Star Wars: The Old Republic Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2848 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personalIn Star Wars: The Old Republic, players explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Old Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Players can choose to play as Jedi, Sith, or a variety of other classic Star Wars roles, defining their personal story and determining their path down the light or dark side of the Force. Along the way, players befriend courageous companions who fight at their side or possibly betray them, based on the players’ actions. Players can also choose to team up with friends to battle enemies and overcome incredible challenges using dynamic Star Wars combat. [LucasArts] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Inquisitor - Star Wars: The Old Republic Character Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    100
    They have succeeded far beyond my admittedly high expectations. As a KOTOR fan, I finally have my long-awaited sequel(s). As an MMO fan, I am hooked. As a Star Wars fan, I am enthralled.
  2. Jan 23, 2012
    91
    But if any MMO game were to ever stand a chance of luring me back into the monthly-pay-to-play model, SWTOR is certainly it. With its movie-like presentation, engaging stories, and seemingly endless quest potential, this is one RPG that gets harder to put down the longer you keep playing. And I haven't even fully tapped into the advanced material like Guilds and serious PVP play. Combine all of this great content with one of the most stable and trouble-free launches in MMO history and you have your new role-model to which all other MMO games should aspire. Welcome to the future of online role-playing.
  3. Jan 9, 2012
    90
    In closing, I'll say that Star Wars: The Old Republic is a game I never knew I wanted. Years ago, I was upset to discover that there were no plans to continue Revan's story after Knights of the Old Republic II and instead continue exploring the Old Republic universe through an MMO. After experiencing burnout with World of Warcraft, I had resigned myself to no longer play these types of games. However, I couldn't be happier with what BioWare has done with The Old Republic and the experience continues to be enjoyable. The bottom line is, after 42 hours, I'm still having a blast.
  4. Jan 2, 2012
    86
    Star Wars: The Old Republic is the fresh breeze the MMORPG genre so urgently needed.
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    82
    When it all works, it sings. It IS Star Wars and you are living in it. But when it doesn't, it frustrates, perhaps because the best moments are so good that you wonder why it all can't be that good.
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    80
    BioWare has largely delivered and will have answered many of its critics, but there is not much in the way of innovation here. The Force alignment structure may be systemically unsalvageable, and with little end-game content currently available for those characters who have reached level 50, one wonders whether BioWare will be able to hold on to the more serious gamers and guilds who yearn for a variety of large-scale challenges.
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    70
    A MMORPG that doesn't differentiate itself very much from other popular MMORPG titles (like World of Warcraft), but with a greater focus on story, companions and of course the Star Wars setting, The Old Republic is still a solid game.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Fantastic mmo with great story, customization, worlds to explore and constantly adding free content in addition to free expansions. WhileFantastic mmo with great story, customization, worlds to explore and constantly adding free content in addition to free expansions. While some can mock it's free to play policies, you can play mas effect style quality story for 8 separate classes with all unique characters and stories that are deep...for free. The gameplay is great, it looks great, and it's a blast to play. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    I read a lot of these bad reviews and can tell you more then half of what i have read are completely false..stuff they are complaining aboutI read a lot of these bad reviews and can tell you more then half of what i have read are completely false..stuff they are complaining about isnt even in the game and stuff they have said they have done like "got to 50 and hated every second of it" can you really take someone like that serious thats over 200 hours of game play..IT IS NOT A WOW CLONE..i have played wow for 6 years and dozens of other mmos and this is my most enjoyable experience ( Advice for people who dont like voice overs..dont get it) the story is where this game shines everything else is really well done too but i dont have add and take my time. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story,This game is amazing! The best MMO out there, period. If you love star wars you will love this game. I've had so much fun with the story, companions, pvp, personal ship, spacebattles and so on...

    There is not much negative about this game.. I can't wait for future updates and expansion :)

    May the force be with you!
    Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2012
    7
    I should probably start by saying that I don't actually have a subscription. I'm just speaking from tail-end-of-beta experience. I enjoyed theI should probably start by saying that I don't actually have a subscription. I'm just speaking from tail-end-of-beta experience. I enjoyed the game, I really did. And then I completed the Sith Warrior storyline and realized that what had kept me going was the amazing story.

    The stories and roleplaying and characters in this game are stunning. The tragic fact, however, is that you'd have to roll 8 different alts to experience all 8 stories, or 16 if you want to see the different sides of those stories, not to mention the infinite permutations by going back and forth. Anyways, I say this game is fun and I'm happy for people who enjoy it, I really am, but there's a reason I didn't subscribe--it doesn't function enough as an MMO to make up for the rather "blah" end-game material. I end by reiterating a lot of other people's wishes--this game should have been singleplayer. Bioware could have made the "Dragon Age" of Star Wars RPGs and it would have been legendary, and they went for an MMO instead. At least they'll make enough money from it to fund better games in the future.
    Expand
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    5
    I levelled a jedi sage (healer lvl 34) and a Vanguard (tank lvl 30ish) and honestly felt disappointed.
    The novelty of full voice acted quest
    I levelled a jedi sage (healer lvl 34) and a Vanguard (tank lvl 30ish) and honestly felt disappointed.
    The novelty of full voice acted quest givers wears off fast. There are no choices in quests and you're soon left with the usual kill x of y.
    Story quests are shallows too. No twists and unlikely characters. As far the game goes it's the usual holy trinity system. Been there, done that. My playing experience was hindered by the lack of a LFG tool, now implemented, that basically meant having to suffer ungodly pain to form a group. My advice is pass on the one unless you're a die hard star wars fan. In that case the settings might be enough to keep you entertained
    Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2012
    3
    Yes, this game is more innovative compared to FPS. Mr. Ohlen is the biggest joke in the entire game development industry. The game is builtYes, this game is more innovative compared to FPS. Mr. Ohlen is the biggest joke in the entire game development industry. The game is built around amateurish 3D engine for hobbyists. Frankly, if it succeeds that tells a lot about modern day gamers and how can they be easy duped into buying vaporware. Expand
  7. Apr 3, 2021
    0
    Govno tesko bolje ubit se nego igrat ovo Florensia je za ovo bog i batina!
    Da je stuc glavu autoru spasija bi se

See all 1378 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best Star Wars Videogames of the Last 20 Years

    Best Star Wars Videogames of the Last 20 Years Image
    Published: November 6, 2017
    We reveal the 25 best Star Wars games, ranked by Metascore.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 2: Platform Exclusives Image
    Published: January 14, 2011
    Our preview of the year in gaming concludes with a look at the top titles expected in 2011 that will be exclusive to the 360, PS3, Wii, PC, or handheld platforms.