SMITE Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 900 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players choose from a selection of mythical gods, join session-based arena combat, and use custom powers and team tactics against other player-controlled gods and non-player controlled minions.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
SMITE - Free-To-Play Nintendo Switch Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2014
    95
    Hi Rez studios has a game changer on their hands here. SMITE is an incredibly fun and addicting MOBA that is perfect for those who are looking from a change of pace from your typical MOBA.
  2. Mar 25, 2014
    90
    Smite is an excellent addition to an expanding genre, and one that distinguishes itself from the rest of the pack with decidedly different gameplay, a quirky and lighthearted take on classic mythology, and a variety of interesting modes.
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    86
    Smite makes the MOBA more approachable with smart tweaks to the formula and action RPG-inspired combat.
  4. Aug 8, 2014
    83
    Smite is alternative to Dota and LoL suited to beginners as well as veterans of the genre.
  5. May 19, 2014
    80
    The product of Hi Rez Studios is well made, and offers different feelings from those of its competitors, thanks to the different camera angle and a fast paced gameplay.
  6. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Smite is invigorating. It’s not another MOBA. It takes one aspect of a MOBA’s structure and builds on it until it's something else entirely. Smite has developed into an action game. One with lanes, creeps and towers, all the things you’d expect from a MOBA, but even the familiar looks different when viewed from Smite’s refreshing perspective.
  7. 60
    A different camera angle along with great e-sport support can't hide the fact that this has been done before, with better result.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 248
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    10
    You can play Cupid! 10/10You can play Cupid! 10/10 . Expand
  2. May 26, 2014
    10
    MOBA style game but in 3rd person as opposed to top down. I've played all the MOBAs to date and I would say League Of Legends was the gameMOBA style game but in 3rd person as opposed to top down. I've played all the MOBAs to date and I would say League Of Legends was the game I've played the longest consistently. I played SMITE during its Beta phase and I was not impressed. While fun for a little while, it did not hold my attention. Fast forward a year to release and it is a MUCH different game with many more Gods to choose from and game modes. This game is a breath of fresh air. I have been playing it now for about a month and love it. Will that love last into 6,7,8+ months? Time will tell, but right now it is a great game that has made me forget about League. Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    This is a great and addicting MOBA game which comes with a bunch of fresh ideas like a 3rd person view, which allows you to directly controlThis is a great and addicting MOBA game which comes with a bunch of fresh ideas like a 3rd person view, which allows you to directly control the chosen character and dodging most of the enemy skills with some experience.

    duo to its 3rd person view the immersion is far greater than in usual isometric moba-style games. the community is already pretty large and ever-growing. an addicting game with a promising future.
    Expand
  4. Jan 4, 2015
    9
    If this game were to get a letter grade, I'd give it a solid B... M. :D

    I recently stopped playing SMITE. It really became to addicting
    If this game were to get a letter grade, I'd give it a solid B... M. :D

    I recently stopped playing SMITE. It really became to addicting for me, and the community (while there are some genuinely cool people here) is pretty weak. I'm expecting it to get a little more... "interesting" once it hits XBone.

    Mechanically, this game is sound. I'm not a MOBA fan, but I loved the action SMITE brings to the table. It's so funny how a different perspective can lead to such a different result, but it's true here. If this game were it's own, and not just a MOBA, but more like UT, it'd still be kick ass.

    The Gods are really cool. Though they have made some Gods look more LoL-like (Kali, He-Bo, New Ao), overall, they have done a great job to actually acknowledge the pantheons they come from. My favorite is Neith, followed by Bastet, then Bacchus. Though I may only play certain Gods, I love all of them. There characters stick out, their VP's are top-notch, and the costumes that keep coming only further the personalities of the Gods (and, in turn, the players).

    I may return to it at some point. I've played for a loooonnnngggg time and have seen SMITE undergo many many changes. Every step Hi-Rez has made has been the right step towards making an engaging MOBA worthy of e-sports fame (and I'm being generous here, as I find e-sports to be "What, you can't catch a football?")

    All in all, this is a solid game. If you have a 2-4 friends that like this type of stuff, I'd say bring the malong if you haven't already. SMITE is doing it's best to stand out among the many, monotonous MOBA's out there.
    Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2014
    9
    At first I was skeptical, but was surprised on how quickly one could get into it. I gathered my friends and we so far had a great time.At first I was skeptical, but was surprised on how quickly one could get into it. I gathered my friends and we so far had a great time. Strangely enough this was always a fantasy of mine, a 1st/3rd person Moba game. Although the marketing is extremely poor meaning I only ever heard of this game (through metacritc) a few days ago.

    Pros:
    Great Gameplay
    Great Fun
    Low learning curve
    Extremely good animations
    Good sound
    Overall great fun

    Cons:
    Very very bad marketing department
    The store items could be given more depth
    Lag of local servers
    Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2014
    7
    FUN MOBA , but the game is very limited.. is very easy to farm and reach levels with the GODs , is not complex like the dota , but is a goodFUN MOBA , but the game is very limited.. is very easy to farm and reach levels with the GODs , is not complex like the dota , but is a good MOBA for FUN !!! Expand
  7. Sep 12, 2015
    0
    Long waits for a game and its very rare to have a close game you either win really easily or get smashed.
    If the game had a better
    Long waits for a game and its very rare to have a close game you either win really easily or get smashed.
    If the game had a better matchmacking system and more of a player base the game would be less frustrating. Games are over too quick or you spend ages getting beaten badly and no one wants to surrender. Normally the guys that have overfed the opposition.
    Theres better MOBAs out there I'd strongly recommend going for lol or dota. Give this one a miss
    Expand

See all 248 User Reviews

Trailers