SteamWorld Dig 2 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: SteamWorld Dig is back! Dig deep, gain riches and unearth the terrors of the underworld in this platform mining adventure influenced by classic Metroidvania style games.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
SteamWorld Dig 2 - Official Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Sep 25, 2017
    90
    Every advancement Dig 2 makes to its story and mechanics strengthens your initiative to progress. There's an overwhelming sense of momentum that runs through the adventure; as if developer Image & Form sifted the original in a pan, removing its redundancies while expanding upon what made it so fun to persistently play.
  2. Sep 26, 2017
    90
    I adored Heist and didn’t really play much of the first Dig, but I now consider myself a fan of the SteamWorld canon. Image & Form is doing great work with this universe, and I wouldn’t want to miss this sequel. Even if you’re going from Metroid: Samus Returns, which is similar, directly into Dig 2, I still think you’ll come away thrilled and looking in the developer’s direction hoping they have something else new coming very soon.
  3. Nov 29, 2017
    90
    SteamWorld Dig 2 is everything that's expected from a good sequel. The gameplay loop is just as engaging as before, but there are some much nicer tools this time around. The levels may no longer be randomly generated, but the hand-crafted ones are smart and still provide exciting gameplay scenarios. The game also comes in at a perfect length, and while some will lament the scarcity of things to do once the adventure is over, few will deny that it was time well spent. SteamWorld Dig 2 is another awesome entry in the SteamWorld series, and it's a game that's worth checking out.
  4. Sep 21, 2017
    84
    Steamword Dig 2 is one of the finest Metroidvania-surprises for a long time. Everyone who likes the predecessor can grab it without hesistation, but even newcomers are being served very well.
  5. Oct 17, 2017
    80
    Steamworld Dig 2 triumphs over the first game in every single aspect. The world is better designed and the gameplay is more polished. It may not be a new Super Metroid, but it's close enough.
  6. Oct 13, 2017
    80
    SteamWorld Dig 2 is an improved sequel in almost every aspect, compared with the first one. The act of digging can’t get much more fun thanks to the simplistic yet highly engrossing gameplay. It helps that the union of western tropes with steampunk is such a charming combination.
  7. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 2, 2018
    78
    Compared to the original game, digging became a far more linear experience. That doesn’t mean that exploration element is gone, but it’s definitely different: now you need to keep an eye out for cracks in the rock that can be cracked open to reveal secret areas. [Issue#226, p.48]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 23, 2018
    9
    It's hard not to compare this to the original game, and to Heist. In some ways I think I might have enjoyed this more if I hadn't played theIt's hard not to compare this to the original game, and to Heist. In some ways I think I might have enjoyed this more if I hadn't played the others dozens of times each. But I enjoyed it anyway, particularly on the second play-through after struggling a bit with the new mechanics on the first. I missed the digging focus in the levels that were more like traditional platformers, and agreed with other reviewers about the lack of bosses. A solid follow-up that sticks to the formula, but extends it in pleasing ways, with Image & Form's usual attention to detail and real warmth. Collapse
  2. Sep 24, 2017
    9
    First of all, I'd like to point out the fantastic new travelling system. No more using resources for teleporters and having to worry aboutFirst of all, I'd like to point out the fantastic new travelling system. No more using resources for teleporters and having to worry about running out of them for upgrades.
    I also really enjoyed the new methods of moving throughout the world and the incredibly regular stream of upgrades one gets. As well as the number of challenges, secrets and generally quite big map. It took me almost 13 hours to finish at 100%. With the first Dig, it was almost 6 hours.
    Usually, I have a lot to say about games but here, I can only say that almost everything just feels right.
    The only downsides for me were that there are still not enough meaningful boss encounters. The only one stuck in my mind is the very first one. A funny cut scene and pretty decent mechanics. After that, until the final boss, there really aren't any encounters that feel as significant. And the last boss is very easy once again. Beat it on the first attempt, just like in Dig.
    Overall, I loved every minute of it and already can't wait to see what these bots are up to next!
    Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2017
    9
    This game fixes all of the problems I had with the second game. Movement feels more fluid, the map is bigger than before, and the abilitiesThis game fixes all of the problems I had with the second game. Movement feels more fluid, the map is bigger than before, and the abilities you collect work with each other nicely. The only thing keeping it from a 10 is the lack of meaningful boss battles. There is one in the beginning, a mini boss about halfway through the game, and the final boss at the end. The boss battles that are there a great, and just left me wanting more than there was. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2018
    9
    First off, Steamworld is an amazing universe. Image and Form have crafted it with love and humor, and I've really enjoyed my time in it.First off, Steamworld is an amazing universe. Image and Form have crafted it with love and humor, and I've really enjoyed my time in it. Steamworld Dig 1 and 2 were both polished game loops that were just fun. Steamworld Heist blew me away because it really was XCOM in 2D, but much cuter, funnier, and fairer. Steamworld Dig 2 is a great sequel because it improves on the first one in every way AND doesn't overstay its welcome with padding. It is concise and respects your time and skill, but has an amazing amount of replayability and collectible-hunting if desired. Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2018
    8
    En esta entrega somos Dorothy, la chica a la que le vendíamos los minerales en Steamworld Dig 1. Rusty desapareció justo después de derrotarEn esta entrega somos Dorothy, la chica a la que le vendíamos los minerales en Steamworld Dig 1. Rusty desapareció justo después de derrotar al enemigo final del primer juego y Dorothy ha salido en su busca. Y con esta intro la mar de interesante te meten en el segundo juego de la saga. La verdad es que me gustó bastante el detalle de que la historia fuera continuista, ya que el primer juego apenas tenía una historia como tal, podría decirse que simplemente tenía las bases, un contexto en el que centrar los hechos en donde se encuentra el jugador.

    En Steamworld Dig 2 esto ha cambiado, han querido hacer una entrega mas profunda, con una jugabilidad mejorada y una historia con algo mas de narrativa. Obviamente sin dejar de lado los esquemas del primer juego. Todo ha mejorado significativamente, en el primer juego teníamos las esferas que gracias a ellas podíamos mejorar algunos objetos, eran útiles pero creo que se lo podrían haber ahorrado ya que yo siempre tenía de sobra y al final no eran ningún aliciente para hacer que te curraras mas la exploración. En este nuevo juego como os decía eso ya ha cambiado, ahora tenemos una especie de engranajes que sirven para añadir mejoras a las piezas de equipo, pequeñas bonificaciones que al final nos salvarán el culo en mas de una ocasión y muchas de ellas son bastante útiles como por ejemplo poder llevar el triple de recursos en la mochila, no tener daño por caída o tener mas potencia en cualquiera de nuestros artilugios.

    También me ha dado la sensación de que han cambiado un poco la perspectiva del juego, es decir... Me explico. En el primer juego me dio la sensación de que quisieron hacer un juego pequeñito, un juego breve y sencillo donde te lo pasaras bien y ya, de manera que lo único que teníamos era la mecánica de minar, volver al pueblo a vender lo que teníamos y seguir minando, nada mas. De manera que el jugador lo que buscaba en todo momento era buscar los minerales, obviamente siguiendo el rumbo que nos ponían para poder continuar la ruta principal que te plantea el juego pero con la prioridad máxima de buscar minerales, subir y venderlos de nuevo. ¿Que pasa? Que en Steamworld dig 2 me ha dado la sensación de que no ha sido tanto así, al menos desde mi punto de vista.

    En Steamworld dig 2 como ya he dicho han querido darle profundidad a todo, al diseño de niveles, a los puzles, a la narrativa, a los distintos bandos que podremos encontrar en el juego, de manera que al final el buscar minerales se volvía algo secundario. Yo en esta entrega inconscientemente me he centrado mucho mas en explorar, en ver el entorno, en subir de nivel matando enemigos y en seguir atento a la historia y al misterio que tenía delante.

    Otro punto a favor es que el juego si no recuerdo mal ya no funciona por sistema procedural como pasaba en el uno, hay gente que lo prefiere porque dicen que esto da cierta "rejugabilidad" pero creo que en un juego como Steamworld dig esto no es necesario, no pienso que en el primer juego este sistema quedase mal, pero creo que para una segunda entrega era necesario hacer lo que han hecho, quitar el sistema procedural y hacerlo a mano.

    Hay niveles que son dignos de juegos como Hollow knight, super meat boy o Ori y lo digo totalmente en serio.

    Steamworld dig era un juegazo, simple pero muy divertido, pero no por ello dejaba de ser simple. Pero esta empresa ha sabido hacer las cosas bien y mejorar las mecánicas que ya tenían implementando otras nuevas que refuerzan la formula mágica x2. La BSO sigue igual de bien que en el primero, no es que tenga unas canciones magistrales pero si que son muy buenas para ayudarte a la inmersión del juego y los gráficos obviamente siguen siendo del mismo estilo pero con la consecuente mejora que conlleva una segunda entrega y debo decir que se ve espectacular, a pesar de que no sea un juego super potente se ve precioso, es increible como han conseguido tanto con tan poco.

    Hay una cosa que aún no entiendo. No sé si es por el presupuesto, no sé si es porque la empresa simplemente quiere hacer videojuegos de este estilo: sencillos, con poca duración pero divertidos. ¡No lo sé! Pero hay una cosa que me duele en el alma y es que no hagan una entrega grande en condiciones. Es decir, steamworld dig 2 tiene todas las papeletas para poder crear un mundo interesante y variado, divertido y con una historia misteriosa.

    Repito que no sé si se debe al presupuesto o a que simplemente ellos prefieren hacer este tipo de juegos mas sencillos, en cualquier caso espero que saquen una tercera entrega de Steamworld dig (Aunque lo veo difícil por el final que tiene este segundo juego). Una entrega que una todos los juegos del mundo que han creado "Steamworld" (Que también incluye a steamworld heist) con mas bandos, con mas historia, con mas mecánicas, quiero mas de esto y estoy seguro por las críticas que tiene en steam que mucha mas gente quiere mas de Steamworld.
    Expand
  6. Dec 24, 2018
    8
    I love the steamworld series. Love the exploration, the cozy atmosphere, easy to grasp gameplay/controls. The only negative I have to say isI love the steamworld series. Love the exploration, the cozy atmosphere, easy to grasp gameplay/controls. The only negative I have to say is the damn nerdy and flat dialogue, its the same with all games in the series. Flat and boring dialogue filled with daddy homur jokes. But besides that, love it! Expand

Awards & Rankings