Soldier of Fortune II: Double Helix Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Double Helix plunges the players into the secret and deadly world of the modern day mercenary as they race around the globe to stop a bio-terrorist organization. New features include enhanced version of the Quake III Arena game engine for explosive special effects and fast action gameplayDouble Helix plunges the players into the secret and deadly world of the modern day mercenary as they race around the globe to stop a bio-terrorist organization. New features include enhanced version of the Quake III Arena game engine for explosive special effects and fast action gameplay and even deadlier AI than the original. [Activision] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Soldier of Fortune II: Double Helix Movie 15
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. The plot is interesting and well told. The sounds effects and graphics are detailed, realistic, and both beautiful and gory. The enemy AI is outstanding and provides players of all skill levels with a stiff challenge.
  2. The action level in SOF II is high, so prepare your adrenal glands for some intense shooter battles. Playing John Mullins is still a blast.
  3. 90
    With solid action, great graphics and lots of replay value, SoF2 is easily one of the best action games of the year.
  4. I’m maybe a little less impressed by this title for several reasons. Foremost is the fact that, although my system satisfies the minimum daily requirements for vitamins plus iron, the game ran so ridiculously slowly as to be almost unplayable.
  5. 80
    Excellent level and mission variety leads to an experience that ranks among the best seen this year.
  6. Pick it up if you are in dire need of a first person shooter fix, and simply cannot wait for "Doom III" or "Deus Ex 2."
  7. Computer Gaming World
    50
    Anyone who gets off on the violence in this game is reveling in violence solely for violence's sake. [Sept 2002, p.78]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 24
  2. Negative: 5 out of 24
  1. JakeM.
    Jun 9, 2002
    10
    This game is sweet. NOLF, Medal of Honor, and RCW is no where near this game. The story rocks, gore kicks, and the sound is awesome. If you This game is sweet. NOLF, Medal of Honor, and RCW is no where near this game. The story rocks, gore kicks, and the sound is awesome. If you like FPS and gore, this is the game to get. Trust me, your money will be well spent! Expand
  2. BenH.
    Oct 9, 2004
    10
    SP.. is very hard.. try play it on soldier of fortune dificulty.. ouch. Id give single player about 8. Multiplayer... this game deserves 10. SP.. is very hard.. try play it on soldier of fortune dificulty.. ouch. Id give single player about 8. Multiplayer... this game deserves 10. Many many gamers have now crossed over from CS to soldier of fortune becoz they realize cs is really really bad compared to this game. My advice: try this game multiplayer for 1 day and your hooked.. you will almost never play another game ever again. In fact i almost tell you not to do this now because you will no longer have a life you will pull sickys at work... miss important dates and times just to play soldier all day long!!! Anyone who plays the MP of this game will not be disappointed.. i just feel sorry for all the sorry diehard fans who still play cs.. cmon guys its outdated and pathetic now time to move on! Expand
  3. JohnM.
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    Great game, better than the first one. Accurate wound modeling is much more detailed than the first game, though could be even better today Great game, better than the first one. Accurate wound modeling is much more detailed than the first game, though could be even better today (2007). As with the first game, John Mullins, a real-life soldier of fortune, collaborated with the designers on this aspect. It's a fairly close approximation of what real weapons do to real people (though some things do seem to be overdone). That's really what makes it so appealing. On a personal note, it's somewhat cool that the in-game conversations seem to be actually directed toward me :) Aside from that, it's fun and quite challenging. I'm hoping for a third. I can see the PS2 version getting low scores. I'm sure it ran like crap and looked even worse, just like nearly every FPS for the PS2. No surprises there. Plus the whole gamepad nonsense. Expand
  4. TheTwo
    Aug 6, 2003
    8
    I gave the game an 8 because the single player portion deserves a 6 but the multiplayer deserves a perfect 10. Yes, the MP is that good, I gave the game an 8 because the single player portion deserves a 6 but the multiplayer deserves a perfect 10. Yes, the MP is that good, better than CS, MOHAA and others. It's more newbie-friendly and at the same time is more competitive, cause you must rely much more in your team than in CS, individuality is not an option in most cases. This is because weapon balance is great, there are no AWP whores or such, and damage is not that realistic but not that arcade either, just a well-though balance to improve playability. Plus, since patch 1.02 the anti-cheat protection PunkBuster is included, and it works pretty well. The single player is ruined by the awful level design and the badly done "stealth", but I liked things like when you shoot a baddie in an arm, he'll drop his rifle in pain and draw his handgun (in latter levels only). Finally, graphics are very good for a Q3A-powered game, and in the sound department the music is nothing special but all the SFX rock! Expand
  5. TheVoice
    Jun 17, 2003
    6
    The gameplay is fun and the weapons are cool, but the graphics are not that good. Also, the game is too bloody and gory.
  6. BitBurn
    Jun 1, 2002
    5
    Graphically, it's those kind of games that give me headhaches!...Try Medal of Honor:Allied Assault for a real blast!
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 25, 2009
    0
    It's just like the first game but worse in every aspect. I was extremely let down by this game when it was released, it's It's just like the first game but worse in every aspect. I was extremely let down by this game when it was released, it's uninspired, weapons feel and sound worse, the revolutionary gore system was downgraded and have never been seen again in a FPS since the first game... The entire game that used to be fast action just slows down and you even have to go to meetings (yes really!) in boring buildings. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews