Street Fighter IV Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 431 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: At the completion of the second World Warrior Tournament, the Shadaloo crime syndicate was left in ruins, its grandmasters defeated and scattered to the winds. Now, the mysterious Seth, CEO of the S.I.N. Corporation, has set up yet another tournament and invited a blend of old friends andAt the completion of the second World Warrior Tournament, the Shadaloo crime syndicate was left in ruins, its grandmasters defeated and scattered to the winds. Now, the mysterious Seth, CEO of the S.I.N. Corporation, has set up yet another tournament and invited a blend of old friends and new faces to battle again for the title of the world's strongest. With 25 characters (including the original 12 street fighters), a blend of 2D and 3D graphics, and the new focus-attack system, Street Fighter has returned with a vengeance. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Street Fighter IV AOU 2008 Gameplay Movie 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. After years of absence on PC, Street Fighter comes back to PC with a flawless version of this outstanding fighting game. SF IV is a well balanced, fun and an easy to play but hard to master game, but the compatible version adds some welcome visual changes and a fantastic performance in a huge variety of systems.
  2. Street Fighter IV on the PC is easily the best version of the game and a must-buy for a fighting game enthusiast, yet not too harsh introduction to a newbie either. The only downside? Arcade style joystick effectively mandatory, driving up the total price of admission.
  3. There is so much depth to this game it's almost obscene! You'll likely be playing this title for years to come.
  4. Robust and challenging single-player modes, strong online multiplayer, and gorgeous visuals make this a must-have for any fighter fan.
  5. PC Format
    90
    Street Fighter IV can be spirit crushingly hard in single player mode. [Aug 2009, p.98]
  6. It's instantly familiar but with enough innovation to interest fighting game fanatics willing to dig a little deeper. It would be a stretch to say the PC version is the definitive version – yes the graphics can be better, but not significantly so.
  7. Street Fighter 4 is definitely the best fighting game on PC since Guilty Gear #XX Reload. (Which is kind of ironic, because other offerings on this platform are shareware titles and certified trash.) However, the stagnation in the genre does not depreciate Capcom’s merits. Street Fighter 4 is a fast, beautiful game with an intricate combat system and a great soundtrack.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 12 out of 41
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    The king of fighting games. Nothing compares to the depth, mechanics and meta game of SF4.
    Best of the best. A game with millions of fans.
    The king of fighting games. Nothing compares to the depth, mechanics and meta game of SF4.
    Best of the best. A game with millions of fans. Inspiring people to get better and to know more and study it.
    Never gets boring. 10/10
    Expand
  2. MikeY
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    @ AJ D: You are partially correct, about Ryu and Ken, but it was never "always" about Akuma. Read up on the history of the characters based @ AJ D: You are partially correct, about Ryu and Ken, but it was never "always" about Akuma. Read up on the history of the characters based on the chronology of the game releases, not necessarily the story line as it now exists. Akuma's entire existence is heavily based on Capcom's response to massive reader feedback to an April Fool's gag that Electronic Gaming Monthly ran in one of their issues. They outlined a bogus method for fighting a "hidden" character named Sheng Long ("You must defeat Sheng Long to stand a chance"), who had extremely similar abilities to Akuma's. Even the manner in which the non-existent Sheng Long supposedly appeared in Street Fighter II was recreated with Akuma in Street Fighter Alpha: Warrior's Dreams. Capcom neither confirmed nor denied the existence of Sheng Long, as gamers were flocking to the arcades, sinking tons of quarters into their machines trying to unlock a character that didn't exist. Naturally, they opted to allow that to continue for a while... By the way... Street Fighter IV is the best of the series! Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    Hahahahaa to all those losers who gave Street Fighter 4 a bad rating because they suck at it , you make me laugh , i bet i could pummel youHahahahaa to all those losers who gave Street Fighter 4 a bad rating because they suck at it , you make me laugh , i bet i could pummel you perfect in less than 15 seconds ......hahahaha ...... ok back to bussiness , the game is awsome and i love the new look on the characters but i do have to say that for me Third Strike's parryng system was better than Focus Attacks (have not forgotten the epic win by Daigo over Justin's defensive Chun-li parryng an entire super) but i still love this game and invite all of you to a match my gamer tag is the same as my nickname Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2019
    9
    My favorite fighting game ever made.

    I like the ultra edition more but its a like a dlc so i write here. Graphics wise its super cool
    My favorite fighting game ever made.

    I like the ultra edition more but its a like a dlc so i write here.

    Graphics wise its super cool and full of nice effects such as when you do ultra or super combo finisher.
    Animations are fluid and smooth.
    Gameplay is hard to master but its super fun, i like the combos and the execution of the ultra, each character is unique and fun to play, stages are well designed.
    Music is amazing.
    As usual though the campaign mode is lacking and shallow, since it is my favorite fighting game i must rate it higher than MK:X

    9/10 - Best Fighting game ever made.
    Expand
  5. ChrisB.
    Jan 12, 2010
    7
    Great Looking Grafik, better gameplay and all thene the console versions, but it's still the same like the f...ing snes version and so i Great Looking Grafik, better gameplay and all thene the console versions, but it's still the same like the f...ing snes version and so i give only 7 points, i really liked to see a new gameplay like tekken or something else ...... Expand
  6. LeoJ
    Sep 5, 2009
    4
    This game really isn't that good. Maximum cheesiness! The graphics are good but the characters look pretty stupid and the things they This game really isn't that good. Maximum cheesiness! The graphics are good but the characters look pretty stupid and the things they say are ridiculously dumb. The fighting pretty much sucks. It's not easy which is good and it can get pretty intense at times but really it's really nothing new and doesn't stand out as anything better than an old playstation 1 game... It's frustrating to see kicks magically pass through the opponent without any sign of contact. For comparison, Super smash bros wii is a much much much more enjoyable game and 1000x less cheesier even if you are fighting picachus and marios. Expand
  7. JackH
    Jul 13, 2009
    0
    The worst fighting game i've ever played online. EVERYONE i've fought either picks Ken, Ryu, Akuma, or Sagat...No talent noobs The worst fighting game i've ever played online. EVERYONE i've fought either picks Ken, Ryu, Akuma, or Sagat...No talent noobs picking the cheapest characters when you try to pick someone with skill like Cammy or E Honda, etc. No fun when you don't stand a chance against the cheapest characters. Unless you're one of the people that only picks one of the 4 aforementioned characters that everyone else picks, don't waste your time. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Games of 2009

    The Best Games of 2009 Image
    Published: December 9, 2009
    Metacritic's Best of 2009 coverage kicks off with Games. We reveal the best-reviewed games of 2009, and rank the performance of each game platform for the year.