Sniper Elite III Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 393 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sniper Elite 3 continues the story of elite OSS sniper Karl Fairburne during World War II. The title takes players to the unforgiving yet exotic terrain of WWII’s North Africa conflict in a battle against a deadly new foe.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sniper Elite 3 - Developer Diary 3
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jul 16, 2014
    82
    Sniper Elite III is clearly the best game in the series. Rebellion managed to correct some of the previous games' glaring mistakes and improve on its already compelling game mechanics. The only thing keeping it from achieving a higher score is a lack of focus in the story department and a couple of relatively minor flaws. Otherwise, highly recommended to both fans of the series and newcomers alike.
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    80
    Anyone who enjoys a good tactical shooter, especially those with an affinity for the long-range kill, would do well to check it out.
  3. Jun 30, 2014
    80
    Sniper Elite III has some flaws - the AI works in mysterious ways and the storyline is silly. These minor issues don't cloud the complete image - the game is a well thought-out package with a good single-player campaign (full of semi-open missions), satisfying co-op and a solid, original multiplayer mode. You should definitely give Sniper Elite III a Chance.
  4. Jul 1, 2014
    70
    Fun sniping and great mission design just barely eclipse bugs, exploitable AI, and other issues that would make a lesser game impossible to recommend.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Jul 30, 2014
    70
    Fun enough for some dedicated campers, with some truly tense multiplayer action. [Aug 2014, p.50]
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    70
    Sniper Elite III is like working from home for me. Although I enjoy the tasks and executing them, I feel like there are ways to make doing them more rewarding and engaging.
  7. 60
    Good atmosphere, lovelly weapons but the many bugs and the idiotic enemies makes for a pretty big let down.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 75
  2. Negative: 16 out of 75
  1. Dec 11, 2014
    10
    When i first saw title i thought, "gad! another crapy shooter for kids." As i played it, I stood corrected and surprised.
    Play it on
    When i first saw title i thought, "gad! another crapy shooter for kids." As i played it, I stood corrected and surprised.
    Play it on authentic that disables most of hud and no saving through whole mission, no regeneration, only bandages and meds. It gets real then, and u rly pay attention to what u do. And those xray kills are always a eye candy for me :)
    Easier difficulties are a joke for kids. Overexcesive hud, enemy tags and simplified balistics kills this game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2019
    8
    Sniper Elite 3 was my first entry into the series, and to be honest, it's a pretty fun game. The story is honestly in my opinion, the weakestSniper Elite 3 was my first entry into the series, and to be honest, it's a pretty fun game. The story is honestly in my opinion, the weakest part of the game, it was the same typical cliche popcorn flick storyline about some lone sniper fighting against the Nazis in the 1940s, it wasn't very interesting and barely any of the characters were memorable, though the voice acting was pretty decent.

    But the story isn't the most important element of the game, it's the gameplay, and the gameplay is fun as hell, seeing you kill an enemy with a sniper bullet and seeing the enemy die in one of the absolutely brutal and 'ohohoho' deaths is undeniably satisfying and rewarding, the game has 8 huge open and explorable sandbox levels where you could easily spend hours in, the sniper gameplay along with the brutal death animations, is challenging, rewarding, and satisfying, and the stealth is well crafted, but the gunplay with the other weapons seem a bit clunky and awkward.

    The graphics are gorgeous, every level has an incredible amount of detail to them, from the vehicles to the buildings and the environments themselves, and the lighting is great, though the character models don't look as good in my opinion. I also think that the ai does leave room for improvement, they can be pretty good at times, but they aren't at others, plus I have encountered a couple of glitches in the game, but none too game breaking.

    If you love stealth games, and games that require you to be more tactical and slow, Sniper Elite 3 is the game for you, it's no Call of Duty, you can't just run into enemies all willy-nilly and go all rambo on them all the time. It's a challenging game that requires strategy, tactics, and patience, so if you are more into running and gunning, the game is not for you.

    The game is pretty long, I beat the game on normal at 17 hours, and I explored every level, but I only found all the Sniper Nests, I haven't done all the optional objectives, haven't found all the collectible cards and war diaries, and i haven't even maxed out Karl(the main protagonist of the game). So with it being a lengthy game, it also has a lot of replay value with replaying the campaign to complete what you haven't completed, maxing out the levels, and the challenge mode, and the multiplayer modes, so it's quite a bang for your buck.

    Again, if you prefer more slow, tactical shooters, then look no further than Sniper Elite 3.
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    8
    Great gameplay AND x-ray, slo-mo nutshots. Cartman would love it. SCORE 84/100.

    Looks great fully maxed out (I played ultra at 1600p -
    Great gameplay AND x-ray, slo-mo nutshots. Cartman would love it. SCORE 84/100.

    Looks great fully maxed out (I played ultra at 1600p - gorgeous). Fluid movement, good AI (extremely good at higher difficulty), good pacing, and HUGE OPEN WORLDS.

    Definitely pick it up on sale if you like this genre. You will enjoy the experience and it has some truly unique features. Polishes up Sniper Elite 2 and it just nails what they are trying to do. Story is meh, but what did you expect? It's still 10x better than the drivel from Call of Duty or Battlefield, and much longer too.
    Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2014
    7
    The game is is filled with awesome moments you can create for yourself by either doing that hype x-ray **** which is friggin' awesome or youThe game is is filled with awesome moments you can create for yourself by either doing that hype x-ray **** which is friggin' awesome or you can have the "pro" feel by killing people while they don't even see you in multiplayer. This game does not frown upon camping... only using sprint (Lmao) Which brings me to the miltiplayer section of the review first (That's a new one). The multiplayer is just basically what you have in the game EXCEPT it has no x-ray kills which makes it like any other third person shooter (it still has the slow-motion bullet coming out of your rifle thing).
    Now for the singleplayer. The gameplay is fun, you got your stealth and stuff which is pretty simple, now for the story. To be honest I found the story really- well, boring. I just didn't care about the story at all. I was to busy in stealth and killing people that I forgot that it had a story (I just remembered when I was writing this review). I think this is the reason I rated it 7/10.

    Friendly Advice for reviewers: Don't rate a game zero just because it has day one DLC, if you can't help it then just stop writing reviews because it just wastes people's time.
    Expand
  5. Apr 5, 2020
    6
    It's fun for a few hours and then feels very repetitive and not much variation on objectives.
    It's a gimicky kind of game.
    I don't feel
    It's fun for a few hours and then feels very repetitive and not much variation on objectives.
    It's a gimicky kind of game.

    I don't feel like a sniper as most of the time is just sneaking around to stealth kill with a knife as you don't have a silencer on your sniper rifle and can't always use it if you don't want to be heard.
    It's alright if all you want to do is kill people and not care about a story or any depth.

    This isn't my kind of game and just feel sick of playing it, not going to bore myself to death by forcing myself to keep playing to complete it, I'd rather spend my time playing something that is actually fun.
    Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2019
    5
    Sniper Elite 3 aka Sniper Crippled 3 Balls Cut Edition

    Karl is not an elite sniper. Karl is some 2 weeks trained grunt having his balls
    Sniper Elite 3 aka Sniper Crippled 3 Balls Cut Edition

    Karl is not an elite sniper. Karl is some 2 weeks trained grunt having his balls cut, sent to so-called stealth missions equipped with the most sh*ttiest weapons on Earth.
    Welrod is not a stealth weapon, it is the poorest excuse for a weapon, implemented to not helping the player but to doing everything to impede and annoy him.
    Same for Semi-Auto HDM. God forbid if you want to fire more than 2 (TWO!!!) f***ing shots in a row. The 3rd shot will always miss, even if you stuck your pistol in your enemy's throat and pulled the trigger.

    Lousy DLCs (camo weapons) and good for nothing weapons. STG-44 was one of the best assault rifles in WW2, here is a miserable beanshooter with which you cannot hit an enemy more than 3 meters from you.
    Camo versions? Please, spare me. I need a good silenced weapon not paint.
    Fallschirmjäger Gewehr 42 rung any bells for you? Instead of Arisaka Sniper Rifle?
    On Sniper Elite mode, they always parry your melee attacks if you are detected.
    Crouching. Sloooooooooow, veeeeeeerrrrry sloooooow. He's not wearing boots, he's wearing buckets. This game adores to waste your time.
    The game annoyingly warns you "Relocate!" and you hear German soldiers shouting "Wachs en bleiben!" (Stay awake!) even if you cleared the whole goddamned area.
    If you fired more than 2 shots in a row you have to relocate up to Eris' orbit to become invisible again.
    God forbid if you are detected. The whole goddamn Wehrmacht is upon you, spawning up from Pluto's arse right behind you. On top of that, Karl cannot sprint more than 20m without having some cardiac arrest.
    In THEIR hands, MP40 is some kind of pinpoint accuracy weapon, capable of hitting and killing you from kilometers away; in YOUR hands, THE SAME MP40 becomes some kind of a stupid peashooter with horrible accuracy and recoil, needing ~1 clip to kill some Italian or German grunt or more, if you want to kill an elite Fallschirmjäger. Because, you know, developers.
    Instead of being a kickass commando sniper, poor Karl is crippled by stupid cheap mechanics and miserable weapons implemented to artificially increasing the difficulty.
    Weird sound stuttering in some places.
    At least they had the decency to implement a hard save and quick save system for a poor excuse of so-called stealth game.
    I'll raise my mark +1 for decent graphics, runs decent at high settings even on old PCs.
    Have a five from me.
    Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    0
    Garbage, bug filled, lack of content crap . The Day 1 DLC is absolutely disgusting considering how little content is there for the askingGarbage, bug filled, lack of content crap . The Day 1 DLC is absolutely disgusting considering how little content is there for the asking price. Bugs! Bugs! and more Bugs! The game is a bug filled mess! Only the truly stupid would ever support this developer after this release. It spits in the pc gamers face and shows just how little respect this company has for it's customers. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews