Slender: The Arrival Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 267 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Slender: The Arrival is the official continuation of Slender: The Eight Pages. A combined effort from the writers behind the Marble Hornets series and the development team at Blue Isle Studios, Slender: The Arrival features a brand new storyline and improved visuals.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Slender: The Arrival - Console Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Apr 2, 2013
    90
    A significant improvement over Parsec Production's original game, featuring a much more robust narrative, and a darker, more foreboding atmosphere. You may have mixed feelings about its brevity and the repetitive mechanics, but it's certainly a well-built game that, above all, is scary to play.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 13, 2013
    83
    Slender: The Arrival Arrival continues on the road paved by its predecessor The Eight Pages, offering same horrors, featuring slender man with a hooded sidekick. If you like scaring yourself, you'll love Slender: The Arrival. [May 2013]
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    75
    It’s a deeper, much more beautiful take on what remains a brilliant and simple concept. The additions are good, but there could stand to be more of them.
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    65
    Slender: The Arrival manages to deliver some truly impressive scares, but you’ll have to wade through the muck of repetitive tasks and unfair enemies in order to experience them. I found more enjoyment in playing the free original installment, which delivers a powerful horror experience without the annoyances and filler.
  5. May 6, 2013
    60
    Slender: The Arrival confirms the many doubts emerged during the preview, showing obvious limitations dictated by the lacks of a gameplay structure that deviates from what we saw in "Slender: The Eight Pages", its predecessor.
  6. 60
    The scares are still there but in gameplay terms the experience is far too… slender to justify the repetition and frustration of this sequel.
  7. CD-Action
    May 13, 2013
    25
    People who gave us the excellent Slender: The Eight Pages suddenly ceased to understand what makes a good horror. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.69]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 70
  2. Negative: 15 out of 70
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    This is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you soThis is seriously the scariest, most intense horror game EVER! right from the beginning, it fills you with that fear that makes you so paranoid and edgy that the slightest noise from any direction could send you into a heart attach. The graphics are beautiful and filled with detail. The overall sound is some of the best, as that is one of the main things that make the game scary. When you hear footsteps coming up to you from behind, it will send chills down your spine! The game play is really immersive and from the beginning it is sending you scares around every corner, and It puts you in girls place from the start. I love this game and will for quite some time to come. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Its the first try of Blu Isle Studios and i really like this game Its way too short but way too scary too If liked slender their first andIts the first try of Blu Isle Studios and i really like this game Its way too short but way too scary too If liked slender their first and free game then you should buy this too Just wait to reach steam Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    9
    It's not only a horror masterpiece game; It's the 4th game on my personal best games list: under Portal 2> Half life 2 > AVP2 > F.E.A.2! It'sIt's not only a horror masterpiece game; It's the 4th game on my personal best games list: under Portal 2> Half life 2 > AVP2 > F.E.A.2! It's like being inside a Hitchcock's movie. Absolutely awesome! Each cent it's worth! Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    7
    I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours.I picked this up while this metascore is quite low. Still I enjoyed it. Some people say it's short. I enjoyed this for a fair amount of hours. But I guess this game is more enjoyable with company of some friends. We hooked up our pc on the tv and played this with a controller. We had many laughters and scary moments. I agree this isn't an in depth story and the concept is a bit overrated. But still it desevers a slightly higher meta score imo. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2013
    6
    If you've played the free version of Slender, you will notice that this game does not add much to the slenderman experience. The scare factorIf you've played the free version of Slender, you will notice that this game does not add much to the slenderman experience. The scare factor in this game is a solid 8/10 in the early levels but it quickly degrades to being a frustrating experience in the later levels as you will find yourself dying more often than you should. Check out this game if you're:

    1. A big fan of the slenderman myth
    2. Have run out of horror games to play
    Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Slender: The Arrival is the long-awaited re-imagining to the now world-famous Slender: The Eight Pages. In this remake, you star a Lauren, who, after going to see her friend Kate, crashes off the road and into a fallen tree. As the car is stuck, she decides to walk the rest of the way to get help. When she arrives to Kate's house, the whole house is a wreck, and Lauren is soon entangled in a complex mystery where she is being stalked by two mysterious entities (Slenderman of the title and The Chaser, a new entity that can be attacked with using your flashlight). The story is amazing, but it falls into a massive pitfall that snags many brilliant stories. The game needs for you to collect pieces for your scrapbook, some being totally useless, and others showing you the Slenderman's mysterious background story. If you enjoy this kind of game play, you're in for a treat, as the rest is repetitive, from page-collecting to turning on generators, the game stays to the original games roots of running round the place for several minutes, sometimes becoming lost. As well, the games new entity, The Chaser, appears only in one level, and on the same level, Slendy can insta-kill you just to scare the player. Thankfully, a steam release has saved the game from me giving it a two. The new version gives players more accessibility to the game, as well as The Chaser appearing in level one, with his creepy whispering appearing with the Slenderman's terrifying appearance, the steam version also extended the levels, so the game can actually last long enough to not count as an interactive movie. All in all, if you're going to buy this jump-fest, get the steam version as it majorly improves the whole game. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    Slender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs toSlender The Arrival is too short for the price of the experience. Still the same concept of Slenderman from the game Slender. He needs to appear more "living" and not some stationary, statue.

    I prefer Faceless take on Slenderman.
    Expand

See all 70 User Reviews