Starbound Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 452 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Starbound, you take on the role of a character who’s just fled from their home planet, only to crash-land on another. From there you’ll embark on a quest to survive, discover, explore and fight your way across an infinite universe.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Sep 8, 2016
    100
    Starbound is a game that, after a few hours of play, starts to seem like an instant classic you’ll be revisiting from time to time over the next unknown period of years.
  2. Jul 28, 2016
    91
    Starbound excels as a crafting and exploration game, as a 2D platformer with varied and engaging combat, and as a Zelda-esque story RPG with a detailed world and memorable alien cultures to interact with. The sheer volume of different kinds of locations to discover, items to craft and build great structures with, and flashy ways to vanquish aliens prevent any part of the experience from getting boring quickly.
  3. Sep 1, 2016
    88
    Starbound is a profound and economic alternative to No Man's Sky. Despite its technical section, behind the title hides a deep and harmonious universe worthy of being explored.
  4. Oct 24, 2016
    82
    Starbound is one of the very few games that gets both "open world" and "sandbox" done right. The amount of activities available is astounding and the best part is you can avoid them all, if you wish to do just that.
  5. Sep 5, 2016
    80
    If Starbound has one major downside it’s that there is no pause button. A pithy consideration, I know, but it means if you’re exploring a cavern found deep within the recesses of a new planet, you cannot pause to take a much-needed bathroom break. And since enemies can spawn at any time, you can’t walk away from your computer in confidence, either. But the lack of a pause button almost feels apt: in Starbound, there can be no pause button, no way to suspend you from this childhood fantasy.
  6. Aug 8, 2016
    80
    Starbound is a must-buy for the PC players due to the huge amount of hours of entertainment that this game can give. An enormous universe, a great variety of tools and a game full of possibilities.
  7. Aug 16, 2016
    60
    Starbound is coming into a genre that most people either love or hate. I really wonder if there is room in someone’s schedule for yet another crafting game. Starbound is certainly a good one of those, but it doesn’t really stand out among the many challengers.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 132
  2. Negative: 33 out of 132
  1. May 19, 2014
    10
    Don't follow what the haters say. Play the game yourself and you will see that its amazing. The music, the art, the adventure is all greatlyDon't follow what the haters say. Play the game yourself and you will see that its amazing. The music, the art, the adventure is all greatly done, and plenty of mods from the community and the fact that you need little to no knowledge to mod the game too, its just a amazing game! Sure, it might be terraria-like but its mostly pure inspiration. Its a great game, and don't forget that its currently just a beta so things will change often. Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2019
    10
    why is the user score for this game so low lol, i see that most of the negative reviews are from release date when the game was unfinishedwhy is the user score for this game so low lol, i see that most of the negative reviews are from release date when the game was unfinished early access. this is ridiculous reason to rate a game 0/10.

    heres a 10/10 to counter the ridiculously low scores.
    Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2015
    9
    I don't understand why people think there's nothing but a linear grind, when really you have a vast galaxy to explore as you like. Apart fromI don't understand why people think there's nothing but a linear grind, when really you have a vast galaxy to explore as you like. Apart from that, you can on your travels come across and collect different outfits, weaponry, furnishings (A LOT) and find weird and wacky locals to interact with. There's been significant content updates since 2014, with another pretty significant update just around the corner from the time of writing this review.

    Those who keep comparing it to Terraria really shouldn't. I hated Terraria, but I love Starbound because the focus seems more to do with exploration than "survive this horrendous attack on your house", and the tools and crafting system seem more intuitive to me. Not to knock the survival genre game, but it's not my favourite, and Starbound has elements of combat within it, but it doesn't take away from the enjoyment of the game or lay waste to all your hard work within one bad blood moon attack.

    I'd also like to add that multiplayer really adds more enjoyment to the game, just because everything's more fun with friends, you can also set yourselves interesting challenges with the power of your imagination, like who can terraform a planet faster, or who can build the biggest monstrous building in a set amount of time. The options are literally only as limited as your brain power ;)
    Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2014
    7
    The game is initially very fun and kills a lot of time. After a while it gets extremely repetitive and the different races are really justThe game is initially very fun and kills a lot of time. After a while it gets extremely repetitive and the different races are really just different visually, they all play exactly the same. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2014
    6
    Note: I will update this after the full game is out

    I kinda like this game,It has a potential to be good! HOWEVER,How it's being
    Note: I will update this after the full game is out

    I kinda like this game,It has a potential to be good!

    HOWEVER,How it's being executed is questionable

    So here is the basic pros/cons review!

    Pros:
    Endless travel places

    Endless ore

    Good crafting

    fun multi-player

    Fun bosses

    Cons:

    Mean developers

    No mod support

    KHAN

    NO UPDATES.

    Note: Like I said,I kinda like this game at its beta state,It's okay,NOT WORTH BUYING,Just wait til' it updates a little and then buy it,It has the potential to be the best,Yes,Better than terraria,minecraft and "PP".

    But its in beta state and this is my "Beta" score ,6/10
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2020
    5
    Starbound started with a lot of promise - interesting story and free reign crafting. However as mentioned by other reviews - the craftingStarbound started with a lot of promise - interesting story and free reign crafting. However as mentioned by other reviews - the crafting doesnt add a lot to the story or progress in the game and the infinite number of worlds becomes annoying when you are trying to remember where things are stored/found. I played about 20 hrs worth and realised I hadn't gotten very far so abandoned the game. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2018
    0
    Полная хуйня не работает мультиплеер. Говно. Полная хуйня. Одна звезда

See all 132 User Reviews