User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 66
  2. Negative: 12 out of 66

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 29, 2021
    9
    Everything works perfectly in this game.
    Every mechanics are a part of a very consistent whole and an amazing role playing / tactical turned base experience.

    The story and the faces/facial animations could be better. But how could such a small project be perfect ? It's close to be perfect... With more money it would have been.
  2. Jun 4, 2021
    9
    I see a lot of low reviews but as someone who's played all the Baldur's Gate games, Pillars of Eternity, Neverwinter Nights, Temple of Elemental Evil, Planescape, and Divinity: Original Sin I can tell you this game is right up there with the best. It's got a few faults but they're easily over looked with solid combat that never got old the entire play through.

    I've played thousands of
    I see a lot of low reviews but as someone who's played all the Baldur's Gate games, Pillars of Eternity, Neverwinter Nights, Temple of Elemental Evil, Planescape, and Divinity: Original Sin I can tell you this game is right up there with the best. It's got a few faults but they're easily over looked with solid combat that never got old the entire play through.

    I've played thousands of hours of D&D 5e and even Baldur's Gate 3 hasn't achieved the level "authentic" 5th edition combat that Solasta does. The combat is 10 out of 10 and it's only the up close models and sometimes cheesy (albeit funny) dialogue that stunt this game.

    I was pretty skeptical at first that Solasta would feel more like a beta than it did a full game but man was I impressed straight out of the gate. The overall story is engaging and really got good towards the end.

    When Baldur's Gate 3 is finished Solasta wont hold a candle but right now it's the best (and quite possibly only) faithful rendition of 5e that allows you to reach 5th level.

    TL;DR Ignore the hateful nit-picky reviews of people who've "played D&D for 20 years". So have I and I'd make a blood pact that this game is **** great.
    Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2021
    9
    D&D computer games are mainly about combat, because computer can never recreate playing with living people around the table and in this field Solasta delivers big time. It is also a great tool for learning the rules of 5th edition because it really sticks to them.

    I recommend to build your party focusing on combat abilities, roleplay aspects here are more of a flavor of typical D&D
    D&D computer games are mainly about combat, because computer can never recreate playing with living people around the table and in this field Solasta delivers big time. It is also a great tool for learning the rules of 5th edition because it really sticks to them.

    I recommend to build your party focusing on combat abilities, roleplay aspects here are more of a flavor of typical D&D tropes. Do not expect deep character story, this is Beer and Pretzels D&D game where you kill monsters and get their stuff.

    If you like tactical combat, this is a game for you. If you are not a tactician find some other game.
    Expand
  4. May 30, 2021
    10
    Solasta is a very good game based on d&d 5e. it is a game we haven't seen since a long time since Baldur's Gate 2 we didn't have such a good game, he faithfully follows the 5th edition of d & d he has good graphics he has gameplay very good and I highly recommend.It
    created solutions that work so that combat rules and general rules are respected
  5. Jun 8, 2021
    2
    This game is no good. It's just meh.

    The mechanics are alright, but models look unpolished and poor consistency makes everything look out of place.

    2/10
  6. Jul 7, 2021
    10
    Excellent isometric RPG, following Baldur's Gate and NWN tradition. Based on DnD rules, turn based combat is quick and -sometimes- hard. I really liked the detailed spellbooks and spells' variety; there's even a Flying spell, which you can use to reach hidden treasures or strike at your enemies from above. I think it's pretty obvious, that the programming team really loves DnD and RPGs, IfExcellent isometric RPG, following Baldur's Gate and NWN tradition. Based on DnD rules, turn based combat is quick and -sometimes- hard. I really liked the detailed spellbooks and spells' variety; there's even a Flying spell, which you can use to reach hidden treasures or strike at your enemies from above. I think it's pretty obvious, that the programming team really loves DnD and RPGs, If you're into this, hurry up and roll the dice!! Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2021
    6
    The reason why I rated this a 6 is a subjective one—it may be more of a 7-8 if you are a seasoned D&D player. As a casual player, the game felt like a tedious grind on default difficulty and nothing like the usual RPG you would expect. Read on for a genuine unbiased review of the game.

    Solasta is an isometric RPG with a fair amount to enjoy for veterans of D&D, but otherwise convoluted
    The reason why I rated this a 6 is a subjective one—it may be more of a 7-8 if you are a seasoned D&D player. As a casual player, the game felt like a tedious grind on default difficulty and nothing like the usual RPG you would expect. Read on for a genuine unbiased review of the game.

    Solasta is an isometric RPG with a fair amount to enjoy for veterans of D&D, but otherwise convoluted and difficult to acclimate to for those who have little to no exposure to classic tabletop RPGs. It is a slow burn with a somewhat steep learning curve for newbies. There is a good amount of depth with the story and a strong emphasis on dialogue, which comes with fully voiced character interactions. The game has a clean interface and good performance overall.

    Sadly, many features in Solasta are clunky. There is no exploration as the game is focused on fast travel and random encounters. The inventory is cumbersome to use. Magical scrolls are useless as they are locked off to most builds. Cover is a joke as enemies get right up in your face in no time. Fights largely boil down to raw damage and luck. Weapons and armour basically don't exist since you use the same ones for the majority of the game. There is a very small pool of skills for each class to use, which easily turns repetitive.

    Overall, I cannot recommend this game to anyone who is not a tabletop RPG fan. On the default "Authentic" difficulty, the enemies do plenty of damage while you often miss. I had to drop the difficulty down to actually enjoy the game. If you would like a more well-rounded and immersive experience, I'd highly suggest Divinity Original Sin instead.
    Expand
  8. Dec 17, 2021
    5
    I am actually shocked this game scores as high as it has. It might just be a bias of a small playerbase with a loyal core of fans. I have completed the game and all the side quests in-between.

    1st issue: Itemization, there are so many issues with the items in this game. First and foremost being the lack of them. The best items in the game are crafted, it took me half the game to get my
    I am actually shocked this game scores as high as it has. It might just be a bias of a small playerbase with a loyal core of fans. I have completed the game and all the side quests in-between.

    1st issue: Itemization, there are so many issues with the items in this game. First and foremost being the lack of them. The best items in the game are crafted, it took me half the game to get my first upgraded weapon. Money is almost useless and you can for the most part ignore it. I didn't find a single time I was concerned about running out.

    2nd Issue: Story, its a very meh D&D trope. Nothing great nothing bad.

    3rd Issue: Buggy gameplay. I had several cases where I could not complete an action with no explanation of why. I only had 1 game crash but the randomly not being able to interact with the game part bug and part terrible UI design. There are very few messages in the game to explain if youre making a mistake. You are expected to know D&D 5E Inside and out.

    Conclusion: Its only worth the playthrough if you really enjoy D&D 5E (which I do). I only see the most hardcore of fans doing multiple playthroughs. The story isn't work consideration. I almost would have had more fun with this game if it was just a random fight generator without any story at all. Keep doing fight after fight with new gear and upgrades as you go.
    Expand
  9. Nov 30, 2021
    10
    This is a very good game. If you like the 5e of D&D, it will be true to the genre. Admittedly, the graphics are very rudimentary and basic, but the gameplay is superb. I would give the story a B+, as the early and middle aspects of the story are good, but the ending is weak. However, my overall rating is very positive because this small Indie developer put a lot of love and effortThis is a very good game. If you like the 5e of D&D, it will be true to the genre. Admittedly, the graphics are very rudimentary and basic, but the gameplay is superb. I would give the story a B+, as the early and middle aspects of the story are good, but the ending is weak. However, my overall rating is very positive because this small Indie developer put a lot of love and effort into making this a true D&D game with good mechanics. They have also supported it after launch and done a good job therein. Definitely worth it. Expand
  10. Jul 31, 2021
    7
    Solasta: Crown of the Magister sin duda es un buen juego, aunque no uno excelente. Uno de los apartados donde más flojea es en la historia, que no está lo suficientemente bien como para ser apasionante, y a veces nuestros personajes dicen cosas incoherentes y sin mucho sentido. Es entretenida y se sigue bien, pero ya. Donde si brilla Solasta es en el diseño de los combates y el interés deSolasta: Crown of the Magister sin duda es un buen juego, aunque no uno excelente. Uno de los apartados donde más flojea es en la historia, que no está lo suficientemente bien como para ser apasionante, y a veces nuestros personajes dicen cosas incoherentes y sin mucho sentido. Es entretenida y se sigue bien, pero ya. Donde si brilla Solasta es en el diseño de los combates y el interés de los mismos: son variados, juegan con muchas distintas opciones, hay variedad de enemigos, etc. Construyéndose sobre las reglas de D&D 5ª Edición (probablemente la mejor hasta el momento) también contamos con bastantes opciones a la hora de crear a nuestra party de personajes y a la hora de desarrollarlos.

    Gráficamente el juego es discreto, cumple pero sin ser maravilloso en ningún sentido, con una ejecución que está bien y un diseño que en muchos sentidos parece fantasía genérica. El sonido está bien, especialmente la música, aunque a veces los actores de doblaje no parecen creerse del todo sus líneas. Y, al menos en mi experiencia, apenas ha tenido algunos bugs menores aquí y allí.

    Por todo, ello, sin duda Solasta es un juego recomendable si te gustan los aspectos más de combate, desarrollo de personajes, etc. de los juegos de rol, quizás algo menos recomendable si lo que te interesa es la historia y el desarrollo de personajes. Un 7,5.
    Expand
  11. Jun 6, 2021
    5
    It's meh of a game.

    - Great mechanics, form D&D, but not all of them, so sometimes you just miss some of the things. - Cameras angles are rally bad, in small rooms you can't see, because your vision is blocked by objects. - Animation sometimes works, like I made a team of 4 dwarfs and beards get dis attached from face. -It's kinda funny that one guy voiced all the dwarfs. - Combat
    It's meh of a game.

    - Great mechanics, form D&D, but not all of them, so sometimes you just miss some of the things.
    - Cameras angles are rally bad, in small rooms you can't see, because your vision is blocked by objects.
    - Animation sometimes works, like I made a team of 4 dwarfs and beards get dis attached from face.
    -It's kinda funny that one guy voiced all the dwarfs.
    - Combat Is boring, no flank bonuses, you can fight with one guy that is on the wall for 10-15 minutes, because no one in your party can hit him, even ranger. It's like **** you when your out of arrows, or spells, and there is one last guy somewhere where you can't reach him.
    - Someone dies in your party and is game over, like that char would be so easy to replace.
    - Skill checks are ok.
    - Enemies have better dice rolls xD
    - Game have really nice start, and traveling map with encounters.

    If you played other crpg, this game will not charm you, Baldurs gate 3, divinity 2, or Wasteland 3, are just better and more enjoyable.

    it was for 1$ for xbox pass for a month, so you could try as well, maybe It's just not my taste.
    Expand
  12. Jun 1, 2021
    9
    Great Game with D&D rules. The Story is great. Graphics could be better and there are some small bugs.
  13. Jun 7, 2021
    9
    Solasta is a faithful adaption of DnD Fifth Edition. Unlike most modern RPGs, you do not play one hero but a group of four characters you create and customize. You also give them some personality traits that impact what they can say in the (fully voiced) dialogs. Typical to Dungeon and Dragon, you start the game in a tavern and the stories of how your characters walked there serve as someSolasta is a faithful adaption of DnD Fifth Edition. Unlike most modern RPGs, you do not play one hero but a group of four characters you create and customize. You also give them some personality traits that impact what they can say in the (fully voiced) dialogs. Typical to Dungeon and Dragon, you start the game in a tavern and the stories of how your characters walked there serve as some very well integrated tutorials to learn the different aspects of the game.

    The story is the classic saga you expect in this sort of game As a representative of the council, a sort of United Nation organization, you are tasked with defeating an ancient race of shapeshifter lizardmen who once destroyed another world. For this, you need to find all the long lost stones of a crown you find early in the game.

    Solata got some truly great tactical battle. It's the first of such game that actually make you pay attention to the torches, boarded windows and others potential sources of light. It also makes use of the third dimension which make spells such as fly, jump and misty feet pretty interesting. The array of spell is vast and using the right spell at the right time is the difference between life and death.

    Some may regret that not all races and 5th edition classes are implemented but the core is there and unless you absolutely wanted to play a half-orc barbarian, it shouldn't bother you too much. The game has still a few bugs but nothing critical or game stopping and can be easily overlooked. I don't doubt they are going to get patched soon, seeing how supportive the game devs are. Personally, my only regret that the campaign is a little too linear.

    Also, the game includes a beta and very promising dungeon editor. For now it's a little bare, but it holds a great potential for the future and I'm looking forwards playing some player-created modules.

    In short, the game has a good story, decent graphics and a couple of new / innovative mechanisms you won't find anywhere else. While some areas are truly beautiful, it's not a game you are going to play for its prettiness. It's a game you are going to play for its fun and engaging DnD combats.
    Expand
  14. Jun 12, 2021
    10
    Best D&D based game since Baldur's Gate 2. I hope they produce more content.
  15. May 30, 2021
    3
    It's a 5th Edition D&D based, turn based CRPG with 4 characters you create (or you can choose from some premade ones - but they're not any more special than the ones you make). There's a little less combat focus vs most other CRPGs, and more of a focus on using skills, talking to people, jumping, climbing, flying, crafting, etc.

    Pros: - Good music/sound - Decent character creation
    It's a 5th Edition D&D based, turn based CRPG with 4 characters you create (or you can choose from some premade ones - but they're not any more special than the ones you make). There's a little less combat focus vs most other CRPGs, and more of a focus on using skills, talking to people, jumping, climbing, flying, crafting, etc.

    Pros:

    - Good music/sound
    - Decent character creation on the whole, with problems below
    - Unique system where your created characters actually have a personality and actually participate in all conversations
    - Pushing enemies off ledges is fun
    - Spell animations are rather impressive
    - Fast travel is very nice to have in a CRPG
    - Scavengers that automatically loot and sell all the junk left on corpses is very convenient
    - The turn based combat is rather decent at first

    Cons:

    - Terrible camera
    - Severely limited class selection. I mean, no Bard, really? There's only one Charisma class yet a number of Charisma skills. It all feels bad.
    - 4 member party is too limiting for me. You're going to end up short on either skills or combat effectiveness with such a small group.
    - No way to play as evil beyond being kind of greedy/violent
    - No way to specialize in most magic besides Evocation
    - Classes feel pretty severely unbalanced. Rogues really get the short end of the stick here while casters are king.
    - Absolutely hideous character models and character color options (it's almost as bad as TES:Oblivion). Faces look like a 4 year old slapped silly putty on a potato. And those are the good looking ones.
    - Jumping/climbing mechanics don't add anything fun to the game, they're just tedious and it's often difficult to see what's going on.
    - Can't tell where to go often times with the camera constantly blocking what I want to see
    - Lighting mechanics don't add anything fun to the game, they're just tedious
    - Cover mechanics should be more visually obvious, both when attacking, and when choosing a square to stand on to not have cover
    - I feel like I'm fighting the camera more than enemies
    - Inventory management, especially for storage and crafting is an inexcusable *nightmare*. There's no way to automatically store crafting materials, the storage window is minuscule, and your storage is arbitrarily limited. There's no way to automatically take out what I need to craft, and no way to use stored materials to craft. Crafting feels incredibly bad, and it's mostly useless because by the time you unlock a recipe, you've already got items of that level or better.
    - Relatively low replayability value
    - Some bugs like getting stuck in objects, requiring a reload
    - Combat becomes rather boring very quickly except for casters as it's just repeatedly trading misses otherwise, and constantly moving to see if you can avoid cover penalties or not
    - They're deleting/removing multiple threads in the forums talking about the more controversial aspects of the game. If the devs didn't want people to talk about it, why include it at all? And at this point, the least they could do is have the guts to stand by their product instead of spinelessly deleting any mention of it. (For reference, I don't have any issue with pronouns... but I *do* have an issue with censorship and not standing by the product).
    - Can't skip the long tutorials at the start
    - Can't respec
    - Did I mention the terrible camera?

    TL;DR: Devs wasted a lot of time and resources implementing tedious things from PnP that don't translate well to a video game... it's still maybe fun for those absolutely desperate for a CRPG (and if they've already played literally all others), but no one else.
    Expand
  16. Jul 5, 2021
    9
    This is a fantastic game if you like 5th ed D&D. Is it visually stunning and graphically amazing? Nope, it's not. But it's super fun and VERY playable. I'd say it's the best D&D game I've played since the mid/late 1990s. Why is it so good?

    Pros: - You can make a full party of 4 & customize them with tons of options and combinations. - The graphics are nice, but favor utility and being
    This is a fantastic game if you like 5th ed D&D. Is it visually stunning and graphically amazing? Nope, it's not. But it's super fun and VERY playable. I'd say it's the best D&D game I've played since the mid/late 1990s. Why is it so good?

    Pros:
    - You can make a full party of 4 & customize them with tons of options and combinations.
    - The graphics are nice, but favor utility and being able to understand what's going on over just being beautiful. Like any TTRPG-based game, there's quite a bit going on and this game has visual cues to let you know things like distance, line of sight, etc.
    - The lighting system works well and the environment is dynamic without being an excessive burden.
    - All of your characters have a part in the story, and they all interact (instead of just having a "face" character.
    - The faction system is nice and pairs with the crafting system to let you crank out all the magic items you want or need.
    - The inventory system is functional without being a giant burden or it's own cumbersome aspect of the game.
    - Side quests, while available, are short and to the point.
    - The new subclasses mean even people with tons of time playing 5th ed D&D can come in and have a lot of fun exploring the system, classes, and strategies.
    - Playing around with the spells, combinations of features, etc is lots of fun for veteran players.
    - The open quests basically take you from level 1 to 2 while teaching you how to play the game.
    - Once you've completed a playthrough, making it back through on future tries to play with different parties is much faster and easy to make it through.
    - Excellent they/them gender option.
    - Overall this was a fantastic virtual D&D experience and I had TONS of fun playing it. Among other things, it just really FEELS like D&D.

    Cons:
    - The main and only campaign available right now is about 40-50 hours long. It could easily have another 30-50 hours long and been even more fantastic
    - Level caps out at 10
    - Limited classes (I thought the number of subclasses was fine)
    - Limited character ancestry options, could have used options other than ones that give +2 dex
    - The flying/3D movement toggle is not very intuitive at all
    - There's a handful of bugs but my understanding is that they're getting fixed/worked on

    Once again, fantastic game. Would totally buy again!
    Expand
  17. Jun 16, 2021
    1
    Repulsive animations, stiff and uninteresting dialogues, dragging out prologue, not nearly as many fun combat options as advertised - pushing rocks on wolves can get you only so far.

    Even though I expected poor narration being an excuse for diverse and interesting combat-focus gameplay, I was disappointed not only by the story, but most importantly - by the impaired character creation
    Repulsive animations, stiff and uninteresting dialogues, dragging out prologue, not nearly as many fun combat options as advertised - pushing rocks on wolves can get you only so far.

    Even though I expected poor narration being an excuse for diverse and interesting combat-focus gameplay, I was disappointed not only by the story, but most importantly - by the impaired character creation options where only the few most boring D&D archetypes are available.

    Giving a score of 1 instead of 0 because the game didn't crash.
    Expand
  18. Jun 1, 2021
    0
    Disappointing. It looked quite promising, but ended up being an unpolished, railroading RPG. Would have been an ok portfolio piece for the creators, but it isn't worth purchasing or playing.
  19. Jun 13, 2021
    4
    A well meaning game that mostly fails. It is not second incarnation of BG2, it is not better then NWN or NWN2. People who keep saying that are either paid by the devs or devs themselves. I can understand such a behavior but I will not condone it hence this post.

    Camera is terrible. It so bad that is detrimental to game play. It's reminiscent of the original Neverwinter nights but
    A well meaning game that mostly fails. It is not second incarnation of BG2, it is not better then NWN or NWN2. People who keep saying that are either paid by the devs or devs themselves. I can understand such a behavior but I will not condone it hence this post.

    Camera is terrible. It so bad that is detrimental to game play. It's reminiscent of the original Neverwinter nights but somehow feels worse. There are bugs here and there, but mostly minor ones, nothing game breaking but the game has terrible loading times even on SSDs and game feels lagy and sluggish. Animations are nice but slow so you'll find yourself alt-tabing during painfully slow combats constantly (I am writing this while fighting some fire elementals). It relays heavily on reusing locations, I am surprised no one called them on this. Main quest locations are beeing reused for minor quest. Those fire elementals are at the same place I already went for the crown, I can only hope this is the last time. It reminds me of Dragon age 2, that how bad it is. Other technical details are mostly bad but I can live with bad voice acting, ugly faces and other stuff, it is after all an indie game. That I can live with that is one thing, that people are giving the game 10/10 is something else.

    Story is generic and writing and dialogs are nothing to write home about either. Why did they feel the need to insert some dialog "cut scenes" is beyond me. As stated faces in them are ugly and dialogs are average it would be better not to show that in close ups. Only thing they accomplish is spending devs time and money in showcasing deficiencies of the game. It invites comparison with NWN2 and it that comparison it loses badly. Tactical Adventures just isn't Obsidian. The minor quest are mostly fetch quests with added caviat of fetching things from the main quest's visited locations wehere you find a new mob to kill before fetching and going back. Very little efort is put in them, nothing is memorable, just there to pass the time.

    Combat is perhaps only thing that redeems the game, it is not Divinity original sin good, but good enough. Or it would be if it was not slow and sluggish as **** It came to a point that I just wished for an auto calculate feature. Especially random encounters on the world map. They firstly take a lot of time to load, then even more to finish boring generic combat with enemies you already saw hundred times before and then again to load back to the world map. I dread times when I have to travel far. RNG feel somewhat skewed in enemies favor but I have that feeling on most of the games so I can't confirm if that is rely the case. The verticality, I am sure devs are proud of works only in a sense that it prolongs combat duration by making enemies hard to reach. Unless you are a mage or ranged that is. Being a rouge in this game just has no point. The same verticality scrues pathfinding in game outside the combat. Unnecessary jumps, climbs, falls, crawls just add to the prevailing feeling of slowness. Thank good for the on map quick travels.

    The game prise it self for implementing 5th Edition D&D to the T. Implement it they maybe did (not realy, some classes are absent, darkvision is nerfed...) but what they also did is for example making Sleight of Hand useless. What's more: it is present in the character creation but you can use it anywhere. I just don't see the logic of having something and not using it. Sleight of Hand is not the only thing that get this treatment, but it is the one I miss the most.

    So in the end 4/10 mostly for the efort, anything else in this game...
    Expand
  20. Jul 8, 2021
    9
    Solasta is a fun RPG tactic game. The game last around 39 hours. The story is enjoyable and full of interesting dialogues. The side quest are also interesting. Overall the fighting tactic engine is easy to pick up. However all the recipes and crafting are complicated to understand, and felt unsatisfying. The graphics of the levels are AAA. The character designs seems a bit odd in terms ofSolasta is a fun RPG tactic game. The game last around 39 hours. The story is enjoyable and full of interesting dialogues. The side quest are also interesting. Overall the fighting tactic engine is easy to pick up. However all the recipes and crafting are complicated to understand, and felt unsatisfying. The graphics of the levels are AAA. The character designs seems a bit odd in terms of proportions of the heads and the hairs. Their animations are decent enough to translate emotions. Some side quests lack direction or clear indication. And the last even doesn't tell you, that there is no turning back. The music and the sounds are excellent. I give the game a good 85%. I was addicted to it and I wanted to know all the stories. Great game. I strongly recommend you buy it. Expand
  21. Jul 26, 2021
    10
    It's a good game, though for a fan of the cRPG genre as such.
    But don't listen to all those "I've played more cRPGs than all of you and this cRPG is bad". As if it gives some kind of special advantage.
    Many imperfections are only a matter of time before they are fixed, so there's no point in whining about it. This game is still being updated. The game is more than playable,
    It's a good game, though for a fan of the cRPG genre as such.
    But don't listen to all those "I've played more cRPGs than all of you and this cRPG is bad". As if it gives some kind of special advantage.
    Many imperfections are only a matter of time before they are fixed, so there's no point in whining about it. This game is still being updated.

    The game is more than playable, gameplay-wise it's well done and the mechanics from DnD are nicely felt.
    Graphically it's not the best, though it's not bad, but that's not what you should care about in a cRPG.
    The story is pretty subjective here, some might like it and some might not.
    It is worth noting the dungeon editor, it is a promising feature, although so far it is only in the early stages of development.

    This game has great development potential.
    Expand
  22. Jul 18, 2021
    9
    This is a surprisingly excellent CRPG based in the world of D&D 5E. Don't expect the graphics or voice acting of a AAA game, but both are very solid for a game made on such a small budget, & the intra-party banter is actually very good. However, its in the combat that the game truly shines....with its very faithful adaption of D&D rules, & generally excellent turn-based combat. The gameThis is a surprisingly excellent CRPG based in the world of D&D 5E. Don't expect the graphics or voice acting of a AAA game, but both are very solid for a game made on such a small budget, & the intra-party banter is actually very good. However, its in the combat that the game truly shines....with its very faithful adaption of D&D rules, & generally excellent turn-based combat. The game definitely deserves more love, as I would love to see what this studio can do with more of a AA Development budget. Expand
  23. May 31, 2021
    4
    I was playing this game really hoping that it would be good, i've been playing DnD for the past 18 years, and i still play every week with my friends, and we were having such a good line of games inspired on the tabletop lately.

    But boy was i mistaken... The character models look so bad, its quite impossible to distinguish one from another, is such a contrast with the rest of the
    I was playing this game really hoping that it would be good, i've been playing DnD for the past 18 years, and i still play every week with my friends, and we were having such a good line of games inspired on the tabletop lately.

    But boy was i mistaken...

    The character models look so bad, its quite impossible to distinguish one from another, is such a contrast with the rest of the environment and world.
    The voice acting is quite awful, the camera is the worst. The animation is really weird. The Ui has some issues, the loading are longer than most triple A games (with an SSD) ,and the characters despite having "different characteristics" are blend and generic. That with a campaign more linear than it should is not a good combination. The difficult is way unbalanced, when you win you win easy, when you lose, the game beats you badly. It looks like the Dev's made a custom difficult option setting knowing that they screwed up with that.

    I'm pretty aware that this is not made by a triple A company but I've seen better on solo indie projects.

    They've tried to recreate the feeling of the tabletop but summarize all the bad DM's i've played with during my life.

    Do yourself a favor and go play tabletop DnD, you'll have a better time.
    Expand
  24. Jun 24, 2021
    0
    Terrible - feels like something from 2008, but with worse voice acting. Clunky engine and annoying experience generally.
  25. Apr 11, 2022
    4
    A disappointing game that is nothing more than a combat simulator with mind numbingly and unthinking implementation of 5e rule to a computer game.

    Other than the combat aspect (which is marred by bugs and some issues), the adventuring gameplay aspect, the writing and plot, character development (or lack thereof), the lousy travel mechanics that do not allow you to change your
    A disappointing game that is nothing more than a combat simulator with mind numbingly and unthinking implementation of 5e rule to a computer game.

    Other than the combat aspect (which is marred by bugs and some issues), the adventuring gameplay aspect, the writing and plot, character development (or lack thereof), the lousy travel mechanics that do not allow you to change your destination once set, the buggy travel mechanics that results in you getting exhausted and thus surprised every time you make camp if you do not set off at the "correct hours", ... all these are extremely lacking.

    Not the mention the very linear game play, the limited locale to visit that does not even open up until the plot progress (not even when you see the background image in game and get close to it .. NONE of them) ... the lack of exploration and adventure plus the mindless implementation of 5e rules that does not make sense in a computer game shows the lack of understanding of a good rpg game by the developer.

    So .. no .. this is a don't buy - unless you are looking for nothing more than a competent DnD combat simulator.
    Expand
  26. Mar 10, 2022
    8
    I really like this game and i want to see more. Superclassic isometric RPG, not groundbreaking in terms of epic but very enjoyable for a solid and balanced set of mechanics. It genuinely reminded me of an actual table top DnD session.

    Cons: - graphics are pretty but with some flaws - a bit of a clunky camera - not so much a make-a-choice-change-the-story game as a roll-the-dice-well
    I really like this game and i want to see more. Superclassic isometric RPG, not groundbreaking in terms of epic but very enjoyable for a solid and balanced set of mechanics. It genuinely reminded me of an actual table top DnD session.

    Cons: - graphics are pretty but with some flaws
    - a bit of a clunky camera
    - not so much a make-a-choice-change-the-story game as a roll-the-dice-well one (but this is DnD's own flaw)
    - imbalance between casters+rogues and fighters with the latter behind in terms of effectiveness (probably they didnt have time to fully develop fighter classes at the same degree as the others, although i havent tried the barbarian yet).

    Pros: - the story is more clever than it looks at the beginning, and the dialogues are not obvious
    - I really loved the mechanic allowing interactions between party members, despite the fact that they are all generated by the player (best feature of the game to my opinion)
    - a good amount of creativity in generating the party and in developing each character

    overall a fun game, not a masterpiece, but a very intriguing start.
    Expand
  27. May 5, 2022
    0
    Juego del montón, historia del montón, gameplay que se hace tedioso (batallas eternas contra enemigos debiluchos) , quest mal hechas, etc. No merece la pena.
  28. Dec 12, 2021
    8
    Extremely elegant and essential D&D experience. Solasta provides an accurate digital experience, simplifying the tabletop complexity through an easy to understand digital gaming approach.
    Loved it at first sight and I'm still hoping that more content, classes and functions will be provided in the future.
    The real downside comes with the annoying animated clips that will plague every
    Extremely elegant and essential D&D experience. Solasta provides an accurate digital experience, simplifying the tabletop complexity through an easy to understand digital gaming approach.
    Loved it at first sight and I'm still hoping that more content, classes and functions will be provided in the future.

    The real downside comes with the annoying animated clips that will plague every run at any given, even pointless, interaction with the world and NPCs. These seriously require some function to be skipped at will, instead of having to click multiple times just to skip single sentences.

    The final part of the game, starting with the final run within the volcano zone, is extremely rushed and padded with useless fights and forced interactions with objects, just to navigate the maps.
    That point in the story clearly shows that the previous great care for details and love for interesting content is cut short by the need of releasing the game. Everything feels too hasty and devoid of context. It's a shame. I'd love if the developers changed the final part in the future, adding more stuff.

    Overall, a game that must be played by anyone enjoying this genre and the overall feeling a fantasy adventure can provide.
    Expand
  29. Feb 22, 2022
    8
    Like many other reviewers have stated, this is an outstanding adaption of D&D 5E rules (the best I have seen). It rivals Baldur's Gate I & II when it comes to replicating the feel of playing the pen & paper version (which is awesome if you used to or still play the game that way). However, the game doesn't feel quite done yet... not in a buggy sense (I don't recall any bugs) but rather inLike many other reviewers have stated, this is an outstanding adaption of D&D 5E rules (the best I have seen). It rivals Baldur's Gate I & II when it comes to replicating the feel of playing the pen & paper version (which is awesome if you used to or still play the game that way). However, the game doesn't feel quite done yet... not in a buggy sense (I don't recall any bugs) but rather in a story sense.

    I would like to see more DLC content (dungeons) and an increase to the max level (started at 10 I believe, and is now 12). Yes there are dungeons created by players (some are pretty good) but they have certain limitations that prevent them from being as good as official content.
    Expand
  30. May 12, 2022
    2
    - terrible, terrible camera;
    - bad graphics;
    - very lame story;
    - very ordinary fantasy world;
    - confusing minimap.
  31. May 18, 2022
    8
    Solid Indie game, odl school, dedicated to RPG pen & paper players.
    Very faithful to D&D 5th Edition: Character creation, spells, dice roller, lighting, objects, ability cheks ,rest...with just minor modification here and there
    Combat oriented, turn based, level cap, no grinding or eccessive crafting, no loot dependent. I really liked that fighting and some exploration give enphasis to
    Solid Indie game, odl school, dedicated to RPG pen & paper players.
    Very faithful to D&D 5th Edition: Character creation, spells, dice roller, lighting, objects, ability cheks ,rest...with just minor modification here and there
    Combat oriented, turn based, level cap, no grinding or eccessive crafting, no loot dependent.
    I really liked that fighting and some exploration give enphasis to lighting, height, distance and firendly fire... so it's one of the few game where Darkvision, Light spells, Torches, Flying monsters, Ranged weapons, dash moves and Mobility Spells like Spiderclimb or Jump have a real, meaningful, tactical, usage in the game; and influence gameplay.
    I will use some of the things i have seen in this game fights for my tabletop rpg sessions.
    I'm an old player (From AD&D) and this game help me get in touch with the 5ed, learn most of the rules easilly.
    Some contenets (Like Druids and half-orc race) need an-add on to buy.
    i hope that more adventures will be added in the future.
    Just beware that there are still some bugs here and there and that "social" aspect of rpg (dialogues, romance, moral choices) are basic
    Like other Indie production compare them with AAA games in terms of resources and polish isn’t a fair proposition. Instead, discerning gamers are able to simply appreciate them for what they are
    Expand
  32. May 24, 2022
    6
    Very good D&D 5e game (not a complete licence though). The game feels very pleasant mechanically, very cool 3D map, snappy controls. However the story, setting and design are pretty mediocre. It's hard to play an RPG with a lackluster story...
    Only for D&D fans who wants to experience 5e in 2021, otherwise look up Top 2021 CRPGs on Fextralife channel or something.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Nov 10, 2021
    70
    Overall, Solasta faithfully recreates much of the experience of a fifth edition Dungeons & Dragons adventure with a focus on satisfying combat. It also takes a fresh approach to some of the common tropes, though most of them clearly needed more time and focus to reach their full potential. The game provides an excellent introduction to not only its pen-and-paper counterpart but computer-style role-playing games as well. In the end, Solasta provides a fun, if somewhat short, ride that most will enjoy.
  2. Aug 23, 2021
    60
    SOLASTA: Crown of the Magister has its faults, but still manages to be an enjoyable RPG experience. if you just want a D&D-eqsue dungeon crawler to play through, there are certainly worse options to choose from.
  3. Aug 15, 2021
    69
    A great implementation of the D&D 5th Edition ruleset, Solasta excels at turn-based combat, but falls short at everything else. Dull story, desolate locations, primitive puzzles and one-note side quests are not the hallmarks of an awesome adventure.