User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 33
  2. Negative: 12 out of 33
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoseDosC
    Jan 24, 2010
    3
    I like space games, even not great ones. I've played everything from Elite on the 8 bits through the X games, Frontier, Freelancer etc. But I didn't like this, it felt flimsy and cobbled together. As others have said the onboard computer's messages are annoying, the NPC chat is repetitive, and the interface is both hard to understand and doesn't look good. I would say I like space games, even not great ones. I've played everything from Elite on the 8 bits through the X games, Frontier, Freelancer etc. But I didn't like this, it felt flimsy and cobbled together. As others have said the onboard computer's messages are annoying, the NPC chat is repetitive, and the interface is both hard to understand and doesn't look good. I would say you should buy Dark Star One over this, if you have exhausted all the better options (like X3). Expand
  2. MaxL.
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    This is a fun game ONCE you figure out: 1) controls 2) what is going on 3) what all the little "things" mean (arrows, colors, signs, flashing symbols etc) 4) get the patch 1.1 installed, and fix the joystick --- Go to the game forum for a "real" manual since the one that comes with the game is pretty useless... oh yeah, and there's no real tutorials... The game is very much like This is a fun game ONCE you figure out: 1) controls 2) what is going on 3) what all the little "things" mean (arrows, colors, signs, flashing symbols etc) 4) get the patch 1.1 installed, and fix the joystick --- Go to the game forum for a "real" manual since the one that comes with the game is pretty useless... oh yeah, and there's no real tutorials... The game is very much like Elite if you are old enough to remember that, it's a space trading, fighting game that is best enjoyed with a very slow deliberate and relaxed pace in mind. Other than frantic fighting that takes real skill, and preparations (change to correct missiles and guns, the battle is over in seconds... wrong guns, wrong missiles... minutes or hours.) There is so much to discover and learn that if you enjoy this kind of open ended exploration/mining/trading/"x-wing" style combat then you will like this game. The main storyline is pretty average, with absolutely AWFUL acting. Most lines are delivered similar to a really bad high school... no, better make that elementary school play. What is fun for me is just nosing around, experimenting and finding new stuff, plus the visuals are fantastic. (on a dual core, with 4gb of memory and dual sli nvidia 512mb cards- your milage may vary.) Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    This game recieves full score from me for several reasons. First, the amazing soundtrack. It alone makes me want to play the game. It really flungs you out in the galaxy. Second, the graphics. It to is magical. Combined with the music it creates the best space-sim feeling in a game I have played. Third reason, the fights. Tough adrenaline pumping action. Forth reason is the exploration.This game recieves full score from me for several reasons. First, the amazing soundtrack. It alone makes me want to play the game. It really flungs you out in the galaxy. Second, the graphics. It to is magical. Combined with the music it creates the best space-sim feeling in a game I have played. Third reason, the fights. Tough adrenaline pumping action. Forth reason is the exploration. Many systems to explore, many species, many secrets. The game has a few downsides, like the steep learning curve, short story and repetetive missions. However, it's better to have an advanced game than a simple one and the non story-mode gameplay is almost as fun as the story-mode. So the biggest downside is repetetive missions, but that doesn,t matter much when you want to fix medals and explore the galaxy. SpaceForce: Rouge Universe is simply one of the best sci-fi games if you like the feeling of really explore space in a beautiful and fantastic way. Expand
  4. xdp
    Jun 7, 2007
    3
    3 points full for the visual development team(for in-game models, animations, designs, etc BUT not those ... FMV). It is eye catchy and can easily fools anyone with still shots, however it is a big let down when you are in the cockpit for the first time. Voice-Over, Sound Effects, Controls (Keyboard & Mouse) and playability shows no good sign at all. Even the decade old Freespace 2 is 3 points full for the visual development team(for in-game models, animations, designs, etc BUT not those ... FMV). It is eye catchy and can easily fools anyone with still shots, however it is a big let down when you are in the cockpit for the first time. Voice-Over, Sound Effects, Controls (Keyboard & Mouse) and playability shows no good sign at all. Even the decade old Freespace 2 is alot better and engaging in every sense. Definitely not worth it unless the publisher decide to patch a major overhaul a.s.a.p. Expand
  5. Davewlk
    May 22, 2008
    0
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played period. The story is terrible and it brings nothing new to the table at all, it has okay graphics so the chances are people may see that and give the game a decent review before they have gotten into the game and see how bad it actually is. It took them approx a year to get out the latest patch and it didnt even fix the most fundemental This is one of the worst games I have ever played period. The story is terrible and it brings nothing new to the table at all, it has okay graphics so the chances are people may see that and give the game a decent review before they have gotten into the game and see how bad it actually is. It took them approx a year to get out the latest patch and it didnt even fix the most fundemental bugs to be fixed. As for factions well irrespective if you go pirates well you will still do the campaign for the emd, freemode is a joke , just plain boring, the quest system is this complete botched randomised cheap as hell feeling quest system that after you have played 30 mins you have seen ever quest type in the game. On the forum all that are left are the diehard fans or just plain deluded or people that want you to buy this dire game so you are in the ssame boat as themselves(This is my view - most I have seen on the forums is 4, they start polls and post positive so it looks like everyone likes the game, the fact is most people have played and moved on because it is such a dissapointment) I have played and got into all space genre games of recent years some of which include Freelancer X X3 Darkstar One and trust me SF RU bring nothing new to the table, I know of a total indie developer who made a game evochron renegades, the game is only 30MB approx in size and while it isnt perfect by a long shot it is still a better game than SF RU, also with evochron renegades the SOLO developer beings out better quality updates and 100* faster than this so called non indie developer - provox aka jowood You want my view as a person who is an avid rpg/strat/MMO fan, dont buy this game - Its graphics is what people must be reviewing on, this sickens me as to me a game should be about gameplay so in my view its getting far higher reviews than it deserves. I play old 8 bit and freeware games 10* more fun than SF RU yet reviewers put good reviews out because it looks nice :( Please stop reviewing games on glitz its just making it harder for those of us who want content and diversity to not get ripped off by bad reviewing! Expand
  6. MeestykIcebolt
    Aug 21, 2007
    6
    Graphics ok, but it gets repetitive overtime and very tedious when you've been playing similar games in this genre. The makers could have totally made a gem out of Spaceforce: Rogue Universe, but instead turned it into a bin item. And I'm being generous with words. Investing in the right people to make a game and you've got something amazing, but it's nowhere near that Graphics ok, but it gets repetitive overtime and very tedious when you've been playing similar games in this genre. The makers could have totally made a gem out of Spaceforce: Rogue Universe, but instead turned it into a bin item. And I'm being generous with words. Investing in the right people to make a game and you've got something amazing, but it's nowhere near that here. Back to my ice/fire bolts then!!! Ohh and my mentalist brain fry spells!!! Expand
  7. Maciej
    Jul 26, 2007
    7
    Nothing is better than EVE-ONLINE though somebody is trying as we see, and they are succeding...
  8. BradC.
    Oct 20, 2007
    8
    It's a damm good game. It makes a worthy successor to Elite!
  9. JamesB.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Awsome Game!! The Battles at the Beginning are NOT hard at all (just need to turn down the Diff),the graphics are great,the music is great also. There isnt any multiplayer yet but there "might" be down the road,The Advertisement on Steam stateing that there is multiplay is a mistake by Steam not the developer or the publisher. Overall the game is Great,i say buy it if ya like space games.
  10. TylerM.
    Nov 22, 2007
    4
    The game seems unfinished. it is a great visually, but there are many aspects that are wanting. especially when compared to similar games in the genre, IE freelancer. the voice acting is, well, it's terrible. I would rather poke my eardrums with a fork. it has several great ideas that they just didnt go anywere with, such as anomolies. the radar is so confusing that if you spend any The game seems unfinished. it is a great visually, but there are many aspects that are wanting. especially when compared to similar games in the genre, IE freelancer. the voice acting is, well, it's terrible. I would rather poke my eardrums with a fork. it has several great ideas that they just didnt go anywere with, such as anomolies. the radar is so confusing that if you spend any time looking at it you will get lost. theres no gamma settings, the game is very very dark, you can't see what your shooting at half the time. Expand
  11. FrankR.
    Nov 22, 2007
    3
    The game looks good, if you turn off you speakers you can actually play it for a time. the ship computer gets really anoying, telling you your sheilds are full every 30 sec during combat, or the abismal voice acting from the people youre fighting. Not only that, but the game has an "unfinished" feel to it. Like they got about half way done and said "eh, this will do."
  12. SteveB.
    Jun 13, 2007
    0
    It's just criminal to take a game with so much potential and just torpedo it in such an obscene manner. What's really amazing is how much effort went into the game on the basic stuff -- engine, art, etc. -- and how little effort went into directing this to a great gaming experience. In the grand scheme of things, it takes relatively little money to hire a good writer/designer, It's just criminal to take a game with so much potential and just torpedo it in such an obscene manner. What's really amazing is how much effort went into the game on the basic stuff -- engine, art, etc. -- and how little effort went into directing this to a great gaming experience. In the grand scheme of things, it takes relatively little money to hire a good writer/designer, compared to the rest of the investment. If only they had done that, this game would absolutely sing. As it is, it sinks like a stone. They hired an incompetent 19-year-old student with zero experience to do the entire mission design and writing. He did even worse than you'd imagine. Do not even consider buying this game until you have tried the demo! You'll easily see from the demo how bad it is. Expand
  13. JoshB
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    I'm determined to help this games rating. It took me almost a week to get over the learning curve. However, this is "the" single most expansive sci-fi flight sim I have ever played. Not only does it offer in-game benchmarks for Dx10, it offers a galaxy of star systems and planets, factions and multiple game-play options. Beautiful game with lots of flight controls.
  14. Jul 27, 2014
    3
    First, NEVER buy things with the dreamcatcher logo on it... they suck! Why? Because they force the release of games before they are finished (Pax Romana for example... there are plenty of others) on top of being unfinished, they are super buggy.

    The game itself... well... nothing new, all old stuff. Pretty much like X universe minus the great interface and some other interesting things.
    First, NEVER buy things with the dreamcatcher logo on it... they suck! Why? Because they force the release of games before they are finished (Pax Romana for example... there are plenty of others) on top of being unfinished, they are super buggy.

    The game itself... well... nothing new, all old stuff. Pretty much like X universe minus the great interface and some other interesting things. I've tried the demo and it was horrible.

    I suggest you never buy this, not only because it's a dreamcatcher crap, but because it's nothing new or creative, we've seen hundreds of games like this one already. They bring nothing new to the genre... Play the old X-universe series (not the Rebirth one, it sucks big time) and not only it will be the same but will cost you waaaayyy less money... graphics will be quite similar too since Spaceforce is rather dated when it come to graphics , like we had those 10 years ago.

    Don't buy
    Expand
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Clunky and unimaginative.
  2. A graphically amazing, highly playable engine is let down by a fairly predictably storyline and repetitive mission structure.
  3. Spaceforce offers up a beautiful, dynamic universe to explore, though it suffers from a steep learning curve.