Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Nov 29, 2017
    90
    SteamWorld Dig 2 is everything that's expected from a good sequel. The gameplay loop is just as engaging as before, but there are some much nicer tools this time around. The levels may no longer be randomly generated, but the hand-crafted ones are smart and still provide exciting gameplay scenarios. The game also comes in at a perfect length, and while some will lament the scarcity of things to do once the adventure is over, few will deny that it was time well spent. SteamWorld Dig 2 is another awesome entry in the SteamWorld series, and it's a game that's worth checking out.
  2. Sep 26, 2017
    90
    I adored Heist and didn’t really play much of the first Dig, but I now consider myself a fan of the SteamWorld canon. Image & Form is doing great work with this universe, and I wouldn’t want to miss this sequel. Even if you’re going from Metroid: Samus Returns, which is similar, directly into Dig 2, I still think you’ll come away thrilled and looking in the developer’s direction hoping they have something else new coming very soon.
  3. Sep 25, 2017
    90
    Every advancement Dig 2 makes to its story and mechanics strengthens your initiative to progress. There's an overwhelming sense of momentum that runs through the adventure; as if developer Image & Form sifted the original in a pan, removing its redundancies while expanding upon what made it so fun to persistently play.
  4. Sep 20, 2017
    90
    SteamWorld Dig 2 is a huge, expansive and utterly fantastic mining/platformer, with a great variety of challenges and plenty of tools to attack them with.
  5. Oct 4, 2017
    88
    SteamWorld Dig 2 retains the predecessor's success formula, expands it and makes it mature, especially in level design. In a nutshell, a great game.
  6. Sep 21, 2017
    88
    SteamWorld Dig 2 retains the original’s addictive resource-gathering gameplay, but supplements it with a gorgeously detailed, handcrafted world. Its heady mix of exploration, combat, platforming, and puzzle solving, alongside an expansive set of abilities and mods gives it plenty of variety and a great gameplay rhythm. I wish there was more to do once the campaign ends, but that’s a testament to the fact that what is here is just about pitch perfect.
  7. Oct 8, 2017
    87
    It's a better game in all respects. It also digs itself into your heart with lots of charm and variety.
  8. Sep 21, 2017
    84
    Steamword Dig 2 is one of the finest Metroidvania-surprises for a long time. Everyone who likes the predecessor can grab it without hesistation, but even newcomers are being served very well.
  9. Oct 17, 2017
    80
    Steamworld Dig 2 triumphs over the first game in every single aspect. The world is better designed and the gameplay is more polished. It may not be a new Super Metroid, but it's close enough.
  10. Oct 13, 2017
    80
    SteamWorld Dig 2 is an improved sequel in almost every aspect, compared with the first one. The act of digging can’t get much more fun thanks to the simplistic yet highly engrossing gameplay. It helps that the union of western tropes with steampunk is such a charming combination.
  11. Edge Magazine
    Oct 12, 2017
    80
    The best Metroid game in years. [Dec 2017, p.112]
  12. Oct 2, 2017
    80
    SteamWorld Dig 2 doesn’t quite break new ground, but the process of digging your way through its spaces square by square as you gather resources and upgrade your character distinguishes itself from other Metroid-style games. Tight controls, pleasant backdrops, and a stronger sense of space make it worth unearthing this gem however you can.
  13. Sep 20, 2017
    80
    SteamWorld Dig 2 is a sequel that does more than simply update the original. It creates a larger world structured like a Metroidvania by adding more mazelike corridors and open rooms. On the flip side, the digging segments feel more tedious this time around, especially when compared to the excellently designed challenge caverns and environmental puzzles. Regardless, the constant progression loops and enticing upgrades carry the game along, keeping the adventure interesting. And the prospect of uncovering the secret truths underground remains alluring throughout. If you enjoy games like Metroid, you’ll likely dig this game.
  14. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 2, 2018
    78
    Compared to the original game, digging became a far more linear experience. That doesn’t mean that exploration element is gone, but it’s definitely different: now you need to keep an eye out for cracks in the rock that can be cracked open to reveal secret areas. [Issue#226, p.48]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 20, 2017
    A 3DS classic gets a follow-up that doubles down on the charm. [Recommended]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Sep 24, 2017
    9
    First of all, I'd like to point out the fantastic new travelling system. No more using resources for teleporters and having to worry aboutFirst of all, I'd like to point out the fantastic new travelling system. No more using resources for teleporters and having to worry about running out of them for upgrades.
    I also really enjoyed the new methods of moving throughout the world and the incredibly regular stream of upgrades one gets. As well as the number of challenges, secrets and generally quite big map. It took me almost 13 hours to finish at 100%. With the first Dig, it was almost 6 hours.
    Usually, I have a lot to say about games but here, I can only say that almost everything just feels right.
    The only downsides for me were that there are still not enough meaningful boss encounters. The only one stuck in my mind is the very first one. A funny cut scene and pretty decent mechanics. After that, until the final boss, there really aren't any encounters that feel as significant. And the last boss is very easy once again. Beat it on the first attempt, just like in Dig.
    Overall, I loved every minute of it and already can't wait to see what these bots are up to next!
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2018
    9
    First off, Steamworld is an amazing universe. Image and Form have crafted it with love and humor, and I've really enjoyed my time in it.First off, Steamworld is an amazing universe. Image and Form have crafted it with love and humor, and I've really enjoyed my time in it. Steamworld Dig 1 and 2 were both polished game loops that were just fun. Steamworld Heist blew me away because it really was XCOM in 2D, but much cuter, funnier, and fairer. Steamworld Dig 2 is a great sequel because it improves on the first one in every way AND doesn't overstay its welcome with padding. It is concise and respects your time and skill, but has an amazing amount of replayability and collectible-hunting if desired. Full Review »
  3. Sep 25, 2017
    9
    This game fixes all of the problems I had with the second game. Movement feels more fluid, the map is bigger than before, and the abilitiesThis game fixes all of the problems I had with the second game. Movement feels more fluid, the map is bigger than before, and the abilities you collect work with each other nicely. The only thing keeping it from a 10 is the lack of meaningful boss battles. There is one in the beginning, a mini boss about halfway through the game, and the final boss at the end. The boss battles that are there a great, and just left me wanting more than there was. Full Review »