S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1057 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The events of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat unfold shortly after the end of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl. Having discovered about the open path to the Zone center, the government decides to hold a large-scale military "Fairway" operation aimed to take the CNPP under control.The events of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat unfold shortly after the end of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Shadow of Chernobyl. Having discovered about the open path to the Zone center, the government decides to hold a large-scale military "Fairway" operation aimed to take the CNPP under control. According to the operation's plan, the first military group is to conduct an air scouting of the territory to map out the detailed layouts of anomalous fields location. Thereafter, making use of the maps, the main military forces are to be dispatched. Despite thorough preparations, the operation fails. Most of the avant-garde helicopters crash. In order to collect information on reasons behind the operation failure, Ukraine's Security Service send their agent into the Zone center. From now on everything depends on the player. [GSC GameWorld] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. PC PowerPlay
    90
    Third time's a charm for this quintessential PC franchise. [Feb 2010, p.58]
  2. AceGamez
    86
    If you’re willing to look past the look and feel of a shooter that’s past its heyday, what you’ll find in Pripyat is GSC’s magnum opus – an undeniable masterpiece built from years of trial and error, building and adapting new elements and ideas into the original STALKER template.
  3. Call of Pripyat is not only a return to form for the series, but a breath of fresh air for an increasingly stale genre. Recommended for fans of the previous games and newcomers alike, this is how a real PC FPS should work.
  4. Call of Pripyat is a return to the best S.T.A.L.K.E.R, the one which impressed us the first time with its fascinating setting. The Zone is again that scenario that chill us with its mystery and GSC shows they can listen to the fans and that they understand well what made great the series in first place. The only problem is a dangerous feeling of familiarity that goes badly with this kind of game, so we hope to see a deep evolution for the next project of the Ukrainian team, but meanwhile we'll enjoy the most polished entry of the series.
  5. Call of Pripyat is definitely the best STALKER game yet. It's a much tighter package, but for a budget title there is still a hell of a lot to do and The Zone still seems intent on killing you or scaring you senseless.
  6. One of the reasons why this game received a lower score is because it left too many things untold and, while I appreciate the effort to create an immersive authentic world laid to waste by a nuclear disaster, I simply can't escape the recurring feeling that something is missing in this game.
  7. GSC’s third attempt at creating a post-apocalyptic world reinforced my belief that PR is the only thing this company does best.

See all 44 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 152
  1. Jan 10, 2021
    10
    Чекаємо на сталкер 2, раджу всім пограти в цю та попередню частини та відчути цю атмосферу зони та аномалійЧекаємо на сталкер 2, раджу всім пограти в цю та попередню частини та відчути цю атмосферу зони та аномалій
  2. May 15, 2011
    10
    Best S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game for now and one of the best RPG's. Buggs, if there any exist, are really hard to find ( i didn't find even one ).Best S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game for now and one of the best RPG's. Buggs, if there any exist, are really hard to find ( i didn't find even one ). With good piece of hardware, this game is mead for eyes and ears. Best buy for its price and absolute must-have. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    What could be more interesting real life place to make a video game about? Area of Tsernobyl of course! It's such a shame, that there barelyWhat could be more interesting real life place to make a video game about? Area of Tsernobyl of course! It's such a shame, that there barely even is games about it, but at least it's still more than fresh place to make a game about. Call of Pripyat is the third Stalker game in the series, which I had never played before. The story isin't really anything amazing. You are have to find out why helicopters have crashed to Tsernobyl, which is now filled with people hoping to become rich by finding rare artifacts. You don't need to have played previous games. You can roam around freely the exciting areas of the game, though you are limited to go only few places during the start of the game. The atmosphere of the game is outstanding. It looks like you're in a abandonded area filled with radiation, and feels like it. Unfortunely stalkers talk with '' Yo bro wuzz up?! '' style, which breaks the atmosphere a little. NPC don't also some times attack mutants, which are trying to attack you. The game has simulation feel too. You need to eat food or you will starve to death. You need to heal yourself from wounds, though it only needs use button and nothing else to fix the wounds. If not counting the easiest difficulty, you will die really easily, forcing you to think when you should fight or not. The graphics of the game isin't that good now days, but even my crappy computer was able to run it fine with some settings set to maximum. The gameplay is great, the sound design is almost as good, the game takes increadible amount of time to complete (33 hours, I had spent time doing some side quests too) and I found myself playing it a lot of time even after it, what I usually don't do. I recommend it from the bottom of my heart, if you don't want to play arcade shooters. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2018
    9
    Наконец-то доведенный до ума шутер, именно таким он должен был быть на старте, если б разрабы сдержали большую часть обещаний.Наконец-то доведенный до ума шутер, именно таким он должен был быть на старте, если б разрабы сдержали большую часть обещаний.
  5. Jul 14, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It will usually take 15 hours if you just plow through the game (No exploring or gathering better equipment), but will become increasingly difficult later if you do so. The game was meant for exploring a lot of areas and gathering better weapons and suits. Although the area is still based off from Shadow of Chernobyl, there's new stuff to find and many more missions and side quests to go on. I found the ending to be sort of disappointing, as there seems to be only one ending (On what I find).

    **A BIT OF SPOILERS ABOUT THE DISAPPOINTING FIGHT AT THE END**
    As soon as you're into the center of the zone, you don't even have to move. Just shoot at the enemy with a special weapon repeatedly. The game will end when he is done with. For some odd reason though, you can also travel through some warps, and fighter another bunch of Monolith soldiers. The boss will start traveling around the area, and then eventually the ground at a random location. Even if he is at a place where you cannot reach, shooting randomly causes him to die off anyway. Either way you go, taking the long and hard way to defeat him doesn't change the ending, neither did you need to take the long way at all. The extra work doesn't really pay off, and it wasn't really needed. Overall, the game was okay for me, and it was really a challenge when I was lacking equipment. But I think that made it much more fun in the long run.
    Expand
  6. May 9, 2022
    8
    Worse graphics and difficulty, but more polished and close to the ideal at all.

    Gameplay: combat mechanics 8/10 stealth 7/10 atmosphere
    Worse graphics and difficulty, but more polished and close to the ideal at all.

    Gameplay:
    combat mechanics 8/10
    stealth 7/10
    atmosphere 9/10
    Gameplay as immersive horror (labs and nights only) 9/10
    Gameplay as RPG & im.sim (w/o mods): 7/10

    Story 6/10

    Graphics 8/10

    Sounds & music 10/10

    .
    "Call of Chernobyl" MOD_platform is strongly RECOMMENDED.
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2020
    0
    Le précédent Stalker (à Chernobyl...) était une purge à tous les niveaux et ce, dès le début... J'ai cru que celui-ci (à Pripyat) avait mis deLe précédent Stalker (à Chernobyl...) était une purge à tous les niveaux et ce, dès le début... J'ai cru que celui-ci (à Pripyat) avait mis de l'eau dans sa vodka, car le jeu a l'air quasiment "normal" : l'interface est certes perfectible mais correcte, on a une carte, des objectifs, une kalash qui a... l'air de servir à quelque chose, d'être un peu plus qu'un pistolet à bouchon... et les "anomalies" (qui font penser évidemment à l'excellent bouquin des Strougatski) sont signalées... car dangereuses !

    Puis, on se rend compte, que le monde ouvert de Stalker n'est pas vraiment ouvert et oblige à des détours invraisemblables... juste pour te faire traverser un camp avec des gars super vénères qui t'alignent en moins de deux... et effectivement, tu clamses en moins de deux ! le recul de la kalash est tel qu'on peut pas tirer plus deux balles à la fois et face à ces types-là, il faut un bon chargeur à chaque fois... et encore, quand je dis "ces types-là" ils ne devaient être que deux ou trois ! ça doit être des "boss" qu'on a mis là, juste au début du jeu... logique, bien sûr !

    L'infiltration consiste à s'accroupir et... avancer à deux centimètres par heure ! même une limace va plus vite en fait ! inexploitable et ridicule donc. Le "monde ouvert" comme je le disais est ici plus dirigiste qu'un Call of puisque des collines qu'on ne peut pas franchir délimitent le parcours... obligé et obligatoire ! t'es libre d'aller où tu veux mais surtout par là et... uniquement par là, Camarade !

    Le monde lui-même est très vide, lamentablement vide... on arrive près d'un ensemble désaffecté et une boîte de dioalogue apparaît : "va-nous chercher de la bouffe stalker et que ça saute" et si tu t'incrustes, ils te font la peau aussi sec. Donc, on voit personne ou les rares qu'on voit t'envoient chier ou ne sont pas au courant... Rien à récupérer dans ce monde, ces bâtiments épars ou ces ruines : y a que dalle à ramasser, dégage !

    Et pour ce monde ouvert uniquement sur PC sorti en 2010, on se rend compte que c'est bien moche, incroyablement moche et vide, y compris "tout çà fond". Artistiquement parlant, c'est terne et peu inspiré, voire pas inspiré du tout. Fallout 3 qui n'est pas le plus beau jeu du monde, lui qui est sorti en 2008, met à l'amende le Stalker de pacotille dans tous les domaines : graphismes, direction artistique, ambiance, jouabilité, dialogues, scénario... il lui roule dessus sans forcer ! comme un prince.

    Alors le Stalker, il faut évidemment faire attention : ne pas marcher dedans, car ça ne porte même pas bonheur !
    Expand

See all 152 User Reviews