useless notes left lying around to read. Oh thanks for telling things are fine now in that note. I don't know who you are or why stuff was bad before. I don't care.

    I am sick to the back teeth or dying after a stupid combat with inadequate weapons or no ammo. Sick as hell of having to repeat it. On top of that it crashes everytime I minimise it, like when looking for a walkthrough. Basically 2.5 hours of nothing and 50% of that time repeating stuff. What the hell is that for over 1/3 of the game?

    All I can say now is thank goodness I didn't pay £12 for a CD copy on ebay. The Steam copy is £18. For ages I kept thinking risk going for the ebay one. Anyway luckily a Steam copy arrived for £5.40 and I got that.

    Days later and I tried to carry on a few times. still can't finish the chapter six boss. Wrangling with the controls to get him to axe the creature's arms is nearly impossible. By default it aims for the head. Then to aim you have to press shift. It is so hard to remember to cancel toggle shift after a strike. You get knocked down and get up to find you can hardly move because shift is still on. Smashed to the floor again. Maybe thirty goes at this boss. The end. I give up. Four days it has taken me to try finish chapter six.
    Expand
  20. Feb 11, 2014
    8
    The enemy of this PC game is the SH status . The control of game pad xbox is good. You can defend with a knife or a gun , not like OUTLAST or MEMORIES SHATTERED . The story is sad but you have to end th game to know. I liked it very much. I ENJOYED IT. SORRY FOR MY ENGLISH.
  21. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    Evereone say bad game, i say good, i bad know English so i shold be to go LOL. Ok ok this is no many hmmm, one when i dont like about pc port, why this bad, when in ps3 and xbox360 good?
  22. Dec 1, 2012
    5
    A very disappointing game for old-school Silent Hill fans.
    This joins a game genre which we can call "modern horror", which is, in a few words, a horror made for kiddies who don't like real horrors/games.
    Another saga ruined. Congrats. Graphics are bad, as well as the performance, there aren't very detailed graphics settings, gameplay is bad, as well as the story (it can't be even
    A very disappointing game for old-school Silent Hill fans.
    This joins a game genre which we can call "modern horror", which is, in a few words, a horror made for kiddies who don't like real horrors/games.
    Another saga ruined. Congrats.
    Graphics are bad, as well as the performance, there aren't very detailed graphics settings, gameplay is bad, as well as the story (it can't be even compared to the old ones), and it's not scary. I would give it a 4-4.5, but it is very good compared to Downpour (should I give it -2, if I gave 4 to this?).
    Expand
  23. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    This game is the one that i most dislike on Silent Hill, it's not a bad game so i gave it a 5, but it surely is the weakest link of the collection in my opinion. I don't like the fact that Alex is too strong with the weapons. The good thing is the graphic design. The bosses are very scary and strong a thing that balance the character strength. Remember, this game is not bad, is just theThis game is the one that i most dislike on Silent Hill, it's not a bad game so i gave it a 5, but it surely is the weakest link of the collection in my opinion. I don't like the fact that Alex is too strong with the weapons. The good thing is the graphic design. The bosses are very scary and strong a thing that balance the character strength. Remember, this game is not bad, is just the worst Silent Hill game along with Book of Memories and should have been better, both of them. Oh and when i try to play it with a ps3 controller on my pc = Fail. Unfortunately there is no solution for that. I have taken 1 point for that aspect Expand
  24. Oct 4, 2012
    8
    This game is not what most will expect of a Silent Hill title. It features more action - splatter elements included. The atmosphere is great, though, I particulary liked the elements taken from the movie. A few puzzles as we know them remain, and they are good and also pretty hard, at least the ones I remember. I had a lot of fun fighting the monsters. So although it's not your typicalThis game is not what most will expect of a Silent Hill title. It features more action - splatter elements included. The atmosphere is great, though, I particulary liked the elements taken from the movie. A few puzzles as we know them remain, and they are good and also pretty hard, at least the ones I remember. I had a lot of fun fighting the monsters. So although it's not your typical Silent Hill, it's still a great game. I give it only 8/10 for not being very scary though. Expand
  25. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    The worst game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!! For PC users it is a nightmare! I want to scored this **** game with - 100 or less! If you pay 1 cent for it you will cry for it!!!!!!
  26. Jan 23, 2012
    2
    The perfect example of how to ruin a franchise by selling the license to a bunch of amateurs.
    This game is wrong in so many levels. WHAT WERE THEY THINKING?
    The only good thing about this PoS is the graphics and that's about it, everything else is absolutely flawed.

    Thanks for ruining one of my favorite franchises.
  27. Jan 3, 2012
    4
    There are a lot of problems with this game. First, the game engine is flawed even though I have a PC that far exceeds the specs for what is essentially a console port. I experienced long unexplained pauses while traversing maps, long loading times when accessing save points, and FMV sequences did not transition correctly from gameplay leaving the last frame of gameplay paused forThere are a lot of problems with this game. First, the game engine is flawed even though I have a PC that far exceeds the specs for what is essentially a console port. I experienced long unexplained pauses while traversing maps, long loading times when accessing save points, and FMV sequences did not transition correctly from gameplay leaving the last frame of gameplay paused for approximately 15-20 seconds, while the fmv movie continued to play in the background. I think the longest pause I experienced was about 40 seconds, and that was simply accessing one of the various save points in the game. These type of engine errors occur throughout the game, on different levels, and even prior to boss battles, which is simply inexcusable and sloppy for a console port. I give the game engine a D- since the developers should have known better than to distribute a flawed game. The combat system leaves a lot to be desired. There are different enemy types in the game, and you are forced to dodge and block attacks in a particular way with each enemy type in order to survive. Player can dodge at will and in any direction, but the game gives no indication which direction is advisable when dodging. Thus, one incurs damage even when attempting to use the only defense mechanic in the game simply because the evasion was not done in the proper direction, at just the exact time, etc. The player is simply expected to figure it out, through experience and even hope for a bit of luck, which in my opinion is not proper in a survival game these days. The combat system sort of sucks to be honest, I would give it a D since it is clunky and ambiguous. In any case, the game is still playable you just have to be patient and endure a lot of loading times and reloads until you get lucky with the dodging mechanic. Plot and story was ok, it was passable but like a lot of Silent Hill games they weave in a lot of vagueness and mystery into what is actually an extremely simple plot. I felt it was passable and one of the few saving graces of the game. I found myself continuing to play the game simply to progress the plot and solve the final mystery, despite all the negative issues. I would give the plot and story a B. Game length was a bit disappointing however. There doesn't seem to be a lot of places to go in general. A lot of the shops and buildings are locked. If you are lucky, you get maybe a 1 or 2 sentence explanation of what Alex believes is inside the building, or you are simply told that the door is locked. I would have preferred more side areas to explore because otherwise the main map areas are simply foggy places with a never ending supply of spawning monsters that try to kill you. Traversing the foggy streets becomes predictable as you continue to play and realize you can do absolutely nothing other than reach the next quest area. Level design leaves a lot to be desired and I would give it a D. The questing system was completely linear in nature and side missions were for the most part encountered (whether you liked it or not) while pursing the main goals of the game. I give this type of questing system an F+ since it is sort of pathetic and simplistic. The graphics were good for a Silent Hill game if you compare it to a Playstation 1 or 2 console. You couldn't do a whole lot in the foggy city but at least it was the best looking foggy city to date. For the PC, the graphics are perhaps a bit dated compared to other survival games out there such as the Resident Evil series but otherwise I enjoyed how most of the game looked. I'd give the graphics a B+. So I can't quite give this game a fail grade but it comes pretty close. For some people I suspect the game engine issues will really piss them off since they game chokes even with my power house of a PC that plays all other PC games flawlessly with no problems. I hope Konami makes better Silent Hill games with better ports to PC, because this will be the last Silent Hill game I buy that has these type of engine issues and awful game-play mechanics. My final score is a 4. Expand
  28. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    Great atmospheric game, challenging and scary. Provides scary settings for a scary story, overall really fun to play.
  29. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    all together its a good game and sadly the only silent hill title on steam...

    the graphics nice to look at, especially shadow and light effects. music and sound effects keep the atmosphere dark, the animations look very nice and after the first 20 percent of the game it gets scary too. negative about it: the riddles are not so inventive, silimar to other games. also it took a while to
    all together its a good game and sadly the only silent hill title on steam...

    the graphics nice to look at, especially shadow and light effects.
    music and sound effects keep the atmosphere dark, the animations look very nice and after the first 20 percent of the game it gets scary too.

    negative about it: the riddles are not so inventive, silimar to other games.
    also it took a while to get used to the controls.

    if youre a fan of the horror genre, this one shouldnt be missing in your inventory.
    Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2011
    0
    Now, first of all, J-Horror is usually related to the Character suffering Physcological events.
    The new "American" Dev's jsut suck.
    The only reason why the Nurses were in SH2 Is because James' Wife once wanted to be a nurse, and he's haunted by the visions. So what does Alex have in common with a F*Cking banana? This game is terrible, gameplay has never been SH's standpoint, but this is
    Now, first of all, J-Horror is usually related to the Character suffering Physcological events.
    The new "American" Dev's jsut suck.

    The only reason why the Nurses were in SH2 Is because James' Wife once wanted to be a nurse, and he's haunted by the visions.
    So what does Alex have in common with a F*Cking banana?

    This game is terrible, gameplay has never been SH's standpoint, but this is just no exception, **** this game to hell, SH is already at hell.

    A great series brought down by America. You bastards should be ashamed!
    Expand
  31. Nov 27, 2010
    3
    Very bad port. Even though I am using a controller and not keyboard and mouse, the game is still clunky and even things like turning the character are hard to do. The sound issues also make the game unplayable. Most of the sounds will only come out of one speaker, which if you are using headphones makes locating anything by sound impossible. This destroys immersion. There may have been aVery bad port. Even though I am using a controller and not keyboard and mouse, the game is still clunky and even things like turning the character are hard to do. The sound issues also make the game unplayable. Most of the sounds will only come out of one speaker, which if you are using headphones makes locating anything by sound impossible. This destroys immersion. There may have been a decent story underneath all of the technical issues but it is not worth the time or money to find out. Avoid. Expand
  32. Oct 31, 2010
    2
    It's spooky, I'll give it that, but not much more. The game is buggy, and will frequently pause or lock up, requiring a restart. The freeze and pause typically happen in combat, which throws off your coordination. Your coordination is already way off, because the controls are laggy and imprecise, and in addition to inconvenient pausing, the game will sometimes randomly wrenchIt's spooky, I'll give it that, but not much more. The game is buggy, and will frequently pause or lock up, requiring a restart. The freeze and pause typically happen in combat, which throws off your coordination. Your coordination is already way off, because the controls are laggy and imprecise, and in addition to inconvenient pausing, the game will sometimes randomly wrench control of the camera and your character away from you, right in the path of an enemy's attack. It's like the developers (read sadistic -----) went out of their way to make the game as frustrating as they possibly could so they could claim it was "challenging." If that wasn't bad enough, you've got a CONSOLE SAVE SYSTEM, with save spots fairly far apart. Not only do you have to fight your way through almost an entire level after being killed by a level boss, but you've got non-interactive segments along the way that you can only *SOMETIMES* skip. Sometimes, hitting escape will skip the in-engine cutscene. Sometimes, all it does it jump you to the menu screen and pause the game -- ie. you have to sit through it for the billionth time.

    I loved SH1, SH2, SH3, I even thought The Room was ok. I absolutely HATE this game. It's a game designer's train wreck. Hate this game. It's a total waste of money. The graphics are nice and slightly spooky, but there's no feeling of dread or goose bumps like with the first 3 games. After all this time, I had expected the bugs to have been patched, but nope, this is the same steaming pile that was on shelves last year. I'm not even sure why I gave them a 2, other than that I can't bring myself to totally slag anyone's hard work (They'd get a 1 if the review system allowed for a zero).
    Expand
  33. Borealis
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    This is not bad game. Maybe, it's not THAt old Silent Hill, maybe bad porting on PC (But I haven't got problems with it at all), but its really good horror game with pretty graphics. Monsters are awesome.
  34. RemyB
    Jan 16, 2010
    4
    When you buy a game you want to finish it. However, this SH installment was so poorly executed you couldn't have paid me to see it through to the end. The PC port controls are mega-clunky. There are bugs throughout the game which force you to load a previous save in order to continue (moving the books in the bookshelf to access the button behind them will break if you don't drag When you buy a game you want to finish it. However, this SH installment was so poorly executed you couldn't have paid me to see it through to the end. The PC port controls are mega-clunky. There are bugs throughout the game which force you to load a previous save in order to continue (moving the books in the bookshelf to access the button behind them will break if you don't drag the books all the way to the left before letting go of the cursor, for example). My other massive complaint are the over abundance of loading screens and load times for them. This game feels like it was thrown together 10 years ago. If i hadn't gotten it for almost nothing on Steam I'd be, well....steamed. Expand
  35. WagnerJ
    Jan 3, 2010
    4
    A poor port to the PC. The game flaws turn what could be a good experience to a waterfall of freezes and UI flaws.
  36. RyanF
    Dec 31, 2009
    10
    It seems most of the people giving this game a low rating are looking for something else -- Silent Hill, you know, that game that came out on the Playstation years ago? Stop being nostalgic. Sure, this game isn't everything the older games were, but it's still damn good.
  37. RichD
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    I'm giving SH5 a ten because its not the same as the other games it is a bit different and i think thats what makes it good its not the same old thing over again.
  38. RyanH
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    Great game, i personally thought it was freaky as all hell, still gives me the creeps. i dont get where everyone says this game is horrible, good story, intense fighting, great graphics, nice music. good enough for me. i give it a 10 easy.
  39. LeeC
    Jul 26, 2009
    8
    Graphics Brilliant Game play Brilliant but it would of got full 10 ... it pauses between fight scenes ... im total fan of Silent hils and this is the best for graphics and sounds ... but errors with pauses and save points are a little far between.
  40. DaveJ.
    Jun 27, 2009
    4
    This average game does nothing for the reputation of Silent Hill. The scares pull their punches, character control and game play are not easy to use. This makes submersion into the game difficult. MOST ANNOYING is the PC port which is more littered with GLITCHES than the game is with bodies. 4/10 - a generous 4, do not waste your money on this game.
  41. liquidj
    Mar 22, 2009
    6
    If you like the "alone in the dark/ resident evil style" then this is your game. Other wise its not the true silent hill we all hoped for. Creative combat/action but not scary took every element from the movie (bad move). but holds up well to keep you entertained.
  42. LiciC
    Feb 12, 2009
    2
    I won't rant, too much, about how horrible this game is. It's not a REAL Silent Hill game, especially since it's made by different people. Sure, it may have Bubble Head Nurses, Robbie the Rabbit, and (dare I say it) Pyramid Head ("the Boogeyman" name makes him seem so lame... and they used MOVIE Pyramid Head!). What I'm getting at is, if I put Pyramid Head and Valtiel I won't rant, too much, about how horrible this game is. It's not a REAL Silent Hill game, especially since it's made by different people. Sure, it may have Bubble Head Nurses, Robbie the Rabbit, and (dare I say it) Pyramid Head ("the Boogeyman" name makes him seem so lame... and they used MOVIE Pyramid Head!). What I'm getting at is, if I put Pyramid Head and Valtiel into Animal Crossing, it doesn't make it a Silent Hill game. Anyway, Silent Hill was never about fighting monsters. It was a psychological thing, and that was what made it scary. This game was not at all scary. I wish Team Silent would pick back up the series and show Konami how to really make Silent Hill games. Expand
  43. KulhainKulhain
    Jan 28, 2009
    8
    I haven't played many Silent Hill games, but I've been having a good time with this one (well, good is relative given how disturbing the game is - but you know what I mean). To me, it's a solid Silent Hill title. I docked it 2 points because it gets laggy sometimes and I wish it had more puzzles.
  44. TJ
    Jan 15, 2009
    7
    Silent Hill 5 to me is something a bit off the charts from the original essence of the game, but it gives a different chapter or book in the game based on the differences. This game perhaps could of been more, or less, but what it did give was a fun, and interesting gameplay that I enjoyed, and added to my Silent Hill collection. I enjoyed playing a character a lot different from the Silent Hill 5 to me is something a bit off the charts from the original essence of the game, but it gives a different chapter or book in the game based on the differences. This game perhaps could of been more, or less, but what it did give was a fun, and interesting gameplay that I enjoyed, and added to my Silent Hill collection. I enjoyed playing a character a lot different from the others based on his military background, and I did feel a bit scared at times. DEF not a hardcore chapter to the series, but good enough. Expand
  45. VeronicaT
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    The game is actually a masterpiece and dares to go there... Covers areas that no ordinary Silent Hill would ever go. I have played every Silent Hill. This one in particular is bold. None of the confusing endings or mixed up stories featured in the previous versions of Silent Hill. Graphics are pleasing. Combat is intense. Loading is questionable. Dialog... PERFECT! Soundtrack... Amazing! The game is actually a masterpiece and dares to go there... Covers areas that no ordinary Silent Hill would ever go. I have played every Silent Hill. This one in particular is bold. None of the confusing endings or mixed up stories featured in the previous versions of Silent Hill. Graphics are pleasing. Combat is intense. Loading is questionable. Dialog... PERFECT! Soundtrack... Amazing! Graphics... Wonderful. I do miss the old dynamic camera angles featured in the other silent hills. Character designs are great! Story is unpredictable... Which is a good thing for horror games. It is absolutely worth the $50!!! Expand
  46. Aji
    Jan 10, 2009
    7
    In Silent hill universe :
    1st: Silent Hill 1 (PS1) .... total cllasic.No silent hill game can be better
    2nd:Silent Hill 2
    3rd:Silent Hill Origins(short but not bad)
    then Silent Hill Room and Silent Hill 3
    ...and here Silent Hill Homecoming.PC version have many bugs but i still thing its a good game.Very good game but not good Silent Hill....and worst story in SH games ever.
  47. ChrisS.
    Dec 4, 2008
    4
    I've already wasted enough time on this game so I'm not going to waste any more by getting into a big review about it. My complaints come down to these issues: The engine has a lot of bugs, missing, cutoff and misplaced sounds, glitchy and inconsistent gameplay and a very broken combat system. The American developers of this version didn't hold true to the original idea and I've already wasted enough time on this game so I'm not going to waste any more by getting into a big review about it. My complaints come down to these issues: The engine has a lot of bugs, missing, cutoff and misplaced sounds, glitchy and inconsistent gameplay and a very broken combat system. The American developers of this version didn't hold true to the original idea and now it seems to just be a conveyor belt of horror cliches. It does not deserve the Silent Hill name. Save points are few and far between. This is the last time I've played 1-2 hours without a savepoint to have another broken combat enouter throw me back and lose 2 hours of progress. This game will certainly guarantee frustration and I highly recommend skipping it. If you want to be scared, play Dead Space or replay one of the other Silent Hill games. Do not buy Silent Hill Homecoming. It is a bad game, and a terrible PC port. It is a waste of $50. Expand
  48. ChrisB.
    Nov 20, 2008
    8
    This is probably the second best silent hill game to date. If I hadn't played Silent Hill 2 I probably would have liked it even more. It's only problem is that it is very very Silent Hill... and if you know the town then you may feel like you already know this game. It borrows heavily from the movie, I liked that, but some purists might take issue. Disregard the low review This is probably the second best silent hill game to date. If I hadn't played Silent Hill 2 I probably would have liked it even more. It's only problem is that it is very very Silent Hill... and if you know the town then you may feel like you already know this game. It borrows heavily from the movie, I liked that, but some purists might take issue. Disregard the low review scores on the PC version. This is a worthy triple A title, and giving it a 55 is just ridiculous. Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Game Informer
    65
    Fans will probably dig the game’s cool set pieces and the story, but the save points are placed too far apart, many puzzles require too much random experimentation, and the dialogue system seems like an afterthought. [Nov 2008, p.118]
  2. 55
    The game feels like a bit of a letdown. The gameplay has been reduced from a tense psychological experience fraught with spine tingling jumps and scares to a generic, predictable action title set in the location with good graphics and a great soundtrack.
  3. Gamers.at
    75
    Homecoming isn’t bad per se, it’s just that it isn’t frightening enough to be worthy of the Silent Hill-name. It might be a mildly enjoyable Action-game, but not much beyond that. [Issue#17]