Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    100
    It’s not survival horror with trucks. It’s survival horror for trucks. You as a driver, as a person, as a foot on a gas pedal and a pair of hands, don’t exist. Whether it’s because Oovee didn’t want to fuss with character models or because it’s an intentional effort to focus on the element of machines vs nature without mere humanity in the middle to muck it all up, the world of Spintires is like Maximum Overdrive, that dopey horror movie where trucks come alive and drive themselves around. Not for the cheese factor, of course.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Sep 3, 2014
    85
    Without a doubt Spintires is the best trucking game I've ever played. When muddy physics are combined with crappy vehicles, the outcome is truly unique. Spintires is a survival game, where you have to make do with big cars in a soft terrain. [Aug 2014]
  3. Jun 24, 2014
    85
    Spintires is a very good game. It's hard to imagine a better truck driving model - game engine paired with Havok covers up any issues the game might have (and it has some minor ones). Spintires is a game with an original theme and a great example of a simple, but extremely playable product. Great job.
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    80
    Spintires is extreme in every sense. If you love the idea of driving off-road on mud and rocky tracks, it’s your next big-deal.
  5. Jun 17, 2014
    80
    Did I just spend 25 hours transporting lumber and getting stuck in the mud? I certainly did, and I don't regret any of it.
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    76
    There's some true, and unusual fun to be had here, but the price tag is a but on the high side, especially considered it's a kind of work-in-progress.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 160
  1. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    Really wonderful game for my Russian dirty soul =) It has everything: Russian trucks, woods, tons of dirt and wonderful birds singing... IReally wonderful game for my Russian dirty soul =) It has everything: Russian trucks, woods, tons of dirt and wonderful birds singing... I would have more enjoyment if there were bears, but unfortunately I have to drive alone =( Full Review »
  2. Jun 13, 2014
    0
    +++ Pros +++
    1. Interesting Idea
    2. Quick loading times 3. Various trucks to drive 4. Co-op and multiplayer - - - Cons - - - 1. Horrible
    +++ Pros +++
    1. Interesting Idea
    2. Quick loading times
    3. Various trucks to drive
    4. Co-op and multiplayer
    - - - Cons - - -
    1. Horrible Camera
    2. Only 6 same looking maps
    3. Deliver lumber,thats it.
    4. Controls and Interface are mess.
    5. Graphics and view distance are poor even on max settings.

    Do you love to get stuck in mud? Then this hardcore simulator is for you.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    I heard this game was made by a very small team (like 3 people) out of money gathered via crowdfunding - if that is the case, then chapeau basI heard this game was made by a very small team (like 3 people) out of money gathered via crowdfunding - if that is the case, then chapeau bas and kudos for the developer. It is an amazingly well optimized piece of code, that makes this game unique in it's clash with environment. I cannot judge now how big the game is (5 maps, already played 2 and 3rd in multiplayer with a friend). It definitely is a game worth trying, it's got this vibe of a perfect game for whole summer season. Beat the mud or die in it. Full Review »