Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Aug 18, 2020
    100
    Spiritfarer excels in every genre it dips its toes in. It’s a joy to see what’s in every corner of the game’s ocean, explore every nook and cranny of the various islands, and play various minigames all while managing your ship and making sure your passengers are happy before you see them off. It’ll make you laugh, cry, and feel terrified all at the same time. It’s one of those games that, after finishing, you immediately want to play again.
  2. Aug 18, 2020
    95
    Spiritfarer is a beautifully crafted, memorable experience that focuses on the dead trying to find peace upon heading into the afterlife.
  3. Sep 25, 2020
    90
    Spiritfarer is a poignant bridge between Animal Crossing, Stardew Valley and a ferryman of the dead simulator. It’s lovely, sad, full of emotions, death and management.
  4. Sep 10, 2020
    90
    Spiritfarer is a wonderful take on the management sim. It creates a profoundly fulfilling loop by rewarding character interaction far more than micromanagement. The stellar production values and writing balance the game's realistic, death-positive message with abundant empathy. Thunder Lotus has really hit the nail on the head with Spiritfarer, achieving its artistic goal with simplicity, style and remarkably few flaws.
  5. Sep 3, 2020
    90
    Spiritfarer turned out to be a grand sea adventure of resource management, which added a generous collection of stories through a memorable cast of characters, all of them animated in a most sublime way so to give this game a feeling of pure magic.
  6. Aug 31, 2020
    90
    An incredible game by Thunder Lotus Games who managed to tackle one of life's greatest tragedies with amazing grace. The beautiful storytelling, combined with the slow paced gameplay simply benefit every part of this wonderful journey.
  7. Aug 26, 2020
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Aug 23, 2020
    90
    An amazing and surprising game.
  9. Aug 20, 2020
    90
    Spiritfarer is worth playing for the visuals alone, but the mature storytelling and fascinating look at a concept we don’t see explored very often make it well worth checking out. Expect to put at least 35 hours in if you want to see the whole story, more if you’re a completionist.
  10. Aug 18, 2020
    90
    Spiritfarer is a game about saying "goodbye" to our friends. Its management mechanics are only a shield, behind which Stella, a ferrymaster, tries to help souls living a serene departure. But their journey is also Stella's journey, full of surprises, emotion and laughs and Spiritfarer is able to turn a death trip in a boat full of life, sounds and people. What is the afterlife? How we are reaching it? Spiritfarer answers with elegance and smartness. A precious gem.
  11. 90
    Spiritfarer is an excellent game in its own right, yet its candid handling of death truly sets it apart from its peers. It's addicting gameplay loop is well complimented by its thoughtful story - anyone who likes their relaxation with a side of healthy contemplation will be hard pressed to find a more compelling game this year.
  12. Aug 18, 2020
    90
    Spiritfarer is a gorgeous mix of an action-platformer and an Animal Crossing-style town manager that stands out as one of the most unique and enjoyable games I’ve played all year. Its lengthy campaign is full of charming characters with somber, touching stories, even when the tasks between them can occasionally lose their shine. But with little pressure to grind or hurry like so many other resource collecting games, the journey to Spiritfarer’s Everdoor is definitely one worth savoring.
  13. Aug 18, 2020
    90
    Spiritfarer is an absolute triumph and easily goes down as the best game that Thunder Lotus has created. It’s no easy feat to juggle a cast of charming characters with captivating stories, a vibrant world that allows for a ton of fun platforming, enjoyable bits of resource management and crafting, and genuinely moving moments, but they have somehow pulled it off. It’s easily one of the year’s most unique games, an incredible hybrid of genres that almost feels like it has something for everyone. It may be a lengthy beast, clocking in at a meaty twenty or so hours, but it’s a rewarding one. Even long after the curtain falls on the tale of Stella and all the friends that they’ve made, you won’t be forgetting this charming take on the afterlife anytime soon.
  14. Aug 18, 2020
    90
    Those who will patiently (and happily) put in the time to building their ferries and cooking for their spirit friends will be rewarded with snippets of story that might stay with them longer than they expect.
  15. Aug 18, 2020
    90
    Spiritfarer is somehow a game with no risk but all reward. There's no death, no pain, no rush on any task, and yet I don't think I've ever felt this complete. You're allowed to totally take your time, play on your own terms, and even though your tasks are easy, they are incredibly fulfilling. If the game had kept giving me quests, I feel as if I would have kept doing them for eternity, just because I wanted to. All of Spiritfarer's novel mechanical variations kept potentially repetitive actions from ever growing old. Its gleeful little islands got more exciting to explore as new platforming abilities were unlocked. The characters, even small ones with funny little quips of dialogue that you encounter, were friends that I cherished. I absolutely adored existing in Spiritfarer's beautifully animated, compassionate world so much that it genuinely came to feel like home.
  16. Aug 18, 2020
    88
    Spiritfarer is a beautiful and unique adventure about death. It might not be revolutionary gameplay-wise, but the way it combines the game mechanics with the storytelling is outstanding.
  17. Aug 26, 2020
    86
    A clever mix between management, strategy, action and exploration. It’s not only very relaxing, but also has some heartwarming moments.
  18. Aug 19, 2020
    85
    Spiritfarer has a touching message embedded in a fun journey full of everyday chores and challenges all delivered in an experience that is so beautifully illustrated.
  19. Aug 18, 2020
    85
    In the slew of independent video games that exist, we sometimes stumble upon pure wonders. Since the budget established cannot compete with the big productions, the developers had to redouble their efforts to reach us and stand out from the crowd. Whether it's quirky gameplay, beautiful writing, or singular art direction, the emotional impact has to be strong to catch the limelight, and that's what Spiritfarer does. The game of adventure and management shows finesse and generosity. Making death the very principle of the game, wrapped in a cartoon style and while maintaining tenderness and benevolence, was a daring bet. Mission accomplished!
  20. Aug 18, 2020
    85
    A thought-provoking and bittersweet adventure that understands that death is part of living.
  21. Aug 24, 2020
    80
    Blending both adventure and management sim, the player cares for these characters and wanders into the wonder of this world, which lights up with each new island discovered. It explores the role of both parties in death; is it the responsibility of the spirit or the Spiritfarer to sew together the uncomfortable threads of loss?
  22. Aug 24, 2020
    80
    Spiritfarer is not looking for you. It finds you. A fantastic travel by sea in which you will discover a deep message and a satisfying sense of peace. Not for everyone, but that is precisely the best thing about the game.
  23. Aug 18, 2020
    80
    In representing the moment of passing away, however, it enhances life, creating a cycle of small daily actions that describe days of joy and carefree nature.
  24. Aug 18, 2020
    80
    You encounter a limited number of spirits in your travels, and seeing their stories is your primary incentive to continue. Once that task is done, it’s time for you to say your own goodbye to Spiritfarer. Even though you can technically keep sailing around after the credits, that feels unnecessary. The journey is complete, and I was satisfied by that sense of closure. Despite occasional rough waters in the pacing and characters, Spiritfarer is a voyage I will remember fondly.
  25. Aug 18, 2020
    80
    Spiritfarer is a cozy game about helping spirits move on. Its wide scope of systems and resources can sometimes get in its own way, but when working in harmony it unveils a touching narrative, all the while adorned by gorgeous art. Best enjoyed in small pieces, Spiritfarer is a warm and inviting world to get lost in, with the occasional emotional gut punch for good measure.
  26. Aug 18, 2020
    80
    Spiritfarer has a soft, caring, bittersweet tone that I've rarely encountered in video games. For a game all about death and dying, I only ever felt calm and relaxed when playing it. The management gameplay is varied and engaging, and even though the scope if it leads to the game getting a bit too long in the tooth, it helps connect the incredibly emotional story beats together so well. Mix that up with its beautiful art style and enchanting music, and you've got one of the most emotional management games I've ever played.
  27. Aug 18, 2020
    80
    Spiritfarer is a good management game, simple in its playful structure, yet discreetly varied and visually inspired. The characters that we’ll have to accompany in the afterlife are nice, and the writing is accurate and stylistically heterogeneous. Too bad for a rhythm not always effective during the long adventure.
  28. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 21, 2020
    76
    Even though it touches upon the themes of death and saying goodbye to your loved ones, Spiritfarer feels warm and upbeat. It also doesn’t feel like work, which is a rare thing for management games. [Issue#248, p.43]
  29. Aug 18, 2020
    70
    It perfectly marries gameplay and story in a way that isn't seen often. By the end, I had come to love Spiritfarer and am happy I stuck with it. Still, I can't readily recommend this to everyone. If you fancy story more than gameplay, then, by all means, go for it. If you're more of the type that likes being constantly engaged with challenging systems, Spiritfarer probably won’t get its hooks in you. Either way, Thunder Lotus has created a beautiful, thoughtful, and emotional journey that won't soon be forgotten.
  30. Edge Magazine
    Sep 10, 2020
    60
    Spiritfarer loses itself in so much tiresome back-and-forth, ladling on delightful incidental details in the hope that you won't notice that each character's story has become little more than an extended shopping list. [Issue#350, p.96]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 18, 2020
    By marrying metroidvania, management sim and a good dose of kindness, Spiritfarer manages to feel simultaneously familiar and refreshing. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Aug 18, 2020
    While some of its farming, crafting, and resource collecting mechanics feel familiar, Spiritfarer has so much richness and depth, and everything you do feels meaningful and rewarding. Even in-between moments when I'm not playing the game, I catch myself thinking about it and picking apart all of the little details that really make it shine. Gorgeously animated and beautifully brought to life with an enchanting soundtrack, soaking up the sights and sounds of this mystical world is a true joy, and spending my time with the loveable spirits is an experience I won't soon forget.
  3. Aug 18, 2020
    At no point during Spiritfarer did I feel helpless, like there was not something I could do to bring some sort of relief to the spirits on board the ship. It’s a stark contrast to how I’m experiencing the grief of death in real life, but it’s comforting. [Polygon Recommends]
  4. Measured, thought out, detailed, kind. It has intent, from top to bottom. Even the weather feels like it has intent, the cycle of the day and night, the routines you get into. They way your friends leave you, sometimes in ways that will surprise you. Spiritfarer will probably make you very very sad, but it even does that in a kind way. In a way that makes you think about who you have lost, but also what they left behind with you, and the ways you are still close to them. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 78
  2. Negative: 12 out of 78
  1. Aug 20, 2020
    5
    Does not spark joy. While it is beautiful to look at and listen to, it’s riddled with current trends and cliches. This is kind of a game forDoes not spark joy. While it is beautiful to look at and listen to, it’s riddled with current trends and cliches. This is kind of a game for Tumblr kids. Nothing is particularly deep, the characters ramble on, and the player character is obnoxious and of course she has a cat. *eye roll* Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2020
    8
    Spiritfarer is a game where you would help guide spirits to the afterlife and the game itself have a unique art style and a beautifulSpiritfarer is a game where you would help guide spirits to the afterlife and the game itself have a unique art style and a beautiful soundtrack. This game is not meant to be rush and require a huge amount of patience as it is a relaxing game where players are able to enjoy the game's music, story, farming system and also base management.

    The game does a really good job at making me emotionally attached to the characters, the story is gorgeous and how saying good bye to the characters you been spending time have always been a tear-jerker moment for me which is the theme of this game. Overall for an indie game Thunder Lotus have outdid themselves and they deserve all the praise they are getting.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2020
    1
    what a letdown. the animation is fantastic but the game is unplayable because the rebinding options are lacking. you can rebind keys exceptwhat a letdown. the animation is fantastic but the game is unplayable because the rebinding options are lacking. you can rebind keys except for one key used to - apparently - play guitar. and that key is "f" which interferes with my movement bindings, so whenever I walk right I end up forcibly stopped and playing guitar over and over

    der thunder lotus, learn to program a user interface.
    Full Review »