Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 300 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed - Gamescom 2012 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    90
    Nostalgia aside, Sonic Transformed as a kart racing game is a blast to play and it comes highly recommended, especially at the reasonable Steam price of $30 (or $80 for a four-pack).
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    86
    Amazingly beautiful tracks where you race, swim and fly, sometimes changing the level as you progress through it, are what makes this game great.
  3. PC Gamer UK
    Mar 30, 2013
    85
    This imaginative, thrillingly fast racer is better than it has any right to be. [Apr 2013, p.107]
  4. Feb 18, 2013
    80
    Whether navigating the labyrinthine hallways of Curien’s Mansion or dodging the reptilian occupants of Death Adder’s Lair, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is the right kind of trip down memory lane.
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    70
    A superior Mario Kart clone and certainly the best Sega has ever produced, especially in terms of the teary-eyed nostalgia inspired by its endless retro cameos.
  6. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    68
    Truth be told, this was a game made for little people and nephews, not for Sega fans. [May 2013]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 75
  2. Negative: 4 out of 75
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    First off, i want to thank Sega for bringing this brilliant and extremely fun game to Pc I was looking forward to this game for a long time,First off, i want to thank Sega for bringing this brilliant and extremely fun game to Pc I was looking forward to this game for a long time, as for i really enjoyed the first one, and (fluid) race and kart games in general. I first played the demo for Ps3, but the frame rate ruined it for me. I always wanted to buy the Pc game on release, but the Pc version was delayed, and at my local game shop they told me it was cancelled. I still had hopes the Pc version would still be released, and to back that feeling up, i bought the Ps3 version, knowing i wasn't going to like it, but the main reason was, to back Sega up on this one. I installed the Ps3 version played it once, and put it on my shelf. But then there was February the first, I bought the game through steam, at a little discount, but still felt i was ripping Sega of, because i truly love this game Its awesome (I do have to say i owned the Master System through to the 32X, so you know, there's a little bit of nostalgic reasons here) I like every aspect of the game, it runs incredibly smooth on my system, the frame rate is buttery smooth, (I just had to use this saying once) the graphics sharp and crisp, (turn blur off) the sound great, music really fitting and uplifting. Games like this make me truly happy, and thankful for the fact i can still play games like this. I really laugh and smile allot when playing this game, but once i putt down my controller, my grumpy face sacks back, and my depressions kick back in again :D Times are hard... I Really would like to say to the Pc community, please buy this game If you like race and or kart games, it's brilliant I know there's allot of pirating in the Pc community, i did it allot my self, and probably will do it again, if they lock the next generation up as they are planning. This generation though, i bought EVERYTHING for my Wii, Ps3, and Pc, if you want to try it, download it, but please buy it if you like it Games like this should be supported, and i know this game will probably sell like S**t, but it DOES NOT deserve that. It's absolutely great on Pc The only thing i dislike about Pc gaming since i went back to it in 2011, after, well... about 13 years, are the damn cheaters. I don't care about offline cheating, i actually like to see what people can do, and how they can alter the game, but please don't cheat online. I well... i think i can say, pretty much suck online, but i don't cheat, i do seem to be pretty good at racing games online though, i think about average, butt i hate it when i suck online, and then lose a lot by cheaters, i don't care if i lose a lot against people who play fair, so please keep the Pc version clean online, so it can be great for everyone. Well... All and all this game rocks, it's recommended to play this game on your tv, with a controller tough, if you have the possibility to do so. I have a 120hz full hd syncmaster, but play the game on my 720p tv at 60fps, on my attic. Gonna play some more now. Game on And once more, Thanks Sega You gave me fond child hood memories. O yeah... one more thing, it's the name of the game... It's probably about marketing technical reasons, that they called the first one: Sonic and Sega All Stars racing, and the next one, Sonic and All stars racing transformed, i know the Sonic name sells, but why not call it Sega All Stars Racing 1 and 2, and just put Sonic on the cover for marketing technical reasons. Just saying... Well now i'm really gonna play some more Peace out Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2022
    10
    Simplesmente um dos melhores jogos de corrida que eu já joguei!
    Embora o Mario Kart seja o jogo do gênero mais popular e não apresente muitas
    Simplesmente um dos melhores jogos de corrida que eu já joguei!
    Embora o Mario Kart seja o jogo do gênero mais popular e não apresente muitas diferenças entre uma edição e outra, o Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed merece uma chance de todos aqueles que gostam de kart, pois se trata de um jogo completo.
    Como é de se esperar de um jogo assim, ele não possui história e você pode começar a correr assim que abre o título, tendo de escolher entre diversos modos de corrida, como a World Tour e Grand Prix, o que faz com que apenas o modo campanha por si só possua uma boa duração. Em relação ao multiplayer, é possível jogar localmente contra outros jogadores com a tela dividida ou online.
    No que diz respeito aos veículos e personagens, são diversos e são desbloqueados à medida que o jogador avança no jogo, podendo também ser aumentado o nível de cada personagem para que seja possível personalizar as características de cada veículo. O “Transformed” no título não está ali apenas por enfeite e existe porque não estão presentes apenas carros no jogo, mas barcos e aeronaves, cada um personalizado de acordo com o personagem escolhido.
    Sendo assim, é justo que o Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed seja considerado por algumas pessoas como o melhor jogo de kart já lançado e, com toda a certeza, merece a sua chance.
    Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. It's some much fun and enjoyable. A kart racing game like never before. Yes, it might a rip off from som Mario kart games, butAmazing game. It's some much fun and enjoyable. A kart racing game like never before. Yes, it might a rip off from som Mario kart games, but it still is an amazing and very unique.I am having hard time to say anything bad about this game. All i am gonna say, it's not just racing, it's racing transformed. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    Growing up I was a huge fan of 'Mario Kart'; both the Super Nintendo version and 'Mario Kart 64' as well. Then 'Diddy Kong Racing' came outGrowing up I was a huge fan of 'Mario Kart'; both the Super Nintendo version and 'Mario Kart 64' as well. Then 'Diddy Kong Racing' came out and it was the greatest thing to ever happen to cart racers. Then Nintendo put out 'Double Dash', and it was the greatest thing to ever happen to cart racers. Then 'Mario Kart' came out for the Wii and needless to say, it wasn't very good. Then this game came out and all was well again in the land of cart racers.

    This is without a doubt, one of the best cart racing games to ever have been released. In fact, it's so good that I'm willing to overlook the fact that it's pretty much a complete rip-off of both 'Diddy Kong Racing' and 'Double Dash'. But that's probably what I like most about it. Really though, this game has everything you would want in a cart racing game and more. Various modes: such as 'destroy the tank', 'pass the traffic', and 'boost to the finish line' assure that you'll never get bored. Tons of tracks: 21 to be precise (that's old enough to legally consume alcohol!), a boatload of playable characters, tons of secrets, precision steering, and shortcuts galore! What else could you ask for?
    Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    SASRT Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed) might be a Mario Kart clone, but that doesn't stop it from blowing the original out of the water.SASRT Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed) might be a Mario Kart clone, but that doesn't stop it from blowing the original out of the water.

    Where Mario Kart games can really feel like they're mostly based on luck, SASRT is mostly based on skill, even though you can still get a good item that would help you get the upperhand, but even then, you'll still have to use it wisely and have the skill to do so, or it will be completely useless.

    Where Mario Kart games' races can feel pretty uninspired, SASRT's races are a pretty great demonstration of intelligent level-design. Every single inch of the races are calculated to reward you if you're doing good and punish you if you screw up.

    Where Mario Kart games pace can feel boring, SART's pace will barely allow you some time to blink.

    Where Mario kart games single-player will gladly leave you the first place in any race on any difficulty setting and make sure the closest opponent stays a mile away from you, SASRT's AI will rather hunt you down and take you out like there's a billion dollars bounty on your head

    And don't get me wrong, I love Mario kart, especially Double Dash on gamecube. But Sega's SASRT is just so good it makes Mario Kart games looks like they're the SASRT clones.
    Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2020
    8
    I didn't expect this game to be this fun. And it runs without any problem on a more modern pc with Windows 10 and it has enough settings toI didn't expect this game to be this fun. And it runs without any problem on a more modern pc with Windows 10 and it has enough settings to play around for an overall smooth experience. Lots of characters from different SEGA series (hell, you can even play Team Fortress 2 characters !), beautiful tracks that evolves throughout the race and gameplay is simple enough to get used to it, with a little bit of training you can get quite good. If you don't own a Nintendo system or just want a fun solo Kart (and plane, and boat ?) Racer then this is a must have. It's not perfect by any means, certain characters just suck to use as their stats are pretty mediocre, while sometimes it's meaningless, and if you have Metal Sonic unlocked you already have him maxed out anyway.
    All in all, if you grab it on sale, it's an awesome deal.
    Expand
  7. Sep 21, 2021
    1
    the game is horrible. The physics are asinine, and bumping into anything feels like trudging through molasses constantly.

    Honestly, I want
    the game is horrible. The physics are asinine, and bumping into anything feels like trudging through molasses constantly.

    Honestly, I want a refund.

    Pros:
    None

    Cons:
    You spin out and absolutely just get turned around, then you wind up in 10th for no reason

    You can't see if anything is being thrown backward, and you are just driving blind the entire time hoping to just finish a race in a decent position.

    The stats are complete trash on pretty much any character you play, and the game asks to mod them, shouldn't have to, should just be stats that make sense like seen in Mario Kart 8 Deluxe.

    There's no hidden tech that makes it fun and exhilarating to come back and play.

    Stunts don't work half the time you try and trick over them, so what's the point of having them implemented.

    1/10 on entertainment

    1/10 on gameplay

    1/10 on controls

    horrible all around.
    Expand

See all 75 User Reviews